HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of OPEN Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 13 Rue Saint Jean, Noisy Le Sec, Paris, Île-de-France, France 93130

44.5% Overall Rating

64 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2014)

Carlee Jones thinks…

"The wifi was good. Our room was private and always warm. The bathroom was nice and big. It was located in a cute little suburb area that was close to the metro station. The hostel was actually just a…"

Read all OPEN Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.29

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: We don't accept groups of 5+ guests. We are going to contact you once you made the booking for further payment details (CVC code), 24 hours in advance if you do not provide this information your booking is not secure. Please also send arrival time. age limit is 35 years old Only cash is accepted. PLEASE CONTACT THE PROPERTY WITH YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. Customers who may be late must contact the property, otherwise the reservation will be cancelled. Please note that after booking you will need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation. Keys deposit is 50 euros. Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You !

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel Armstrong
43.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 449 reviews
Hipotel Paris Printania
66.34 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel de Paris
39.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 767 reviews
Hotel Charma
95.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.5% 37 reviews
Hotel Ermitage
44.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 317 reviews
HIPOTEL PARIS BUTTES CHAUMONT
103.66 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Loft Hostel Paris
42.78 USD

Hostel 92.9% 252 reviews
Hôtel Les Chansonniers
29.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
44.5%

Overall Rating

64 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'OPEN Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
37.6%
Location
54.4%
Facilities
34.4%
Cleanliness
37.6%
Staff
36.0%
Value
59.2%
Safety
52.0%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 April 2014

Liked: They did make sure you had a bed for the night and weren't left out in the cold.

Disliked: Well, I got to the station where the place was an hour late asked for directions and started walking there with some Canadians going to the same place. Get to the hostel where we thought we'd be staying to be greeted at the door by a Chinese guy who doesn't speak any English/French, checks our booking and everything and tells us via translator that someone will come and get us. So we wait and while we're waiting one of the Canadians says to me that they read on TripAdvisor that if the main hostel is full then they take you somewhere else. They said they didn't really think anything of it as sometimes some people put stuff on there and it turns out ok. Anyway, the guy takes us back to the station from which we came to meet another Chinese guy who also doesn't speak any English / French and then starts taking us on the Metro again. At which point I say hang on a minute, where are we going? He then gets on his phone to speak to a Chinese woman who speaks perfect English who tells me he's going to take us to a different place in an apartment that is better which is brand new. At this point one of the Canadians starts kicking up a fuss as he expected us to pay for more metro tickets and it wasn't our fault. So we follow him having to go through the barriers on his ticket, not knowing what we're going to find at the other end. Thankfully the place turned out ok/how the woman said but we didn't get there til 1am and then we had to make our own beds and everything was not ready yet for people. I suppose it could've been worse, they could've left us out in the cold but at least they gave us a bed for the night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Potti Harish

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Potti would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Although it is connected by metro, it is very far from the city center.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 April 2014

Liked: very close to RER station

Disliked: the guesthouse is kind of filthy. and the property owner speaks neither English nor French. apparently, he only speaks Mandarin Chinese

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price...it's cheap. near to train station. quite value for money.

Disliked: when we checked-in there was no room for us so we've been tranferred to the second guesthouse not far away from the main openguesthouse. The service is bad. the worker cant speak english and french. but fortunately the owner can. The toilet lock in the second guesthouse has broken and the bathroom in on the outside.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

LETICIA RUSCHEL SANTOS

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014

Liked: Only the price.

Disliked: Almost everything.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014

Liked: Nothing! The owner just taking money from travellers.

Disliked: The staff behaved very bad with me and the owner soled my bed to someone else just for money. At 1 AM they tried to force me out of room saying I must stay in the mixed dorm (though I booked bed in female dorm online)!! This is completely unacceptable!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had 3 bathrooms throughout the building and a parking lot nearby.

Disliked: The staff didn't speak English.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlee Jones

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Carlee would recommend this property

Liked: The wifi was good. Our room was private and always warm. The bathroom was nice and big. It was located in a cute little suburb area that was close to the metro station. The hostel was actually just a house converted into a hostel, so it was quaint. It was kept in tolerably clean condition.

Disliked: The man who runs it didn't speak English; it was okay for us because we didn't have any questions, but there was a group of people who were trying to book a room and had a really herd time. He sounded like he was speaking an Asian language, so it wasn't even French. It was a bit far from the city centre, but that was okay because it was cheap. There weren't really any facilities or services available.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bruno Vitoriano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 December 2013 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap.

Disliked: The doors don't have keys and there aren't locks to eventually keep something available out of risk.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013

Liked: Price. Also, the neighbour was quiet.

Disliked: It was *extremely* dirty! It seemed that the guy hadn't cleaned up the room (not to mention the bathroom). There was no toiletpaper, bathmat was terrible -- no cleanliness at all! Also the guy didn't speak English. I think the owener is running illegal business...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I actually lived in another hostel hosted by a kind and generous Turkish man. So this might not apply to Open Guesthouse. The kind and warm reception by the host was the best part, apart from the convivial environment in the hostel.

Disliked: Sleeping area is a little cramped.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cynthia Williamson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Safety clean close to rail to Paris hot showers

Disliked: Not much information about Paris not much English spoken

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 September 2013

Liked: It was quiet.

Disliked: There was no common room or kitchen area for tea.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jimena espejel ruiz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Jimena would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, sometimes I dont know what people want. This place was just what I needed: somewhere clean and safe to crash. it is hella cheap and the train station is just there. Should, its not freaking Montmarte but ITS LESS THAN 20 EUROS IN PARIS. Jesus people, get some perspective. Would deifinitely recommend

Disliked: No kitchen and the dude there speaks no english so its a pain in the ass to communicate. apart from that everything is a-ok.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Billy Chen

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 July 2013

Liked: the price

Disliked: firstly waited outside the hostel for over an hour with about 7 other people waiting to check in at 5PM so hardly after hours, toilets had no toilet seats. showers where really dirty. internet router was "down" / "broken" so no internet access. actually canceled my return stay (was going back because had my return flight out) because it was that bad. found another place. location was pretty far out of the city. took about 20 minutes by public transport to get anywhere.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, lots of cool people, an actual bathroom so you're not taking dormitory style showers.

Disliked: The owner is rude to many of the people that stay here, the manager that stays in the building speaks hardly any english which is a challenge when trying to ask questions or if you need help with something, there is a full kitchen but no utensils, dishes or pans by which to use it with, and you must be silent or asleep by midnight or the neighbor's threaten to call the police.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Myers

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Because of how inexpensive it is it draws a nice crowd of similar minded international travelers which was really nice. The wifi here is also free and works really well and it's so close to the train station which is really nice.

Disliked: The manager of the building I stayed in speaks no english so it was a constant struggle to communicate with him. Due to this or perhaps general disorganization he tried to kick me out a day before I was supposed to leave. And the limited amount of keys available makes it hard to get in the property.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Johnny Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for. It is very far from the center, but still able to get to with transportation. The house lady was nice and even more when we asked if we could stay longer then the regular check out time. She gave us 5 more hours!!

Disliked: The location was farther than expected.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Julie Walsman

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 June 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to a metro station.

Disliked: We never received the confirmation email so they gave our room away. They found us a room at another place they owned but couldn't take us there until 3 hours later. It was in a gated commuity so the front door was never locked and our room didn't lock. We had to climb the fence to get into the neighborhood because they hadn't received more gate openers yet. The beds in the 3 person room were rock hard. It was like sleeping on a piece of wood.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013

Liked: The dorms were max 4 people per room and very clean.

Disliked: The staff is terrible, was always complaining on everything and was very rude as well.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013

Liked: The receptionist is friendly

Disliked: The boss of the hostel is very impolite

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

amos chapple

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 June 2013

Liked: I've happily stayed in many a hostel but the manager of this one leaves me with nothing positive to report :(

Disliked: The staff here doesn't get the concept of "hostel". If it wasn't for the kindness of a Chilean and Mexican couple I would have been put into an exceedingly dangerous situation at this hostel. I arrived quarter past midnight and, once inside, was told I would have to be driven to "another place" because I had arrived "too late" and there was no bed. When I queried this, and pointed out that I had a reservation, the woman became almost immediately angry. In the argument that followed she tried to kick me out onto the street. The hostel is in an exceedingly rough part of town so I was left having to say that I would stay in the hall until the morning. That's when the young couple, who had overheard the whole thing came out and offered me one of their beds. The woman then took payment from me and went to bed. I later heard two Dutch women come back at 1am, to be berated for staying out too late. The oddest part of the whole thing was that in the morning looked upstairs and saw three free beds. It was as if she had been so angry with me arriving after midnight she just wanted to make a point by sending me elsewhere. Conditions inside are perfectly ok but travellers shouldn't support this hostel, it's a hell of a bad welcome to Paris.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are just looking for a place to sleep it is superb, because it is cheap and even though it is a little way out of the center of Paris you have to use public transport anyway so it doesn´t matter too much. We left every morning and came back late every night, so it was no problem, but it would maybe be inconvenient to come back in the middle of the day to change clothes or something. It´s basically a bed and a bathroom, no queues for the bathroom as there is one bathroom on each floor and only 2-3 small rooms on each floor.

Disliked: The only thing negative would be the location, although we didn´t think it was a problem. There is also no kitchen.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Frizzell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: After reading the reviews and looking up the location of this hostel, I was a little skeptical but I, like many other backpackers, wanted somewhere affordable to stay so I could explore Paris! And for me, this hostel ticked all the boxes. Yes, it is easy to get too (I flew in from Beauvis Airport and the directions given were perfect) and once you get to Noisy le Sec station, it is very easy to find. Some people have said it is hard to find the hoste as there are no signs, but have a look at the photos and familiarise yourself with what the entrance looks like and you will have no problems finding it - not that hard. When you turn left into Rue Saint Jean, it is the first door on the right hand side of the street with a number 13 above the door. Lin was very welcoming. She loves a chat! Yes, the towels and pillows are tiny and the beds (in my room anyway) were on wheels so they did move around when you moved but it is all you need for a good nights sleep after a big day exploring Paris. The bathrooms aren't fitted out with the highest quality fittings and fixtures, but there is a toilet, sink and shower in each of the three bathrooms (one in each floor) and the shower I used in the third floor had hot water for each shower I had and although at times the bathroom was a little dirty, it seemed to get cleaned in the early hours of each morning. Lin makes it clear that she is very strict on noise levels after 11pm (which is basic courtesy) and that you must keep your area clean as she will not stand for any mess (fair enough as well - basic respect!). There are no kitchen facilities at the hostel but you're in Paris - make the most of the yummy French food!! or drop into one kf the close by supermarkets and stock up for your day out to save money! The area is not that bad. There is a Carrefour and a couple of other smaller supermarkets along the Main Street which is at the end of the hostel street (opposite end to the road you walk down to the station) and there are restaurants etc also. I stayed there alone and didn't arrive back at the hostel until 11pm and felt dry safe walking to the hostel in the dark - just have your wits about you! It costs €2.60 each way (Noisy le Sec is Zone 3) to and from Paris city which us not a lot of money considering how much you save by staying here as opposed to staying in the main areas. The RER and metro lines are very easy to figure out! Don't be scared of the public transport systems! As most people will when they come to Paris, I spent minimal time at the hostel - it provided me with a bed and warm shower which is all you need! For the price, I cannot fault it. Thanks for your hospitality, Lin!

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels