HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Smart Place Paris

Hostel | 28 rue de dunkerque, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

84.0% Overall Rating

268 out of 300 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"Very good location, staff were very helpful, 24hr reception. My experience was that the other guests were all very respectful of each other"

Read all Smart Place Paris reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.05
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

'If a booking is made for more than eight people then the booking will be cancelled. Please remember the 10% payment is non-refundable.' Once a booking has been made through the agency, Smart Place Paris reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris Residence Hotel
38.95 USD

Apartment 67.9% 8 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
43.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.1% 987 reviews
Grand Hôtel Magenta
32.15 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.5% 136 reviews
Hotel Maubeuge Gare du Nord
30.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 60 reviews
Hotel De Rocroy
44.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.7% 516 reviews
Friends Hostel
21.44 USD

Hostel 57.5% 1214 reviews
HOTEL RESIDENCE DE BRUXELLES
29.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.7% 13 reviews
HOTEL NATION MONTMARTRE
33.49 USD

Hotel 1 star 60.3% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

268 out of 300 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Place Paris'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 200 of 291 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, staff were very helpful, 24hr reception. My experience was that the other guests were all very respectful of each other

Disliked: I'm 5ft 2 so size doesn't usually bother me but it was a fairly small hostel for everything (room size, lift, bathroom etc). It is Paris though, so a smaller scale hostel such as this one is bound to be small. Just something to take into consideration if you're quite tall.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Hurd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in the perfect location. The tour of the Eiffel Tower was a quick train journey away and the moulin rouge was a 10minute walk. In our room we made friends quickly and with people from many parts of the world.

Disliked: The hostel can be a bit loud at night with it being so close to bars and restaurants.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Dillistone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They offered us a free upgrade to a double room when we arrived, even though we had booked a ten bed dorm. The lounge was a lovely intimate area for socializing and meeting people. It was great that the hostel outer door required a receptionist to let people in, rather than anyone being able to come in and out. It felt secure, which was good.

Disliked: Although the rooms were rather small, it is Paris, so I was hardly expecting any larger! The kitchen could have been bigger, but it was very well equipped.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, the lobby made it very cozy and easy to meet other travellers. They provide beer and other beverages, however allows you to bring your own food and beverages in. I remembered taking drinks out of my wine bottle while I blogged an entry and watched the Fifa World Cup. Great place. Maybe not your typically party hostel, but if the crowd is right, it's can be a party. Definitely recommended.

Disliked: The stairs was a little lethal. But coming from Amsterdam, they're just spirally--they do have an elevator though!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Montmarte, clean and good facilities (kitchen)

Disliked: No lockers in the actual rooms (although there are small lockers in the common area)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cool people, wifi only in common room forces people together. Great place to meet people if you are travelling alone

Disliked: The first couple of days our room didn't get cleaned - we mentioned it to the receptionist who was very helpful and explained that they had just changed cleaning companies. After the mention, there was no issue.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train, secure, clean

Disliked: Noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Closed to public transport.

Disliked: The elevator is too small and noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kartik V

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Kartik would recommend this property

Liked: The place is located strategically and easy access to the train station. Plenty of shops nearby. The beds were clean and they provide new bed sheets. Friendly folks at the hostel and they speak good English.

Disliked: The checkout time is at 11am which is a bit early. Would be great if the checkout time is around 12 am. The WIFI is a bit weak in the rooms, for me this was a bit of a problem.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, staff was very nice and helpful. Bikes right across the street, close to metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Minh Thu Ta Thi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Minh Thu would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Easy to find. Very large fridge and you can cook.

Disliked: We stayed on the 5th floor so we had no wifi connection, we needed to go downstairs. It was quite hot in the room during day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bunks were a bit wobbly when a heavier person climbed up.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sasan Ansari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Sasan would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly central location with easy access to Metro. No Wifi in rooms and parking is pay parking 5 minute walk away.

Disliked: Sasan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to locate. Pretty central with accessibility to the metro stations that take you to places

Disliked: Lack of wifi in the rooms. Wifi only at common area (ground floor)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great! Just a few mins walk to Gare du Nord. The people were friendly and helpful. Bed was comfy.

Disliked: Everything is tiny...the room, the bathroom, the elevator, etc. There's not hardly enough room in a four bed room for four people and their luggage.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Right near Gare du Nord where I arrived into Paris via train, and easy for the metro or even the city's rental bikes right out front to get around the city. Met some interesting people in the common space.

Disliked: nothing significant

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and the staff were so helpful whenever I asked for help or recommendations

Disliked: Towels in the room took four days to remove, I had to let the ladies behind the front desk know. Also, not really the fault of management, but while I managed to shower without drenching the whole bathroom, one of my room mates wasn't so skilled band managed to spread water and her long hair all over the floor. Very unpleasant for the rest of us in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doreen Atkinson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Doreen would recommend this property

Liked: Freshly renovated rooms, nice colour schemes, clean and sparkling bathrooms, fresh towels every day, good quality linen, friendly staff, nice atmosphere, location.

Disliked: Rooms and bathrooms are very small, but that is probably typical in such hotels. Also, when a "hold" was put on my credit card, as a deposit, it would have been good to receive an explanatory e-mail from the hotel, as I was a bit puzzled and worried about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marko Mravunac

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 May 2014 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: It's very nice and clean, the staff are friendly, the location is great, our room had an ensuite bathroom which was very practical! There was even a little balcony with a great view.

Disliked: The room was a bit small and there's no wifi in the rooms, only in the common room space as they "want to keep a friendly atmosphere," but this only results in people gathering downstairs to stare at their phones. The elevator works but only sometimes, which can be a problem when you come back form a 12-hour jaunt around Paris and you have to walk five flights of stairs. The neighbourhood was kind of loud as well, with all the traffic and sirens and stuff.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a bathroom for each room.

Disliked: A room is a bit small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Weber

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really clean, well presented hostel, with great facilities available 24/7. But the best thing about the hostel is the friendly and helpful staff! They really do set out to make the stay enjoyable. The 24 hour reception is also a great bonus when you want to stay out and enjoy yourself in Paris without thinking about curfew.

Disliked: The only downside was the unreliable internet, which was not always working during my stay. When I was desperate to get flight details, the guy at reception suggested I go to the nearby McDonalds for free wifi, so it wasn't a disaster.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marianna Prizio

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 April 2014 Marianna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, young atmosphere!

Disliked: A bit of noise from other rooms in the same corridor

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cindy Falbe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014

Liked: The location next to Gare du Nord is very convenient.

Disliked: The overall state of the property - as mentioned above - it looks quite run down. + evrything related to internet connection - I believe they advertised with internet for free - which is not taking 2 EUR per hour for a connection which apparently is slower than what I recall from dial-up-modem connections from the 90's... not to mention their WIFI - huge disappointment.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcia Angelina MArques dos Reis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Marcia Angelina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. It is so close from the train station Grand du Nord.

Disliked: Do not have a break fast, the rooms do not have locked stores and are too smalls.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 March 2014

Liked: Location - near to station

Disliked: Tiny room, very basic. Extremely noisy at night - slamming doors


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels