HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre

Hostel | 11 rue Burq, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

77.5% Overall Rating

220 out of 320 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/01/2014)

"The location is perfect in the middle of a popular area. Although fairly basic like any other traditional budget hotel in Paris, everything worked perfectly: heating, hot water, WiFi, shower...and the bed was fab."

Read all Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel Audran
44.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 129 reviews
Plug Inn Boutique Hostel
44.02 USD

Hostel 87.2% 673 reviews
Grand Hotel de Clermont
50.72 USD

Hotel 83.8% 85 reviews
Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel
38.57 USD

Hostel 84.6% 1658 reviews
Lucky Youth Montmartre
72.98 USD

Apartment 75.5% 762 reviews
Goldhotel
57.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 15 reviews
Paris-Location-Appartement
62.10 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Youth Hostel BVJ Opera
39.22 USD

Hostel 72.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

220 out of 320 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 214 of 296 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012

Liked: It is near to transport. But so is EVERYTHING in paris.

Disliked: Rude service. Toxic paint smell, ladders in the walkways, dust and paint everywhere. Overpriced. Slow and loud renovations underway. One shower cubicle in common area for entire hotel. No elevator.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

AMIT KULKARNI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012

Liked: 1.The beds are okay 2.The breakfast is okay. 3. If you have Metro Map with you its very easy to find this property.

Disliked: 1. There is no lift to the property. After tiresome tour it is hectic to climb steep stairs upto 5 levels. 2. It is difficult to take shower in such tiny box. I hope there should be one common but big shower area.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

MARIA DE JESUS JUANCHI ORTUÑO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012

Liked: I just liked the location. You can go anywhere from there. It has 2 metro stations really near.

Disliked: The cleaning. I stayed there for 5 days and I can say that they didn't clean!!! I had to ask for soap because they don't gave you more each day!! Total disaster!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite handy: close to the tube, restaurants and bares.

Disliked: I thought I was staying in an ensuit room and that was not the case. Plus patrs of the building are a building site.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 March 2012

Liked: noyhing

Disliked: they were doing floors and walls of the hotel while custumers were paying to stay. if war horribly durty and stinky.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and locale

Disliked: Needs some upkeep

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It was very run down, and they seemed to think an ensuite means placing a shower in the bedroom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is good, the staff is not extremely friendly, nor rude. It's average. Location is very good.

Disliked: The house is under construction, it's very ugly and looks kind of abandoned, there is no wi-fi. The double bed in the room was not double at all, but a semi-double bed. The staff doesn't speak english. The walls are very thin, you can hear everything that happens in the rooms near you. There is only one shower for the entire hotel. Definitely not the value for the money, the rooms are clean, but the general areas are under construction and look dirty, or not properly taken care of.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012

Liked: Nothing, horrible staff

Disliked: everything

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012

Liked: Private shower. Breakfast was included in the cost, although not very hearty.

Disliked: The stairs were a lot to handle after touring all day. The shared toilet was fine when no one else was there on our floor, but the next day when more people arrived there was a wait for the toilet. It is also under some sort of construction, so everything (hallways, stairs, and 'lobby') was messy and not clean. The room was clean enough, but I wasn't convinced the linens were. Wifi was not available in the rooms.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012

Liked: Breakfast was included.

Disliked: Room right next to the bathroom was very loud, floors in hallway were not finished, only one shower for the whole hotel, only one toilet per floor

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a free breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: All of the employees didn't speak English which made it difficult for travelers who did not speak French. The bathrooms weren't always stocked with toilet paper so I had to use a toilet on another floor a few times. There's only one shower on the bottom floor for all the travelers.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011

Liked: The location is great, short walk to Moulin Rouge, and not far uphill to Sacre Cour, in the Montmarte area. Rooms are a good size with hangers etc

Disliked: First man at reception ignored me for a long time when i first arrived and greeted him in french to check in. He just continued to stare at his computer and said nothing. There was only one shower for the entire building and it was on ground floor, so when you are staying on the 5th floor like i did its a long way down and back up again for your morning shower. Also breakfast is available but again u have to go down all the stairs out the building and then next door. To be honest very average hotel and not worth how much we paid, especially considering half the place was being renovated while we were there, having to dodge ladders and scaffolding

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly, the hotel has a great price value rate! The Hotel is in an amazing location! It has it s own charme! But nobody should be fuzzy!

Disliked: /

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: shared toilet and bath..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really close the the metro stop. Montmartre is a fantastic area to be in. I'm not sure if it gets touristy (besides Sacre Coeur, etc.) but the side streets where real parisiennes live are charming and nice to stroll up and down. Staff were really helpful. I'm not sure how others who know very little to no French would be able to fair if unable to communicate what they're looking for. Free WiFi is always awesome, even if it's only available in the lobby.

Disliked: We arrived and one of the hottest days of the year (I think 95 degrees Fahrenheit?). The stairs are very, very steep. Almost ladder like. Which was a little difficult to navigate with a suitcase after carrying them from the metro. Plus it was hot. And we were on the 4th étage. Which is the 5th floor in America. So that's four flights. A lot of steps and we were exhausted. But I love Paris and will take what I can get to visit when I can. Lobby is pretty small and with WiFi only available there, it got crowded. I know, why would you need internet when you're in Paris? But when you're trying to look at your email for bookings/travel plans you've made or want to make (say to Mont-St-Michel) it can be a little irksome. Also, I know it's a European thing, but the shower stall in the room was tiny. Frankly, I'm thankful that it was a shower and not a tub, but it was nearly impossible to maneuver without bumping the doors open with my elbows. And even with the window open, even at night, we could not catch a breeze of any kind. I so badly wish they had fans that you could rent with a deposit or something.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anja Baum

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

26 September 2011 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff, really nice breakfast, perfect location!

Disliked: Only one shower for the whole hostel, but we never had to wait and it was still really clean, so it was ok. And the walls are quite thin.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Hollis

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 September 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Location. On quiet street in great Montemarte location. Close to metro. Minutes from all major attractions. 2 minute walk to Moulan Rouge. 2. Breakfast. Served next door to hostel by owners wife and daughter. Fantastic service, fresh food every morning.

Disliked: 1. Bathroom Facilities. Shower stall and sink are in room, toilet down the hall. Tiolets facilities need updating. Facilities very basic. Water pressure and size of shower stall uncomfortable.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The room was much smaller than expected. There was only one shower on the bottom floor for all the non-ensuite rooms. There was a lot of noise from the other guests in their rooms and in the toilet as a result of very thin walls.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011

Liked: close to subway, nice area

Disliked: add EUR10 for each day of your stay if you happen to like being clean - shower is not free very small rooms, very thin walls. I could hear people taking a dump while being in my room - toilet window was 1 meter away from mine. you can hear your neighbors talking and brushing their teeth all night long.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/a

Disliked: N/a

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011

Liked: None

Disliked: I chose an ensuite room but i still have to use a share toilet, The bathing tub in the room is very very small, you won't be able to get in if you have a big body size. Lights go off if you don't keep on pressing the light button, they last for about 30s only, which make you easily slip down. Also the hostel owners are not really friendly and they work incredibly slow. Wifi can only be received in the lobby, you have to go to the lobby in order to use it, which is very inconvenient.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, clean, near the metro.

Disliked: One shower for everyone. I felt was a bit pricy.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011

Liked: .

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic position, directly on the borders of montmartre and not so far from the subway

Disliked: the edifice seems a bit old, but it proved to be stable


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels