We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Friends Hostel

Hostel | 122 Boulevard de la chapelle, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

66.7% Overall Rating

681 out of 1493 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/07/2015)

"It was cheap, it was right across the street from the metro station. There were lots of restaurants and food stands all around the street, tons of fried food and it was really 5 minutes from Sacre Coeur. It had great…"

Read all Friends Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Only cash is accepted. PLEASE CONTACT THE PROPERTY WITH YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. Customers who may be late must contact the hostel, otherwise after 4 hours of the arrival time, the reservation will be cancelled. Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

HOTEL NATION MONTMARTRE
51.48 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.5% 48 reviews
Hotel Bervic
49.29 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.3% 231 reviews
Grand Hôtel Magenta
26.51 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.4% 138 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
28.75 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.9% 7 reviews
Paris Residence Hotel
35.02 USD

Apartment 67.9% 8 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
35.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.7% 995 reviews
Smart Place Paris Hostel & Budget Hotel
16.37 USD

Hostel 90.6% 322 reviews
HOTEL RESIDENCE DE BRUXELLES
27.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.7%

Overall Rating

681 out of 1493 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Friends Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 906 of 1347 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Practical location

Disliked: The Wi-Fi is limited, free at inconvenient hours and then they charge you extra to use it. I was there during summer, it was cold at night and the beds have no sheets, so you have to cover yourself with whatever you can find in your luggage.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Nicole Lavallee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2015

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The location was extremely sketchy. We arrived after dark and needed to buzzed in. reception very small, just like the rooms.Uncomfortably small. Staff were rude and unhelpful. Got to the room... bunk beds were so close together you had to take off your bag and walk sideways to get through. Only a sheet on the bed (the pillow was under the sheet to save on linen). I asked the guy in the room if there was a blanket or sheet to sleep under and he said that reception told him we didnt need one because it was hot out. This didnt work for me. I got three (one for each of us) all still damp from the washer. Our room was off the court yard which was supposed to close at 11. It did not. It was hot in the room so we had to leave the window open but people were loud until very late. The next morning we got up to leave and I got locked in the bathroom. I tried unlocking the door for 10 mins before my friend got reception. They could not get it as they couldnt find the key. The door FINALLY opened about 20 mins later and they blamed it on me saying the door was fine, because you know, I always fake getting locked in bathrooms so I can run to get my plane. This place was horrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Villamil R

Alone

Relaxation/spa

23 July 2015 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Maikel beaugosses

Disliked: Wifi Free 9-6pm

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2015

Liked: quite central, good metro connection

Disliked: Worst hostel ever, terrible, horrible stay!! I would never recommend this hostel! Especially if you are a girl and you're travelling alone, DON'T stay here! The area is really really dangerous, the hostel dirty and the staff unfriendly. The street right in front of the hostel is full of men, doing drugs, a lot violence, prostitution. I was scared and didn't feel comfortable over my whole stay. The rooms are really tiny, there's just one plug per room, you have to pay for the WIFI after 6pm, the staff is unfriendly and weird, the same men who are strolling around in the streets, they look at you and say weird things at you. Super dangerous area, I would never go back there!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DMYTRO YAVORSKYI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2015 DMYTRO would recommend this property

Liked: Top Hostel... Awesome!!

Disliked: Wifi isn't free 24hrs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, it was right across the street from the metro station. There were lots of restaurants and food stands all around the street, tons of fried food and it was really 5 minutes from Sacre Coeur. It had great character, the walls were decorated with scenic Paris buildings and it had a circular floor plan that was really fun. There also were showers in most of the rooms and windows.

Disliked: Only issue was lack of AC or fans, Paris gets hot.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10 mins walk from Gare du Nord and opposite a Metro station. Good value, clean sheets and everything worked. I read reviews about bedbugs but didn't see any or have any real issues with our stay here.

Disliked: A 3 bed dorm with private bathroom means shower and sink, not toilet. I used the shower on the corridor just to avoid waking our roommate and didn't have to wait, although I imagine it could get busy at times. It was odd to only have one key for the room. Not a big deal, but could be inconvenient if in a large dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Najmowicz

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2015 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Thks Friends Hostel For Excellent Service, we will come back the next Summer....

Disliked: ....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeremy Henson

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 July 2015 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Reception 100%

Disliked: Not Sheets, no Toiwels!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Weronika Stanek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2015 Weronika would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Staff

Disliked: Bad Area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kyunghee lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2015 kyunghee would recommend this property

Liked: Good Stay in this Hostel

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Iulia Rautu

Alone

Business / conference

01 July 2015

Liked: there was public transportation available nearby

Disliked: although i confirmed my arrival date and time twice by e-mail and they replied each time (once two days before and once the day of my arrival), when i arrived in the evening, they told me they had given my bed to someone else. i told them i would not leave, since it was evening and i had a confirmed booking. after waiting in the hallway for a while, they finally gave me a bed in a 6-bed dorm, although i had booked a 4-bed dorm. the room was just next to the RER station, so it was very noisy. i would definitely not recommend this hostel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jitendra Keshri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015 Jitendra would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gerdenis Grickevicius

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 June 2015 Gerdenis would recommend this property

Liked: The cheapest accomodation in Paris. Nor too far from the center of the city. In the morning, the toilets and showers are being cleaned.

Disliked: No clean bed sheets, in summer nights it's very hot, no air, the people are sometimes strange, do not sleep overnights and let the lights in the room on all night long. In the evening and early in the morning, the wifi costs 3 eu. Also, probably the worst area in Paris.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, relation between price and offered service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bad enviroment for hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Olena Borodina

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2015 Olena would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff. Thanks a lot!

Disliked: For this price in Paris - any. If there will be wifi for free - 5* hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great people and atmosphere, grand location if your not too fussy, would recommend to anyone on a budget holiday

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2015

Liked: The staff were friendly as long as you were friendly back, and they took measures to make sure that strangers could not enter the rooms. The location is very close to the Sacre Couer and also to lots of food and drink places.

Disliked: My Parisian friend warned me that the neighbourhood within which the hostel is located is one of the worst in Paris, and sometimes it could feel a little unsafe at night outside of the hostel. For the first night of our stay we did not have bedding, which was disappointing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2015

Liked: Location was perfect, right next to the metro so really easy to get to all the touristy attractions. Also maybe a 5 minute walk to Sacre Coure. Outside area was nice and kitchen area was available.

Disliked: We stayed in a 6 bed dorm and there was only 1 electrical socket. The toilets had signs asking for toilet paper to not be flushed down the toilet but to be placed in an open rubbish bin next to the toilet. There was only 1 key for the 6 bed dorm which meant our dorm just wasn't locked at all, so very unsecure. There was a locker room for valuables and a luggage room but the luggage room was not lockable and staff didn't monitor people going in and out so again not secure. Staff did not come in daily to clean the only time someone did come in they started rummaging through the beds without saying anything to us (little bit creepy). The wifi didn't work once while we were there (we were there for three days). Some beds had no pillows and there were only limited blankets available. The hostel allowed people to check in at any time so we had people coming in with all their luggage at midnight. This hostel is really inexpensive but still not worth the money.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

PARTHA MAJUMDER

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

26 June 2015

Liked: I like nothing of this property.

Disliked: I dont like anyting of this friend hostel. It is very unhygienic. worst hostel. I really did greatest mistake by opting to stay there. It is like a sleeper class in train with dirty smell. I think no one can find such a bad place in PARIS. It is cheap hotel, but not good for human to stay.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ionut Danci-Bumbea

Alone

City break

25 June 2015

Liked: i could sleep

Disliked: Ionut left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015

Liked: The social area

Disliked: Dirty, felt unsafe, beds were broken and did not look clean, WiFi is only free between 0900-1800.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

SERKAN AVCI

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 June 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This place is nightmare


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels