We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of AIJ Paris

Hostel | 10 rue Trousseau, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

72.7% Overall Rating

234 out of 339 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2015)

"The Best value you can get for your money in paris. Nice location, comfortable room and basic breakfast."

Read all AIJ Paris reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Maximum age for guests is 30 year old. Any bookings made for a person over 30 years old will be refused by the hostel. Auberge Internationale des Jeunes is designed to accommodate young audiences as part of a short-term tourist accommodation.



!!!PLEASE NOTE!!! THE NON REFUNDABLE BALANCE OF THE FIRST NIGHT WILL BE CHARGED FROM YOUR ACOUNT (WILL APPEAR AS EITHER AUBERGES INTERNATIONALE DES JEUNESSE OR BASTILLE HOSTEL) BEFORE THE ARRIVAL, IF THE CHARGE WON'T BE POSSIBLE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. DO NOT BOOK USING A DEBIT CARD (SUCH AS VISA ELECTRON and DINERS CREDIT CARD) OTHERWISE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. We do only accept Visa (not Electron and not Diners credit cards), MasterCard and American Express credit card. Every day between 11H and 15H guests are to vacate their rooms in order for the cleaning to be done. This is a strict policy at the hotel and if a guest is left in the room during this time they are kindly asked to leave. Please note our single room has a private shower, the toilets are shared facilities outside the room The rule concerning cancellations is that you loose the deposit from the amount of the first night, that we require in order to confirm any reservation. The rest of the nights won’t be charged on your credit card. Concerning the 12%, please contact Hostelbookers.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Bastille Apartments
24.10 USD

Apartment 88.7% 233 reviews
Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
32.86 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.2% 135 reviews
Hotel des Arts
38.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 532 reviews
Hotel Richard
30.12 USD

Hotel 1 star 56.6% 316 reviews
Blue Planet Hostel
18.67 USD

Hostel 59.4% 1830 reviews
Hotel Central Bastille
32.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 42 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
49.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews
Hotel Rhétia
26.29 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 240 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.7%

Overall Rating

234 out of 339 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AIJ Paris'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 202 of 333 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: the matresses

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Best value you can get for your money in paris. Nice location, comfortable room and basic breakfast.

Disliked: The upper beds are little noisy, but every thing else great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly. Was able to help find places to see .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Georgia Leaker

Alone

City break

01 July 2015

Liked: Location was pretty good - near an AMAZING boulangerie

Disliked: Everything. It was cold, heartless and the staff were not even a little bit helpful. I needed a hospital and asked where the closest one was and no one could tell me (it was FOUR blocks away - and this is something you SHOULD know!)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the hostel

Disliked: Little problem with bed springs, as it bends too much difficult in sleeping and can get back pain

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the showers and the close proximity to the centre.

Disliked: I stayed for 4 nights. The room changes every day. So you have to put all luggage in the locker room and you can't dry your towel. There is only one power point in the rooms. This makes it difficult for everyone to charge its batteries. The breakfast is the same every morning. There is no variation in breakfast.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus/metro stop

Disliked: The blanket is reall smell bad. Need more variation of breakfast menu

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015

Liked: The price and the convenient metro station.

Disliked: The many rules such as no showers after 11, you couldn't keep the key with you when you went out but rather you had to have the receipt. The wifi was blocked from midnight until 11:30 the next morning and you were kicked out of your rooms from 11-3 for "cleaning"

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was glad I got breakfast, was very happy with the location because there are several bars and restaurants close by, and, as a solo traveler, appreciated the security there.

Disliked: There is no common room and it was hard to meet and connect with other travelers. There were also several large groups of high school and college groups, complete with middle aged adult chaperones, that created a lot of noise, made the place feel crowded, and basically sort of flooded the hall bathrooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a lively area with lots of shops and it was close to all the sites

Disliked: The WIFI wasn't available 24 hours a day

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast. It's definitely an asset and the main reason why I chose this hostel amongst others charging a similar price.

Disliked: The atmosphere is not great. I have not seen many facilities.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2015

Liked: decent price and location

Disliked: poor facilities: only one outlet in a four person room, located five feet off the ground. The bathrooms in the hallways don't have sinks. poor atmosphere: the guys i spoke to in the lobby were weird, one guy in my room had night terrors he didn't remember in the morning, a guy was burping as loud as he could behind the building at one in the morning, and overall, the other guests weren't that friendly. At one point I had a water balloon thrown at me from one of the upper floors. Staff could be brusque in enforcing the rules. Staying there, I felt like cattle.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

saada larbi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2015 saada would recommend this property

Liked: it is not so expensive, and well-situated in center paris.

Disliked: a lot of noise in night, and guests do not respect people who sleep , lighting rooms when entering late in night, and leave room without switching off.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Teck Hock Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2015 Teck Hock would recommend this property

Liked: near metro and a lot cafe/restaurant around.

Disliked: the bed need to change. the lighting not bright enough.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good location

Disliked: Not the friendliest staff, couldn't access the free WiFi

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Carissa Pickering

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015

Liked: The only thing I liked about this place was that it kept me out of it to continue exploring the city of Paris for as long as possible.

Disliked: I disliked basically everything. The long waits at the reception when there were no staff there, then when they returned had a number of guests to hand keys in and out to. The sheer number of students that come here is the biggest turn off possible, DO NOT BOOK HERE if you are not fond of raging 16 and 17 year old teenagers running up and down the corridors, through the outdoor terrace that each room faces throughout the hours of 11:00 pm - 2:00 am. The fact that they rule no showers after 11:00 pm for respect of guests (fricken loud water pipes) but don't reinforce it. I had to get out of bed multiple times to turn off the light of the shower to stop others from trying to use it at 1:00 am in the morning, I wouldn't have cared so much if our room wasn't right next door. Needless to say I didn't get much sleep over the 3 nights here, I left tired, cranky and the breakfasts did not make up very much for it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Peteris Ponnis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2015 Peteris would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and that there is big lugage area. And in room were strong-box.

Disliked: That there are no elevator, small stairs. Room is with toilet, but doors are like in western pub, almost open, so its imposible to go in shower or toilet without disturbing room mates. There are no soap or anything for cleanness. And breakfest were very small, but for that price its ok.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luiz Henrique Soares Silva

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2015 Luiz Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice breakfast.

Disliked: Bathroom inside the room gives you no privacy at all. Only one power socket in a room for 4 people.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

FABIO FERREIRA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2015

Liked: Nothing, Hostel completely disgusting! Used and dirty sheets on the bed was not even tidy! Staff rude, terrible location, away from center city, dangerous and dark street. It certainly was the worst experience I had in hostels.

Disliked: Everything, Don't stay in this Hostel never, ever ever...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast and the fact that the hostel was clean

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015

Liked: nice location near by museu de Pompidou!

Disliked: the private bathroom was useless!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tak Chi Lai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015 Tak Chi would recommend this property

Liked: nice location

Disliked: quite strict on breakfast provisions, a bit strange on payment method... they would automatically deduct the amount from the card you provided on this website

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Amber Kazsuk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015

Liked: I liked that it wasn't too expensive, but it's well worth it to pay for a more decent facility. Free safety deposit box in use.

Disliked: Although it's city center, you have to go out of your way just to get a main metro line. Narrow staircases to drag luggage up with no lift. Having to be out of your room between 11am and 3pm is very inconvenient.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pérsio Ramos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Pérsio would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location. Staff not friendly.

Disliked: Staff not friendly. Free wifi for a limited time.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cyril France

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2015

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: It wasn’t really about the property but rather an encounter with their staff. Few hours after booking online, I went to the hostel. When I arrived the guy I met at the front desk told me that my booking was incomplete and that after booking, there is an additional confirmation I should have received from AIJ. He also said it was stated on their website that booking has to be made 12hours before arriving at the hostel fortunately; I had my notebook with me. I went online and opened the webpage where I made my booking but there was no such thing as he mentioned. After a lengthy confrontation he said they wold have to cancel my booking, for me to rebook, which he did. Eventually, I had to check-out of the hostel to a different hostel because I couldn’t find a room on the last night.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels