HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of Generator Prenzlauer Berg

Hostel | Storkower Strasse 160, Berlin, Germany 10407

81.3% Overall Rating

3090 out of 3427 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2014)

zoe peters thinks…

"THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS HOSTEL WAS THE BAR MAN JACK! HE IS AMAZING!! If you want a friendly helpful face... visit the bar!"

Read all Generator Prenzlauer Berg reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.60

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We reserve the right to collect a full deposit for bookings from 29th December 2014 to 1st of January 2015. These period is also non-refundable. A team member will contact you after you book to arrange the payment. For groups, Generator Berlin East is your host – we take groups from 20-300. Important Terms & Conditions (for group bookings) • A group booking consists of 10 people or more • VAT is included at the current level (accommodation 7%, meals/services 19%). In case of tax changes, we reserve the right to adjust the room rate. • Should a group be cancelled after the requested deposit has been paid this payment falls to Generator Berlin but can be re-used for a new booking. • The following charges apply if a group is cancelled within 28 days: same day 75%, 1-4 days 60%, 5-7 days 50%, 8-14 days 35%, 15-21 days 20%, 22-28 days 10%. • Cancellations of confirmed bookings should be made by fax and must be counter signed and faxed back to you by us. If you do not have a document signed by us reconfirmed a cancellation then that cancellation is not valid and charges will apply as above. • No charges will generally apply if a group is cancelled more than 28 days prior to arrival. • Reductions in size of up to 10% of a group can be made without charge any time prior to the day of arrival. Groups arriving with fewer persons than we have been notified of will however be subject to full charges as if the whole group had stayed. • Reductions in size in excess of 10% of a group within 28 days of arrival will be treated as if they were cancellations and charges will be levied on the whole reduction, i.e. There is no concession on the first 10% cancelled as applied above. • Where a group is booked for a large number of nights it is the date of arrival (relative to time of cancellation) that determines the charge to be applied to all nights. • We reserve the right to request a security deposit on arrival. FULL pre-payment is required when booking for stays between 30th – 1st January 2015 inclusive (for all bookings). Generator Berlin East will contact you on the e-mail given when booking in order to arrange payment. A receipt for this payment will be given upon request. No cancellations, amendments, refunds or cash alternatives for the booking are applicable A 5% City Tax will be collected at Check-in for all bookings made after January 1st 2014 (Exceptions apply for business travelers with appropriate proof, please contact the hostel directly for additional information) * A 5% City Tax will be collected at Check-in for all bookings made after January 1st 2014 (Exceptions apply for business travelers with appropriate proof, please contact the hostel directly for additional information)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

The Pirate Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 77.5% 23 reviews
Bolgerini INN
27.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.0% 4 reviews
Hotel-Pension INSOR
31.79 USD

Guesthouse 75.9% 74 reviews
Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee
14.60 USD

Hostel 89.9% 513 reviews
Pension Regenbogen
27.64 USD

Guesthouse 74.1% 16 reviews
Hotel Comenius
29.72 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
All In Hostel
19.35 USD

Hostel 77.0% 193 reviews
Pension Reiter
25.35 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 62 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

3090 out of 3427 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Prenzlauer Berg'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 2033 of 2585 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 81 | 82   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zoe peters

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 zoe would recommend this property

Liked: THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS HOSTEL WAS THE BAR MAN JACK! HE IS AMAZING!! If you want a friendly helpful face... visit the bar!

Disliked: it was full of school trips!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SWARNIMA KORDE

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 SWARNIMA would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clode to Landsburger Allee metro station, very friendly atmosphere. The noise from all the partying at the bar can barely be heard from the living areas, which is awesome. Very friendly staff, spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Best part- You don't have to change your own bed linen- it's done for you! :)

Disliked: The bathrooms were a bit chaotic and smelly. The shower area is too small...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and modern hostel. Big common bathrooms, though a bit of a walk from my dorm room. Located right next to a S-bahn station and at least when coming from Schönefeld airport, you can take a direct train! A nice bar downstairs with quite cheap beer. Very cheap at least during the winter! Pretty okay breakfast for the price. Also several different size lockers next to the reception to leave your bags if your flight/train leaves in the evening after check-out time.

Disliked: The wifi only worked in the lobby and restaurant and it kept kicking me out all the time. It's a bit far from the city center, but reachable with public transportation. I didn't like the showers, very small and not much space for your stuff. The lockers in my room were all a bit broken, or the doors didn't close easily bc of twisting. There were some noisy school kids there. I had some problems with my keycard, but this isn't the only hostel with that problem(and I don't keep the card close to my cell phone in the bag or anything). The bed seemed to make a squeeking noise most of the times when I turned a bit, it was a bit annoying.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is very close to the Sbahn stop. The room was very clean and so were the bathrooms. The showers were hot and the blowdryer in the bathroom was appreciated. The outside food and drinks policy was not strictly enforced and there was a lot of space.

Disliked: The hostel was far out from the city center (required a transfer and took about 30 min from the train station) and could get a bit noisy because of all the school groups.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Konrad Poplawski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 March 2014 Konrad would recommend this property

Liked: It,s nice, quite big and not badly located. Very nice for this money

Disliked: Konrad left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Guilherme Nascimento

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: Free tours guide take the people from the hostel.

Disliked: Guilherme left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to transportation and was a clean and modern facility.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

carlos de sousa

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, nice bar with good cocktails and friendly staff

Disliked: There was no free WiFi on the third floor, and I suspect neither on other floors, that is a major drawback,

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 February 2014

Liked: The room (twin) was small but very clean. Good price.

Disliked: A little far from the city centre (it is very close to a s-bahn and tram stop but still a bit of a journey once you get on that). Mainly set up for tour and school groups so we weren't given any information about surrounding area, shops and restaurants. Can't bring in outside food or drinks?

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014

Liked: It was very clean and the staff was always helpful

Disliked: There is only wi-fi on the ground floor and it didn't even work most of the time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and nice staff. Clean and pretty spacious rooms and bathrooms. The closeness to the S-bahn. Easy to find.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Great staff, always friendly and helpful when asking what there is to do in Berlin. The hostel bar is lively, good atmosphere!!

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I met a lot of cool people.

Disliked: Being charged additional city tax to the advertised price.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gabriella Nagy

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 January 2014 Gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: It is not pretentious.

Disliked: It is a bit oversized.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lobby area is pretty cool and the rooms have everything you need.

Disliked: There is some disorder with the beds because when I arrived to mine it was already someone. Also the breakfast that you pay for is not big deal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment is friendly and very modern, it is a little bit different from the usual "home" feeling that some hostels have. Staff is really helpful.

Disliked: Despite the staff being helpful, they are too few. It seems like there is always a queue at the entrance. It seems that the low price attracts all kinds of people, who seem to live there for indefinite time and are too noisy on the tables on the ground floor. Internet is very slow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Phil Kilpatrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Hostel is close to the train and tram. There was a few restaurants within a 2 minute walk and reasonably priced. I was in a 6 bed dorm with private bathroom it was a decent size room. There was a mini market around the corner as well

Disliked: No kitchen. I was on the 7th floor and i had to wait at least 10 minutes on the lift, it was easier taking the stairs. Room was quite hot at night

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013

Liked: The reception staff were really friendly.

Disliked: They don't have a good control over who's staying. I entered the room to find out that the bed allotted to me was occupied by someone else, and they said it was normal. It is not quite safe. I stayed until 20, and on the night of 19, one resident let in an acquaintance of hers without paying of checking in.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and great facilities.

Disliked: Location and internet quality

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Because it was next to the sta!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julija Zupanc

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Julija would recommend this property

Liked: It is really close to the S-bahn and also the city. The room was small (for 2 people) but we only slept there so no big space needed. We even got a bathroom, even though we paid for a shared bathroom. They have delicious food and rooms for chilling. The staff is friendly, they clean the trash every day. There are 2 elevators.

Disliked: I think the only thing is that the last day it was noisy, because many people arrived a the hostel at night but it is not such a big disadvantage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large hostel so oppurtunity to meet lots of people at the in house bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!! I LOVED IT!!

Disliked: THE BEST HOSTEL WE´VE EVER BEEN!!


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels