HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Friends Hostel

Hostel | 122 Boulevard de la chapelle, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

61.9% Overall Rating

491 out of 1110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2014)

"The indian guy at the office helped me about discount money because they did not provide private bathroom which i was paid for it."

Read all Friends Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Only cash is accepted. PLEASE CONTACT THE PROPERTY WITH YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. Customers who may be late must contact the hostel, otherwise after 4 hours of the arrival time, the reservation will be cancelled. Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

HOTEL NATION MONTMARTRE
4.14 USD

Hotel 62.4% 38 reviews
Hotel Bervic
31.75 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.2% 217 reviews
Grand Hôtel Magenta
37.96 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.5% 136 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
36.24 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Paris Residence Hotel
41.37 USD

Apartment 67.9% 8 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
44.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 983 reviews
Smart Place Paris
27.54 USD

Hostel 85.8% 266 reviews
HOTEL RESIDENCE DE BRUXELLES
37.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.9%

Overall Rating

491 out of 1110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Friends Hostel'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 694 of 992 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Run down

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014

Liked: Staff is great and helpfull, location, close to underground station.

Disliked: Mouse in the room, cockroaches, we need to wait few hours to check in into the room (around 18:00). Only one shower for all the rooms.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Marwan Mustafa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: strategic location

Disliked: I did complain about bathroom light that did not working but they not solving it .They promise to solve it on the next day but it still not work. The door also can't lock from outside.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014

Liked: The indian guy at the office helped me about discount money because they did not provide private bathroom which i was paid for it.

Disliked: Unsafe location, my friend was about to stolen her mobile phone , inside the hostel seems and feels not safe.They did not ask our passport in order to enter which makes it unsafe. The rooms are not clean, you can make an animal friend like cockroach or rats. There was a rat trap behind of the bed. We could not sleep. There is a big hole at the ceiling of corridor. In the room the bathroom was out of order. The personnel other than indian guy was a disrespectful and lier. Also the boss of the hostel which is old lady just cares about money nothing more. She does not even know english. I triend to speak with her using google translate. I rent this room for 5 people with private bathroom but the bathroom was not working. They just paid me back 20 euro ( Im not sure i will take this money back because it s been 3 days until 30 of March still there is no payback)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rogier Konings

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Rogier would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cheapest option available. At first, we were a bit spooked about some of the bad reviews, although after arriving the hostel did not look too bad at all. It was sufficiently clean, and the neighbourhood, albeit a bit sketchy, was very close to some of the touristic areas.

Disliked: Where was the jacuzzi???

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 March 2014

Liked: the fact that it's just accross the metro station

Disliked: not clean and people in where not all travelers, many were from the neighborhood, i did not feel safe

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

GIUSEPPINA VIRGINIA MARTURANO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014

Liked: hot water was there in the shower. position of the hostel not far away from metro station, gare de nord and gare de l est

Disliked: boulevard is full of dangerous people, not recommended for girls travelling alone. hostel was the dirties place i have ever been in my life. common room is very little , not enough space for a bunch of people. internet wi fi only in common room. there is a sort of kitchen, no cutlery, a big table outside, so if it is cold u have to eat there. no food allowed in rooms. there was a sink in the room, so if u want to wash ur teeth in the early morning u must do it in the room while other people sleeping... DO NOT STAY HERE

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gerald Nicks

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Gerald would recommend this property

Liked: Was across the street from a metro stop which was really good for using the metro but also not so good because of the noise from it. Was a short walk to Montmartre so good location for that.

Disliked: No lockable storage in the rooms and the one key per room system is not so good.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Next to Metro-Station, friendly and helpful staff, good value for money

Disliked: No wash basin in toilet. No one checked my passport at check in.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: Kitchen is very dirty, noone cleans it on a regular basis or so it seems. Same with the bathrooms. WiFi never worked and it took me 5 complains to get the staff to do something about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: agréablement surpris par la nouvelle équipe.je connais la maison et je retournerai, pour le prix et le reste.........

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

KASIVISWANATHAN RAJACHANDRAN

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 February 2014 KASIVISWANATHAN would recommend this property

Liked: i lost my mobile and they found it

Disliked: provide key for everyone

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Anoop thomas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 February 2014

Liked: The hostel is in the zone 1 itself and easy to find out. It's just near to the Metro station.

Disliked: The location :- It's not a safe place to be though it's easy to locate. Lot of local people will ask you cigarette. I have seen Police many times checking the local people there. The Hashish and others drug are also available at a rate of 10 Euros for a small packet , size of a 10 cents coin. (Information from my roommate and I saw it) The room :- The room space is ok for the money but the bathrooms and toilets are VERY VERY Congested. But the common shared toilets and bathrooms are ok. Bed and linen are well cleaned and good. No towels. In my room there were 2 people with 35+ who were using hashish drug!  I have seen at least 3 rooms are occupied by old peoples (60 +) who also use the shared toilets. The check-in time :- 12:00 noon is too late for those who come early morning. But they allowed using their Kitchen and luggage rooms. Even we used toilets also but not sure if they allow when you ask them. The kitchen :- Thy have new electric stows. There are 2 refrigerators for storing your food items. The utensil is not enough and not washed properly. (Only cleaning per day which is at 7:00am) Common Area :- There is an open common area near to the Kitchen is very much spacious but difficult to use on a rainy day. There is also another common area for food but only 7 people can use it at a time. Wi-Fi :- In the ground floor near to reception, the signal strength is good. But the Wi-Fi is almost Nil inside room and other floors. There is very less space near reception and common area were almost filled with people with mobile and laptops.. There is a common PC where you can access internet at a rate of 10 cents per MB (I’m not sure if it’s for /mb or /min)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Junie Von Sagusay

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Junie Von would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find

Disliked: only two toilets.. the other one is sometimes out of order

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 February 2014

Liked: Near the Eurostar station! Cheap.

Disliked: There were some weird people there. It was not like the nice traveller-filled hostels I've stayed in elsewhere. There were whole families staying there and in general it had a bit of a creepy vibe. It is good if you literally just want a bed for a night. If you want more (like a place to hang out / meet travellers, it's probably not for you. The showers were awkward as they were in the rooms. The loo smelled bad. All the same, just for a bed, it was fine. It is v cheap, but you get nothing for you money. In hindsight, I might have paid more to have a hostel with a big communal area.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ligita Zaksaite

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Ligita would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful, friendly. They explained us so many things on map, how to reach famous objects as well as how to go back to airport.

Disliked: This hostel is near beautiful basilique but it is in a very dangerous place.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

CHI WEI LIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 CHI WEI would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Metro and very cheap.

Disliked: Only one toilet and shower room in the hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Simon Lafua

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Wide kitchen, 24h service. They dont restrict people on when to go out and when to come in or when to cook and all that stuff.

Disliked: I saw them preparing to repair few faults that I'd complain about so, no need. But checkin-out time 9.a.m is kind of too early

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2014

Liked: Nothing, Actually I used beds for sleeping but the beds were so bad

Disliked: I disliked Toilets and shower situation. Another one is my tickets stolen by someone from my baggage.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emily Magkourilou

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 January 2014

Liked: It was the cheapest I could find. It is also located centraly and there is a metro station just outside the hostel. The staff helped me find my way out when my purse got stolen.

Disliked: It is very small and the area is a bit unsafe. There was not toilet paper and the doors did't function properly. My purse also got stolen although it is not the hostel's fault.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2014

Liked: Quick access to Metro

Disliked: Dirty Hostel with severely malfunctioning facilites (sinks are not draining, mice infest rooms), no WiFi in rooms, kitchen badly equipped, only one restroom and shower working for all rooms without bath... cleaning stuff removes property of guests without any chance of return due to a short stay

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is nice .

Disliked: there should offer hair dryer.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013

Liked: Sacre Coeur is not far.

Disliked: - If you can afford to pay a little more - do it and go elsewhere!! The street - for women it can be unpleasant because of the high number of men in front of the hostel. The room - very small (you stand or you lie in the bed), the lavatory in the room was broken (there were no with the toilette), the bed was dirty and with bugs, only one shower for one floor! Common room - very small no windows

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice beds, central location and good price

Disliked: wifi was very unreliavle


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels