HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Village Boutique Hostel

Hostel | 20 Rue d'Orsel, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

86.3% Overall Rating

1373 out of 1521 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"Convenient location if Gare du Nord is your route in/out of Paris and it's walkable to the centre if you're happy to stroll, the streets arount Montmartre are quite pleasant. Easy to get chatting to other travelers."

Read all Village Boutique Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You can pay by cash or credit card (visa or mastercard) at your arrival. Please note that bookings over 10 people are subject to cancellation with no refund. Please contact groups dept for further information.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris-Location-Appartement
59.09 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre
26.20 USD

Hostel 79.8% 2672 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
39.40 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Vintage Boutique Hostel
31.45 USD

Hostel 81.9% 1811 reviews
Hotel Riviera
60.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 22 reviews
Woodstock Hostel
32.21 USD

Hostel 75.4% 920 reviews
Perfect Hotel and Hostel
26.26 USD

Hostel 79.5% 1183 reviews
Hotel Bervic
32.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.6% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

1373 out of 1521 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Village Boutique Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1008 of 1144 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 40 | 41   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katie Stripe

Alone

City break

24 August 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal space reception staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Quite noisy with very thin walls. The bathroom facilities could have been better andl the beds were old andl squeaky with no ladders.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014

Liked: Convenient location if Gare du Nord is your route in/out of Paris and it's walkable to the centre if you're happy to stroll, the streets arount Montmartre are quite pleasant. Easy to get chatting to other travelers.

Disliked: Some of the common areas were closed down for large chunks of the day - ridiculous in a Paris hostel where space is a premium. Also ridiculous that lights were turned off downstairs at midnight. Decent kitchen but a lot of the crockery was removed from use after breakfast eg. cups. This is all just stupid stuff, unnecessary in a hostel. The staff were mixed, a couple were lovely but a others were rude which just left a bad taste. I'm sure there are better options around, wouldn't stay again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff, the people. Everything included the atmosphere was just perfect. The service was pretty good especially the luggage room service :-) The feeling sitting on this roofdeck was kind of cool!

Disliked: I just missed a closet and the matresses were really used - for 2 nights it was okay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, outstanding location.

Disliked: No lockers, tiny rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Ludwig

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: This place has so much character! I loved it from the moment I walked in, and was sad to leave. Very friendly, social atmosphere and helpful staff. I would recommend it to anyone!

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Room was spacious with good AC, clean bathroom, great view out the large windows, good breakfast (bread, croissants, jams, cereal, coffee), nice terrace with chairs

Disliked: No towels provided (sheets were provided), location is very near Sacre Coeur, but pretty far away from everything else (though metro station Anvers is only 2 blocks away), good internet but only downstairs in common area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Pascoe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything about the village hostel! The location was great, 2 mins to a station that took us into the centre. We were in the heart of Montmartre, w/ markets, restaurants, a supermarket across the road, the Sacre-Coeur behind!! The staff was fun, energetic & helpful! There were many many brochures with info on tours & activities in Paris as well as discounts. The hostel felt like a hotel, it has a very groovy main area w music, a terrace, a kitchen, a great free breakfast, a room clean everyday!!! The most amazing hostel I've ever stayed at, so sad to leave! Definitely worth staying at!

Disliked: There really was nothing we didn't like. We had everything we needed and had so much fun.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashley Ingham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and they put on events for the people staying.

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emy Yaguinuma

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Emy would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, breakfast was really good, rooms were very clean and bathroom private, very safe hostel.Really liked especially Gaby the girl from the front desk was very helpful and always smiling. Without no doubts I had a great stay in this hostel and I high recommend to everyone =)

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Preston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff and fantastic breakfast offered daily. overall I felt like it was great value for money!

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and great value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location to the trains and restaurants was excellent, there were multiple train lines close by that made it really easy to get around. They also did "upgrade" me for free from a 10 person room to a 4 person room because I was travelling by myself. The majority of the staff was really helpful, even lending me an adapter because my square adapter didn't fit into the round plugs

Disliked: The rooms were not the cleanest. The breakfast selection was not great, I needed food other than breads because of my allergies and this was not an option.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marlon Cesar de Alcantara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Marlon would recommend this property

Liked: Bom mas existem outros com melhores preços para o mesmo conforto

Disliked: Marlon left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Gibbs

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The food and staff were great! There was really good information available to get to different tourist sites in the city.

Disliked: The kitchen was a little small and some food went missing from the fridge.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

BaiZe White

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 BaiZe would recommend this property

Liked: It's by a lot of shops.

Disliked: Honestly, it didn't stand out to me as a great or horrible hostel. It met my basic needs and was clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Lombardi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: People were mint, place had a sick roof top terrace and the breaky was good. Loved the no curfew aswell.

Disliked: It's hard to find when pissed on a night out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Barry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is awesome! Extremely helpful and friendly. Joao at the front desk is theee best!! Awesome to get a long with and will answer any question even if he is busy.I probably asked 100 questions over the 2 days that I was there. They even helped me book my flight. Damian who works only a few days a week serving breakfast was awesome as well. He told me the things to see. He recommended renting a bike from one of the many bike stations throughout the city. The hostel is very nice and clean. It is extremely easy to get to from the metro station and its in a great neighborhood with many nice small shops just down the street. It would be a mistake to stay elsewhere. Ryan from California :)

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elliott Percival

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Elliott would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, indulging my infant level of French which was appreciated but speaking fluent English when I couldn't go any further. The environment is open and friendly, the rooms spacious and all the things a traveller needs.

Disliked: Nothing really, though it's be nice if the wifi worked in the rooms rather than just the common area - but they were open about this when I checked in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are friendly .Boss is very kind.While we were cooking in the kitchen they play Thai songs on CD.We feel like at home.They let us leave luggages for few days before we come back to stay here again, very nice !! I'll stay here again !!

Disliked: I don't understand the woman in breakfast room why she's always mooddy. We always clean table we sit, throw away food ,plastic glasses and spoon after we finish breakfast.Hope only her smile but not. The last day before we fly back home we asked for croissant because barquette is too hard for us (We're old) she said No,It's gone. But when European came she gave. We try to ask twice or three times the answer is the same. And the others after me can get ...the same !!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rebecka Fogelquist

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Rebecka would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very helpful staff, good breakfeast and the beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Room not clean when we checked in and no clean pillowcases were icluded in the bed linen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mei Ling Yeung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Mei Ling would recommend this property

Liked: Best location!! The hostel is just next to the metro, it's very convinence to go places you want to visit, the staffs there are very friendly and helpful. They have informations for visitors so you can travel yourself easily. Supermarket, restaurants, stores are just right outside. If I go to paris again, must stay in Village Boutique Hostel.i loved it.

Disliked: None.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: W

Disliked: Small bathroom It does not have wifi in the rooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not real beds, a sofa bed for two

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place!

Disliked: A little noisy during the night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my friend stayed hassle free for 5 nights. We had a separate entrance and an en-suite bathroom with a separate toilet. The room was warm and we could switch on the heater if we needed to. If you're still cold, extra blankets are available at the reception. I would certainly recommend it to my friends.

Disliked: The cleaner only swept the floor and took out rubbish, the sinks, shower and toilet were not cleaned throughout the stay. Breakfast is very poor, no savoury food available. The doors and windows are old and not double glazed so you can hear everything from the street as if you were outside (thank God I had earplugs). The shower needs updating, plus we had to wait a while for hot water to finally come out, so had to keep pressing the button (as the water only runs for about 10 seconds).


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels