HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Smart Place Paris

Hostel | 28 rue de dunkerque, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

85.8% Overall Rating

235 out of 266 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2014)

"Excellent place to stay, comfortable enough, cheap and in very good conditions. The staff is always willing to help and answer your questions, depending on the person on the front desk you can speak in english, french,…"

Read all Smart Place Paris reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.35
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

'If a booking is made for more than eight people then the booking will be cancelled. Please remember the 10% payment is non-refundable.' Once a booking has been made through the agency, Smart Place Paris reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris Residence Hotel
41.37 USD

Apartment 67.9% 8 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
44.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 983 reviews
Grand Hôtel Magenta
37.96 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.5% 136 reviews
Hotel Maubeuge Gare du Nord
30.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 56 reviews
Hotel De Rocroy
46.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 507 reviews
Friends Hostel
22.09 USD

Hostel 61.9% 1110 reviews
HOTEL RESIDENCE DE BRUXELLES
37.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 10 reviews
HOTEL NATION MONTMARTRE
4.14 USD

Hotel 62.4% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

235 out of 266 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart Place Paris'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 256 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcia Angelina MArques dos Reis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Marcia Angelina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. It is so close from the train station Grand du Nord.

Disliked: Do not have a break fast, the rooms do not have locked stores and are too smalls.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 March 2014

Liked: Location - near to station

Disliked: Tiny room, very basic. Extremely noisy at night - slamming doors

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014

Liked: Balcony off our room was nice, the staff were really great.

Disliked: The room was far too small for 4 people. No lockers in the room to make you feel like your stuff was safe. Nowhere to put your things besides under the bed and there wasn't enough room for 4 people. The bathroom was so tiny that all your things got wet during your shower. The beds were really noisy and rickety. The balcony door didn't lock. The common area was really uncomfortable and small- no where to sit comfortably, everything was very cramped. Not enough space for people to sit. I wouldn't recommend this property.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay, comfortable enough, cheap and in very good conditions. The staff is always willing to help and answer your questions, depending on the person on the front desk you can speak in english, french, spanish and portuguese so i'm sure anyone can ask whatever they need to ask in the language each knows best.

Disliked: The bathtub didn't have a curtain so water was always spilled, the heating system was a bit too hot, and the front door got jammed sometimes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaniness

Disliked: location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Clean comfortable rooms. Nice lounge area and kitchen for hanging out. Lots of information about attractions in the area. Excellent free wifi. Free luggage storage on the day we checked out. Simply wonderful!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Bayes

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 January 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Had a lovely experience at Smart Place Paris. Very friendly staff and ideal location. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacinta Poon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean place with well equiped kitchen and friendly staff.

Disliked: The only down side was the the shower head in my bathroom wouldn't stay upright. Which became very annoying

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location gr8 nice and central

Disliked: Shower head was broken

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this place! This first night we sat in the lobby til 1:00 am chatting with other travelers! The rooms were extremely clean. Linens are handed out clean every day! TOTALLY AWESOME! Will never stay in another hotel when we travel like this again.

Disliked: n/c

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and quite close to the train station.

Disliked: The toilets could use some renovation and there was no proper wifi reception in the rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sajjad Ahmed

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 sajjad would recommend this property

Liked: Room was really clean and washroom was really big and very clean. Nord station and bus is available at walking distance.

Disliked: Room was bit small but compared to price it was fine. It is located in North and not at walking distance from main attraction of Paris, however, the Nord station and buses are at walk away.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katharina Christ

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 November 2013 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: The location in perfect, walking distance to everything!

Disliked: There is no common room where people can sit and read or talk. Very limited space around the kitchen to eat, too. Tiny rooms with no space to put things! Not even hangers on the doors, so I did not know where to leave my jacket at night - in my bed?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was within decent walking distance from the train once I found it. Lucky for me it was in a good area that was decently lit so it wasn't so much a panic as annoying I coulding get there quickly.

Disliked: Not being able to find it. This was more a fump on my part being unfamilar with the language and not a city/urban dwellwer. I kept getting flipped around and lost like crazy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Gare to Nord. The rooms are small but clean. Its far from central Paris, but close to Montmartre.

Disliked: The hostel is not very well marked from the street. The walls are very thin, and street noise at night can keep you up - bring earplugs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Lockers available to store things and the closeness to Gare du Nord

Disliked: The late 3pm check in time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vinicio Rosas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Vinicio would recommend this property

Liked: everything the best hostel of the 5 I stayed in in Paris !

Disliked: kitchen was too small

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness, the staff was always friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I don't know why they did not make wifi available in our rooms. The bunk bed situation was tough due to having injured my back during my trip, otherwise it would not have been a big deal. I was hopeing that the room would have had it's own locker, it's not very convenient to have to bring your items downstairs every time you leave, and then pick them up again when you return. Music was constantly playing, and loud. I understand the need for "ambiance", and think it would have made more sense had the place been bigger. Overall, it was very nice!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Logan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception, helpful with nearby attractions, comfortable beds

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly staff and the location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Afonso

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place! Very well located, friendly staff and good value. I enjoyed the stay very much. I recomend for anyone who enjoys milticultural environments and talk with people from all over the world. Very good Brasseries around and other utilities.

Disliked: No bteakfast but it's normal in hostels not having.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is super and the receptionist (except one) were friendly and accommodating. The guests were also nice and the atmosphere overall was good, although it was marred by the size of the socialising space which was miniscule.

Disliked: I had to make my own bed on arrival, which was very inconvenient, having arrived late at night and for the price that you pay for this hostel. The cleaners were very unfriendly and rude. The internet was not always working and the area to connect is so, so small and so packed I had to end up going to the MacDonalds up the road to connect. The communal space is small, cramped, cold and uncomfortable, not really great for meeting people. They did not have an ironing board. I was told by the (only) unfriendly receptionist "we do have an iron but how will you use it without an ironing board?" When I asked about alternative dry cleaning service in the area I was met with a blank stare followed but "I don't know". I felt like I was asking for something really unreasonable, but on their publicity it says they can provide ironing facilities. I have been to much tattier hostels and they still had an iron and a board.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Mediocre atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Marin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to Gare du Nord. Staff is super helpful and gave lots of great advice to miss the lines at top attractions. Private rooms with their own bathrooms...huge plus for my group of 5. Great crowd of people in the common area with music, fusball table and kitchen for us to use.

Disliked: No complaints... World of difference compared to other hostels we've endured on our trip!


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels