HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of St Christopher's Inn Canal

Hostel | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 159 Rue de Crimée, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75019

81.8% Overall Rating

2175 out of 2341 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

"Very nice area, metro around the corner but still a nice walk to the city centre. Clean and has a cool vibe. Breakfast included which is soo cheap all together! Would definitely recommend! People are nice as well."

Read all St Christopher's Inn Canal reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check out is 11am

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris 19th Apartment
36.77 USD

Apartment 64.0% 17 reviews
Hôtel de la Comète
43.34 USD

Hotel 81.4% 51 reviews
Peace and Love Hostel
26.13 USD

Hostel 67.4% 981 reviews
BEAUTIFUL CITY HOSTEL
40.05 USD

Hostel 85.1% 36 reviews
The Loft Hostel Paris
39.33 USD

Hostel 84.8% 275 reviews
HIPOTEL PARIS BUTTES CHAUMONT
98.49 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel de Bellevue
72.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 85 reviews
Hotel du terrage
32.83 USD

Hotel 73.7% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

2175 out of 2341 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St Christopher's Inn Canal'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 1810 of 2033 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 72 | 73   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to a metrostation, nice staff, big rooms (8bed dorm), great bar.

Disliked: Wifi was not good in the rooms but in the lobby, a bit far from the sights but in the near is a metrostation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice area, metro around the corner but still a nice walk to the city centre. Clean and has a cool vibe. Breakfast included which is soo cheap all together! Would definitely recommend! People are nice as well.

Disliked: Nothing. It is a hostel so you do have to share a bathroom but it was absolutely fine with me. Everything was clean and good.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HYERIM HAN

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2014 HYERIM would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: too much loud

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere great club great location next to the canal. Best hostel I have stayed at so far

Disliked: Na

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

James Cranston

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014

Liked: I liked the curtains on each bed.

Disliked: I have been to this hostel three times in the past five years, and I can say without question that it has deteriorated into a second rate hostel in the past two years from its unsafe partying culture. I once had many things I enjoyed about this place, it was friendly, safe, clean, and well kept; now, St Christopher's is in disrepair. What is clear is that the unruley culture of partying this hostel promotes is unsafe. They over serve their patrons alcohol to a point of belligerent inebriation, which populates the hostel with drunks. Patrons endanger others by walking on the unsecured balcony (no railing) outside their windows, urinating in public, leaving the hostel doors open, and promoting a general culture of derelict behavior. Because of the hostel's benevolence, tolerance, and enablement of crapulence, the entire hostel is in disrepair from abuse and neglect. Wallpaper has been ripped off of the walls, the doors leading into bedrooms no longer close properly, buttons are ripped off the elevator console, the elevator doors are crooked and no long close, patrons are regularly trapped within the elevator shaft, furniture is broken, vents no longer clear humid air in hallways, and the internet doesn't work. This used to be a wonderful place to socialize and meet other travelers. There was a common room on the ground floor with long tables, those are all gone now. This place might be ok for you if you've never been her before, seen what it was, or have never traveled/stayed in a decent hostel. It still has lockers for your luggage, clean sheets, comfortable beds, warm running water, and complementary breakfast; but that isn't enough if you want to feel safe where you're staying. Do your self a favor, find anther hostel in Paris that will be in a better location, offer similar amenities, and not enable immature behavior as a way of turning profit at the expense of others safety.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrina Miller

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 August 2014 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location along the canal. I loved sitting outside next to the canal

Disliked: The internet connection on the computers downstairs really are no good and take forever. Haven't been on such a slow computer in a very long time, and wasted a lot of time on it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the evident thoughtfulness in designing and continual use of the hostel

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

William Collins

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. The staff are very friendly. Great security.

Disliked: The men's shower on level two was out of order. No problem. But the disabled toilet is the only option. There are only two. The shower floods.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jakub Gruszecki

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmoshphere Nice location near a canal Good facilities Breakfast included

Disliked: Little bit far from the center

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 August 2014

Liked: worst and unsafe location, which is so far away from the downtown, and takes arond an hour to get to the main attractions in Paris.

Disliked: I had been staying in this hostel chain in London and Paris Gare de Nord in April ,and I had a very good time and excellent impression there. However, I checked in again at your Paris Canal in July, it is the worst experience that I have gone through in your hostels and other, too. As a frequent traveller and travel columnist, I have been staying in different kinds of hostels, and I am sorry to say that I had a nightmare at Paris Canal at the very beginning! I have reserved a bed there for 4 nights nearly a month in advance. However, when I checked in I was told that I could not stay in the same bed for four consecutive nights. I requested a few times that this is not reasonable for me to move around my things as my reservation is well made In advance, and I was told this is the way it is?! They keep bringing problems to me not solitons!!! It is a simple request for me to stay in the same bed that I have been well reserved, and I have been working on my latest travel advice book, it's not convenient for me to move around in such a frequent manner. Unfortunately, the staff there ignored my request for two times, and I strongly requested to have a bed for 4 nights, this "unreasonable" request was reflected and responded in their own French conversion in front of me, I do have some knowledge of French! Is this your way of treating your customers who have been staying in your hostels! I am so disappointed and humiliated by your way of hospitality, and I do not think I would stay in your hostel chains in the foreseeable future! I said I would complain to the headquarter, and their reply is a lukewarm "okay". I am so disappointed and would not recommend to anyone to stay in your hostel!!1

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Annette Flores

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: The people were really nice and outgoing... Trains we're not to much of a walk

Disliked: On our last night there were strange men sitting outside one started following us and grabbing our hair and screaming. Security we're not present and we actually had to push and scream to get the guy to stop touching us. The bathrooms also smelled really bad and there is no ac in the rooms so it gets hot and Mosquitos come in.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lillian Green

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Lillian would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and quality staff

Disliked: Things outside staff control - other backpackers behavior

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Aarohi Kumar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014

Liked: It was somewhat central with the subway close by. It also had a restaurant and club downstairs so you didn't have to go anywhere for that

Disliked: I've already outlined what I didn't like

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vladislava Puseljic

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 July 2014 Vladislava would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, breakfast, large rooms (12-bed dorm did not feel crowded at all)

Disliked: wi-fi not available in all of the rooms.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and well organised hostel. Plenty to do, good location.

Disliked: Was quite noisy, typical since it is so central.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jeffrey Delbosque

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the 'pod style" bunks, gives good privacy. Small rooms forced everyone to be neat, which I liked. No drinking, party atmoshpere, but still set up to mingle with other travellers.

Disliked: Jeffrey left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar, rooms are spacious with private curtains on the bunk beds, good wifi. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The lockers under the bed require a big lock that I didn't have so I couldnt lock away my valuables

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pods are great! Plenty of bathrooms, however the timer button for the water was really frustrating. Hostel was nice and clean. We ended up extending our stay :)

Disliked: Timer buttons on the showers, who can wash their hair in 20 seconds!!! One of the cleaners was rude, stripping our beds before checkout time, however reception staff were great and sorted it out :)

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people

Disliked: Elevator broken, bathroom broken

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast! Relatively clean rooms

Disliked: The room smelled like urine from the toilet next door :(

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexandra Kunz

Alone

Business / conference

30 June 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very sweet hostel, extremely clean and appropriate services; breakfast is superb and even bar food wonderful. It was a VERY EXCITING atmosphere during the World Cup. Hope to return.

Disliked: Wi-fi should be free...though still use a password. A little over-priced though I did not participate in some amenities like the live band.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, good seating area in the lobby.

Disliked: The were several things out of order during my stay, such as the bathroom on my floor and the elevator. I lived on the 5th floor so that was kind of annoying.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right on the river and easy directions off the metro. about 45 min ride from airport and easy to get around.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel. Nice place to get to know other people. Clean.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms, but not a big problem.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathryn Muhlestein

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were always really helpful and there were a lot of services available. The room and bathroom were clean. I felt very safe here, and I liked the girls-only dorm option.

Disliked: I wish it was a little closer to the city center, but it is very close to a Metro stop so it wasn't bad to travel to sites.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels