We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre

Hostel | 11 rue Burq, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

65.5% Overall Rating

231 out of 342 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2015)

Kristin Cabeza-Erikson thinks…

"This budget hotel, was very accommodating, extremely comfortable bed. They offer a free breakfast."

Read all Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: We will need a valid credit card in order to per-authorise the first night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel Audran
32.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 130 reviews
Plug Inn Boutique Hostel
27.66 USD

Hostel 80.1% 700 reviews
Grand Hotel de Clermont
30.09 USD

Hotel 81.8% 89 reviews
Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel
29.87 USD

Hostel 80.8% 1877 reviews
Goldhotel
46.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 15 reviews
Youth Hostel BVJ Opera
24.34 USD

Hostel 81.1% 19 reviews
Le Village Hostel Montmartre
22.07 USD

Hostel 86.4% 1556 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre Hostel & Budget Hotel
28.71 USD

Hostel 87.2% 2713 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.5%

Overall Rating

231 out of 342 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 228 of 318 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a free breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: All of the employees didn't speak English which made it difficult for travelers who did not speak French. The bathrooms weren't always stocked with toilet paper so I had to use a toilet on another floor a few times. There's only one shower on the bottom floor for all the travelers.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011

Liked: The location is great, short walk to Moulin Rouge, and not far uphill to Sacre Cour, in the Montmarte area. Rooms are a good size with hangers etc

Disliked: First man at reception ignored me for a long time when i first arrived and greeted him in french to check in. He just continued to stare at his computer and said nothing. There was only one shower for the entire building and it was on ground floor, so when you are staying on the 5th floor like i did its a long way down and back up again for your morning shower. Also breakfast is available but again u have to go down all the stairs out the building and then next door. To be honest very average hotel and not worth how much we paid, especially considering half the place was being renovated while we were there, having to dodge ladders and scaffolding

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly, the hotel has a great price value rate! The Hotel is in an amazing location! It has it s own charme! But nobody should be fuzzy!

Disliked: /

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: shared toilet and bath..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really close the the metro stop. Montmartre is a fantastic area to be in. I'm not sure if it gets touristy (besides Sacre Coeur, etc.) but the side streets where real parisiennes live are charming and nice to stroll up and down. Staff were really helpful. I'm not sure how others who know very little to no French would be able to fair if unable to communicate what they're looking for. Free WiFi is always awesome, even if it's only available in the lobby.

Disliked: We arrived and one of the hottest days of the year (I think 95 degrees Fahrenheit?). The stairs are very, very steep. Almost ladder like. Which was a little difficult to navigate with a suitcase after carrying them from the metro. Plus it was hot. And we were on the 4th étage. Which is the 5th floor in America. So that's four flights. A lot of steps and we were exhausted. But I love Paris and will take what I can get to visit when I can. Lobby is pretty small and with WiFi only available there, it got crowded. I know, why would you need internet when you're in Paris? But when you're trying to look at your email for bookings/travel plans you've made or want to make (say to Mont-St-Michel) it can be a little irksome. Also, I know it's a European thing, but the shower stall in the room was tiny. Frankly, I'm thankful that it was a shower and not a tub, but it was nearly impossible to maneuver without bumping the doors open with my elbows. And even with the window open, even at night, we could not catch a breeze of any kind. I so badly wish they had fans that you could rent with a deposit or something.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anja Baum

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

26 September 2011 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff, really nice breakfast, perfect location!

Disliked: Only one shower for the whole hostel, but we never had to wait and it was still really clean, so it was ok. And the walls are quite thin.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Hollis

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 September 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Location. On quiet street in great Montemarte location. Close to metro. Minutes from all major attractions. 2 minute walk to Moulan Rouge. 2. Breakfast. Served next door to hostel by owners wife and daughter. Fantastic service, fresh food every morning.

Disliked: 1. Bathroom Facilities. Shower stall and sink are in room, toilet down the hall. Tiolets facilities need updating. Facilities very basic. Water pressure and size of shower stall uncomfortable.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The room was much smaller than expected. There was only one shower on the bottom floor for all the non-ensuite rooms. There was a lot of noise from the other guests in their rooms and in the toilet as a result of very thin walls.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011

Liked: close to subway, nice area

Disliked: add EUR10 for each day of your stay if you happen to like being clean - shower is not free very small rooms, very thin walls. I could hear people taking a dump while being in my room - toilet window was 1 meter away from mine. you can hear your neighbors talking and brushing their teeth all night long.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/a

Disliked: N/a

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011

Liked: None

Disliked: I chose an ensuite room but i still have to use a share toilet, The bathing tub in the room is very very small, you won't be able to get in if you have a big body size. Lights go off if you don't keep on pressing the light button, they last for about 30s only, which make you easily slip down. Also the hostel owners are not really friendly and they work incredibly slow. Wifi can only be received in the lobby, you have to go to the lobby in order to use it, which is very inconvenient.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, clean, near the metro.

Disliked: One shower for everyone. I felt was a bit pricy.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011

Liked: .

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic position, directly on the borders of montmartre and not so far from the subway

Disliked: the edifice seems a bit old, but it proved to be stable

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 July 2011

Liked: location was all we liked. the staff were so rude and unhelpful. if anything they ripped us off and left us stranded in paris. not happy at all. would definatly never go again

Disliked: all of it. the room was small and untidy and for the money it was not worth it at all. we stayed in much nicer places for less. the staff were horrible.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: but unfortunately there is just one shower for all customer, and also wif/wireless/internet connection is avalaible only in loby.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location in Montmartre was good. A bit away from the very centre but on the other hand we enjoyed the real atmosphere of typical Paris streets with a lot of cafeterias, shop etc. The stuff was really friendly and I especially liked fantastic french breakfast.

Disliked: When we came the light in our room was not working (we came at night) but it was quickly fixed next day.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: It was very close to montmartre. We had a private room.

Disliked: The room was very small. The guy from the hostel didnt speak properly English and one morning he came knocking at our door at 10 o'clock and he said we needed to leave because he needed to change the door or something and we could come back in about 8 hours. Breakfast was expensive.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staff and only 1 shower for 5 floors

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Characterful, and in a convenient location.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chetan Sharma

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Chetan would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the heart of night life and entertainment

Disliked: There is no life, and I spent my time on 5th floor

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked having my own room and sink in the room.

Disliked: If you get a private room without a bathroom and shower, you share a toilet with the rest of the floor and its about the size of an airplane bathroom meaning your knees touch the door when you sit down. Also, if you do not have a shower in your room you have to use the one on the first floor that everyone else uses, only one shower for the building, but it is clean, just in a small area under the stairs. The free breakfast is two rolls and a cup of juice, not much to fill up. Beds were as hard as a rock as well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Montmartre with lot's of cafes and bars around.

Disliked: The communal shower was not so nice.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Dina Bernstein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011

Liked: Location would be the key word here. The only good thing I have to say about it is that it is located at the heart of Montmartre near all the cool restaurants, bars, clubs, Sacré-Coeur, etc... Also they have free internet and free wifi, and they both work just fine at the ground floor. The front desk booked us a shuttle to the airport for 17 Euros, which was nice considering we didn't want to use the metro and train with all the bags we had. Finally, the room - although situated on the 5th floor - was quite nice, and cleaned every single day, with a change of sheets and towels.

Disliked: Where to start? Well, we were on the 5TH FLOOR with NO LIFT and the ONLY shower available for rooms with no shower (which I'm guessing were the majority) was on the ground floor, and you had to ask the front desk for a token to use it, and even then it was only for 7 (!!!) minutes. The people at the front desk were rarely helpful or nice.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

YA-CHI KAO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011

Liked: no

Disliked: The worst hostel I have ever stayed


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels