HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Village Boutique Hostel

Hostel | 20 Rue d'Orsel, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

86.3% Overall Rating

1373 out of 1521 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"Convenient location if Gare du Nord is your route in/out of Paris and it's walkable to the centre if you're happy to stroll, the streets arount Montmartre are quite pleasant. Easy to get chatting to other travelers."

Read all Village Boutique Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You can pay by cash or credit card (visa or mastercard) at your arrival. Please note that bookings over 10 people are subject to cancellation with no refund. Please contact groups dept for further information.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris-Location-Appartement
59.37 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre
26.32 USD

Hostel 80.6% 2670 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
30.34 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Vintage Boutique Hostel
31.60 USD

Hostel 81.7% 1810 reviews
Hotel Riviera
45.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 22 reviews
Woodstock Hostel
33.98 USD

Hostel 77.3% 919 reviews
Perfect Hotel and Hostel
26.39 USD

Hostel 79.7% 1180 reviews
Hotel Bervic
32.98 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.6% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

1373 out of 1521 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Village Boutique Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1008 of 1144 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 40 | 41   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Biliana Veleva

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2011

Liked: It was close to the metro, and easily accessible.

Disliked: They advertised free wi-fi, but it was incredibly slow, and only available in the Lobby. Also, they advertised free breakfast, but there was none. They provided bedsheets, but no towels. Most disconcertingly, I stayed in a 4-female dorm and felt uncomfortable leaving my bags there while I was out for the day, but the front desk wouldn't let me put them in the secure baggage room. They told me that "nobody steals here." Apparently the bag check service is only for people who have checked out. I could have stayed in a hotel with a private room for only 15 euros more, and had peace of mind that my bags would be safe. This was the biggest downside of the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Erica Charbonneau

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: Reception staff are very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Kitchen is tiny and you aren't allowed to use it in the morning.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011

Liked: good location in montemarte

Disliked: room not the cleanest shower leaked, no towels given too expensive you can even get a hotel close by with better facilities for about the same price Lift scary- tiny, light kept on going out

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jane Pembroke

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Location Location Location!

Disliked: No safe lockers in room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its ok

Disliked: staff

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: table football

Disliked: low beds

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After having stayed in other hostels in Paris, I was so happy with Village Hostel and wished I had booked it for my entire trip! I was only there for one night but the room was clean and bright, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was good, there was a nice little courtyard and common area, free wifi, breakfast included, secure and free baggage storage and friendly staff. The location seems great for young people, maybe a little rough at night, but the area is perfect for those who want to stroll around picturesque Parisian streets. Highly recommend.

Disliked: nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is located well, and the staff were friendly. Just not the best value.

Disliked: Stayed in a female room for four. The bathroom did not seem to be cleaned regularly, smelled of urine, and the bunk beds were squeaky and had no ladder which could be a problem for some people sleeping on top.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to metro station and walking distance to montmarte

Disliked: although they offered small lockers in the lobby area that could fit smaller items, no lockers were available in bedrooms for other larger things like clothes and such. wifi was also very inconsistent. it required login every time and was sometimes unable to connect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leahraye Smith

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Leahraye would recommend this property

Liked: knowledge, experience, friendlyness of all employees. Beautiful location, good food so hostiable.

Disliked: absolutely nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 August 2011

Liked: Bad localization.

Disliked: Localization is the worst in Paris.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so amazingly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was just like being in a big home away from home. Breakfast was free and quite nice. Sacre coeur is so close to hostel, some rooms even have a view of it. Few minutes walk to train station. Kitchen facilities pretty good and having a fridge is handy. Supermarket up the road. Lots of restaurants and shopping super close by.

Disliked: The only common area was the eating area. No lockers in rooms (but did offer safety deposit box). Slightly dodgy area, so just watch your bags outside and beware of people on the street getting money any way they can.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff (are super awesome!), the atmosphere, THE LOCATION, the layout of the property (quirky and functional), the rooms, the view!

Disliked: Internet (that you have to pay to use) drops out every few minutes - which sucks when you're on a fifteen minute timer. The shower pressure is terrible and a lot of the power points don't work. That being said, I would still most definitely recommend this place! All this did not detract from how great a place it was.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice facility, which very very helpful and energetic staff. It was also very close to the metro station.

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice & helpful staff, fantastic location, nice fellow travellers, clean rooms, relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: The wifi was down during my entire 24h stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Langan

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 July 2011 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the location. We also loved the meeting area in the lobby. It was perfect for our needs.

Disliked: At first, we were unsure what to expect. The entrance did not strike us as a typical hotel entrance, and we were concerned that it would end up being just another hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was gud..in d montmarte area..near anvers metro station..near laundry service,supermarket n many other restaurants..rooms,bathrooms n toilets r clean..they clean d room often n safe of course...breakfast was average but sufficient for few hours...

Disliked: staffs were nt that friendly...they din gv me enuf information abt d airport services n more importatnt they have the worst internet connections!i suffered a day without proper internet connection...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Day

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nathan Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011

Liked: terrace was great to sit outside on a nice day. good atmosphere. staff were helpful, however only when prompted.

Disliked: WORST HOSTEL SHOWER EVER (and i've stayed in about 15 different hostels). the hairdryer in our room didn't work properly. the wifi was really bad. no sharp knives for cooking in the kitchen. only 1 hot plate and a microwave in the kitchen. breakfast was pretty average and the breakfast lady wasn't friendly at all. if you're wanting to walk to see things such as the notre dame etc, be prepared to walk for 1 hour. also, a 10 minute walk away from the hostel is the ghettos!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

stephanie Cafari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good atmosphere, relatively well kept. Security fairly good for the area.

Disliked: bunks are very noisy when trying to sleep. Otherwise all good!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne-Marie Pugh

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 July 2011 Anne-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Location was brilliant and the staff couldn't have been friendlier, very impressed and would definitely recommend. Also, had air conditioning in the room which was a bonus!

Disliked: There were no lockers in the room which could be a bit worrying for some people.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 July 2011

Liked: good location, but actually there are many places are near metro if you pay for this price. it's not located at city centre and main attractions. Crowded street at night and many good restaurants nearby. You will like this hostel if you aims for nightlife, they have bar downstair and everyone can enter.( that's why security is not that good)

Disliked: it's my 2nd stay there, i m return guest, no rennovation since 2003, water pressure of shower is awful! The staff know nothing, they dont know the main attractions around Paris, that's abnormal, they even cant reach my basic requirment : not informative! they will ask you to ask the tourism information centre nearby! then what are their job duty?? and some of them are impolite too. And they charge for internet access is one of disadvantge too, internet is very common now and I dont think they need to charge me, I have to go to the internet shop nearby which operated by Indian.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing!! Looked out our window to see the Sacre Cour right there. We stayed in the four bed and had an ensuite so made it more comfortable. The hostel was nice and quiet as well. Would definitely recommend to stay here, just for the location and view.

Disliked: There were no lockers for our bags in our room. Other then that it was great!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Erin Charles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Traveller culture was nice, full of all of the flags. Breakfast was good :)

Disliked: We booked a room for 4, but they split us up into 2x2, both with other sets of travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ORLANDO GOMES PEREIRA

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2011 ORLANDO would recommend this property

Liked: Very Good!!!

Disliked: Very Good!!!


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels