We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of St Christopher's Inn Canal

Hostel | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 159 Rue de Crimée, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75019

85.8% Overall Rating

2201 out of 2370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/12/2014)

David Jackman thinks…

"The rooms were well set up to get a good nights sleep despite people coming and going"

Read all St Christopher's Inn Canal reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check out is 11am

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris 19th Apartment
35.42 USD

Apartment 64.0% 17 reviews
Hôtel de la Comète
41.75 USD

Hotel 81.4% 51 reviews
Peace and Love Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 57.5% 990 reviews
BEAUTIFUL CITY HOSTEL
32.26 USD

Hostel 84.5% 38 reviews
Generator Paris
34.16 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Loft Hostel Paris
25.60 USD

Hostel 87.3% 289 reviews
HIPOTEL PARIS BUTTES CHAUMONT
94.88 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel de Bellevue
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.2% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

2201 out of 2370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St Christopher's Inn Canal'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 1826 of 2061 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 73 | 74   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Olivares

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 January 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: The attention is quite good, and the atmosphere is also good.

Disliked: The elevator. The location. No eggs at breakfast.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015

Liked: security, lift

Disliked: humidity, dirty, extremely disgusting

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mostafa AbdRabbo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

13 January 2015 Mostafa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, spacious rooms, big common room & awesome bar

Disliked: Slow internet & not the best location

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

BARBARA Borges

Alone

City break

05 January 2015 BARBARA would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff are the best highlights.

Disliked: Internet is not very good. The lift was broken and guests had to carry their own luggage...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Jackman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were well set up to get a good nights sleep despite people coming and going

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ashley Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The beds each had multiple outlets and a curtain to close at night. This was very nice. I also liked that there was a sink in the room.

Disliked: You are charged a fee to use the lockers. I've already paid a bunch of money I shouldnt have to pay again to store my stuff for the day.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Craig Kelly

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the canal. It was really beautiful waking up and having breakfast outside in the peace and quiet.

Disliked: Nothing I dis-liked. The Wifi cut out at times, but that can't be helped. Everything was great!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly, safe, and live atmosphere

Disliked: Shower floors may have needed to be a little cleaner

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2014

Liked: Location was great and river was wonderful.

Disliked: Very tired looking and dirty. Room had a broken sink and an old tooth brush rammed down the plughole no one had bothered to clean out.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a bar and nightclub below the hostel, a great place to socialise. I met my other half in the pub on my first night!

Disliked: The bar was open to the public, which meant some creepy guys would hang around at night. Also it is very far from the centre, so while there are shops and things nearby, it takes a while to get anywhere good.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was as I expected in a hostel for the trip I planned. I am a solo traveller so it allowed me to hang out in common areas and meet people.

Disliked: I wish there was a kitchen so we had the option to make our own food for tight budgets etc.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Antje Kroon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 September 2014 Antje would recommend this property

Liked: The curtains at the beds. I also liked the breakfast which was included very much. It was so nice to have breakfast in the morning sun outside at the canal.

Disliked: The toilets weren't that clean.There was also a group of boys on our women only floor and they partied the whole night and were knocking on the doors. That was really bed, because we booked the women only floor to have a peaceful night. Also the door was kind of broken so that it did noch close properly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ivan Kolárik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, the nearby metro line goes straight to the center. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were great, nice and clean and also the bar was great.

Disliked: Ivan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were quite spacious and clean, curtains on each bed so it is easer to sleep. It's very big and busy so there is a greater chance to meet other travelers. Staff was friendly and resourceful.

Disliked: -No kitchen available, just a microwave. -It's so busy that the staff seem like they can't keep up sometimes and there can be a huge line up at the desk. Was put into a 6 bed dorm with 5 men for two of my nights there. In the middle of the night one of them went crazy because someone was snoring and started shaking all the beds. It was quite scary. Turns out the one that went crazy was a local from Paris who was having some issues, not sure why they let a local check in to a hostel. -Bar in the hostel was expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Taylor

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 September 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmoshere, friendly staff, well situated with metro stations nearby, clean and safe. Great place to meet new and interesting people.

Disliked: Not enough room in the lockers for a full-sized suitcase.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Janet Mary Barry

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014

Liked: The morning cup of coffee was delish & most of the staff very good!!

Disliked: I arrived late evening with my niece to our .room 107 to be confronted by 2 very large & loud American sisters who were rather intimidating! The next morning after my shower I could NOT find my Laura Mercier Cosmetic and makeup Bag some containing fairly recently purchased & expensive products Dior & Chanel brands ..I asked one of the girls if she had seen it at all- I had a 'gut feeling' she knew ..Both her & her sister checked out that morning BUT had told us earlier they were staying a few days !!! I feeling very upset I reported this to the Manager later on the afternoon .He told me 'the girls" had checked into another room!!!..He offered to go with me to their dorm and just discreetly enquire. .The 2 sisters were obviously very devious and I saw their guilt! ! The Manager also mentioned ed to me his own feelings & suspicions. .He said he would return to speak to them again in 10 mins. ..this! he dod.and reported back saing 'he would be phonong the Police ( or soneting to that oTaffect)..WELL I NEVER HEARD ANOTHER THING AND I AM VERY SAD & DISSAPPOINTED OVER THE WAY THIS WAS HANDLED..THE MANAGER SAID " I CAN'T DO ANYTHING"...These '2' girls left the next day - one of the staff told me that they were very nervous St checking out! ! They left with my expensive skin care and mascaras etc. ..ô devastated. .that they got away! In my 7 years of travelling as A Nurse Carer I have never had this happen I am very vigilante ad I stay in hostels often- These sisters were very devious! ! My holiday with my niece in Paris finished last nite as we returned back to the UK with a very heavy heart

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to a metrostation, nice staff, big rooms (8bed dorm), great bar.

Disliked: Wifi was not good in the rooms but in the lobby, a bit far from the sights but in the near is a metrostation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice area, metro around the corner but still a nice walk to the city centre. Clean and has a cool vibe. Breakfast included which is soo cheap all together! Would definitely recommend! People are nice as well.

Disliked: Nothing. It is a hostel so you do have to share a bathroom but it was absolutely fine with me. Everything was clean and good.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HYERIM HAN

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2014 HYERIM would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: too much loud

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere great club great location next to the canal. Best hostel I have stayed at so far

Disliked: Na

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

James Cranston

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014

Liked: I liked the curtains on each bed.

Disliked: I have been to this hostel three times in the past five years, and I can say without question that it has deteriorated into a second rate hostel in the past two years from its unsafe partying culture. I once had many things I enjoyed about this place, it was friendly, safe, clean, and well kept; now, St Christopher's is in disrepair. What is clear is that the unruley culture of partying this hostel promotes is unsafe. They over serve their patrons alcohol to a point of belligerent inebriation, which populates the hostel with drunks. Patrons endanger others by walking on the unsecured balcony (no railing) outside their windows, urinating in public, leaving the hostel doors open, and promoting a general culture of derelict behavior. Because of the hostel's benevolence, tolerance, and enablement of crapulence, the entire hostel is in disrepair from abuse and neglect. Wallpaper has been ripped off of the walls, the doors leading into bedrooms no longer close properly, buttons are ripped off the elevator console, the elevator doors are crooked and no long close, patrons are regularly trapped within the elevator shaft, furniture is broken, vents no longer clear humid air in hallways, and the internet doesn't work. This used to be a wonderful place to socialize and meet other travelers. There was a common room on the ground floor with long tables, those are all gone now. This place might be ok for you if you've never been her before, seen what it was, or have never traveled/stayed in a decent hostel. It still has lockers for your luggage, clean sheets, comfortable beds, warm running water, and complementary breakfast; but that isn't enough if you want to feel safe where you're staying. Do your self a favor, find anther hostel in Paris that will be in a better location, offer similar amenities, and not enable immature behavior as a way of turning profit at the expense of others safety.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrina Miller

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 August 2014 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location along the canal. I loved sitting outside next to the canal

Disliked: The internet connection on the computers downstairs really are no good and take forever. Haven't been on such a slow computer in a very long time, and wasted a lot of time on it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the evident thoughtfulness in designing and continual use of the hostel

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

William Collins

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. The staff are very friendly. Great security.

Disliked: The men's shower on level two was out of order. No problem. But the disabled toilet is the only option. There are only two. The shower floods.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jakub Gruszecki

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmoshphere Nice location near a canal Good facilities Breakfast included

Disliked: Little bit far from the center


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels