We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel

Hostel | 2 Square Caulaincourt, (between 63 and 65 rue Caulain Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

81.4% Overall Rating

1531 out of 1766 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/11/2014)

olga kuznetsova thinks…

"I slept alone in the room for 6! Good breakfast with tasty croissants. Good location and easy to find, 3 min from metro, 7 min from Sacre Coeur, many sushi restaurants nearby."

Read all Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Important : We do not accept group over 8 people and we reserve the right to cancel any bookings over that number.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Lucky Youth Montmartre
66.89 USD

Apartment 75.5% 762 reviews
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
31.63 USD

Hostel 69.4% 334 reviews
Plug Inn Boutique Hostel
27.70 USD

Hostel 84.5% 691 reviews
Hotel Audran
37.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 130 reviews
Grand Hotel de Clermont
38.06 USD

Hotel 81.7% 87 reviews
Goldhotel
33.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 15 reviews
Le Montclair Montmartre Hostel & Budget Hotel
23.97 USD

Hostel 79.8% 2209 reviews
Paris-Location-Appartement
56.93 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

1531 out of 1766 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 1233 of 1540 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Tiny rooms, very badly designed. Nowhere to put clothes. An idiot would at least have put up a rail with hangers on a spare bit of wall space No towels No sheets No hot water GRIM!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no comments.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YAN YIP

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 YAN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful and nice. facilities and services is good such as the kitchen.

Disliked: There is no lift. its quite inconvenient for taking the heavy luggage to the topmost floor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff at the reception I talked to during my stay was helpful. There's free breakfast, free internet (5 computers to use freely).

Disliked: No major complaints. An extra bathroom on each floor would be useful as there's only 1 bathroom per room. If you look for a place with an atmosphere, keep looking.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right off the metro. Near the red light district and a lot of good food vendors.

Disliked: The mixed bed room was down three very steep flights of stairs, so if you have cumbersome bags you'll want to ask for a room on the main level. The room was pretty humid, so the laundry I tried to do did not dry at all the whole day it was hung up.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Folstrom

Alone

Events / festivals

19 June 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast,free wifi and computer use. Very clean and nice place.

Disliked: Though there is a bar for meeting people, atmosphere was not the best...Felt like a hotel more than a hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ashley Burk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and it was a bed. Nothing special but nothing really wrong with it either

Disliked: The directions given are crap! There is nothing there! I suggest doing google maps before you get there. I got lost in the ghetto for two hours looking for this place! Do your research before you go!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 June 2013

Liked: Awesome location and good breakfast. Clean and secure.

Disliked: Curfew is ridiculously early. Alcohol is not "permitted" onsite. Kitchen is tiny. Staff acted bothered when asked questions. Tiny common area without enough seats.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Dewar Amy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013

Liked: Beautiful location! Breakfast is free, reasonably comfortable.

Disliked: Tiny rooms with no air circulation, no hot water a lot of the time, wi-fi only works in the lobby and bar, no lockers in rooms for your valuables.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Asli Tarhan

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 June 2013

Liked: Location is little bit good

Disliked: Condition of the hostel is not good at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very near to the Sacre Cour and 5 min walk from the Rue Lepic where Van Gogh had lived etc. Great location!

Disliked: Nothing particular

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and breakfast was really good

Disliked: Kind of far from all the main sites, though very close to a metro stop, and no wifi in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sevgi Ürüm

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2013 Sevgi would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff, breakfast & bar lounge are perfect. free internet is quick. staff is professional. though I disliked some points below I will stay surely at this hostel for my other visits in Paris. I highly reccommend this hostel .

Disliked: beds could be better (comfortable), its hardly difficult to climb at berth for upper bed. I stayed at female room for 6 persons. the room was so small and I suppose, the air-condition system was not enough to make clean the ai in the room. also the window was not available to open. I wish could be the female room for four people, too. common kitchen is so small and not enough to cook and eat there for many people, also has not refrigerator as I saw. the rooms were not cleaned every day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great! And very close to the metro which is a plus. The free breakfast was definitely one of the highlight of my 5 weeks backpacking trip around Europe (accomodation wise). Definitely worth it when you're on a tight budget. Got upgraded to a 4-room instead, though it was a little crammed when everyone was back. WIFI was decent enough to plan your stay in France.

Disliked: Was only there for 2 nights, so I cannot really judge on how often they cleaned the rooms. The only thing I had an issue with is that I have to wait until 4pm to check-in, but that's probably my fault for not checking about that before arriving. But they do have a room where you can leave your luggage, so it's all good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the subway statition. Very close to the Montmartre. Friendly staff. Quiet place. Lot of places where to eat around.

Disliked: You have to pass several/lot of stairs (depends on the room) to get to your room. This could be for somebody quite difficult.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself had a lot of character in the way it was decorated. For the price paid, the cleanliness and amenities provided were okay. But the free breakfast was very good!

Disliked: In the room there was no safety closet for locking up your pack especially when leaving the hostel for the day and having cleaning stuff/new roommates coming in and out of the room. The bathroom smelled very odd and had mold all over the ceiling. Lastly, there were no hooks on the walls to hang stuff which made the room very messy with everything scattered on the floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nhu Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Nhu would recommend this property

Liked: I got upgraded to a 4-bedroom with shower inside. Staffs were not particularly thrilled but they would answer my questions, so all is good. The free breakfast was decent.

Disliked: The wi-fi can only be accessed in the reception area (and the bar), which makes it a rather crowed space every evening, when people try to get some internet.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cassandra Estrella-Roca

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: The location was nice. Close to a Metro and near the Sacre Coeur. I liked that breakfast was free. I also liked that the bathroom and shower were separate.

Disliked: I did not like the mandatory lock out of 1100-1600. No lift, we were on the fourth floor. No wi-fi in our rooms, it was available on the main floor and the bar but would have been nice to have it in our room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really loved the location of this hotel, it was on Montmartre, right next to bus and metro stop, also the shop and bakery was very close. Staff was friendly and we didn't have any trouble, even though we don't speak French. They responded to my email quickly (I upgraded the room to private bathroom) and we arranged everything. We took 5 day ticket to metro (it was around 30€) and I would recommend you to try Montmartrobus which stops close to hotel and takes you around Montmartre. Also the regular bus stop is right next to the hotel - and metro ticket is also valid for the bus, Montmartrobus and train, don't forget ! Moulin Rouge is very close, there are some good bars and cafés.

Disliked: Even though everything was nice, I really didn't like the cleanliness of the room: it wasn't vacuumed in a while so there were some bits of hair and dust lying around the floor. I saw that cleaning lady carried around vacuum cleaner every day, but I didn't hear she ever used it - so we laughed and joked really hard about it. Why was she carrying it around and never used it: MYSTERY. We stayed there 5 days but they never changed sheets (or made the bed), but it didn't bother me too much. Also the garbage bin was changed every day. And we got fresh towels. Room is very small, so be prepared - there is no place for clothes or suitcases, no hangers. There were two chairs and we kept our suitcases on them (otherwise we wouldn't be able to walk around the room). There is also a small table, which is a plus. The bathroom is very very small, toilet is separated from bathroom (but private of course). I missed a mirror and a sink in the toilet (it was in the bathroom though). And I really missed hangers in the bathroom (no room for towel or clothes). View was not great (there was a building opposite), but it didn't bother me because we returned late to hotel every day so we just slept there. Breakfast is everyday the same: croissant, a bun, rusk, marmalade, butter, coffee, juice, cereal. It was good but after couple of days I missed at least some cheese or paté or something, because all the ingredients were somehow sweet and I would be happy to eat something to neutralize the taste. It was a good french experience though.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013

Liked: I DONT LIKE IT

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Baltins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Clement was very accommodating when I had to send a parcel and there were problems. I probably should´ve bought her a bottle of wine.

Disliked: Nothing really

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YUKA KASHIWAGI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 YUKA would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and clean!

Disliked: No elevator.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, one of the staff was really helpful, breakfast, much better than the last Parisian hostel I stayed in.

Disliked: The bedding, you get one flat sheet and a blanket, not sure what to protect myself from more - the mattress or the unwashed blanket.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Considering the other options in Paris, this Hostel was very good.

Disliked: Common areas were clean, but the rooms and the sheets...pfffi could be so much better

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very good atmosphere and it was located in a very nice neighborhood

Disliked: would have liked mirrors so that getting ready in the morning was faster when the shower was in use and would have been nice to have wifi everywhere not just in the common rooms


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels