HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of OPEN Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 13 Rue Saint Jean, Noisy Le Sec, Paris, Île-de-France, France 93130

51.4% Overall Rating

71 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2014)

"We were accomodated in the house where Lins father was living and he was very friendly and helpful. Futhermore, when our flight had been postponed we could stay in the hostel 3 hours more. There were totally new beds in…"

Read all OPEN Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 53.99

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: We don't accept groups of 5+ guests. We are going to contact you once you made the booking for further payment details (CVC code), 24 hours in advance if you do not provide this information your booking is not secure. Please also send arrival time. age limit is 35 years old Only cash is accepted. PLEASE CONTACT THE PROPERTY WITH YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. Customers who may be late must contact the property, otherwise the reservation will be cancelled. Please note that after booking you will need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation. Keys deposit is 50 euros. Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You !

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

OPEN HOUSE 30
18.90 USD

Guesthouse 47.5% 8 reviews
Hotel Armstrong
38.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 449 reviews
Hipotel Paris Printania
64.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Charma
43.19 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.5% 37 reviews
Hotel Ermitage
36.44 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.5% 318 reviews
HIPOTEL PARIS BUTTES CHAUMONT
101.23 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Loft Hostel Paris
45.82 USD

Hostel 90.6% 266 reviews
Hôtel Les Chansonniers
29.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
51.4%

Overall Rating

71 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'OPEN Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
45.6%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
56.8%
Value
60.8%
Safety
52.8%
Refine your results Showing 69 of 121 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014

Liked: It was the cheapest place we could find.

Disliked: The owner threatened to kick my brother and I out when he was being 'too loud' while getting ready for bed. She started yelling very loudy saying that he was waking everyone up and she couldn't sleep, however her area of the house doesn't have a door so she can hear everything. She wasn't pleasant and seemed to not get along with many other of the guests aswell.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014

Liked: We were accomodated in the house where Lins father was living and he was very friendly and helpful. Futhermore, when our flight had been postponed we could stay in the hostel 3 hours more. There were totally new beds in our room and there was also free wifi. It was possible to buy everything in the small shops or bakeries in the neibourhood for cheep prices. Good value for money.

Disliked: When we came in, the bathroom was in a very bad state and we had to clean it. It was horrible and totally unacceptable altough it was a cheap hostel. It is located far and away from the centre but it is possible to get there by metro for twenty minutes. However, the worse was the fact that the neibourhood was very dangerous for women travelling alone. And I would said that for anyone travelling alone. Later I got known that tourists shouldnt go to that part of the city and its quite dangerous also for citizens. I would recommend you to find another hostel in the centre because there is no more dangerous place than this.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Victoria Bleiweiss

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014

Liked: Nothing. I wish I had paid more for a safer hostel.

Disliked: No toilet paper, no key, terrible service, no pillow, dirty rooms, overcrowded, dirty bathrooms, dishonest staff, VERY dangerous neighborhood, no indication it was a hostel, no reception.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

David Wannamaker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014

Liked: I like that I now have a new standard for bad hostels

Disliked: IMPORTANT: If you do choose to stay here -and it's still a cheap bed, so you might- be aware that when they want you to email with your arrival time, they mean it. When I read the check in info, I interpreted their warning to do so as them wanting some notification if you are coming in after hours, but nope! Apparently they will feel justified in just giving your reservation away to the first person who shows up. I showed up at 9pm and was told that they gave my reservation away but they did get me another bed in the hostel so it did work out for me. Of course, I'm not giving them any points for that, a reservation is a reservation and I just got lucky. Other problems: -toilet paper ran out after one day and wasn't replaced in the three following days -€50 deposit to have a room key -located far from the city centre; this makes public transit more expensive because of the way Paris is zoned -very squeaky beds Bare bones is one thing, but this is just poorly run. I imagine there is worse, but I haven't seen them yet.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2014

Liked: Cheap place. Good deal if you are just looking for a bed to sleep.

Disliked: No toilet paper in the restroom.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jane Rio Legaspi

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Jane Rio would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff..

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe and value for money

Disliked: no

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find from the train station but far out if visiting Paris tourist attractions

Disliked: Unlike other hostels there is no offer of a breakfast. I've paid less elsewhere and received a breakfast.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 April 2014

Liked: They did make sure you had a bed for the night and weren't left out in the cold.

Disliked: Well, I got to the station where the place was an hour late asked for directions and started walking there with some Canadians going to the same place. Get to the hostel where we thought we'd be staying to be greeted at the door by a Chinese guy who doesn't speak any English/French, checks our booking and everything and tells us via translator that someone will come and get us. So we wait and while we're waiting one of the Canadians says to me that they read on TripAdvisor that if the main hostel is full then they take you somewhere else. They said they didn't really think anything of it as sometimes some people put stuff on there and it turns out ok. Anyway, the guy takes us back to the station from which we came to meet another Chinese guy who also doesn't speak any English / French and then starts taking us on the Metro again. At which point I say hang on a minute, where are we going? He then gets on his phone to speak to a Chinese woman who speaks perfect English who tells me he's going to take us to a different place in an apartment that is better which is brand new. At this point one of the Canadians starts kicking up a fuss as he expected us to pay for more metro tickets and it wasn't our fault. So we follow him having to go through the barriers on his ticket, not knowing what we're going to find at the other end. Thankfully the place turned out ok/how the woman said but we didn't get there til 1am and then we had to make our own beds and everything was not ready yet for people. I suppose it could've been worse, they could've left us out in the cold but at least they gave us a bed for the night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Potti Harish

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Potti would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Although it is connected by metro, it is very far from the city center.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 April 2014

Liked: very close to RER station

Disliked: the guesthouse is kind of filthy. and the property owner speaks neither English nor French. apparently, he only speaks Mandarin Chinese

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price...it's cheap. near to train station. quite value for money.

Disliked: when we checked-in there was no room for us so we've been tranferred to the second guesthouse not far away from the main openguesthouse. The service is bad. the worker cant speak english and french. but fortunately the owner can. The toilet lock in the second guesthouse has broken and the bathroom in on the outside.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

LETICIA RUSCHEL SANTOS

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014

Liked: Only the price.

Disliked: Almost everything.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014

Liked: Nothing! The owner just taking money from travellers.

Disliked: The staff behaved very bad with me and the owner soled my bed to someone else just for money. At 1 AM they tried to force me out of room saying I must stay in the mixed dorm (though I booked bed in female dorm online)!! This is completely unacceptable!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had 3 bathrooms throughout the building and a parking lot nearby.

Disliked: The staff didn't speak English.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlee Jones

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Carlee would recommend this property

Liked: The wifi was good. Our room was private and always warm. The bathroom was nice and big. It was located in a cute little suburb area that was close to the metro station. The hostel was actually just a house converted into a hostel, so it was quaint. It was kept in tolerably clean condition.

Disliked: The man who runs it didn't speak English; it was okay for us because we didn't have any questions, but there was a group of people who were trying to book a room and had a really herd time. He sounded like he was speaking an Asian language, so it wasn't even French. It was a bit far from the city centre, but that was okay because it was cheap. There weren't really any facilities or services available.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bruno Vitoriano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 December 2013 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap.

Disliked: The doors don't have keys and there aren't locks to eventually keep something available out of risk.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013

Liked: Price. Also, the neighbour was quiet.

Disliked: It was *extremely* dirty! It seemed that the guy hadn't cleaned up the room (not to mention the bathroom). There was no toiletpaper, bathmat was terrible -- no cleanliness at all! Also the guy didn't speak English. I think the owener is running illegal business...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I actually lived in another hostel hosted by a kind and generous Turkish man. So this might not apply to Open Guesthouse. The kind and warm reception by the host was the best part, apart from the convivial environment in the hostel.

Disliked: Sleeping area is a little cramped.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cynthia Williamson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Safety clean close to rail to Paris hot showers

Disliked: Not much information about Paris not much English spoken

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 September 2013

Liked: It was quiet.

Disliked: There was no common room or kitchen area for tea.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jimena espejel ruiz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Jimena would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, sometimes I dont know what people want. This place was just what I needed: somewhere clean and safe to crash. it is hella cheap and the train station is just there. Should, its not freaking Montmarte but ITS LESS THAN 20 EUROS IN PARIS. Jesus people, get some perspective. Would deifinitely recommend

Disliked: No kitchen and the dude there speaks no english so its a pain in the ass to communicate. apart from that everything is a-ok.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Billy Chen

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 July 2013

Liked: the price

Disliked: firstly waited outside the hostel for over an hour with about 7 other people waiting to check in at 5PM so hardly after hours, toilets had no toilet seats. showers where really dirty. internet router was "down" / "broken" so no internet access. actually canceled my return stay (was going back because had my return flight out) because it was that bad. found another place. location was pretty far out of the city. took about 20 minutes by public transport to get anywhere.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, lots of cool people, an actual bathroom so you're not taking dormitory style showers.

Disliked: The owner is rude to many of the people that stay here, the manager that stays in the building speaks hardly any english which is a challenge when trying to ask questions or if you need help with something, there is a full kitchen but no utensils, dishes or pans by which to use it with, and you must be silent or asleep by midnight or the neighbor's threaten to call the police.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Myers

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Because of how inexpensive it is it draws a nice crowd of similar minded international travelers which was really nice. The wifi here is also free and works really well and it's so close to the train station which is really nice.

Disliked: The manager of the building I stayed in speaks no english so it was a constant struggle to communicate with him. Due to this or perhaps general disorganization he tried to kick me out a day before I was supposed to leave. And the limited amount of keys available makes it hard to get in the property.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels