HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of AIJ Paris

Hostel | 10 rue Trousseau, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

68.2% Overall Rating

154 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

Naoise Byrne thinks…

"I liked that it was a youth hostel and it was a lot of young people our age that stayed in it."

Read all AIJ Paris reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Maximum age for guests is 30 year old. Any bookings made for a person over 30 years old will be refused by the hostel. Auberge Internationale des Jeunes is designed to accommodate young audiences as part of a short-term tourist accommodation.



!!!PLEASE NOTE!!! THE NON REFUNDABLE BALANCE OF THE FIRST NIGHT WILL BE CHARGED FROM YOUR ACOUNT (WILL APPEAR AS EITHER AUBERGES INTERNATIONALE DES JEUNES OR BASTILLE HOSTEL) BEFORE THE ARRIVAL, IF THE CHARGE WON'T BE POSSIBLE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED aND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. DO NOT BOOK USING A DEBIT CARD (SUCH AS VISA ELECTRON and DINERS CREDIT CARD) OTHERWISE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. We do only accept Visa (not Electron and not Diners credit cards), MasterCard and American Express credit card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Bastille Apartments
31.83 USD

Apartment 88.8% 222 reviews
Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
46.43 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.8% 131 reviews
Hotel des Arts
42.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 528 reviews
Hotel Richard
26.53 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.6% 308 reviews
Blue Planet Hostel
22.62 USD

Hostel 67.2% 1783 reviews
Hotel Central Bastille
39.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.5% 35 reviews
Hotel Belfort
46.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 827 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
79.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.2%

Overall Rating

154 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AIJ Paris'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
67.2%
Value
68.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 220 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Naoise Byrne

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Naoise would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was a youth hostel and it was a lot of young people our age that stayed in it.

Disliked: I did not like the fact that the towels were 2 euro and it was a small towel also. There was a charger on our bathroom light which was a bit odd and quite dangerous as it was above a sink. There was also no soap in the public toilets in the hostel to wash hands

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kathryn Lambert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014

Liked: The location was good, walk down to the river was not bad but into the centre could be a little long. The girl on reception was extremely welcoming, the free map was very useful during our stay.

Disliked: The hostel was quiet hard to find when we arrived at Gare du Lyon, the hostel has two different names which can be confusing . The hostel's decor is dated and not the cleanest. We had a 4 room with a private bedroom which was tiny and smelt funny ! Breakfast was very limited and busy and there were limited facilities to prepare your own food. We also had a problem with the plug sockets we had a European union adapter for our UK plugs and they would not work at the hostel. The man on reception was not helpful at all with this problem, also one plug socket in the whole room is not enough.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Shower and toilet separate. Staff we're not helpfull at all during the night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

coline madelain

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 July 2014

Liked: It's quite cheap.

Disliked: We had a room for two and the room looked more like a room in a prison than in a hostel. There was only one bathroom (per gender) on each floor and they didn't have a sink so you had to go to the shower to wash your hands and no soap was available and it never was. Moreover you are no allowed to used the showers after 11 pm (or something like that) because they made an awful noise.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: nothing much apart from a few staff's behavior

Disliked: everything, a few staff were rude and not helpful

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Konsta Lensu

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014

Liked: Good prices (only reason to choose this one), staff was pretty good, good location.

Disliked: No air conditioning - room very hot at night. No private toilet despite "private bathroom" description, had to use common one. The room only had a sink and a shower, whose water temperature was not realiable. Breakfast is very bare-bones with only a small baguette and a Madeleine pastry - more could be bought for some 20 cents a piece, but it's still the same plain bread. At night, the light from the corridor shone under the door and you could hear lots of noise. Stupidest thing was the elevator, which was pleasantly quiet in movement, but makes a loud sound effect when the doors open.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014

Liked: Wi-Fi in the rooms, sinks in the rooms

Disliked: No air-conditioning anywhere and the room got incredibly hot and humid, no electrical outlets in the room (you have to sit and wait to charge things in the over-crowded lobby), forced to leave the room from 11am-3pm every day for "cleaning," not in an ideal location

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: privacy and safe rooms

Disliked: too much noise outside at night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good access to many affordable places to eat and great Metro access. It is also within walking distance of many of the great sights that Paris has on offer.

Disliked: The 11-3 lockout rule was a bit of a drag, although I can see the obvious security benefit. Also, the age limit was quite clearly not enforced so be warned.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room had a safe for valuables.

Disliked: There was no sheets for blankets.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Rahr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there was a storage area for luggage and that there was a breakfast included with the stay.

Disliked: The wifi is free but only in the evening which I did not like because I usually use it to plan my trips out in the morning over breakfast.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sarah Groth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: facilities

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 June 2014

Liked: It has small safes inside of the rooms for small values

Disliked: We needed to call the Police to be able to get a room that we booked. we booked for 3 nights, but only have room for the 1st and the last due to system error, they offered us to stay in a lower quality room for the same price, or to pay more for a room in a different hostel. The desk staff wouldn't call the manager for us to speak with because he was told not to call again. Only after the police came they gave us a room to sleep in, but we still needed to pay for it. It took 2 hrs to solve everything, this happen at 22:30 and we only manage to get a room at 00:30 after a long day. They force you to move room every single day. Always with problems with other bookers in the desk when we were around Wi-fi didn't work - cliché

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is beautiful, safe and convenient.

Disliked: There is only one toilet in the entire hostel, which is situated on the ground floor. When I booked a single room with private bathroom, I definitely didn't expect that I will have to run down four flights of stairs/take a lift every time I needed to use a toilet... The breakfast served is quite mediocre and coffee not very appetising (has a watery light brown colour). Instead of a plate, breakfast is served on an old small tray. There are also a very few tables and chairs in the canteen. Towels have to be rented for the fee of €2 and wifi does not work - at all. But I have to say that staff are friendly and the location of the hostel is really good, therefore I still think it's a good value for money.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Bryson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of places to eat around it.

Disliked: There is only one plug socket per room which can be difficult since everyone wants to charge their smartphones, tablets etc every night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely convinent location (really is the centre of Paris), 24 hrs English speaking friendly staff at reception.

Disliked: Toilet's a bit small and not too clean but still acceptable for its price.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bo Kyung Jun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Bo Kyung would recommend this property

Liked: safe, free breakfast

Disliked: cannot use room and lobby during cleaning time WIFI was too hard to connect

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014

Liked: They are central, the staff and the people are nice, it is quiet.

Disliked: The room smells like old sweat, it is dark and very spartanic. It was only possible to shower with cold water. When I arrived at 2300, I did not receive any bed sheets, which I realized only inside the room. Since my roommates were sleeping and I was tired as hell, I slept without sheets. The next morning I saw, that my roommates didn't have sheets as well, so it seems to happen often. The breakfast was a sad joke, I would prefer to pay two euro less and have no breakfast at all - one little stale baguette, some jam, a awful coffee and a small tetrapak of orange juice.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jahanzaib Suhail

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Jahanzaib would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was quite helpful. They always try to help you out.

Disliked: Rooms are really noisy. it cannot give you sound sleep if you do not have ear plugs and also another annoying thing for me was that whenever you want to out, you have to submit your room key and keep payment receipt all the time with yourself.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Yi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: People were very interesting and diverse!

Disliked: Nothing!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Cheuk Ki Wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014

Liked: The location is fine, and They provide a very slow Wi-Fi, so we can book another hotel and cancel the second day to stay in this hostel.

Disliked: I came to the hostel at midnight, when we first check in the room, they give us the room which someone staying in already, they take more than 2hrs the find another room for us. Finally we change to another hotel on the next day. It is really bad!!! The staff is really rude, they never apologize for their mistake. The room is dirty, especially the toilet, it is really hard to use the toilet coz it's small and dirty.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Adriana Meredith

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful top floor view, some friendly staff (specifically one helpful older man who was obviously experienced, showed me personally to my room), cleaning between 11-3 forced me to wake up and enjoy my day which was a great push that I needed to not waste my holiday, rooms were very clean and larger than I expected.

Disliked: Bathroom was outside of my 1 person room, the beds were noisy and slightly uncomfortable, thin walls (I could hear conversations in the next room), some members of staff weren't overly friendly and not particularly helpful acting as if I were a nuisance rather than a paying guest.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its cheap, and good localization.

Disliked: Its not clean enough.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's Ok, nothing elese

Disliked: No common áreas at night


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels