We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of AIJ Paris

Hostel | 10 rue Trousseau, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

76.5% Overall Rating

170 out of 252 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/10/2014)

"Central, walking distance from Bastille (and Le Marais). Feels safe and is kept decently clean."

Read all AIJ Paris reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Maximum age for guests is 30 year old. Any bookings made for a person over 30 years old will be refused by the hostel. Auberge Internationale des Jeunes is designed to accommodate young audiences as part of a short-term tourist accommodation.



!!!PLEASE NOTE!!! THE NON REFUNDABLE BALANCE OF THE FIRST NIGHT WILL BE CHARGED FROM YOUR ACOUNT (WILL APPEAR AS EITHER AUBERGES INTERNATIONALE DES JEUNESSE OR BASTILLE HOSTEL) BEFORE THE ARRIVAL, IF THE CHARGE WON'T BE POSSIBLE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. DO NOT BOOK USING A DEBIT CARD (SUCH AS VISA ELECTRON and DINERS CREDIT CARD) OTHERWISE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. We do only accept Visa (not Electron and not Diners credit cards), MasterCard and American Express credit card. Every day between 11H and 15H guests are to vacate their rooms in order for the cleaning to be done. This is a strict policy at the hotel and if a guest is left in the room during this time they are kindly asked to leave.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Bastille Apartments
30.36 USD

Apartment 86.4% 224 reviews
Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
44.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.8% 131 reviews
Hotel des Arts
47.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 529 reviews
Hotel Richard
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.5% 309 reviews
Blue Planet Hostel
21.57 USD

Hostel 65.5% 1790 reviews
Hotel Central Bastille
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 37 reviews
Hotel Belfort
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 827 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
75.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.5%

Overall Rating

170 out of 252 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AIJ Paris'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 153 of 245 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 October 2014

Liked: Central, walking distance from Bastille (and Le Marais). Feels safe and is kept decently clean.

Disliked: Outrageous pettiness concerning rooms, not one hook to hang clothes, no chair to sit on, a faucet worse than on trains (running water only on constant pressure). All belongings have to be packed betwen 11-15 for cleaning and rooms emptied. Prison-like concept. Noisy and queue to shared toilets (1 on each floor). Stale baguettes for breakfast. Very shifting prices 6-8€ (day-day) depending on demand. Check-out at 10 not 11. If you're just after a bunkbed it's OK but depressing place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for young people visiting Paris, in a great area near the centre with shops, restaurants and the metro nearby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014

Liked: Good location and very close to a strip of bars.

Disliked: The night staff manager was the worst person ever. If you want to change your reservation to a different room apparently only 1 person in the whole place can do it for you... and they won't do it over the phone either. I was told to come back at night... manager wasn't there.... I was told to come back in the morning... the manager wasn't there.... on and on until I finally just booked an extra place for a friend online and it was simple. Most of the staff is very friendly and spoke English very well except that one night guy who was unhelpful and flat out mean.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014

Liked: Fantastic safe lockers

Disliked: Not very welcoming

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Julia Erger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014

Liked: Nice breakfast Good Location

Disliked: We were moved into a different room every Day we were there. We Booked online but were told we had to be Out of the room each Day from 11am to 3pm and we had to move all our stuff Down Four flights of stairs into Storage during those hours. The hostel is fine but the management, the policies and the staff made everything difficult. Worst hostel experience in Europe. Not happy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kerry Payne

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is probably its best aspect, with easy access to the metro and being reasonably close to the main attractions in Paris. The rooms would be best described as basic - mine had 3 beds, a sink, some storage space for clothes, and a safe to store valuables. Not fantastic but functional, and at such a cheap price you can hardly complain. Having read some old reviews on here I was worried about not having my own key or having to pay for the bedding - but the bedding is provided and each person is now given their own key to the room. Everywhere is clean though the place is in need of a redecorating. There's also free wifi in the lobby, but this is only on from around midday to midnight. The connection is also a bit unstable and I had to keep logging back in to use it.

Disliked: Breakfast was incredibly bland, though the free coffee refills are somewhat redeeming. By the third day of my stay I had gotten so sick of breakfast (a small baguette, a madeleine cake, and orange juice) that I gave up on it altogether. The hostel shuts from 11am-3pm, which is fine if you're busy and have things to do, but not so much if you're tired or feeling a bit ill. The showers were pretty terrible. The temperature went from warm to freezing cold in a matter of seconds, and while inside the cubicles there's a ledge to put your stuff this is almost guaranteed to get soaking wet, so towels and clothes have to be put outside. Also there aren't proper doors to the shower room, just the swinging saloon-style ones that don't really offer much in the way of privacy. Towels cost 2 euro to rent, but are ridiculously small and provide virtually no coverage at all. Bring your own towel if you can. There's only one male and one female toilet on each floor, so if they're occupied you have to either wait or go to another floor to use them. It wasn't difficult for me to find an unoccupied one, but given that there are no lifts in the building it can be quite tiring walking up and down all the stairs.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Katie Brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to the metro line 8 and within walking distance of Gare de Leon for connecting trains. 24hour reception. Lockable safes in room. Safe area close to a supermarket.

Disliked: No outlets in the rooms. Limited WiFi access ending at 9.30pm and unavailable in the mornings. Breakfast is not great!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how accessible the hostel was -- it was very easy to get to from the metro. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly, and I especially like that there was a safe for each person in our room. It felt very comfortable and safe.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was the lobby -- it wasn't really a place that I wanted to hang out in...some couches and a better ambience would be nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were always there to help out and that the rooms have a safe to keep your belongings in.

Disliked: The cleanliness was not always up to scratch.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Binns

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and tidy, there was a shower/toilet in our room (4 person room) which was good as well as a set of showers and toilets on each floor (a review on here said there were not enough showers but it was plenty). The breakfast was ok - juice, free coffe/tea refills, a roll and jam (but you paid a little extra for more rolls etc).

Disliked: The in-room shower door had gaps at the bottom/top (to let out steam?) which meant if you wanted to pee etc everyone in the room would hear. But it was fine! There were 4 small safes in the room BUT no idea how to work them, I think they needed electric and there was only one socket in the room (up high too so I totally dropped/broke a charger!)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Elena Millinder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014

Liked: The hostel was kept very clean, almost sterile, however you could tell a lot of the fittings were quite dated and on their last legs.

Disliked: The staff weren't particularly accommodating and kicked guests out of the common areas in the evenings for cleaning. There is no fridge or guest kitchen. The wifi was unreliable and would have to be repeatedly signed in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

veiko herne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 veiko would recommend this property

Liked: There was even TV in my room.

Disliked: The WiFi time is limited from 1PM-11PM

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Batuhan Ibrahim Ünaldi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014

Liked: Nothing actually.

Disliked: There is no 24 hours internet. Internet is cut off after midnight. However, no details about this on the site. The room was very dirty, especially beds. You need to pay extra money for sheets(3 € per sheet). There where no soap to wash hands. You need to return early to take a shower because the shower forbidden after 11pm !! In addition, when your room cleaning you can not access the room and you have to leave.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was so awesome! I paid for a single room and I had a shower, sink, mini fridge, and tv! My bed was amazingly comfortable and I could hardly believe how little I paid for such a nice room with all those amenities.

Disliked: Wifi service

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ula Kuzdak

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Ula would recommend this property

Liked: For really low price I had nice place to stay, TV, safe, shower in my room, price included breakfast as well. It's also nice area to stay, I could walk to most of the popular places in Paris. Staff is really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Wi-fi works only from 12.30 p.m., but to plan my day the best time would be in the morning. Rooms are closed for 4 hours during the day for cleaning, which is a lot, and I can not have access to my stuff.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Maartje Schrauwen

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 August 2014 Maartje would recommend this property

Liked: Just Ok. Paris is a pretty expensive city so this was how we expected the hostel. Nothing special but fine to stay.

Disliked: The man behind the desk wasn't that helpful. The women were nice though (;

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was near where I wanted to be. The price was ok

Disliked: The internet was turned off at 1130pm and there is a room lock out between 11-3.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Naoise Byrne

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Naoise would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was a youth hostel and it was a lot of young people our age that stayed in it.

Disliked: I did not like the fact that the towels were 2 euro and it was a small towel also. There was a charger on our bathroom light which was a bit odd and quite dangerous as it was above a sink. There was also no soap in the public toilets in the hostel to wash hands

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kathryn Lambert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014

Liked: The location was good, walk down to the river was not bad but into the centre could be a little long. The girl on reception was extremely welcoming, the free map was very useful during our stay.

Disliked: The hostel was quiet hard to find when we arrived at Gare du Lyon, the hostel has two different names which can be confusing . The hostel's decor is dated and not the cleanest. We had a 4 room with a private bedroom which was tiny and smelt funny ! Breakfast was very limited and busy and there were limited facilities to prepare your own food. We also had a problem with the plug sockets we had a European union adapter for our UK plugs and they would not work at the hostel. The man on reception was not helpful at all with this problem, also one plug socket in the whole room is not enough.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Shower and toilet separate. Staff we're not helpfull at all during the night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

coline madelain

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 July 2014

Liked: It's quite cheap.

Disliked: We had a room for two and the room looked more like a room in a prison than in a hostel. There was only one bathroom (per gender) on each floor and they didn't have a sink so you had to go to the shower to wash your hands and no soap was available and it never was. Moreover you are no allowed to used the showers after 11 pm (or something like that) because they made an awful noise.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: nothing much apart from a few staff's behavior

Disliked: everything, a few staff were rude and not helpful

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Konsta Lensu

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014

Liked: Good prices (only reason to choose this one), staff was pretty good, good location.

Disliked: No air conditioning - room very hot at night. No private toilet despite "private bathroom" description, had to use common one. The room only had a sink and a shower, whose water temperature was not realiable. Breakfast is very bare-bones with only a small baguette and a Madeleine pastry - more could be bought for some 20 cents a piece, but it's still the same plain bread. At night, the light from the corridor shone under the door and you could hear lots of noise. Stupidest thing was the elevator, which was pleasantly quiet in movement, but makes a loud sound effect when the doors open.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014

Liked: Wi-Fi in the rooms, sinks in the rooms

Disliked: No air-conditioning anywhere and the room got incredibly hot and humid, no electrical outlets in the room (you have to sit and wait to charge things in the over-crowded lobby), forced to leave the room from 11am-3pm every day for "cleaning," not in an ideal location

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: privacy and safe rooms

Disliked: too much noise outside at night


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels