HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Friends Hostel

Hostel | 122 Boulevard de la chapelle, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

52.0% Overall Rating

538 out of 1249 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

Edward Elad thinks…

"Above and beyond all else,the staff are especially helpful. This alone prompted me to extend my stay there by a day even though I was planning on trying out a different hostel. Good people over…"

Read all Friends Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Only cash is accepted. PLEASE CONTACT THE PROPERTY WITH YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. Customers who may be late must contact the hostel, otherwise after 4 hours of the arrival time, the reservation will be cancelled. Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

HOTEL NATION MONTMARTRE
51.21 USD

Hotel 1 star 60.3% 47 reviews
Hotel Bervic
32.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.6% 229 reviews
Grand Hôtel Magenta
36.11 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.9% 137 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
39.39 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Paris Residence Hotel
43.72 USD

Apartment 67.9% 8 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
43.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.0% 990 reviews
Smart Place Paris
38.01 USD

Hostel 84.9% 303 reviews
HOTEL RESIDENCE DE BRUXELLES
38.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.9% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.0%

Overall Rating

538 out of 1249 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Friends Hostel'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
55.2%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
44.0%
Staff
58.4%
Value
56.0%
Safety
48.0%
Refine your results Showing 760 of 1115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014

Liked: Direkt an der Bahnstation, die Gäste im Hostel waren super nett!

Disliked: Licht im Bad war kaputt, Dusche ebenfalls. Nicht sehr sauber. Umgebung wirkt nicht sehr sicher, Nachts allein würde ich da nicht rum laufen.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Barbora Šimková

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2014

Liked: It is close to Montmartre.

Disliked: Mice and a smell of chlor

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014

Liked: I liked the location.

Disliked: Disliked how rude the owners where, that it says "free wifi" but it's very limited on when it's free and then you have to pay €3 to buy wifi, when I went to buy wifi I was told I was unable to. No sheets on the bed only bottom sheet, unstable and unsafe 3 bunk beds that the top was broken.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edward Elad

Alone

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Above and beyond all else,the staff are especially helpful. This alone prompted me to extend my stay there by a day even though I was planning on trying out a different hostel. Good people over there! I would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Only thing is some groups keep the keep so untidy. But the cleaning staff is excellent. They do their utmost to keep these places clean always,including toilets,bathrooms,etc.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Santiago Nahuel Villarreal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Location, atention, rats and there is no breakfast

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014

Liked: Very easy to reach by metro

Disliked: It is very cramped and everything smells like damp. I was on top of a three level bunk bed that was difficult to get in and out of. I woke up to find bugs crawling on me. As a solo female I did not feel safe on the streets in the evening, let alone the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

naide silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 naide would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the hostel, the staff are very helpful and certainly the proximity to the subway and a great reference, all very clean and support for those who stay a few days more and cool, it has a structure that supports several pessoas..com sure back with my daughter on another occasion, a compliment to the part Ichan official who always showed goodwill and sympathy. naide Archanjo

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to reach, just near a metro station.

Disliked: The rooms are very small and have nothing else furniture, only beds. The internet is free only between 9am and 6pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: It was small, felt cramped, no open areas/lobby/common room. But worst part was its location. It was in a rough part of France, loud, noisy, people fighting on streets, police arresting someone on the sidewalk, no where close to the section of Paris that one come a to see!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Computer for internet froze.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014

Liked: Not too far from centre of Paris

Disliked: There was only one shower head in the whole hostel, shared between 25 rooms (few of which, as far as I'm aware, are single rooms), so you either have to queue for ages or shower at weird times. To go to the toilet, you would have to go up a flight of stairs, where you would have to throw your used toilet paper into a bin instead of into the toilet, and then when you were done, you would have to go down another flight of stairs to wash your hands (without soap). You have to pay quite a lot for wi-fi in the morning and evening. The area is quite dodgy and there are a lot of touts around the hostel selling stolen goods.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014

Liked: Only location.

Disliked: Hostel not clean. In our room was bugs and door lock not work. Wifi work at 9.00 am. to 6.pm.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: The staff are kind.

Disliked: It's really not a good place for girls to stay, people outside the hostel are dangerous! And it's not clean at all. And smell bad.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kar Er Hen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014

Liked: The hostel totally is so dirty and bad!!even my room door is difficult to open!! And there are so noisy in the night!!!

Disliked: Totally dissapointed!!and won't come again!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gemma Bavister

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to Paris Nord station and even closer to metro . Suited purpose as we were backpacking.

Disliked: Weren't in walking distance to main attractions however metro was close

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: Everything! I did not just dislike, I hated and despised it. This hostel was filthy and horrible, and I got bed bugs bites all over my body, This hostel should be shut down and not be allowed to operate at all. Everything is just horrible and they did not take care of their customers' welfare, but were just concerned about making money!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, knowledgeable staff

Disliked: Bed not ready when it should've been

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014

Liked: The staff are friendly and helpfull

Disliked: The building is not good. The neighbourhood is really strange (but It's safe, and it's in front of metro station). You have to pay for the wi fi at night, so it's not really a free wi fi. (you can use it for free just from 9am to 10pm).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: location is a little bit dangerous

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Xin Ying Chen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Xin Ying would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was helpful in directing us when there was trouble outside the hostel

Disliked: need to pay for wifi

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, location close to metro station

Disliked: Facilities are old, run down, dirty, smelly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is very close to Paris Nord, which makes it very convenient.

Disliked: The mattresses where covered in plastic, and then had the sheet on top of that, so sleeping was rather uncomfortable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Mary Stathos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014

Liked: There was a nice common area outside.

Disliked: Toilets had no sinks and you couldn't flush the toilet paper. Although they advertise free wifi, it costs money to use from 6pm-9am (which is when people are actually in the hostel so what's the point?)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap and had a very relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: the ocation wasn't great. unsafe to go out at night, especially for females


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels