HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre

Hostel | 11 rue Burq, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

77.5% Overall Rating

220 out of 320 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/01/2014)

"The location is perfect in the middle of a popular area. Although fairly basic like any other traditional budget hotel in Paris, everything worked perfectly: heating, hot water, WiFi, shower...and the bed was fab."

Read all Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel Audran
44.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 129 reviews
Plug Inn Boutique Hostel
30.27 USD

Hostel 87.2% 673 reviews
Grand Hotel de Clermont
50.79 USD

Hotel 83.8% 85 reviews
Caulaincourt Boutique Hostel
38.63 USD

Hostel 84.9% 1659 reviews
Lucky Youth Montmartre
73.09 USD

Apartment 75.5% 762 reviews
Goldhotel
58.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 15 reviews
Paris-Location-Appartement
62.20 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Youth Hostel BVJ Opera
39.28 USD

Hostel 72.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

220 out of 320 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 214 of 296 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, 24 hour access, beds and showers clean, place generally quiet.

Disliked: Floors dirty, rooms a bit stuffy. Atmosphere a bit dead, not the place to meet new people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were simple but what you pay for great place. Staff really friendly

Disliked: Only 1 shower at bottom and couldn't always get to go when you wanted to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Monjaras

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The owner was a nice guy, the breakfast was amazing, simple yet refreshing and delicious. GReat location and its not bad as people in the comments made it sound like.

Disliked: The incredible amount of stairs needed to walk to get to the showers. But thats easily fixed, just get a room with a shower and you're settled. It's a great place!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, breakfast was nice, good location in Montmartre close to metrostop.

Disliked: We had a 'private shower', which meant a tiny little cube that was placed in the room. I wouldn't describe that as being a shower or bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and functional budget hotel in an excellent location. Helpful staff. Breakfast provided.

Disliked: Nothing for me - I'd read the info and knew what I was getting. For future visitors, be aware that the hotel is 5 floors high, and there is no lift! Also for all rooms (including those with a private bathroom), the toilets are on the corridors outside the rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dirk Brugman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: Good size room, full of character.

Disliked: No common area. Also, beware, the shower is on the ground floor. If you're staying on one of the upper floors (I was on the 5th), be prepared for a lot of stair climbing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For 37eur with breakfast, 8 min. form Montmatre really nice Hotel.

Disliked: Only one shower on the 1st. Floor ... -.- ... So for 3 Nights maximum i would say. We where fine!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location to explore beautiful Monmatre. The Hotel is only a few minutes walk from Sacre Coeur, Moulin Rouge and lots of Bars and Restaurants. Several metro stations are nearby. The included breakfast was good (large coffee), the bed comfortable and the staff very nice and helpful. All in all a great little hotel.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Difficultto find a parking place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

King Pang Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 King Pang would recommend this property

Liked: safe and so awesome area around, if you like artistic stuff

Disliked: stair of 5 levels

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, french breakfast :)

Disliked: No cutlery, tea-kettle, cups or anything like that in the room. Very steep and high stairs, no smoking area, very noisy, can hear everything what your neighbor is speaking and what's happening outside, no toilet in the room

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24-hour check-in, free breakfast

Disliked: the deadbolt on the room door didn't feel very secure

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Southwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in a nice bit of Montmartre, and very close to Abesses station. It may seem a little far out from the centre - but Paris is not a particularly walkable city anyway (so even staying in the centre you have to use the metro to get to the main sites) and the merto station is amazingly efficient, so having the metro station about 200-300 metres away is really convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They are willing to book airport transfers of 18 euros of taxis when you need them, and they were also very willing to turn the heating down when I asked them. The breakfast that was included was also very tasty, especially the croissants. Having a sink, shelf and mirror in each room was also convenient.

Disliked: *No lift - pretty inconvenient when moving a staircase across 4 flights of stairs! *If you don't book a room with a private shower, you have to go down to the ground floor to have one - for me that meant 4 floors! *Only one toilet on each floor *Heating was way too high when I arrived - one night I was too hot and I was only sleeping with a sheet! But when I asked them to turn it down they were very happy to.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 January 2013

Liked: The room was clean only we found hear on the bedsheet.

Disliked: No bathroom in the bedroom only a shower cabine that is too small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its secure and safe. Fairly central and perfect for getting around central Paris. Good for budget travellers.

Disliked: The owner was a bit grumpy as described by other travellers - true to the point. Good that he does leave you in peace to conduct your own affairs. His helpers were very helpful and understanding, particularly on the language part. I should have been told me I need a token to operate the shower - I was left in cold in the shower room!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012

Liked: good location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: one shower for whole hostel, on shared toilet per floor

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marcela Strelcova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012

Liked: The location is convinient, only 5 minutes walk from the Moulin rouge and Sacre creu.

Disliked: In the description of the room, there is written that the room has 'shared bathroom'. By shared bathroom I expected bathroom for few hosts, not for whole hotel on the ground floor, especially when the room was situated on the 3rd floor. At least toilet was on the same floor as the room. Moreover, the walls are really thin and paople are often very noisy when going up the stairs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonas Toeback

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money, really liked the location.

Disliked: Grumpy people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Ruiz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: This place had a lot of character and the staff was great! They treated me and my friend with the utmost respect and kindness. It is a great value for what you get. Me and my friend stayed in a 2 bed room with a private sink and shower. When we arrived, everything was clean and ready for us. This hotel, however, IS for people staying in Paris on a budget. It may look old and it may have no elevator or private TVs, but you get comfy beds, free wifi, free breakfast every morning, and they even have your bedroom cleaned everyday. It's also just a 5 minute walk from the Moulin Rouge and close to the Sacre Coer as well.

Disliked: The walls are a bit thin and you will have to whisper in the middle of the night if you are on the phone or just talking in general. If you talk anything more than a respectful low voice, people will hear you and knock on your walls. It was also a bit inconvenient to have to share the toilet with everyone else on our floor, but this is a budget hotel, you can't have everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tannia Shankster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Tannia would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very lovely and accomodating. They went above and beyond to make you feel welcome & that you knew your way around the immediate neighborhood & all of Paris. At the end of my journey, they helped me ensure a ride to the airport. I would definitely stay there again & recommend it to travelers.

Disliked: I have no complaints at all.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location - Montmartre, just few minutes to Sacré-Coeur or to the undergroud Abbesses, small supermarket across the street, many bars and bakeries nearby Good value for money Nice breakfast

Disliked: Small size of the bed (actually of the room) Shared toilet

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Kuperus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very simple a room and a bed didn't need anything more. Great location, nice fresh market shops and bakery, walk up the hill to find incredible Montmartre culture.

Disliked: Because of the building noise carries a lot so you hear people coming and going and using the washroom, but the price is right

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly and included a basic breakfast and also free wi-fi which was a nice added bonus. Its located in a vibrant Paris neighbourhood not far from the Moulin Rouge and 5 mins walk from the Metro. Fairly basic accommodation but perfect if you're not a fussy sort of person who is merely looking for secure overnight accomodation in order to explore the wonders of Paris.

Disliked: Shame about our room not being en-suite. Also, the shower was 4 stories down the spiral staircase. However, it was hot and quite sufficient. I'd recommend taking a pair of flip-flops and a robe to make life easier on the journey up and down the stairs!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location to go elsewhere in Paris.

Disliked: The owner is quite rude & mean, however his wife is quite friendly and helpful.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robert Crowe

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very Good Area To Stay.

Disliked: Beware there are no lifts in the hotel it is all stairs.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels