We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Smart Place Paris Hostel & Budget Hotel

Hostel | 28 rue de dunkerque, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

87.3% Overall Rating

287 out of 320 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2015)

Dillon Puzzo thinks…

"I felt like my stuff would my get stolen, I was secure and some of the staff recommended great places for me to go and buses to take so that I could do things I wanted. Smart Place far exceeded my…"

Read all Smart Place Paris Hostel & Budget Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.23
  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

'If a booking is made for more than eight people then the booking will be cancelled. Please remember the 10% payment is non-refundable.' Once a booking has been made through the agency, Smart Place Paris reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris Residence Hotel
33.60 USD

Apartment 67.9% 8 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
35.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.4% 994 reviews
Grand Hôtel Magenta
26.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.9% 137 reviews
Hotel Maubeuge Gare du Nord
27.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.0% 65 reviews
Hotel De Rocroy
43.84 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 527 reviews
Friends Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 62.3% 1430 reviews
HOTEL RESIDENCE DE BRUXELLES
37.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.8% 22 reviews
HOTEL NATION MONTMARTRE
51.55 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.5% 48 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

287 out of 320 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Place Paris Hostel & Budget Hotel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 213 of 310 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dillon Puzzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2015 Dillon would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like my stuff would my get stolen, I was secure and some of the staff recommended great places for me to go and buses to take so that I could do things I wanted. Smart Place far exceeded my expectations.

Disliked: Onky one towel was given for three people

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sparrow Morgan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2015 Sparrow would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Gare du Nord

Disliked: No on-site food

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really helpful

Disliked: th

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Petra Filipovi?

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: THe hostel is near the central station so we were connected with every part of Paris. Everyone there is so polite and helpful, from the cleaning lady to receptionists. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The kitchen was clean and had everything we needed for cooking and eating.

Disliked: Only thing we could wish for was a room with a view on the street and not on the wall of the next building.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Easily accessebily location via metro.

Disliked: The 4-bed-room was kind of small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hao Wen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2015 Hao would recommend this property

Liked: the staffs are very nice, good location

Disliked: Hao left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, extremely friendly stuff, atmosphere

Disliked: Fridges needs to be clean more often

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent friendly helpful staff; clean; fantastic bed!

Disliked: nothing - but free drinks would be nice!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Molly York

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2014 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: Really warm and friendly and right next to Gard du Nord!

Disliked: If you don't like lifts you might have a long climb, but even then you can only fit 2 people with their bags in the lift at one time (at a push!).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jeffrey mcmullen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location Outstanding reception staff very helpful

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Moran

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 September 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The place was spotless, with cleaners everyday. Four minute walk to Gare Du Nord (20 minute train to Charles de Gaulle, 40 mins train to Disneyland). An excellent location and a safe area! The communal area at the hostel was lovely and the hostel had a small range of alchoholic and non alchoholic drinks for sale (very reasonably priced). There was tea and coffee making facilities and space in fridge and cupboards to store your own food should you wish ( they provided labels). Nothing was too much trouble for the really friendly staff who had fantastic local knowledge and all spoke multiple languages. We have a private double room and the bathroom and room were lovely, the room also had a free safe which is good as you usually have to pay for this! Better than hotels I have stayed in, would highly recommend for a short or long stay in Paris.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maggie Coggan-Gartlan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Maggie would recommend this property

Liked: Right near the train station and the staff were helpful and friendly. Good atmosphere in the common room and it was really easy to meet other people.

Disliked: Rooms were very small, and there were no lockers at all to put your things in. Kitchen was also a bit small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, staff were very helpful, 24hr reception. My experience was that the other guests were all very respectful of each other

Disliked: I'm 5ft 2 so size doesn't usually bother me but it was a fairly small hostel for everything (room size, lift, bathroom etc). It is Paris though, so a smaller scale hostel such as this one is bound to be small. Just something to take into consideration if you're quite tall.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Hurd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in the perfect location. The tour of the Eiffel Tower was a quick train journey away and the moulin rouge was a 10minute walk. In our room we made friends quickly and with people from many parts of the world.

Disliked: The hostel can be a bit loud at night with it being so close to bars and restaurants.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Dillistone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They offered us a free upgrade to a double room when we arrived, even though we had booked a ten bed dorm. The lounge was a lovely intimate area for socializing and meeting people. It was great that the hostel outer door required a receptionist to let people in, rather than anyone being able to come in and out. It felt secure, which was good.

Disliked: Although the rooms were rather small, it is Paris, so I was hardly expecting any larger! The kitchen could have been bigger, but it was very well equipped.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, the lobby made it very cozy and easy to meet other travellers. They provide beer and other beverages, however allows you to bring your own food and beverages in. I remembered taking drinks out of my wine bottle while I blogged an entry and watched the Fifa World Cup. Great place. Maybe not your typically party hostel, but if the crowd is right, it's can be a party. Definitely recommended.

Disliked: The stairs was a little lethal. But coming from Amsterdam, they're just spirally--they do have an elevator though!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Montmarte, clean and good facilities (kitchen)

Disliked: No lockers in the actual rooms (although there are small lockers in the common area)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cool people, wifi only in common room forces people together. Great place to meet people if you are travelling alone

Disliked: The first couple of days our room didn't get cleaned - we mentioned it to the receptionist who was very helpful and explained that they had just changed cleaning companies. After the mention, there was no issue.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train, secure, clean

Disliked: Noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Closed to public transport.

Disliked: The elevator is too small and noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kartik V

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Kartik would recommend this property

Liked: The place is located strategically and easy access to the train station. Plenty of shops nearby. The beds were clean and they provide new bed sheets. Friendly folks at the hostel and they speak good English.

Disliked: The checkout time is at 11am which is a bit early. Would be great if the checkout time is around 12 am. The WIFI is a bit weak in the rooms, for me this was a bit of a problem.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, staff was very nice and helpful. Bikes right across the street, close to metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Minh Thu Ta Thi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Minh Thu would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Easy to find. Very large fridge and you can cook.

Disliked: We stayed on the 5th floor so we had no wifi connection, we needed to go downstairs. It was quite hot in the room during day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bunks were a bit wobbly when a heavier person climbed up.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels