HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of AIJ Paris

Hostel | 10 rue Trousseau, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

77.0% Overall Rating

118 out of 168 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Breakfast of juice, bread, marmalade and coffee/tea/hot chocolate everyday. Perfect for an early start to explore the city!!"

Read all AIJ Paris reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Maximum age for guests is 30 year old. Any bookings made for a person over 30 years old will be refused by the hostel. Auberge Internationale des Jeunes is designed to accommodate young audiences as part of a short-term tourist accommodation.



!!!PLEASE NOTE!!! THE NON REFUNDABLE BALANCE OF THE FIRST NIGHT WILL BE CHARGED FROM YOUR ACOUNT (WILL APPEAR AS EITHER AUBERGES INTERNATIONALE DES JEUNES OR BASTILLE HOSTEL) BEFORE THE ARRIVAL, IF THE CHARGE WON'T BE POSSIBLE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED aND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. DO NOT BOOK USING A DEBIT CARD (SUCH AS VISA ELECTRON and DINERS CREDIT CARD) OTHERWISE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. We do only accept Visa (not Electron and not Diners credit cards), MasterCard and American Express credit card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Bastille Apartments
33.15 USD

Apartment 86.4% 212 reviews
Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
48.35 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.8% 122 reviews
Hotel des Arts
44.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.7% 519 reviews
Hotel Richard
55.26 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.6% 308 reviews
Blue Planet Hostel
32.97 USD

Hostel 57.9% 1729 reviews
Hotel Central Bastille
62.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.8% 31 reviews
Hotel Belfort
55.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.9% 825 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
89.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

118 out of 168 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AIJ Paris'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 163 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast of juice, bread, marmalade and coffee/tea/hot chocolate everyday. Perfect for an early start to explore the city!!

Disliked: The shower was not hot, warm but not hot. Only one charging socket per room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - The breakfast. Fresh roll with butter and jelly and as much coffee/hot chocolate/latte as you want. Also comes with some juice and a madeleine cake. - The staff. I found them to be friendly and helpful. - The people. Quite an international crowd and always someone to hang out with. - The location. Bastille and the bars a 10 minute walk and other tourist attractions also within reach.

Disliked: - The room was clean, but worn. Then again, at those prices you cannot expect too much in a city like Paris. It served its purpose. - The wifi was reliable only you had to constantly log on again. - It would have been nice if the bathrooms had been somewhat cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

?AH?N YILDIZ

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 ?AH?N would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpfull staff and guests, rooms are clean and comfortable, great location and price

Disliked: bathrooms need innovation more useful

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheikh Fahad Hossen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

10 April 2014 Sheikh Fahad would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. People are friendly and condition is good enough as compare with money.

Disliked: Sheikh Fahad left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nina Babic

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff - really friendly, besides that - location - very close to the metro, bicycles..

Disliked: Same breakfast every day.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ed Mendez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Ed would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really great! Just a short walk from a metro station, surrounded by grocery stores and restaurants, and not super far from Notre Dame (45ish minute walk). The private room we had felt very safe and secure.

Disliked: The walls were thin so I could hear every little thing in the hallways, no real temperature control for the room minus the window.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spiral staircase

Disliked: Cold

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014

Liked: The staff were helpful in giving us maps and directions. They spoke english which was helpful.

Disliked: The hostel rooms were pretty dirty. The staff touched out stuff when they were cleaning even though we didn't have anything on the ground. The hostel was very crowed and we had to wait in line for over an hour just to check in. The walls are thin and the rooms near us were very loud. You can hear the showers all over the building. Not a quiet place to stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vittorio Ricchetti

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2014 Vittorio would recommend this property

Liked: The level of tidiness and cleaness, the kindness of the staff

Disliked: the breakfast wasn't really a breakfast

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, free breakfast

Disliked: Shower in ensuite would turn off every 10 seconds

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tegan Barrett-McGuin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Tegan would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were big. Decent location close to metro station and lots of cute cafes and bakeries in the area. Free breakfast. Private and clean bathroom. Full length mirror, and safes in the rooms. Luggage room.

Disliked: Had to re-enter the wifi password every time you wanted to use it, which was annoying. Only one powerpoint in the room, which is really frustrating when you are sharing with a bunch of people and everyone needs to charge their phone. Breakfast finished at 9.45am which was too early for me, but not really problem if you're an early riser.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gary Lynam

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 February 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the front desk were very friendly and laid back, made me feel right at home.

Disliked: The rooms being unavailable from 11 till 3 for cleaning, which I'm sure is normal, but I'm a man who likes to sleep in.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: most clean hostel i've ever stayed in, as far as the rooms are concerned 5/5 however the toilets were a 2/5 they were very smelly and not nice at all.

Disliked: smelly toilet which didnt look like it was regularly cleaned.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt very safe and was in a perfect location in the Bastille area.

Disliked: The wifi was not working for almost my entire stay- as I was paying for a hostel with wifi, this was disappointing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location; five minutes from Bastille, half an hour from Notre-Dame. It was also always clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The uselesness of the private bathrooms - no real privacy and a bad shower. There could also be a more various breakfast - after six days of identical breakfast one gets fed up. But no complain about the quantity.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luiza Arias Bagno

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014

Liked: It was the cheapest I found for a good location. Paris is really expansive.

Disliked: The staff is absolutely rude and unfriendly. The hostel is full of stupid time rules, and it seems that it is a favor for them having you in the hostel. There are not enough showers, and they are mixed (male and female). The water is not very hot, just warm, and you can't have shower after 11 pm. There is lockout from 11 am to 3 pm, so yu cant be in your room at this time. The breakfast is like prision breakfast, with just a few food, and you cant repeat. They also made a confusion with my reservation cause I booked a room with private bathroom, and they put me in.a no bathroom room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Truly fantastic location! My single room was basic but clean and comfortable. Nice and safe. Just a heads-up: if you book a single private room via HostelBookers, you actually end up in the next-door, affiliated Bastile Hostel, which I thought was nicer than AIJ.

Disliked: Hot water in the showers lasts for about 1 minute, and there are no toilets on the first floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice hostel to stay , if i need to go to paris i would stay in this hostel. The breakfast is super good and the room was clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

yu li

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 yu would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities,nice staff,good location

Disliked: They didnt change sheet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is was a nice place to stay -comfy beds, quite big breakfast, situated near the center of Paris, always helpful and kind people at reception

Disliked: there could be more than one plug in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was always a nice way to begin the day. The showers were also nice.

Disliked: Our room smelled slightly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Francisco Anguiano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2014 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place, free breakbast and good atmosphere

Disliked: Francisco left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Haysom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant staff, 24 hour reception makes for safe and secure building. Cleaned properly everyday

Disliked: Only 1 power socket to each room, no access to the rooms between 11am and 3pm even for continuous customers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Yue Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Yue would recommend this property

Liked: cheap,good

Disliked: Yue left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Legovic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, very good English speakers, the atmosphere was relaxed and there were cool people around. It was clean and tidy.

Disliked: One thing that bothered me (but not much since I stayed for only one night) was that there were no sockets other than the one on the lamp over the sink to charge my phone and laptop. So I had to stretch it all the way through the air to the bed. But I mean, I survived. It was just a little "you must be joking" until I figured out what to do.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels