HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre

Hostel | 11 rue Burq, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

78.1% Overall Rating

219 out of 319 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/01/2014)

"The location is perfect in the middle of a popular area. Although fairly basic like any other traditional budget hotel in Paris, everything worked perfectly: heating, hot water, WiFi, shower...and the bed was fab."

Read all Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel Audran
55.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 128 reviews
Plug Inn Boutique Hostel
50.68 USD

Hostel 88.5% 672 reviews
Grand Hotel de Clermont
56.60 USD

Hotel 84.1% 84 reviews
Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel
38.63 USD

Hostel 84.7% 1654 reviews
Lucky Youth Montmartre
73.09 USD

Apartment 75.5% 762 reviews
Goldhotel
58.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 15 reviews
Paris-Location-Appartement
62.20 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Youth Hostel BVJ Opera
31.42 USD

Hostel 72.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

219 out of 319 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 214 of 294 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 July 2011

Liked: location was all we liked. the staff were so rude and unhelpful. if anything they ripped us off and left us stranded in paris. not happy at all. would definatly never go again

Disliked: all of it. the room was small and untidy and for the money it was not worth it at all. we stayed in much nicer places for less. the staff were horrible.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: but unfortunately there is just one shower for all customer, and also wif/wireless/internet connection is avalaible only in loby.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location in Montmartre was good. A bit away from the very centre but on the other hand we enjoyed the real atmosphere of typical Paris streets with a lot of cafeterias, shop etc. The stuff was really friendly and I especially liked fantastic french breakfast.

Disliked: When we came the light in our room was not working (we came at night) but it was quickly fixed next day.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: It was very close to montmartre. We had a private room.

Disliked: The room was very small. The guy from the hostel didnt speak properly English and one morning he came knocking at our door at 10 o'clock and he said we needed to leave because he needed to change the door or something and we could come back in about 8 hours. Breakfast was expensive.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staff and only 1 shower for 5 floors

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Characterful, and in a convenient location.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chetan Sharma

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Chetan would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the heart of night life and entertainment

Disliked: There is no life, and I spent my time on 5th floor

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked having my own room and sink in the room.

Disliked: If you get a private room without a bathroom and shower, you share a toilet with the rest of the floor and its about the size of an airplane bathroom meaning your knees touch the door when you sit down. Also, if you do not have a shower in your room you have to use the one on the first floor that everyone else uses, only one shower for the building, but it is clean, just in a small area under the stairs. The free breakfast is two rolls and a cup of juice, not much to fill up. Beds were as hard as a rock as well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Montmartre with lot's of cafes and bars around.

Disliked: The communal shower was not so nice.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Dina Bernstein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011

Liked: Location would be the key word here. The only good thing I have to say about it is that it is located at the heart of Montmartre near all the cool restaurants, bars, clubs, Sacré-Coeur, etc... Also they have free internet and free wifi, and they both work just fine at the ground floor. The front desk booked us a shuttle to the airport for 17 Euros, which was nice considering we didn't want to use the metro and train with all the bags we had. Finally, the room - although situated on the 5th floor - was quite nice, and cleaned every single day, with a change of sheets and towels.

Disliked: Where to start? Well, we were on the 5TH FLOOR with NO LIFT and the ONLY shower available for rooms with no shower (which I'm guessing were the majority) was on the ground floor, and you had to ask the front desk for a token to use it, and even then it was only for 7 (!!!) minutes. The people at the front desk were rarely helpful or nice.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

YA-CHI KAO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011

Liked: no

Disliked: The worst hostel I have ever stayed

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: The woman who served a breakfast was nice.

Disliked: In this hotel's description WC was indicated like a part of the room. In fact the shower was a sigle place for all floors and rooms, and the toilette was one for the whole floor. It was awful! In the room you could listen to all voices, conversations of the neighbours as well as noise ofm the water from toilette. The room was incredible small and smelled very bad!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean, but small rooms. There are just a rew rooms with an own shower, the rest shares one shower on the ground floor. But this is Okay! The shower was very clean, and if we had to wait, it was just for a few minutes. Every guest gets a Coin to run the shower for 7 Minutes. The rooms have washbasins. But the free internet is just availiable in the lobby. There is a free computer and Wifi. You can get boiling water at the reception if you need ;-) The location is fantastic, and the next subway is just a minute by foot.

Disliked: It says that there would be free breakfast, but it was 6€ extra per day!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect!!

Disliked: Shower outside of room and long que. Unhelfpul staff.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central- easy to get around Paris from the hostel. Lovely part of Paris Very close to the Sacre Coeur, walking distance

Disliked: Staff were extremely rude

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. The room we had was also great , with a nice view, and very clean.

Disliked: a certain lack of access to shower (it stopped working at one point) is a big minus. The toilets are very tiny, and you feel as if you are trapped in a box. The staff could also be more friendly towards their guests, but the lady was quite nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleesha Nathan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Aleesha would recommend this property

Liked: The single rooms were tidy and clean. For a fraction more than the price of a hostel bed, it was luxury in comparison. The Montmartre district is a great place to stay with many cafes, bakeries and small bars dotted around.

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Carlos Serrano Nouaille

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011

Liked: Nice and charming location, but not the better hotel on site.

Disliked: There's only one shower for all the guests at the hotel, and only one WC for each floor! Water pipes pass through every room, so you hear some kind of Niagara Falls each time anybody upstairs opens the water. Rooms, floors and stairs are very very old: we heard someone falling downstairs and our bed had such inclination that we rolled downside when lying!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tucked away in Montmarte but close to enough to the Metro station and Sacre Couer. It's not overly touristy and you can mix and mingle with the locals.

Disliked: There is one toilet on each floor which is tiny and a little dirty.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, small room but I don't mind since we almost out in Paris during the day

Disliked: More like a hostel , toilets outside the room, u have to go to the ground floor for shower, need to ask to get a token for the shower to work

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011

Liked: Location was good, room pleasant enough if in need of a fresh coat of paint.

Disliked: TERRIBLE: Only one shower in the entire hotel, down five steep flights of stairs from our room in the lobby, operated by token, have to press a button every 10 seconds to keep the water on. Toilet down the hall with no sink (sinks in room), Hotel in terrible condition (for example, huge cracks in the floor, repaired in DUCT TAPE!!, dirty threadbare carpets, dingy walls, etc.), small bed (double) for two people, wifi didn't work in the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011

Liked: Clean room. Good location. New furniture in the room.

Disliked: Extremely unfriendly staff. Not approachable and not eager to help out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meg Creely

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Meg would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good price for a private room, neat and tidy

Disliked: Wifi only available down in reception

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011

Liked: It was a good price for having your own private room

Disliked: There were lots of stuff: 1. It does NOT tell you where the hotel is at all. It tells you what station to get off but doesnt tell you where and how to move once you get off from that station. 2. The guy at the front desk (I'm assuming it was the owner) was completely rude and impatient. I saw him freaking out at a couple just because they asked him a simple question. 3. When we got in our room it smelled absolutely horrid! We had to open the windows. 4. When we were getting in bed we found a little animal very much like bed bugs! 5. The shower is tiny! And I mean tiny! It's not even hooked on the wall so it is very umcomfortable to have to move the spout around in such a tiny shower. 6. They don't have an elevator so if you come with big suit cases good luck getting those up the stairs! 7. The handle to the door in our room was completely lose, made it seem like someone tried to break in. 8. It's a lie no wifi outside the tiny reception! You have to be in the tiny room to get wifi.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's been great.

Disliked: Nothing bad.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels