HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of St Christopher's Gare du Nord

Hostel | 5 rue de Dunkerque, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

89.3% Overall Rating

302 out of 329 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/09/2014)

GMLG Sunimal Mendis thinks…

"Stayed in a single room with private bathroom. Both room and hostel were spotlessly clean. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was very nice.…"

Read all St Christopher's Gare du Nord reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.33
  • Towel USD 5.06

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check out is 11am

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

La Vieille France
75.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.6% 5 reviews
Hotel Aris Nord
44.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 42 reviews
Hotel Altona
34.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.5% 233 reviews
Hotel du terrage
31.63 USD

Hotel 73.7% 5 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
40.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.0% 990 reviews
Hotel Soft Paris
79.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HOTEL RESIDENCE DE BRUXELLES
36.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.1% 16 reviews
Smart Place Paris Hostel & Budget Hotel
26.50 USD

Hostel 85.9% 307 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

302 out of 329 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St Christopher's Gare du Nord'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 242 of 323 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2014

Liked: very good location

Disliked: very noisy due to the Bar, it does not stop after midnight!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GMLG Sunimal Mendis

Alone

Business / conference

21 September 2014 GMLG Sunimal would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a single room with private bathroom. Both room and hostel were spotlessly clean. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was very nice. Location is very good just 2-3 minutes from Gare de Nord, and around there are many cafes and restaurants. The hostel felt very safe and secure, didn't walk in the neighborhood at night, however it is an area that is usually busy and crowded the whole night long. The bar downstairs is very good. They also serve food, so perfect for dinner. Would recommend the Mexican Chicken salad!! All in all excellent value for money. Would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: I traveled without laptop or smart phone, and there was no computer in the hostel where I could check something quickly had to go to the internet café that is close by.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, close to a main metro stop (airport and main sites). Really cool open-mic !!

Disliked: Nothing really

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Suzanne Vette

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: The location is PERFECT - I got off the Eurostar, dropped my bags off and was able to start exploring Paris almost immediately! I booked a private double room and it was clean, tidy, secure and had great wifi reception. The staff were friendly, helpful and upon checking in they gave me maps of Paris and directions on how to reach the different sights in Paris. I also loved the fact that there was a direct train line from the metro to CHD airport. Overall, I was very happy here and would stay here when I return to Paris next.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact the check-in is only available after 2 pm. They do have a secure luggage room to store your luggage before check-in, but it costs to store your luggage in a locker there - the cost depends on the locker size you want and how long you want to rent it for. Also, the place is so popular, pretty much every time I went to reception I had to wait 5-10 minutes before one of the staff were free to talk to me. But at the end of the day, if these are the worst things, the place is a pretty awesome place to stay!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Nola

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 September 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great specially the afro manager ;) Very clean, great atmosphere and I loved the band playing at the bar wednesday night !!!

Disliked: Perhaps a little big but the staff help you to feel comfortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very nice and well kept. Very useful having the connecting Belushi's Bar which had discounts for people staying at the hostel. Hostel was very close to Gare Du Nord station allowing easy access to the Metro system.

Disliked: Bathroom in the 2 person single bed rooms was very small.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

martyn start

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 martyn would recommend this property

Liked: Location/bar/live music

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Velasquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and in great condition. The location was great because of the closeness to the metro that takes you to the airport and the main attractions. They offered various torus and activities that made it easy for me to see Paris, even while traveling alone. The rooms are great, with comfortable beds, and curtains that allow you to have privacy at night. Overall, I was super happy to be staying there!

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leena bansal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2014 leena would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, lively atmosphere

Disliked: No kitchen

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014

Liked: A estrutura é boa Eles possuem um excelente bar O hostel é bem limpo

Disliked: A localização não é boa O hostel não possui nenhum plano de entretenimento e networking Durante a minha estadia faltou água Tive um óculos furtado

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ambience

Disliked: Some policies of the staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carlos reye

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2014 carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, value for money

Disliked: carlos left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The double room is good, small but enough for what you need. The bar down stairs is great fun during the evenings with a different theme every night and resonably priced drinks. A great place to meet other travellers and relax. On a whole the staff have been very helpful and we ended up extending our stay

Disliked: Whilst the hostel is convenient if you are arriving from gare du nord train station it is pretty removed from other sites if you want to work, however buses and trains are available

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Ngau

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: - Friendly and approachable staff - Clean and private rooms including bathroom - very good wifi in rooms - Comfortable - Located very near to eurostar train stn., perfect if travelling via train.

Disliked: - located in slightly dodgy area especially late at night but felt safe inside hostel.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marc Langer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station, plenty of food and bars nearby. About a thirty-forty minute walk from the Louvre and Jardeins di Toulleries.

Disliked: The hostel was HUGE which made it hard to actually meet people. It was incredibly hot at night with no air conditioning. When I arrived the computer system for the room keys had shut down and they were handing out physical keys, but these didn't let you ride the elevator.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and the rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

Disliked: No lock on under bed locker and no locks could be purchased there requiring you to pay for secure lockers in the basement. Am used to secure lockers in the rooms in Asia.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: High quality rooms, etc., free breakfast, location, bar and associated atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ean Ean Lim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Ean Ean would recommend this property

Liked: The safety and access of the room by secured card key. The reception staffs are polite and friendly. It is a very good impression for the new comer to feel comfortable.However, the staff at bar's courtesy were basic, think they were tired? I would give a star to the reception staff but not the restaurant/bar staff.

Disliked: Too private until would not able to know who is the dorm mate. Anyway, this is an individual stayer's character; hence, not the hostel's issue.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a bar so great for meeting fellow travellers. Clean, tidy and very secure, had both 2 charge points and 2 usb ports per dorm bed which is excellent, also had curtains on bed, a reading light and a massive locker storage that will easily fit a suitcase. The dorm of 8 was spacious, not too hot or too cramped. Easily got wifi on 4th floor.

Disliked: Drinks are expensive, even in happy hour. So 2-4-1 on Corona sounds great, but if 1 bottle of Corona is normally €8, its still too expensive, particularly for a hostel! The area is a little shady, which although is to be expect as around a train station. The price is quite expensive for a hostel, even in Paris.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are fantastic. Each with their own curtain for each bed - which is a nice addition when you have been staying in open bunkbeds for weeks. Rooms are very clean, well kept and comfortable.

Disliked: This hostel is very large and therefore lacks the intimate social atmosphere a smaller or medium size hostel offers. The common room is a bar so in the evening if you want to sit around and talk you really have no common space to sit back and relax. The hostel Is great but has a cold atmosphere if you aren't there for the party.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious room, nice big and private beds

Disliked: The location is not most convenient. It doesn't fee so safe to be out at night. It was noisy on Friday and Saturday night till mid-night.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very nice

Disliked: I did not feel safe. The location is not good and the shower terrible

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - The hostel is very well situated, about a minute's walk from Gare du Nord. I stayed here on three separate occasions on my latest trip and it was mostly because of how convenient it was to get to after a late flight or train. Convenient for getting to and from airports CDG/Orly, Eurostar, other major rail lines, and the metro - The rooms were clean, some of my dorm mates mentioned that it was the best hostel they'd stayed in - The private bathrooms were neat although, in one of the rooms I stayed in, it was quite small - The privacy curtains are a nice touch, as are the USB charging ports for each bed, which came in handy as I had misplaced my adapters along the way. I was very happy with the facilities in general. - The breakfast buffet was quite poor (a better bet is to go into any of the nearby boulangeries for a croissant or baguette) but if you are on a tight budget then it does save you some money - There is a bar where it is convenient to socialise with fellow travelers, but as others have mentioned, the band is not very good and the loud music that is otherwise played makes it difficult to have a conversation - The room keys make accessing the rooms easy and secure

Disliked: - Gare du Nord, with all its convenience, is not a particularly safe or clean neighbourhood - There does not seem to be any uniformity in the lay out of the rooms - The staff are not particularly friendly or helpful although they seem to try to be courteous - The elevators can be fickle - I was asked to move rooms with no prior notice or explanation. This was an inconvenience as I was visiting a friend the night before and had to come back in time to check out of a room that I had booked for several nights. I did not have another reason to be back at the hostel that early in the morning - When I arrived a little too early to check-in, I was asked to pay for a locker to store my things. I thought this fee should be waived considering I was going to be checking in that same day - The meals and drinks at the bar are quite expensive for a hostel although, of course, no one is forcing you to spend money here

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Myrlande Laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Myrlande would recommend this property

Liked: USB and private bathroom.

Disliked: Housekeeping not cleaning a room before check-in.

The property's response is...


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels