We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Friends Hostel

Hostel | 122 Boulevard de la chapelle, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

73.8% Overall Rating

581 out of 1331 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/01/2015)

"The staff were helpful and the room was pretty good for what you pay. There is a supermarket around the corner and macdonalds which is handy!"

Read all Friends Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Only cash is accepted. PLEASE CONTACT THE PROPERTY WITH YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. Customers who may be late must contact the hostel, otherwise after 4 hours of the arrival time, the reservation will be cancelled. Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

HOTEL NATION MONTMARTRE
27.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.5% 48 reviews
Grand Hôtel Magenta
30.36 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.9% 137 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
31.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.5% 6 reviews
Paris Residence Hotel
38.76 USD

Apartment 67.9% 8 reviews
Avalon Hotel Paris
40.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.1% 992 reviews
Smart Place Paris Hostel & Budget Hotel
26.50 USD

Hostel 87.0% 312 reviews
HOTEL RESIDENCE DE BRUXELLES
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.6% 20 reviews
Vintage Hostel Gare du Nord
29.03 USD

Hostel 80.5% 1829 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.8%

Overall Rating

581 out of 1331 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Friends Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 800 of 1187 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

muhammed ye?ilgül

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

28 January 2015 muhammed would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Staff, Small but is like home!!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and the room was pretty good for what you pay. There is a supermarket around the corner and macdonalds which is handy!

Disliked: The area the hostel is in feels really dodgy, there is rubbish all over the street and lots of guys on the street who hassle you as you walk past. Didn't feel safe on the streets around the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

19 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Venezuelan Staff - Top 100%

Disliked: Small Kitchen, Wifi is not free 24Hrs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nazire YUDAR

Alone

Shopping

19 January 2015 Nazire would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very Helpful, Reception 24/7

Disliked: Wifi is free only 9.00am to 6pm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariella Ruiz de somocurcio

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 Mariella would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and Reception 24/7, cheapest place , Kitchene and court-yard , halpful staf

Disliked: Mariella left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sunil Poudyal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 January 2015

Liked: Access form Metro Station Proximity to Montmartre

Disliked: Location: It is in the filthiest part of Paris. Street scammers and hustlers trying to sell you one thing or the other. I felt this unsafe nowhere else in Europe. Shower room is like a 2ft by 2ft closet where you can't move and either you clean your front or only you back. Of about a dozen hostels I stayed in all around Europe, from Rome, Venice, Florence, Berlin, and other big cities, this one was the worst of all in terms of cleanliness, space, safety etc. This is the only hostel where I checked in and didn't have to show my ID at the reception. The entire dorm room has a single key. Give it at the reception every time you have to leave. My friend and I had to share the room with two other guys and the room didn't have a window for fresh air let alone the air conditioner. What bugged me most was the hostel intent on looting the boarders for most basic of facility- WiFi. They charge you 2 Euros/hr for using WiFi from 6pm to 9am. The only time when a person is in the hostel and actually needs internet. No other hostel in all of my 1.5mnth of travel around Europe did I come across such an aggravating and profiteering scheme.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015

Liked: The staff is friendly, they did not act negatively on what I was expected.

Disliked: It;s a low cost hostel, therefore there will be not as much quality as expected. The bed that I got was not good, and the wi-fi is not free between 6 pm - 9 am (you have to pay 3 euros for using it by 2 hours - which can be whenever you want).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johanna Björk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: hostel is very nice , the receptionist was very helpful the Hoberge is Acoté sacret the heart, there is a garden with single people from all the world with whom we can discuss the kirchn is cooked very well for

Disliked: the wifi and ther is not elevator

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

minlanchelo frans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 minlanchelo would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel so funy and open 24/24 the staf so friendly , the metro is near the hostel and the nod station just at 5 minuts by walking

Disliked: the wifi is not free all the time

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: kitchen is too small.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015

Liked: The location was fantastic in that you can walk to Sacre Coeur in about ten minutes, while the metro station is quite literally across the road from the hostel door, and a few minutes walk from Gare du Nord. There are a bunch of guys in that area that offer you cigarettes and cell phones, so if that type of thing puts you off, the location may not be ideal for you.

Disliked: I stayed in two rooms during this stay. The first room I went into, put my bag on the floor, and a few minutes later picked it up and it was soaking wet. I noticed then that there was a giant puddle of water on the floor. I went and requested a towel and cleaned this up myself. I noticed that extra wooden panels had been nailed into the wall and that these panels were very moldy. This made sense once I took a shower and saw that water started seeping through the wall. Another guest returned to the room and said they had the same issue, throwing their stuff unknowingly into a huge pile of water. However, I was there for four days, sharing with multiple people, and the puddle never grew as large as it was when I arrived, which has me thinking they don't attempt to at least clean up this water on a daily basis. I understand hostels are a low cost, low profit proposition, so I get they won't be gutting the walls to replace pipes, and will just try band aid it, but please, at least clean up the minimal daily leaking so people don't soak their belongings whenever they enter the room for the first time. I felt the social aspect of the hostel was lacking. This may have been just to it being winter and less people there, but the common areas were very small, as was the kitchen, which just didn't lend itself well to meeting and talking with a lot of people. Lastly, if you're the type that needs to put your hand under your pillow to sleep, this can be difficult. The pillows are just the typical pillow stuffing shoved loosely into a bag and placed under the bed sheet. I'd never seen anything like it before, and I ended up just using my coat as a pillow.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2015

Liked: Quite clean and easy to locate

Disliked: Does not provide any kind of blanket. Felt real cold in the middle of the night as the heater is not strong enough. Pillow is real flat under the bedsheet.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Aditya Aditya

Alone

City break

03 January 2015

Liked: Helpful staff...

Disliked: Dirty toilets. Smelly rooms. Rooms too small. No proper ventilation. Small beds.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The bed does not have stairs to get up

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015

Liked: The staff were very kind and friendly!!

Disliked: Just 1key for 1room even it's dormitory!! The room was so small. Only one person can charge phone. Toilet can not flash paper.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Johannes Myers

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

02 January 2015

Liked: It was very close to the metro station

Disliked: The windows did not lock and the rooms smelled little funny. It was also in a very bad part of town

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bad cleaning, cold bedroom, horrible shower.

Disliked: Bad cleaning, cold bedroom, horrible shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zeeshan Khan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2014 Zeeshan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and Reception 24/7, cheapest place for night or two

Disliked: The Location Area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Rojas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff amazing Top 100%

Disliked: Small Tv Room Area

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

08 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Open 24/7

Disliked: In my Room The Heater ins't Working...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was fantastic, very helpful and friendly. Nice kitchen!

Disliked: No wifi (or at least it did not work when I was there). Strange neighbourhood, but I don't think the hostel was unsafe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

16 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had no curfew, and there was a kitchen with all opportunities to cook and store your food (enough for many people)

Disliked: No dislikes

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Matas Astrauskas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2014

Liked: cheapest place for night or two

Disliked: Atmosphere not very safe, one key per room,

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Luis Marco Ceron

Alone

City break

15 October 2014

Liked: Value for money "in Paris"

Disliked: It was not so clean. I booked a room with private bathroom, but the shared bathroom was totally better.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

nur ba?türk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014

Liked: Only I like staff.

Disliked: It was the worst hostel which stay in my life. The rooms were full of insect. One of them bit me. And I had a urticeria. I took a cortizon during 2 weeks. I am still not good. I said them. I am very bad. They didnt care about me. And the internet was not free. only between 9.00am-6.00 pm was free.Sometimes it didnt work. I Had a very bad experience :( I dont suggest certainly.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels