HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Smart Place Paris

Hostel | 28 rue de dunkerque, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

85.5% Overall Rating

237 out of 268 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2014)

Alice Weber thinks…

"It was a really clean, well presented hostel, with great facilities available 24/7. But the best thing about the hostel is the friendly and helpful staff! They really do set out to make the stay…"

Read all Smart Place Paris reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.37
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

'If a booking is made for more than eight people then the booking will be cancelled. Please remember the 10% payment is non-refundable.' Once a booking has been made through the agency, Smart Place Paris reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris Residence Hotel
41.42 USD

Apartment 67.9% 8 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
46.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 983 reviews
Grand Hôtel Magenta
38.01 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.5% 136 reviews
Hotel Maubeuge Gare du Nord
31.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 56 reviews
Hotel De Rocroy
45.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 507 reviews
Friends Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 64.1% 1114 reviews
HOTEL RESIDENCE DE BRUXELLES
37.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 10 reviews
HOTEL NATION MONTMARTRE
30.41 USD

Hotel 62.4% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

237 out of 268 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Place Paris'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 180 of 259 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Weber

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really clean, well presented hostel, with great facilities available 24/7. But the best thing about the hostel is the friendly and helpful staff! They really do set out to make the stay enjoyable. The 24 hour reception is also a great bonus when you want to stay out and enjoy yourself in Paris without thinking about curfew.

Disliked: The only downside was the unreliable internet, which was not always working during my stay. When I was desperate to get flight details, the guy at reception suggested I go to the nearby McDonalds for free wifi, so it wasn't a disaster.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marianna Prizio

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 April 2014 Marianna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, young atmosphere!

Disliked: A bit of noise from other rooms in the same corridor

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cindy Falbe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014

Liked: The location next to Gare du Nord is very convenient.

Disliked: The overall state of the property - as mentioned above - it looks quite run down. + evrything related to internet connection - I believe they advertised with internet for free - which is not taking 2 EUR per hour for a connection which apparently is slower than what I recall from dial-up-modem connections from the 90's... not to mention their WIFI - huge disappointment.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcia Angelina MArques dos Reis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Marcia Angelina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. It is so close from the train station Grand du Nord.

Disliked: Do not have a break fast, the rooms do not have locked stores and are too smalls.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 March 2014

Liked: Location - near to station

Disliked: Tiny room, very basic. Extremely noisy at night - slamming doors

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014

Liked: Balcony off our room was nice, the staff were really great.

Disliked: The room was far too small for 4 people. No lockers in the room to make you feel like your stuff was safe. Nowhere to put your things besides under the bed and there wasn't enough room for 4 people. The bathroom was so tiny that all your things got wet during your shower. The beds were really noisy and rickety. The balcony door didn't lock. The common area was really uncomfortable and small- no where to sit comfortably, everything was very cramped. Not enough space for people to sit. I wouldn't recommend this property.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay, comfortable enough, cheap and in very good conditions. The staff is always willing to help and answer your questions, depending on the person on the front desk you can speak in english, french, spanish and portuguese so i'm sure anyone can ask whatever they need to ask in the language each knows best.

Disliked: The bathtub didn't have a curtain so water was always spilled, the heating system was a bit too hot, and the front door got jammed sometimes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaniness

Disliked: location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Clean comfortable rooms. Nice lounge area and kitchen for hanging out. Lots of information about attractions in the area. Excellent free wifi. Free luggage storage on the day we checked out. Simply wonderful!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Bayes

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 January 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Had a lovely experience at Smart Place Paris. Very friendly staff and ideal location. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacinta Poon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean place with well equiped kitchen and friendly staff.

Disliked: The only down side was the the shower head in my bathroom wouldn't stay upright. Which became very annoying

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location gr8 nice and central

Disliked: Shower head was broken

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this place! This first night we sat in the lobby til 1:00 am chatting with other travelers! The rooms were extremely clean. Linens are handed out clean every day! TOTALLY AWESOME! Will never stay in another hotel when we travel like this again.

Disliked: n/c

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and quite close to the train station.

Disliked: The toilets could use some renovation and there was no proper wifi reception in the rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sajjad Ahmed

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 sajjad would recommend this property

Liked: Room was really clean and washroom was really big and very clean. Nord station and bus is available at walking distance.

Disliked: Room was bit small but compared to price it was fine. It is located in North and not at walking distance from main attraction of Paris, however, the Nord station and buses are at walk away.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katharina Christ

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 November 2013 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: The location in perfect, walking distance to everything!

Disliked: There is no common room where people can sit and read or talk. Very limited space around the kitchen to eat, too. Tiny rooms with no space to put things! Not even hangers on the doors, so I did not know where to leave my jacket at night - in my bed?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was within decent walking distance from the train once I found it. Lucky for me it was in a good area that was decently lit so it wasn't so much a panic as annoying I coulding get there quickly.

Disliked: Not being able to find it. This was more a fump on my part being unfamilar with the language and not a city/urban dwellwer. I kept getting flipped around and lost like crazy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Gare to Nord. The rooms are small but clean. Its far from central Paris, but close to Montmartre.

Disliked: The hostel is not very well marked from the street. The walls are very thin, and street noise at night can keep you up - bring earplugs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Lockers available to store things and the closeness to Gare du Nord

Disliked: The late 3pm check in time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vinicio Rosas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Vinicio would recommend this property

Liked: everything the best hostel of the 5 I stayed in in Paris !

Disliked: kitchen was too small

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness, the staff was always friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I don't know why they did not make wifi available in our rooms. The bunk bed situation was tough due to having injured my back during my trip, otherwise it would not have been a big deal. I was hopeing that the room would have had it's own locker, it's not very convenient to have to bring your items downstairs every time you leave, and then pick them up again when you return. Music was constantly playing, and loud. I understand the need for "ambiance", and think it would have made more sense had the place been bigger. Overall, it was very nice!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Logan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception, helpful with nearby attractions, comfortable beds

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly staff and the location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Afonso

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place! Very well located, friendly staff and good value. I enjoyed the stay very much. I recomend for anyone who enjoys milticultural environments and talk with people from all over the world. Very good Brasseries around and other utilities.

Disliked: No bteakfast but it's normal in hostels not having.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels