We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of AIJ Paris

Hostel | 10 rue Trousseau, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

73.7% Overall Rating

217 out of 316 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/05/2015)

Carissa Pickering thinks…

"The only thing I liked about this place was that it kept me out of it to continue exploring the city of Paris for as long as possible."

Read all AIJ Paris reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Maximum age for guests is 30 year old. Any bookings made for a person over 30 years old will be refused by the hostel. Auberge Internationale des Jeunes is designed to accommodate young audiences as part of a short-term tourist accommodation.



!!!PLEASE NOTE!!! THE NON REFUNDABLE BALANCE OF THE FIRST NIGHT WILL BE CHARGED FROM YOUR ACOUNT (WILL APPEAR AS EITHER AUBERGES INTERNATIONALE DES JEUNESSE OR BASTILLE HOSTEL) BEFORE THE ARRIVAL, IF THE CHARGE WON'T BE POSSIBLE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. DO NOT BOOK USING A DEBIT CARD (SUCH AS VISA ELECTRON and DINERS CREDIT CARD) OTHERWISE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. We do only accept Visa (not Electron and not Diners credit cards), MasterCard and American Express credit card. Every day between 11H and 15H guests are to vacate their rooms in order for the cleaning to be done. This is a strict policy at the hotel and if a guest is left in the room during this time they are kindly asked to leave. Please note our single room has a private shower, the toilets are shared facilities outside the room The rule concerning cancellations is that you loose the deposit from the amount of the first night, that we require in order to confirm any reservation. The rest of the nights won’t be charged on your credit card. Concerning the 12%, please contact Hostelbookers.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Bastille Apartments
26.42 USD

Apartment 87.7% 230 reviews
Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
33.02 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.9% 133 reviews
Hotel des Arts
38.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.0% 531 reviews
Hotel Richard
26.97 USD

Hotel 1 star 56.6% 316 reviews
Blue Planet Hostel
20.26 USD

Hostel 70.4% 1813 reviews
Hotel Central Bastille
39.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 42 reviews
Hotel Belfort
33.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 828 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
49.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.7%

Overall Rating

217 out of 316 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AIJ Paris'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
72.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 309 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good location

Disliked: Not the friendliest staff, couldn't access the free WiFi

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Carissa Pickering

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015

Liked: The only thing I liked about this place was that it kept me out of it to continue exploring the city of Paris for as long as possible.

Disliked: I disliked basically everything. The long waits at the reception when there were no staff there, then when they returned had a number of guests to hand keys in and out to. The sheer number of students that come here is the biggest turn off possible, DO NOT BOOK HERE if you are not fond of raging 16 and 17 year old teenagers running up and down the corridors, through the outdoor terrace that each room faces throughout the hours of 11:00 pm - 2:00 am. The fact that they rule no showers after 11:00 pm for respect of guests (fricken loud water pipes) but don't reinforce it. I had to get out of bed multiple times to turn off the light of the shower to stop others from trying to use it at 1:00 am in the morning, I wouldn't have cared so much if our room wasn't right next door. Needless to say I didn't get much sleep over the 3 nights here, I left tired, cranky and the breakfasts did not make up very much for it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Peteris Ponnis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2015 Peteris would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and that there is big lugage area. And in room were strong-box.

Disliked: That there are no elevator, small stairs. Room is with toilet, but doors are like in western pub, almost open, so its imposible to go in shower or toilet without disturbing room mates. There are no soap or anything for cleanness. And breakfest were very small, but for that price its ok.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luiz Henrique Soares Silva

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2015 Luiz Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice breakfast.

Disliked: Bathroom inside the room gives you no privacy at all. Only one power socket in a room for 4 people.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

FABIO FERREIRA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2015

Liked: Nothing, Hostel completely disgusting! Used and dirty sheets on the bed was not even tidy! Staff rude, terrible location, away from center city, dangerous and dark street. It certainly was the worst experience I had in hostels.

Disliked: Everything, Don't stay in this Hostel never, ever ever...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast and the fact that the hostel was clean

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015

Liked: nice location near by museu de Pompidou!

Disliked: the private bathroom was useless!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tak Chi Lai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015 Tak Chi would recommend this property

Liked: nice location

Disliked: quite strict on breakfast provisions, a bit strange on payment method... they would automatically deduct the amount from the card you provided on this website

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Amber Kazsuk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015

Liked: I liked that it wasn't too expensive, but it's well worth it to pay for a more decent facility. Free safety deposit box in use.

Disliked: Although it's city center, you have to go out of your way just to get a main metro line. Narrow staircases to drag luggage up with no lift. Having to be out of your room between 11am and 3pm is very inconvenient.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pérsio Ramos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Pérsio would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location. Staff not friendly.

Disliked: Staff not friendly. Free wifi for a limited time.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cyril France

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2015

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: It wasn’t really about the property but rather an encounter with their staff. Few hours after booking online, I went to the hostel. When I arrived the guy I met at the front desk told me that my booking was incomplete and that after booking, there is an additional confirmation I should have received from AIJ. He also said it was stated on their website that booking has to be made 12hours before arriving at the hostel fortunately; I had my notebook with me. I went online and opened the webpage where I made my booking but there was no such thing as he mentioned. After a lengthy confrontation he said they wold have to cancel my booking, for me to rebook, which he did. Eventually, I had to check-out of the hostel to a different hostel because I couldn’t find a room on the last night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cyril France

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2015 Cyril would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. The staff are either bilingual or multilingual, thus facilitate communication for non-French speakers.

Disliked: I am not very sure whether there is an elevator but if not then it is not easy accessible to persons with disability or not-disability-friendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Towels and bed sheets charged extra

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zaiga Braca

Alone

City break

07 April 2015 Zaiga would recommend this property

Liked: Location quite good. Room was small, but clean and bed was comfortable. Single room has TV. Staff friendly. Quiet comparing to lot of other hostels.

Disliked: Single room with bathroom doesn't mean that you will have toilet. It was big surprise for me. Do not offer towels for free. One 4th floor wi-fi was very weak, did not work.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Priscila Martins

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2015 Priscila would recommend this property

Liked: It's ok place, if you only want to sleep. The price is really good

Disliked: the shower isnt good and there aren't enough sockets in the rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Samira Kleinschmidt

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2015 Samira would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dormitory

Disliked: Matress was very worn out, only one plug in the whole room which was at a u unuseful height to charge a phone and there was nothing to lay it on. The door to the bathroom was more like a saloon door (open at its both ends), so no real privacy while taking a sh*t

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Blackburn

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2015 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: Massive room with plenty of floor space - quiet street at night despite great location being so close to city centre - very big on cleanliness and security. -Unlimited (various) hot drinks at breakfast; loved dunking madeleine in double strength hot chocolate -No room entry 11am-3pm meant a thorough cleaning regime =) -Luggage room that's free to use for those who arrive too early for check-in/leave Paris late after check-out -Location is 10-15 mins walking distance from Maison de Victor Hugo, Musée de Fumeur, Cimetière Père-Lachaise and Gare de Lyon. -20 min Metro journey from Gare du Nord so I could fit in a good half-day of sightseeing before returning to pick up my suitcase

Disliked: -Key policy. I didn't really mind handing in my keys every time I left. Less to carry and impossible to lose! ...But you had to show your receipt (with your room number on) in order to get the keys meaning you had to carry that around instead. Security much? -No lift beware. It was kinda tough lugging my suitcase down the staircase. And then up from the luggage room. -Mixed dorm room happened to be made up of all girls. Not that I mind, but...?

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alba Cruz Lopez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Ellis

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 February 2015 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The location and how cheap it was.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

DANIEL CUENDA FERNANDEZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, the breakfast is good.

Disliked: Wifi disconnects every 20-30 mins. No kitchenware at all. Private showers are cold. The living room is just tables and chairs like in a restaurant, no sociability.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jen chieh juan

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 February 2015

Liked: Service is good. Room is cleaned every day

Disliked: No hot water, it's cold water for 5 nights.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fact that there was a bed and I could sleep.

Disliked: This place was ok but not so great, the toilet was built in a strange way "you really can't sit down without the door being open". The wifi is good but every 50min it asks you to login again. You have to leave your room at 10am and return at 3pm to allow staff to clean. So if your thinking of partying hard in Paris and sleeping all day, this place is not for you. There is no 24/7 social room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff.

Disliked: I needed a computer and they only had some really small ones in the lobby that you had to pay for and they were not so good, but other than that it is ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite cheap and very close to Bastille station.

Disliked: No soap and shampoo in toilets and showers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No big safety locker in the room


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels