We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of AIJ Paris

Hostel | 10 rue Trousseau, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

77.6% Overall Rating

197 out of 291 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/03/2015)

Gabriela Blackburn thinks…

"Massive room with plenty of floor space - quiet street at night despite great location being so close to city centre - very big on cleanliness and security. -Unlimited (various) hot drinks at…"

Read all AIJ Paris reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

Maximum age for guests is 30 year old. Any bookings made for a person over 30 years old will be refused by the hostel. Auberge Internationale des Jeunes is designed to accommodate young audiences as part of a short-term tourist accommodation.



!!!PLEASE NOTE!!! THE NON REFUNDABLE BALANCE OF THE FIRST NIGHT WILL BE CHARGED FROM YOUR ACOUNT (WILL APPEAR AS EITHER AUBERGES INTERNATIONALE DES JEUNESSE OR BASTILLE HOSTEL) BEFORE THE ARRIVAL, IF THE CHARGE WON'T BE POSSIBLE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. DO NOT BOOK USING A DEBIT CARD (SUCH AS VISA ELECTRON and DINERS CREDIT CARD) OTHERWISE THE RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED AND THE DEPOSIT WON'T BE REFUNDED. We do only accept Visa (not Electron and not Diners credit cards), MasterCard and American Express credit card. Every day between 11H and 15H guests are to vacate their rooms in order for the cleaning to be done. This is a strict policy at the hotel and if a guest is left in the room during this time they are kindly asked to leave.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Bastille Apartments
23.95 USD

Apartment 88.8% 225 reviews
Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
32.66 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.9% 133 reviews
Hotel des Arts
38.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.0% 531 reviews
Hotel Richard
29.94 USD

Hotel 1 star 56.6% 316 reviews
Blue Planet Hostel
16.33 USD

Hostel 63.7% 1801 reviews
Hotel Central Bastille
34.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.9% 41 reviews
Hotel Belfort
32.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 828 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
48.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

197 out of 291 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AIJ Paris'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 172 of 284 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Blackburn

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2015 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: Massive room with plenty of floor space - quiet street at night despite great location being so close to city centre - very big on cleanliness and security. -Unlimited (various) hot drinks at breakfast; loved dunking madeleine in double strength hot chocolate -No room entry 11am-3pm meant a thorough cleaning regime =) -Luggage room that's free to use for those who arrive too early for check-in/leave Paris late after check-out -Location is 10-15 mins walking distance from Maison de Victor Hugo, Musée de Fumeur, Cimetière Père-Lachaise and Gare de Lyon. -20 min Metro journey from Gare du Nord so I could fit in a good half-day of sightseeing before returning to pick up my suitcase

Disliked: -Key policy. I didn't really mind handing in my keys every time I left. Less to carry and impossible to lose! ...But you had to show your receipt (with your room number on) in order to get the keys meaning you had to carry that around instead. Security much? -No lift beware. It was kinda tough lugging my suitcase down the staircase. And then up from the luggage room. -Mixed dorm room happened to be made up of all girls. Not that I mind, but...?

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alba Cruz Lopez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Ellis

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 February 2015 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The location and how cheap it was.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

DANIEL CUENDA FERNANDEZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, the breakfast is good.

Disliked: Wifi disconnects every 20-30 mins. No kitchenware at all. Private showers are cold. The living room is just tables and chairs like in a restaurant, no sociability.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jen chieh juan

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 February 2015

Liked: Service is good. Room is cleaned every day

Disliked: No hot water, it's cold water for 5 nights.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fact that there was a bed and I could sleep.

Disliked: This place was ok but not so great, the toilet was built in a strange way "you really can't sit down without the door being open". The wifi is good but every 50min it asks you to login again. You have to leave your room at 10am and return at 3pm to allow staff to clean. So if your thinking of partying hard in Paris and sleeping all day, this place is not for you. There is no 24/7 social room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff.

Disliked: I needed a computer and they only had some really small ones in the lobby that you had to pay for and they were not so good, but other than that it is ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite cheap and very close to Bastille station.

Disliked: No soap and shampoo in toilets and showers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No big safety locker in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pavel Kirjanas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Pavel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, there are also safe lockers in every room for security freaks, it's fairly clean and not too bad.

Disliked: Taking a shower is quite an experience. I don't know whether you're supposed to shower in your clothes, our to walk out naked, but there is no place to change or hang clothes. If you have a shower in a room, there is always a puddle next to it, so it's impossible to brush your teeth or use wc.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015

Liked: Wifi, staff

Disliked: Bathroom, showers, breakfast, noise at night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was tasty. The beds are comfortable, and our room was nice and warm. It is a good idea to have a luggage room free and locked with a card, is more secure for travelers.

Disliked: Most of the staff were very helpful with us. The check-in should be earlier, people get tired and some times you really need a place to rest. We did not find The showers, it should be more clear.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was very nice, it was clean and quiet

Disliked: The bed upstairs in 4 bed mixed dorm wasn't looking that good. There was only one socket for charging phones, internet connection is switched off at 1:00am!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness, helpfulness of the staff

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2014

Liked: .

Disliked: .

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was very cheap!

Disliked: Small bathroom. Nothing for people of 1.80 meters.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ama Ohene-Kena

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 November 2014 Ama would recommend this property

Liked: It's simple

Disliked: Nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Veronica Uddsten

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2014

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed at. You can close the door but it will still sounds like you are sleeping in the hallway. The curtains are dirty. the wood panels on the wall are chipped and the light is sterile. The worst might have been the discovery that they despite claiming to provide sheets do not have duvet covers which means everyone is sleeping with a bare duvet which leads to the question how often those are washed. We only stayed for one night and then we switched hotel.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 November 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: The "bedroom lockout". Cannot even re-enter the building after 11am and before 3pm, not even to take something from your suitcase. Extremely annoying and would not stay here again.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 October 2014

Liked: Central, walking distance from Bastille (and Le Marais). Feels safe and is kept decently clean.

Disliked: Outrageous pettiness concerning rooms, not one hook to hang clothes, no chair to sit on, a faucet worse than on trains (running water only on constant pressure). All belongings have to be packed betwen 11-15 for cleaning and rooms emptied. Prison-like concept. Noisy and queue to shared toilets (1 on each floor). Stale baguettes for breakfast. Very shifting prices 6-8€ (day-day) depending on demand. Check-out at 10 not 11. If you're just after a bunkbed it's OK but depressing place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for young people visiting Paris, in a great area near the centre with shops, restaurants and the metro nearby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014

Liked: Good location and very close to a strip of bars.

Disliked: The night staff manager was the worst person ever. If you want to change your reservation to a different room apparently only 1 person in the whole place can do it for you... and they won't do it over the phone either. I was told to come back at night... manager wasn't there.... I was told to come back in the morning... the manager wasn't there.... on and on until I finally just booked an extra place for a friend online and it was simple. Most of the staff is very friendly and spoke English very well except that one night guy who was unhelpful and flat out mean.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014

Liked: Fantastic safe lockers

Disliked: Not very welcoming

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Julia Erger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014

Liked: Nice breakfast Good Location

Disliked: We were moved into a different room every Day we were there. We Booked online but were told we had to be Out of the room each Day from 11am to 3pm and we had to move all our stuff Down Four flights of stairs into Storage during those hours. The hostel is fine but the management, the policies and the staff made everything difficult. Worst hostel experience in Europe. Not happy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kerry Payne

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is probably its best aspect, with easy access to the metro and being reasonably close to the main attractions in Paris. The rooms would be best described as basic - mine had 3 beds, a sink, some storage space for clothes, and a safe to store valuables. Not fantastic but functional, and at such a cheap price you can hardly complain. Having read some old reviews on here I was worried about not having my own key or having to pay for the bedding - but the bedding is provided and each person is now given their own key to the room. Everywhere is clean though the place is in need of a redecorating. There's also free wifi in the lobby, but this is only on from around midday to midnight. The connection is also a bit unstable and I had to keep logging back in to use it.

Disliked: Breakfast was incredibly bland, though the free coffee refills are somewhat redeeming. By the third day of my stay I had gotten so sick of breakfast (a small baguette, a madeleine cake, and orange juice) that I gave up on it altogether. The hostel shuts from 11am-3pm, which is fine if you're busy and have things to do, but not so much if you're tired or feeling a bit ill. The showers were pretty terrible. The temperature went from warm to freezing cold in a matter of seconds, and while inside the cubicles there's a ledge to put your stuff this is almost guaranteed to get soaking wet, so towels and clothes have to be put outside. Also there aren't proper doors to the shower room, just the swinging saloon-style ones that don't really offer much in the way of privacy. Towels cost 2 euro to rent, but are ridiculously small and provide virtually no coverage at all. Bring your own towel if you can. There's only one male and one female toilet on each floor, so if they're occupied you have to either wait or go to another floor to use them. It wasn't difficult for me to find an unoccupied one, but given that there are no lifts in the building it can be quite tiring walking up and down all the stairs.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels