HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Oops! Design Hostel - Latin Quarter Paris Hostel

50 Avenue des Gobelins, Paris, France

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 88%

Safety 87%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 64.36USD
  • Towel 2.15USD

Important Information

Credit card and cheque not accepted, only cash (bills of 500 euros are not accepted).
Please, pay attention : we sell beds not rooms, so if you book for 4 or 6 bedroom it's not 100% garantee that you wiil be in the room you reserve, but of course we try our best to satisfy your needs to make your stay with us as enjoyable as we can.
Please note that we don't accept bookings for 7 pax or more. If you want to do the reservation for more than 6 pax you have to contact Oops Hostel.
directly.

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 88%

Safety 87%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

Showing 21-30 of 32 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Easy to find from the metro station, plenty of cafes and restaurants in the area. Rooms were clean and simple, good shower in the ensuite. Free wifi was fast. Easy to use security lockers.

Disliked: Bunk beds were not particularly comfy, had to use provided blanket as an extra pillow. Breakfast was included, but was unimpressive, definitely go for the amazing food available from all the surrounding cafes.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comment. Just two things: you could have asked for an extra pillow at the front desk; our breakfast is the typical French style: with croissant, breadroll, jam, butter, chocolate muesli, fruit cereal, juice and hot drinks... and free.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and secure. Access to the dorm limited to magnetic key and lockers (outside the room) are available using an electronic keypad. They cleaned the bathroom on our second night. Breakfast includes CROISSANT, bread, jam and butter (on a plate) and coffee, boxed milk and boxed juice. Don`t be intimidated by the 'bread man'. He will give you more when asked.

Disliked: Payment in cash only upon arrival. Only one staff member was friendly to us while we were there. Toilet paper are in sheets (not roll..) and if you do rent a towel, they are fairly small.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and very easy to find. We arrived at6am and even though we couldn't check in they let us use their facilities and gave us breakfast.StAff are friendly and know their stuff about Paris and the local area. A great stay

Disliked: Beds are very noisy and at times feel very unstable, whenever I got out of bed I felt like the whole thing was going to fall over.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Lockers were not in the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were servicial and friendly, they help every time we needed.

Disliked: Only that the beds of the room are old, creaky when moving.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The private room/bathroom are neat, tidy, and large enough to accommodate the amount of people. The common area is clean and inviting. The staff were very knowledgeable about shuttle services, metro, taxi, bus info. In fact, the bus station is at the front door and the metro is a block away. Very straight forward. Location is fairly far if you are into walking to popular destinations like louvre, Eiffel etc. however, metro is very simple to follow. Thanks Gabriel for helping us solve our shuttle bus to the airport at 4am!! Ou did all the hard stuff for us!Merci!

Disliked: The breakfast was not awesome. Croissants and buns with cereal ( no helpful if u don't eat dairy, but whatever, it was free!!)On our last night, while sleeping after midnight, two different groups of people entered our room, I presume they went to the wrong room, but the key worked. Knowing that multiple keys open my door didn't settle well with me. Aside from that, great service.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review! We are really happy that you had a good stay. About the people getting to your room: actually it was a family of people that got 5 beds in 3 different rooms (as they didn't make a reservation, it was a walk-in) and they swapped rooms with one another because the lady of this family was picky about her roommates... So they did have 3 keys to 3 different rooms and changed a lot! We assure you that the keys work only to the assigned room ;) Hope to see you soon! Oops! Staff

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean. Quiet. Good, strong shower. Free wifi. Free breakfast (croissant, bread roll, jam, coffee/tea, juice, cereals).

Disliked: When I arrived, the two girls at reception kept talking in Russian and left me waiting. Once one of them started to address my reservation, she was less than enthusiastic. No lockers in rooms, but small lockers on corridor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry if this happened, but the shift changing is an important process that one member of the staff needs to give all the information of what is going on the hostel to the other. Thus, we are able to work accurately and with unity. As usually our guests understand that this is a crucial part of our work, they have no problems in being asked to wait for 2 minutes, when you could have read the info table or grabbed one of our free maps!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Not much that was exceptional

Disliked: There was no privacy. Other hostels I've stayed at at least offers a curtain for each bunch...this one just had 2 bunk beds in a small room and it was very hard to have more than 1 person at a time inside.


The property's response is

We are really sorry for this review. Most hostels don't have curtains for each bed, you could have seen our photos on our website. The surface of the rooms is relative to the surface of rooms in Paris, so we suggest that you research more about the city patterns of hostels and procedures so that you don't create false expectations. We are one of the best rated hostels of Paris, our staff is multilingual and one of the most attentious to our guests, and facilities are clean and new.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff couldn't be more helpful, there was a lift, breakfast is provided & it is close to 2 metro stations. The staffs recommendations of restaurants, etc. were excellent.

Disliked: The room smelled, especially the bathroom which smelled strongly of urine. We got moved halfway through and the 2nd room was much better but the shower was tiny. The beds weren't very stable & creaked with the slightest movement. The kitchen cannot even be described as a kitchenette - no hot water, no kettle, no oven, no chopping board, cups or cutlery! Beware if you hire a towel they're hand towel size. The lockers are tiny & in the corridor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. About the cleaniness issues, our cleaning staff does their best, so you should have contacted the reception if you noticed any lack of cleaning. The kitchen has hot water and everything you said that there isn't -- except for the oven, and it is quite common in hostels. The most important is that you gave us some feedback and you enjyed your stay. Oops! Staff :)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: This is a very modern hostel with a very friendly atmosphere. Great, would recommend staying here if you are in Paris. Didn't have time to check out all the facilities, but the en suite 4 bed dorm - brilliant and the common room downstairs by reception with the computers- great for hanging out in.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability