HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Friends Hostel

Hostel | 122 Boulevard de la chapelle, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

57.5% Overall Rating

529 out of 1214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Kar Er Hen thinks…

"The hostel totally is so dirty and bad!!even my room door is difficult to open!! And there are so noisy in the night!!!"

Read all Friends Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Only cash is accepted. PLEASE CONTACT THE PROPERTY WITH YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. Customers who may be late must contact the hostel, otherwise after 4 hours of the arrival time, the reservation will be cancelled. Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

HOTEL NATION MONTMARTRE
33.49 USD

Hotel 1 star 60.3% 47 reviews
Hotel Bervic
33.49 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.6% 227 reviews
Grand Hôtel Magenta
32.15 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.5% 136 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
38.52 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Paris Residence Hotel
38.95 USD

Apartment 67.9% 8 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
43.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.1% 987 reviews
Smart Place Paris
26.73 USD

Hostel 84.0% 300 reviews
HOTEL RESIDENCE DE BRUXELLES
29.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
57.5%

Overall Rating

529 out of 1214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Friends Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
56.8%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 748 of 1089 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014

Liked: Only location.

Disliked: Hostel not clean. In our room was bugs and door lock not work. Wifi work at 9.00 am. to 6.pm.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: The staff are kind.

Disliked: It's really not a good place for girls to stay, people outside the hostel are dangerous! And it's not clean at all. And smell bad.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kar Er Hen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014

Liked: The hostel totally is so dirty and bad!!even my room door is difficult to open!! And there are so noisy in the night!!!

Disliked: Totally dissapointed!!and won't come again!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gemma Bavister

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to Paris Nord station and even closer to metro . Suited purpose as we were backpacking.

Disliked: Weren't in walking distance to main attractions however metro was close

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: Everything! I did not just dislike, I hated and despised it. This hostel was filthy and horrible, and I got bed bugs bites all over my body, This hostel should be shut down and not be allowed to operate at all. Everything is just horrible and they did not take care of their customers' welfare, but were just concerned about making money!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, knowledgeable staff

Disliked: Bed not ready when it should've been

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014

Liked: The staff are friendly and helpfull

Disliked: The building is not good. The neighbourhood is really strange (but It's safe, and it's in front of metro station). You have to pay for the wi fi at night, so it's not really a free wi fi. (you can use it for free just from 9am to 10pm).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: location is a little bit dangerous

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Xin Ying Chen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Xin Ying would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was helpful in directing us when there was trouble outside the hostel

Disliked: need to pay for wifi

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, location close to metro station

Disliked: Facilities are old, run down, dirty, smelly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is very close to Paris Nord, which makes it very convenient.

Disliked: The mattresses where covered in plastic, and then had the sheet on top of that, so sleeping was rather uncomfortable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Mary Stathos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014

Liked: There was a nice common area outside.

Disliked: Toilets had no sinks and you couldn't flush the toilet paper. Although they advertise free wifi, it costs money to use from 6pm-9am (which is when people are actually in the hostel so what's the point?)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap and had a very relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: the ocation wasn't great. unsafe to go out at night, especially for females

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ivan Silva

Alone

City break

11 July 2014

Liked: It's cheap

Disliked: There's only three connectors in the room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014

Liked: The people who worked there spoke very good english and were very nice and it was open 24h

Disliked: Area was not nice to walk through, even during the day. It was expensive for what you get, I understand Paris is expensive but this should have cost less. Rooms were extremely cramped. We booked a 4 bed and got a 5 bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaston Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Gaston would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, nice place

Disliked: Nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Evgeniya Dubinina

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 July 2014

Liked: very bad!

Disliked: Evgeniya left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

KAUSHAL CHHADVA

Alone

City break

06 July 2014 KAUSHAL would recommend this property

Liked: People are friendlly and helpful.

Disliked: bad atmosphere and too hot inside rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Georgina Keighley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Great courtyard seating area where everybody sat so you ended up meeting loads of people which was good. The atmosphere was good and the staff were friendly. It was right opposite the train station so it was easy to get around. Good price for Paris. Worth staying here just to meet people.

Disliked: It wasn't clean. The room we were in someone had seen a mouse and apparently some of the rooms upstairs had bed bugs. Our bathroom smelt really foisty. Also the wifi is only available between 9am-6pm which is when most people are out anyway and out of those hours you have to pay for it. So it isnt free wifi. It's in a big Algerian neighborhood and we were there whilst Algeria were playing which was quite intimidated, got shouted in the face by a couple of people whilst walking to the hostel. But there were staff members stood outside the door to stop people coming in which was reassuring.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arleen Medrano

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Arleen would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind staff

Disliked: Nothing

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

28 June 2014

Liked: friendliness of the staffs

Disliked: everything from the showers to the bed which made lots of noise as the bed was covered with a layer of plastic.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014

Liked: It was close to the train station so I could quickly get away from it!

Disliked: This hostel ruined our time in Paris. We've been travelling for 3 weeks and have stayed in hostels for as little as £ 5 per night, which were by far more sanitary, friendly and safe than this place. The staff (all bar one man which I should have gotten the name of) are all rude, unhelpful and intimidating. The 'room' if you can call it that was a state. I can't believe they're allowed to put people there. It was a garage outside with a metal corrugated roof and garage door, the room could have been no bigger than 8 x 12 feet and had 13 beds squeezed in and the bathroom was just a mess, you could not wash in there. There was no ventilation so as you can imagine got very hot and humid which was not safe for me as an asthma sufferer. We tried the bathrooms actually inside the building and they weren't much better, the floor was flooded and covered in dirt and they just looked like they had never been cleaned. The rooms inside actually looked a little nicer than the garage we were shoved in, so we were very annoyed that we were paying the same price for much less. I can't convey enough how disgusting and unsanitary this place was. We actually felt unsafe and I can't believe hostel bookers advertises this place. Also, 3 phones were stolen from the room during the night while we slept from beside us. There is now way this could have been prevented by the customers, yet the staff were adamant it was our own fault for 'keeping our valuables in the room' WHILST WE SLEPT!! I asked to change rooms and was quite obviously upset and worried, I kept being told they would try and sort it, but I was never moved to a different room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

?LKE ATE?

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 ?LKE would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and close the metro station.

Disliked: ?LKE left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SIU CHEING LEUNG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014

Liked: Bed and room was quiet clear U can find some cake at the reception

Disliked: The area of the hostel is Algerian. (Because of World Cup), I think it is very dangerous And the clearer will force you to get up and stand in front of you until you leave at the check out day

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Wing Man Shek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014

Liked: Reasonable price. The room is clean and the location is quite good because it is near the metro station. The bed is comfortable.

Disliked: The room is crowded and the bathroom is small.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels