We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of baxpax Mitte Hostel

Hostel | Chausseestr. 102, Berlin, Germany 10115

84.1% Overall Rating

468 out of 522 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

"The hostel was clean and had a relatively good vibe. The rooms have different themes-which is a plus."

Read all baxpax Mitte Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.16
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Attention:
1. We do not accept any group underage, that means if anyone is under 16 years of Age, we can cancel your group booking at any time.

2. we don't accept group bookings for more than 10 People, if you didn't book it through the Groups department. So if you are more then 10, please ring the Group Department to make sure we accept your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Hotel Saks Berlin Mitte
21.94 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator Berlin Mitte
12.02 USD

Hostel 92.9% 234 reviews
Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin
12.02 USD

Hostel 82.9% 865 reviews
Baxpax Downtown Hostel Hotel
11.13 USD

Hostel 88.5% 1179 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Mitte
11.39 USD

Hostel 89.4% 171 reviews
MEININGER Berlin Hauptbahnhof
15.81 USD

Hostel 89.1% 758 reviews
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
12.78 USD

Hostel 85.0% 89 reviews
Jugendgästehaus Hauptbahnhof
21.51 USD

Hostel 82.9% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

468 out of 522 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'baxpax Mitte Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 310 of 356 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People

Disliked: Sheets

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, cool common area, nice staff

Disliked: cleaning the only girls bathroom at 8 in the morning is not a good idea!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value

Disliked: Showers were out of order at times.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and had a relatively good vibe. The rooms have different themes-which is a plus.

Disliked: a total of four showers for 9 rooms may sometimes force people to wait before showering. Also, there are not enough plugs in the room for charging.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoffrey-Arnaud Quinton

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Geoffrey-Arnaud would recommend this property

Liked: If you don't care about sharing your room with some others people, it's definitely the place to be in Berlin. This hostel is really cheap but still clean, you can easily meet some others young people travelling as you and looking for a friendly atmosphere. I really enjoyed my staying in this hostel as my 2 others friends. I recommend this place.

Disliked: Well, for the price we paid I can't say I disliked anything there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tomasz Kowalski

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 April 2014 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: value for money, fair location near the U-bahn station, security cards

Disliked: The place has no particular vibe, so it's rather a sleeping place, though Berlin is entertaining enough itself :) Though they advertise it on site, the 2,50€ linen fee is still not a really nice marketing catch. That kind of basic thing as a bed linen should be included in the advertised price, even if that means being 2€ more expensive. It's simply not a good positioning trick.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great athmosphere and top staff! Looking forward for next visit!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Duangthip Ananmontree

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014

Liked: Free Wifi, nice staff. Kitchen (but pretty small)

Disliked: Thin walls so it was noisy at night. Restrooms not so clean. Couldn't adjust the temperature of any showers and it was too hot for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a wonderful venue! From the desk in the room to the clean showers to the wonderfully comfortable and unique reception area, this place gives hostel a whole new meaning. Its really nice to see how for such low prices an organization can still strive to put its best foot forward, and give travelers like me the chance to see and experience a great European city such as Berlin! The quality far surpassed the price!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find using public transportation. My dorm room was large, bright and airy with only 4 beds in it and they were not stacked together (not bunk-beds). Wi-fi connection in the room is poor.

Disliked: No proper kitchen, no refrigerator, no place to store your food items. Only one toilet for the entire floor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Arnold

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, rooms are really cool

Disliked: Wifi password changes too regularly

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: Couches in common areas were well past used by date with holes, sweat stains and worn, looked like something that had been picked up from the rubbish tip and most people would use as a dog couch. It made me feel dirty and in need of a shower just looking at them let alone sitting on one. Room was over crowded and very hot with no air circulation.Only one power point for 12 people and a powerboard that couldnt manage the draw on it. No laundry and no direction offered to the neaest laundry. wifi barely useable, so slow couldnt book air tickets. Worst of all you couldnt have a simple cold/cool shower or wash as all taps preset to hot position which might be good in winter but horrible in summer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simona Karanikolova

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Simona would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really nice, staff was friendly, many travelers from all over :)

Disliked: Simona left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the general vibe and position of the property was ideal for myself and the girl i travelled with

Disliked: it wasn't advertised right, as the actual price of the hostel is 2.5 euros more because you have to pay for bed linen and then put it on yourself. Also the lockers in the rooms weren't big enough to hold our packs and we couldn't even open ours. We also found it a bit hard to locate as there wasn't any signs inside the building saying where the reception was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean facilities, big dorm rooms, WiFi works, great location, helpful staff

Disliked: Could do with some more plugs in the dorms, good as a chillout bostel rather than a party one.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was near to Berlin Hauptbahnhof (not Ostbahnhof), and has very nice atmosphere. The beds are clean, and the staff were very friendly

Disliked: The beds were somehow a little bit squeaky, but besides that everything was perfect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room and nice beds

Disliked: Showers were terrible because it was a timed button

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are AWESOMELY decorated. The whole hostel is so cool! Each room has a different theme, and it's so creative. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are comfy. The kitchen is spacious and well-stocked, and there is a nice lounge near the kitchen area.

Disliked: The entrance looks reallllly sketchy, but once you get inside it's really nice. I also didn't like that they charge for bed linen, an extra 2.50 that I had no idea about beforehand. I felt cheated.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: there were no chairs or luggage benches in the rooms. The bunks had two hooks to hang items but more is needed. People had items scattered all over the floor. House cleaning must have an impossible time clearing the floor of dirt and hair.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Mark Brodie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013

Liked: Not really applicable - the annoyances and general feel over shadowed the positive points!

Disliked: I don't normally write negative review, I simply don't leave a review. This place is largely OK. However there is a distinct lack of bathroom facilities. What is more they are somewhat sneaky with their pricing and as such expect to pay around 50% more than advertised! Not good I feel! It doesn't feel much like a hostel! The worst hostel I stayed in, after travelling through 17 countries in Europe!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just nice and clean. The common room was cosy. We liked the free tour around Berlin.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Janssens

Alone

City break

06 January 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was super friendly! i arrived real early in the morning and immediatly got the key so i could get a little sleep before starting exploring the city they were full of tips and always in for a chat the rooms were cool with the crazy drawings and very clean. the bathrooms were clean as well i love this place! one 'lesser' thing: the hostel is not extremely well accessable from hauptbahnhof, but is on a central U-line to explore the city, which was very useful

Disliked: nothing :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good stay. Nice friendly staff and easy to meet others staying there. :) Rooms were very clean and were tended to every day .. Wifi in the bedrooms :)

Disliked: The kitchen probably needs extra burners... People were very polite and we managed but it would be more efficient. Only two toilets and two showers for a whole floor , there wasn't a crowding problem when I was staying there, but I imagine when it gets really busy it would be a pain

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

SERHAN KARSLIOGLU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012

Liked: eh

Disliked: money for everthıng

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap, it's not too far away, it's nice

Disliked: Bathrooms were inadequate, imo. Showers would always flood because the shower curtains were not sufficient, the beds made a lot of noise sometimes, and you always have to ring the bell at the door so they can let you inside. That was kind of annying. They also list "bed linen" as "purchasable extras" when you, in fact, must pay it. It is NOT "extra".


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels