HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Village Boutique Hostel

Hostel | 20 Rue d'Orsel, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

86.2% Overall Rating

1362 out of 1509 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Alex Gibbs thinks…

"The food and staff were great! There was really good information available to get to different tourist sites in the city."

Read all Village Boutique Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You can pay by cash or credit card (visa or mastercard) at your arrival. Please note that bookings over 10 people are subject to cancellation with no refund. Please contact groups dept for further information.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris-Location-Appartement
60.26 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre
30.73 USD

Hostel 77.5% 2659 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
38.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Vintage Boutique Hostel
34.75 USD

Hostel 83.5% 1803 reviews
Hotel Riviera
46.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 22 reviews
Woodstock Hostel
41.99 USD

Hostel 78.4% 916 reviews
Perfect Hotel and Hostel
37.49 USD

Hostel 79.9% 1171 reviews
Hotel Bervic
33.48 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.6% 227 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

1361 out of 1508 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Village Boutique Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 997 of 1133 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so amazingly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was just like being in a big home away from home. Breakfast was free and quite nice. Sacre coeur is so close to hostel, some rooms even have a view of it. Few minutes walk to train station. Kitchen facilities pretty good and having a fridge is handy. Supermarket up the road. Lots of restaurants and shopping super close by.

Disliked: The only common area was the eating area. No lockers in rooms (but did offer safety deposit box). Slightly dodgy area, so just watch your bags outside and beware of people on the street getting money any way they can.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff (are super awesome!), the atmosphere, THE LOCATION, the layout of the property (quirky and functional), the rooms, the view!

Disliked: Internet (that you have to pay to use) drops out every few minutes - which sucks when you're on a fifteen minute timer. The shower pressure is terrible and a lot of the power points don't work. That being said, I would still most definitely recommend this place! All this did not detract from how great a place it was.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice facility, which very very helpful and energetic staff. It was also very close to the metro station.

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice & helpful staff, fantastic location, nice fellow travellers, clean rooms, relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: The wifi was down during my entire 24h stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Langan

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 July 2011 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the location. We also loved the meeting area in the lobby. It was perfect for our needs.

Disliked: At first, we were unsure what to expect. The entrance did not strike us as a typical hotel entrance, and we were concerned that it would end up being just another hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was gud..in d montmarte area..near anvers metro station..near laundry service,supermarket n many other restaurants..rooms,bathrooms n toilets r clean..they clean d room often n safe of course...breakfast was average but sufficient for few hours...

Disliked: staffs were nt that friendly...they din gv me enuf information abt d airport services n more importatnt they have the worst internet connections!i suffered a day without proper internet connection...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Day

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nathan Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011

Liked: terrace was great to sit outside on a nice day. good atmosphere. staff were helpful, however only when prompted.

Disliked: WORST HOSTEL SHOWER EVER (and i've stayed in about 15 different hostels). the hairdryer in our room didn't work properly. the wifi was really bad. no sharp knives for cooking in the kitchen. only 1 hot plate and a microwave in the kitchen. breakfast was pretty average and the breakfast lady wasn't friendly at all. if you're wanting to walk to see things such as the notre dame etc, be prepared to walk for 1 hour. also, a 10 minute walk away from the hostel is the ghettos!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

stephanie Cafari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good atmosphere, relatively well kept. Security fairly good for the area.

Disliked: bunks are very noisy when trying to sleep. Otherwise all good!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne-Marie Pugh

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 July 2011 Anne-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Location was brilliant and the staff couldn't have been friendlier, very impressed and would definitely recommend. Also, had air conditioning in the room which was a bonus!

Disliked: There were no lockers in the room which could be a bit worrying for some people.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 July 2011

Liked: good location, but actually there are many places are near metro if you pay for this price. it's not located at city centre and main attractions. Crowded street at night and many good restaurants nearby. You will like this hostel if you aims for nightlife, they have bar downstair and everyone can enter.( that's why security is not that good)

Disliked: it's my 2nd stay there, i m return guest, no rennovation since 2003, water pressure of shower is awful! The staff know nothing, they dont know the main attractions around Paris, that's abnormal, they even cant reach my basic requirment : not informative! they will ask you to ask the tourism information centre nearby! then what are their job duty?? and some of them are impolite too. And they charge for internet access is one of disadvantge too, internet is very common now and I dont think they need to charge me, I have to go to the internet shop nearby which operated by Indian.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing!! Looked out our window to see the Sacre Cour right there. We stayed in the four bed and had an ensuite so made it more comfortable. The hostel was nice and quiet as well. Would definitely recommend to stay here, just for the location and view.

Disliked: There were no lockers for our bags in our room. Other then that it was great!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Erin Charles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Traveller culture was nice, full of all of the flags. Breakfast was good :)

Disliked: We booked a room for 4, but they split us up into 2x2, both with other sets of travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ORLANDO GOMES PEREIRA

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2011 ORLANDO would recommend this property

Liked: Very Good!!!

Disliked: Very Good!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011

Liked: Clean rooms, hot showers and free internet. The staff went out of their way to ensure my stay was enjoyable. The guys at the reception were HOT. :)

Disliked: I arrived at midnight and the road leading to the hostel from the Anvers metro looked like an alley way and didn't look safe. Luckily, the music festival was on and there were heaps of people around at that time. I hate to think what it would be like if the festival wasn't on.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Glen Vomacka

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Glen would recommend this property

Liked: was nice to have a breakfast. croissants, coffee, and cereal. I dug the staircase.

Disliked: nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were generally very friendly, helpful, and happy to offer local advice and information, as well as lend the odd bits of kit we needed for the day. There was a safe luggage storage system, offer of a safe to store things through the day, and entry was by buzzer (answered almost immediately), so the staff know who's coming in and out. The hostel is located just 2 minutes' walk from the Anvers Metro station, making it a great place to get to/from and to get around Paris. The nearest supermarket is about 5 minutes' walk, but is very cheap! Those lucky enough to have a view of the church would realise how beautiful it is, and if you don't get that view, then it's only 2-3 minutes' walk away, where you'll find all the locals having a drink and watching the shows :) We stayed in a double en-suite room, private. The room and bathroom were cleaned daily and bin emptied. The cleaner did have a habit of turning the air-con off when they came round though, meaning the room was quite warm when we got back, but doesn't take long to cool. There was a bar which served drinks, but around €7 for a glass of wine, €3 for a small beer, €5 for a large. Many local cafes and such were cheaper. Breakfast was continental - croissants, cereal, bread rolls, jams and butters. There was coffee (wasn't the best), orange juice, water, and hot/cold milk. It was alright, but I wouldn't go by the raving reviews of it.

Disliked: Drinks prices were a tad expensive (bring your own wine!), breakfast was over-rated, but certainly not to be sniffed at, and the toilet outside of the dorm rooms was a bit grotty, didn't have a sink, and did actually wreak.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good size rooms and a good comunal area

Disliked: Very small and temperamental

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very nice and had a gorgeous view of Sacre Coeur basilica. The terrace was a nice place to go and have a drink and the croissants at the free breakfast were amazing.

Disliked: The location was not very nice other than the basilica. It was kind of sketchy and you had to take a long metro ride to get anywhere near the main sites of Paris. We booked 3 people in a dorm and for some reason they made us split up into two separate rooms which was kind of annoying.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katherine Malin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Top hostel. Very friendly staff, good room, nice terrace. Met lots of good people here. Very good location in Montmarte and easy to get to. Velib station nearby, give it a go, best way to see Paris!

Disliked: If I remember rightly there was no locker in my room. Internet access was slow and expensive, but you should be here to see Paris, not sit on Facebook!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zheng Jingxin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Zheng would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and honest, when i dropped my money at the reception area the staff rushed up to my room to return me my money. Breakfast area is big and food served is value for money.

Disliked: NIL

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, rooms clean and tidy, cheap and very good quality breakfast. I met some great fellow travellers in my room.

Disliked: I locked my bike out on the terrace, but it wasn't easy to get it up the stairs and it got wet in the rain. I tried to practise speaking French at reception and a member of staff, who was Austrian, mocked my poor pronunctiation and spoke to me in English. I think he was trying to be funny, but after a long day I found it very offputting and I didn't speak French there again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Despoina Karargyri

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2011 Despoina would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this little hostel! For starters it is perfectly located just on the corner from Sacré Cœur. The northern (I think it is the northern- for sure it is the one side of the hostel) faces Sacré Cœur and has a panoramic view of it. There is a lift, bar, pool table, 24hs reception, lounge, and restaurant. My favourite of them all is a patio with a view to Sacré Cœur and happy noises from the street bellow and birds singing in the trees. Had my breakfasts (included in the price) there. Some lucky residents had rooms with entrance on the patio. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Front door is locked at all times and you can only get in and out by reception. Reception also safe-keeps valuables. I highly recomend that you do leave all your valuables with them! All rooms have electronic locks, however touristy places always have very skilled thieves! Enjoy your stay as much as I did! :) Xx

Disliked: Tips: 1) Not a good destination if you want a very quiet place. This is a touristy area, so if your room faces the road there will be street noises (no drunks or loud gangs though). 2) The showers have 24hs hot water, however they are annoyingly controlled by button. This means you need to keep pressing every so little for the water to flow. 3) The place is cleaned daily, I do suspect though some cleaners do not sweep under the beds. You might want to check that and report to reception. 4) There are no lockers on the rooms. I wish they had them but they don't. Remember to have a lock for your bags.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ionel Nita

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2011 Ionel would recommend this property

Liked: staff was nice, the hostel was decent

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was nice, positioned just by Montmatre, which was great for us!! We only stayed one night, so for us it was easy to use! it had a fairly good social atmosphere.

Disliked: We had been split up in our group whihc wasn't perfect, however as it was only for one night it didnt matter too much.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels