HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel

Hostel | 2 Square Caulaincourt, (between 63 and 65 rue Caulain Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

83.1% Overall Rating

1512 out of 1745 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

Gerrit Kroon thinks…

"Beautiful location at Montmartre and even at a walking distance (1 a 2 km) from the city centre. Magnificent view over North Paris from my window. Great breakfast. Very friendly staff. And not too…"

Read all Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Lucky Youth Montmartre
69.69 USD

Apartment 75.5% 762 reviews
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
38.88 USD

Hostel 74.3% 331 reviews
Plug Inn Boutique Hostel
34.13 USD

Hostel 85.3% 687 reviews
Hotel Audran
38.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 130 reviews
Grand Hotel de Clermont
41.67 USD

Hotel 84.3% 86 reviews
Goldhotel
55.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 15 reviews
Le Montclair Montmartre
24.38 USD

Hostel 80.7% 2200 reviews
Paris-Location-Appartement
59.30 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

1512 out of 1745 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 1221 of 1521 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 48 | 49   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sevgi Ürüm

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2013 Sevgi would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff, breakfast & bar lounge are perfect. free internet is quick. staff is professional. though I disliked some points below I will stay surely at this hostel for my other visits in Paris. I highly reccommend this hostel .

Disliked: beds could be better (comfortable), its hardly difficult to climb at berth for upper bed. I stayed at female room for 6 persons. the room was so small and I suppose, the air-condition system was not enough to make clean the ai in the room. also the window was not available to open. I wish could be the female room for four people, too. common kitchen is so small and not enough to cook and eat there for many people, also has not refrigerator as I saw. the rooms were not cleaned every day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great! And very close to the metro which is a plus. The free breakfast was definitely one of the highlight of my 5 weeks backpacking trip around Europe (accomodation wise). Definitely worth it when you're on a tight budget. Got upgraded to a 4-room instead, though it was a little crammed when everyone was back. WIFI was decent enough to plan your stay in France.

Disliked: Was only there for 2 nights, so I cannot really judge on how often they cleaned the rooms. The only thing I had an issue with is that I have to wait until 4pm to check-in, but that's probably my fault for not checking about that before arriving. But they do have a room where you can leave your luggage, so it's all good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the subway statition. Very close to the Montmartre. Friendly staff. Quiet place. Lot of places where to eat around.

Disliked: You have to pass several/lot of stairs (depends on the room) to get to your room. This could be for somebody quite difficult.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself had a lot of character in the way it was decorated. For the price paid, the cleanliness and amenities provided were okay. But the free breakfast was very good!

Disliked: In the room there was no safety closet for locking up your pack especially when leaving the hostel for the day and having cleaning stuff/new roommates coming in and out of the room. The bathroom smelled very odd and had mold all over the ceiling. Lastly, there were no hooks on the walls to hang stuff which made the room very messy with everything scattered on the floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nhu Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Nhu would recommend this property

Liked: I got upgraded to a 4-bedroom with shower inside. Staffs were not particularly thrilled but they would answer my questions, so all is good. The free breakfast was decent.

Disliked: The wi-fi can only be accessed in the reception area (and the bar), which makes it a rather crowed space every evening, when people try to get some internet.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cassandra Estrella-Roca

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: The location was nice. Close to a Metro and near the Sacre Coeur. I liked that breakfast was free. I also liked that the bathroom and shower were separate.

Disliked: I did not like the mandatory lock out of 1100-1600. No lift, we were on the fourth floor. No wi-fi in our rooms, it was available on the main floor and the bar but would have been nice to have it in our room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really loved the location of this hotel, it was on Montmartre, right next to bus and metro stop, also the shop and bakery was very close. Staff was friendly and we didn't have any trouble, even though we don't speak French. They responded to my email quickly (I upgraded the room to private bathroom) and we arranged everything. We took 5 day ticket to metro (it was around 30€) and I would recommend you to try Montmartrobus which stops close to hotel and takes you around Montmartre. Also the regular bus stop is right next to the hotel - and metro ticket is also valid for the bus, Montmartrobus and train, don't forget ! Moulin Rouge is very close, there are some good bars and cafés.

Disliked: Even though everything was nice, I really didn't like the cleanliness of the room: it wasn't vacuumed in a while so there were some bits of hair and dust lying around the floor. I saw that cleaning lady carried around vacuum cleaner every day, but I didn't hear she ever used it - so we laughed and joked really hard about it. Why was she carrying it around and never used it: MYSTERY. We stayed there 5 days but they never changed sheets (or made the bed), but it didn't bother me too much. Also the garbage bin was changed every day. And we got fresh towels. Room is very small, so be prepared - there is no place for clothes or suitcases, no hangers. There were two chairs and we kept our suitcases on them (otherwise we wouldn't be able to walk around the room). There is also a small table, which is a plus. The bathroom is very very small, toilet is separated from bathroom (but private of course). I missed a mirror and a sink in the toilet (it was in the bathroom though). And I really missed hangers in the bathroom (no room for towel or clothes). View was not great (there was a building opposite), but it didn't bother me because we returned late to hotel every day so we just slept there. Breakfast is everyday the same: croissant, a bun, rusk, marmalade, butter, coffee, juice, cereal. It was good but after couple of days I missed at least some cheese or paté or something, because all the ingredients were somehow sweet and I would be happy to eat something to neutralize the taste. It was a good french experience though.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013

Liked: I DONT LIKE IT

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Baltins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Clement was very accommodating when I had to send a parcel and there were problems. I probably should´ve bought her a bottle of wine.

Disliked: Nothing really

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YUKA KASHIWAGI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 YUKA would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and clean!

Disliked: No elevator.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, one of the staff was really helpful, breakfast, much better than the last Parisian hostel I stayed in.

Disliked: The bedding, you get one flat sheet and a blanket, not sure what to protect myself from more - the mattress or the unwashed blanket.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Considering the other options in Paris, this Hostel was very good.

Disliked: Common areas were clean, but the rooms and the sheets...pfffi could be so much better

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very good atmosphere and it was located in a very nice neighborhood

Disliked: would have liked mirrors so that getting ready in the morning was faster when the shower was in use and would have been nice to have wifi everywhere not just in the common rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amy Holcombe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and awesome breakfast! Great views out the windows and plenty of computers for all the guests.

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john mc macken

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: near metro. good staff. clean. breakfast. bar. frre internet. good atmosphere.

Disliked: there was nothing i disliked

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, minutes away of the sacre couer and close to the metro (if you exit, go up the stairs and you are immediately on the right street, it will save you 5 min searching) I've been there together with my parents, they in a double room me in a dorm and it was really good. One of the best value for money places i've seen in paris so far. Good breakfast as well. After having emailed that I was coming together with my parents they placed in two rooms next to each other which was very practical.

Disliked: Small detail, the bed was a bit wobbly and there are no lockers on the dorm, but there was a safe in the double bed

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tessa Shiels Roberts

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2013 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was good, as was the location. It was a small enough hostel which I liked. The location was nice.

Disliked: There is absolutely no hot water, ever! The bar/restaurant closes after breakfast and so there's not really a common room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Metro bar at the basement of the hostel -Breakfast included

Disliked: Staff not overly friendly

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was decent. Free breakfast and the bar tender was awesome. They had a safe place for bags before checkin and after checkout.

Disliked: The breakfast lady was being ridiculous.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is nice, breakfast is good but the most of all the location is perfect! The area itself is beautiful and a metro is close. There is a nice bar downstairs (where the breakfast is also served). We liked that it was not a "party hostel", at least not when we were there. It was a nice surprise to notice that our room had a toilet and a shower even though the booking said shared bathroom. It was also possible to leave the bags to the hostel before check-in / after check out. We also stayed in another hostel in the same area which was not as good and was more expensive.

Disliked: One day our room door was left open by the cleaning staff, I guess, which was not nice. Wifi is good but doesn't work in all the rooms but only in common areas. The room also had a funny smell but that didn't bother us.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susan Singer

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

21 April 2013 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the desk was incrediblyniceandhelpful. They spoke many languages and were willing to help me with many things. I really appreciated them.

Disliked: The staff in the restaurant weren't friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with friendly staff, lots of good facilities like an inclusive breakfast in the morning (and the option to take extras), towels on loan, great wifi access, a bar in the evening and the possibility to let staff guard your valuables. And all this for a very decent price!

Disliked: Sadly the bar was closed on sunday and monday evening, but that was probably because it was such nice weather and everyone was outside!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matias Caraffa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Matias would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location , the price , the breakfast is very good and is pretty cool for stay without any problem .

Disliked: Dont have lockers in the room .

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

yujia du

Alone

City break

08 April 2013

Liked: Free computers

Disliked: The lounge and kitchen are really small

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Bhishma Bhusal

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2013 Bhishma would recommend this property

Liked: It is not far from the train station. The location is good. Staff are friendly and cooperative. The breakfast is good.

Disliked: The internet should be accessed from all rooms. Body wash/shampoo should be provided.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels