HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre

Hostel | 11 rue Burq, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

78.1% Overall Rating

219 out of 319 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/01/2014)

"The location is perfect in the middle of a popular area. Although fairly basic like any other traditional budget hotel in Paris, everything worked perfectly: heating, hot water, WiFi, shower...and the bed was fab."

Read all Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel Audran
44.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 129 reviews
Plug Inn Boutique Hostel
44.09 USD

Hostel 87.2% 673 reviews
Grand Hotel de Clermont
50.79 USD

Hotel 83.8% 85 reviews
Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel
37.31 USD

Hostel 84.6% 1658 reviews
Lucky Youth Montmartre
73.08 USD

Apartment 75.5% 762 reviews
Goldhotel
58.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 15 reviews
Paris-Location-Appartement
62.19 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Youth Hostel BVJ Opera
39.28 USD

Hostel 72.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

219 out of 319 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 214 of 296 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, basic but sound accommodation. At this price and in this location it's a fair deal.

Disliked: Lack of atmosphere and only one shower on the ground floor.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked most was its location, it's a very lively neighborhood, lots of cafes and shops, it's nice. On the other hand, our room was on the 4th floor and the shower was on the ground floor (no elevator). Besides, we had to pay cash because the machine "was broken", that was a problem too. Anyway, the room was clean and the bed was confortable.I think that what you pay in that hostel is the location.-------------------------Lo mejor del hostal es la ubicación, hay un montón de bares y tiendas, es un barrio con mucha vidilla y muy agradable. Por otro lado, nuestra habitación estaba en el 4º piso y la ducha que podíamos usar estaba en la planta baja (sin ascensor), lo cual era bastante incómodo. Además, al ir a pagar al llegar nos dijeron que sólo podíamos pagar en efectivo porque no les funcionaba la máquina, lo cual es un problema para los que nos cobran al sacar dinero de un cajero extranjero. De todas formas, la habitación estaba limpia y la cama era cómoda.Yo creo que lo que pagas en el hostal es más la ubicación que otra cosa.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

04 June 2010

Liked: This "hotel" is cheap, but this place really is a last resort.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

23 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As I was in Paris myself for work related purposes, the hotel was quite a good place to stay. Easy access to Metro, places to eat, supermarkets, etc. The room was kept tidy and I didn't have any complaints on that front, and the shared facilities (shower and toilet) were also cleaner than I anticipated. On the other hand, if I was on holiday in Paris, I may not have used this hotel. For one thing, the shared shower isn't ideal (although they do keep it clean), nor is the shared bathroom. I believe there are en-suite facilities available in other rooms, but I didn't use them so cannot comment. In terms of value, it seemed a little overpriced for what you get, even factoring in the fact it is Paris and is in a popular tourist area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and everything was perfect. Very good for that money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I got a nice, private room in a great arrondisement for 35 euros

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel in an excellent location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ashley Mentley

20 February 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The room that we actually stayed in was nice and it had a strong deadbolt lock on it that made me feel safe, but the rest of the building was quite dirty looking. The only staircase was covered with old towels that you had to walk on and the guy at the front desk wasn't very helpful. He seemed annoyed that I asked for him to speak English. It was fine for the one night we stayed there, but I wouldn't suggest much more than that.

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Hadley

12 February 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for the location on the hill of Montmatre - so loads of atmosphere on your doorstep. Only down side is the steep spiral staircase to carry your luggage up on arrival, apart from that this is good quality budget accommodation.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rasmus Larsen

25 January 2010 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location...

Disliked: Rasmus left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kerri Ann Graham

09 January 2010 Kerri Ann would recommend this property

Liked: The location of Hotel Bonsejour is by far what made us choose this hotel and why we would stay there again. The staff were friendly enough and the rooms basic and clean. There is no common area to meet other travellers but the area of Monmarte is full of bars/cafes and very close to the moulin Rouge of thats your thing.

Disliked: Kerri Ann left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ben Lohre

03 January 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: the location was amazing! it was right down the street from local shops and vendors in montmartre and very convenient to get to by metro

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Helena Ortiz

31 December 2009 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best

Disliked: Helena left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelien de Visser

27 December 2009 Evelien would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the room was big! The only thing that I didn't like was that we paid extra for our own bathroom, but this actually meant that we only had our own shower. The toilet was shared, this was not mentioned on the website.

Disliked: Evelien left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Augur Pearce

20 December 2009 Augur would recommend this property

Liked: Though not cheap (Paris has nowhere cheap), it was reasonably-priced for what it is. The room was adequate for a stay of up to a coupkle of nights - longer than that, and one would probably want access to a shower closer than three floors away. The thing that alarmed me most was that when I left a bag and briefcase in their custody on the day of my departure, the briefcase was taken into a room behind the office for safe-keeping. It was in fact perfectly safe; but when I came to collect it, a different set of staff could not find it for a long time because it had been hidden beneath coats on a sofa. The receptionist asked the other staff if they had seen it and they appeared quite remarkably unconcerned that valuables had possibly been handed to a thief or otherwise mislaid while in their safe-keeping.

Disliked: Augur left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

12 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the city center an easy to reach by subway

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, tidy and good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Andrei Souza

13 November 2009

Liked: If you are looking for an ensuite room, i do not recomend. If you don´t mind to climb the stairs with your bag and use a bathroom wich size is 2x2m ok, go ahead. Is spite of this, the satff has been helpful and the location is good, but the metro is 5/10 min walking away.

Disliked: Andrei left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALVARO FLORES MEJORADA

12 November 2009 ALVARO would recommend this property

Liked: I originally booked for one night only with my girlfriend. We then went on to stay for a further 3 nights. The first night we had a street view, but the other 3 nights we moved to a cheaper room without view. Location is excellent, the room was clean, the staff very friendly and the receptionist let me use the internet for a few minutes when I needed it. To travel on the cheapside it is a great deal.

Disliked: ALVARO left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria O'Connor

07 November 2009 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: So clean and friendly and great location.

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

24 October 2009

Liked: It's the worst hotel that I have ever visited in my life.Dirty, small and the toilet is not ensuit as it mentioned...I would not go there again. Very dirty and disappointed with this hotel.Actually, it's not supposed to say "Hotel" becuase it's worse than "Hostel"

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Kristina Grech

17 October 2009

Liked: When we arrived at this hotel, we were immediately accused of doing a no-show the day prior. We had 'apparently' booked ourselves into a room the day before- upon producing my reservations showing the correct dates we had actually booked in for, the owner continued to blame us for the mistake. He told us we should not have booked over the internet, that we should have called, as the internet was a 'big problem'. When discussing with him whether we still had a room there, he would only offer us the more expensive rooms (with three beds, even though there was only two of us). I explained that it was not within our budget, and he literally shoved my deposit to me and indicated for us to leave. Being a weekend in Paris, we really had no choice in the end to pay the extra 10 euro each (which is a lot for a backpacker- about 3 supermarket dinners!) and stay at the hotel. He was hostile towards us, extremely rude and uncaring. Traveling through Europe for four months so far, I have stayed at many hostels. This has been by far the worst experience of all.

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located near to Montmartin and you can enjoy night life of pubs and disco conveniently late at night. Yet, there is only 1 shower located at the G/F and it is not convenient for you want to take a shower late at night and have to walk downstairs for 4 & 5 floors. Besides, you have to pay 2 Euro to use the shower but it is not mentioned in HostelBookers so it is the hidden cost of this hotel. Be careful!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. However, the windows were horrible for keeping sound out which made sleeping very difficult.I would recommend this hostel for one or two nights only.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels