We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Louvre Youth Hostel

Hostel | 20, Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75001

66.9% Overall Rating

55 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2014)

Marina Maia thinks…

"The location is really good, 10 minutes walk from Louvre, or less, and 3-4 minutes walk from the closest metro station, Louvre Rivoli. The place, in general, is clean and has a great atmosphere,…"

Read all Louvre Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • 24 hour reception

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

intended for students and back packers from 15 till 35 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel Lautrec Opera
105.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Gay Happy Home Paris
38.42 USD

Hostel 60.5% 6 reviews
Hotel Rex Comprador
44.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.1% 108 reviews
Hotel Opera Vivaldi
96.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.7% 51 reviews
Hotel le Faubourg
83.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 187 reviews
Hotel des Arts
34.21 USD

Hotel 1 star 58.6% 117 reviews
Youth Hostel BVJ Opera
45.22 USD

Hostel 75.9% 7 reviews
Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
70.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.1% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.9%

Overall Rating

55 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Louvre Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
67.2%
Value
64.0%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 71 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

YOUN ILJU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2014

Liked: Rubureu very good close to the museum and the Seine River~!!

Disliked: NONONO~~ This Here Hostel is Very Good~^^

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marina Maia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2014

Liked: The location is really good, 10 minutes walk from Louvre, or less, and 3-4 minutes walk from the closest metro station, Louvre Rivoli. The place, in general, is clean and has a great atmosphere, there's a small market close to the hostel, so it's really helpful if you need to buy some food late at night.

Disliked: There's no free wi-fi, 3 euros for 2 hours, so that kinda made me upset. Also, there's no kitchen. Only one plug for 8 people in the room. Hard to deal. The shower has a problem, too, you need to push the button every 30 seconds, so that might be a little bit annoying, and there's only 2 showers and 1 toilet for more than 20 people, I didn't need to wait, but maybe I was lucky.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 September 2014

Liked: Great location, but not on a street on the free maps. Quaint & simple. Great if you travel light and are out of the suggested age range- you don't need any perks. Standard bedding.

Disliked: Very Parisian and stuck in the 19th Century. Reception was very cold and not friendly or inviting. When I asked if they could email me when a package was delivered, they could not because they don't have computers. I was also not called when said package was delivered. No wifi, even in the common area. Does not take credit cards. Of the 12 one-time use security lockers for the whole hostel (yes, 12) in the unsecured luggage/house computer area, 4 of them were broken, and after alerting the staff, were unable to keep my small items behind the desk and told me that I should keep my valuables on me. Only 1 key per room, which stays at the front desk when everyone is gone. No stool or stand of any kind in the shower to place soap. No toilet seat. They must think we're all supposed to squat. I felt like I was being looked down upon by the owner (or manager) and the kitchen lady like they expected us to be proper locals. In all fairness, that 1 old lady was running the whole kitchen, which involved pushing the button for coffee or hot chocolate (apparently too much responsibility for the guests), wiping down the tables, washing the dishes, refilling the food, and telling everyone not to eat with trays on the table.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and kind. I think the location of the hostel is just perfect.

Disliked: There is no free wi-fi, you have to pay for it (not much).

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that the louvre was right across the street. It was a very good area

Disliked: The wifi was crap and you had to pay for it, rooms were average but the showers were gross, we didn't shower there because of it. A lot of the people got there things taken out without permission because the cleaners didn't know who was staying or going

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014

Liked: Location and the reception staff.

Disliked: The mattress, the toilets, the breakfast staff, the price. I don't think I expected too much. I expected stairs and basic accommodation but this wasn't basic - it was horrible.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014

Liked: The location can hands down not be beaten.. It really is beautiful to have the Lourve right in your backyard.

Disliked: Had multiple issues with security that resulted in feeling unsafe which was less than ideal for a first time solo traveller. The staff check you in and that seems to be where their duties cease.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!! Breakfast is included and it's very good. They have nice and clean beds, and showers with hot water. The price is awesome.

Disliked: The staff isn't very friendly or helpful. Some toilets didn't have paper and there wasn't any hand soap or clean hand towels. They don't have free WiFi. Only one key per room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lavinia Carmen Uscatescu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Lavinia Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast incuded, clean

Disliked: no free wifi, loud

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014

Liked: Location was best

Disliked: Over priced for what it offers

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Phillips

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible location! Right next to the Louvre and walking distance to Notre Dame, the lock bridge (pont de arts) the Latin Quarter, and much more! The breakfast is very decent and is a full meal instead of just a coffee and some cereal, the rooms were very specious (with a great view too) and the staff members were very helpful!!

Disliked: They advertise about having free wifi but this is not the case, there is free wifi but you literally have to go stand on the corner outside and use the cafe's wifi. There were also no lockers in the room. That being said, it was a very safe environment and I didn't not feel as if my bags would have been stolen anyways. Still a great place to stay, the location can't be beat!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trent Brandie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: Your normal hostel with the facilities and breakfast you would expect. The staff were friendly.

Disliked: Trent left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very warm snd friendly. Hostel has great character and is quite comfortabe. Breakfast is excelent as well.

Disliked: The showers could be a little cleaner, but all in all they are pretty decent and should not pose a problem for anxone who has ever camped. Security is not that good, but there are steel safety lockers big enough for cabin sized baggage (they charge 2 euros every time you open them, so be sure you have everything when you close them). There is no elevator.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Luthfi Ismail

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Luthfi would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, excellent location for me by the Lourve. Beds were comfortable. Showers were fine except for the small space afforded.

Disliked: No lockers so personal belongings were kept with me all the time. The hostel didn't have any character as well. No space to mingle with other travellers apart from the dorms itself.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

MIN-PU HSIWH

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 MIN-PU would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and the bed is clean. I paid 20 euros per night, breakfast included, the breakfast is good enough.

Disliked: There is only one key per room, which means the door is never locked. And the luggage room is free access without any security. The shower room is tiny in 1st floor but okay, however, the shower room on 4th floor is very bad. You can never take a comfortable shower with a shower head like that.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tingkai Shi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Tingkai would recommend this property

Liked: not much too like, it is a hostel has nothing byond a bed, you can sleep there, but that is all you can expect with this hostel

Disliked: no free wifi, not enough power plug, only one or two in a room with 10 people, pretty difficult to recharge your eletronic devices

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room

Disliked: slow internet

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very good experience. Breakfast was amazing.

Disliked: No lift

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING location! Free breakfast every morning was great - lots of variety and good quality. Staff were always happy and willing to help

Disliked: the showers were terrible! You had to hold your hand on the button for the entire time whilst showering. my room was also six flights of stairs up, right in an attic, and the WIFi was only available in the lobby. Also, there are basically no lockers available. The ones there cost 2 euros per use and are fairly dodgy and hard to use, not to mention that they hardly fit a day backpack in.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2014

Liked: It is really well located and the breakfast is very good!

Disliked: no free wiffi, only one toilet and two showers per floor, only one key per room (so the doors has to be unlocked most of the time), no elevators...

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rodica Mirza

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2014 Rodica would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best, 4 min of walk next to Louvre, and 2 min walk to a large connection point for metros and rer - Chatelet, which makes it perfect for commuting within Paris.

Disliked: well, i am not sure, but on the website of hostelbookers, it was not written that the bathroom and the toilet are not in the room, but r outside and common for the wing of rooms. Also, the sink was in the room, instead of being in the bathroom. I disliked the organization. As regards the breakfast, I was totally dissapointed. The v ariety of what to choose to eat is soo little. On top of this, i think I was robbed (connection, charging cables) also in the hostel, when I left my backpack in the luggage room, without supervision, before checking in :( THere were no video recordings.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014

Liked: Location was very good. Free breakfast was nice.

Disliked: I'm pretty sure the staff at t his hostel go out of their way to make your stay unpleasant. Not very secure--there was only one key for a 10-person room, so the door was left unlocked pretty much all the time. No laundry facilities or kitchen. NO FREE WIFI. No sink in bathroom and sometimes no toilet paper... yuck. Cold showers that turn off automatically every 30 seconds.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, open 24 hrs, easy check-in procedure.

Disliked: Internet was not included in the price, and my purchased internet only worked in the lobby, where it was cold.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, decent bedding, cheap price

Disliked: The smell

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location +price

Disliked: ketchup on bathroom walls + noise level

The property's response is...


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels