HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Village Boutique Hostel

Hostel | 20 Rue d'Orsel, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

86.3% Overall Rating

1373 out of 1521 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"Convenient location if Gare du Nord is your route in/out of Paris and it's walkable to the centre if you're happy to stroll, the streets arount Montmartre are quite pleasant. Easy to get chatting to other travelers."

Read all Village Boutique Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You can pay by cash or credit card (visa or mastercard) at your arrival. Please note that bookings over 10 people are subject to cancellation with no refund. Please contact groups dept for further information.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris-Location-Appartement
59.09 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre
26.20 USD

Hostel 79.8% 2672 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
39.40 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Vintage Boutique Hostel
31.45 USD

Hostel 81.9% 1811 reviews
Hotel Riviera
60.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 22 reviews
Woodstock Hostel
32.21 USD

Hostel 75.4% 920 reviews
Perfect Hotel and Hostel
26.26 USD

Hostel 79.5% 1183 reviews
Hotel Bervic
32.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.6% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

1373 out of 1521 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Village Boutique Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1008 of 1144 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 40 | 41   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the ability to only have four girls to room. I liked how safe my luggage was with their system (best of any hostel I have stayed in). It was nice that breakfast was included.

Disliked: The bathroom could use a little updating. The wifi is really only available in the main lounge.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012

Liked: Rooms and bathrooms quite spacious. Close proximity to various shops, metro, and Sacre Coeur.

Disliked: Was unaware that I when I checked in that I would be allocated in a separate building away from the main property. Although it was just 'round the corner, It didn't help that I wasn't given specific info (i.e. unit # of the building) at first, so spent a bit of time trying to find it. That was alright, but what was annoying was that I was given a key which I was not allowed to bring outside of the hostel - I had to give the key to reception each time I got out, then pick it up on my way back. While this was not the hostel's fault, the couple which stayed in my room came back at 4am in the morning, spoke loudly, shuffled through their things, and made all sorts of noise as if I wasn't there. Thought I would at least get a bit more sleep after they went to bed, but they woke up at 6:30am and made a commotion once again - making my stay at the hostel an awful experience overall. Once again, just to reiterate, it wasn't the hostel's fault for poor guest behaviour. However, I think it would of helped if I was allocated in the main building, where excessive noise will not be tolerated by others and easier for the staff to pick up so as to warn noisy guests to quiet down or get out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iara Peres Rodrigues

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Iara would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a good hostel and it has a nice atmosphere. The receptionists are kind and helpful. The breakfast is deilicious and you can use the kitchen to prepare something to eat.

Disliked: I didn't like the way the shower works. You have to turn the faucet on every 20 seconds because it turns of automatically.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice place, very clean and you can meet very nice people there. They have a good breakfast. Its close to sacre coeur in the heart of montmartre. You have a 24-hour-reception and they have a luggage room, which is very practical! The Personal is very friendly and open-minded!

Disliked: the flush does not work very well. But that wasnt such a big problem for us!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicole Seccafien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The building was pretty cool looking inside. The people were friendly, both staff and travelers. It was near a sight many see when coming to Paris. The rooms were excellent because they had a toilet in the room and only 4 beds. Having wifi and breakfast included was excellent.

Disliked: I didn't really like the location because it was kind of sketchy. I got harassed at the metro station a lot and I couldn't really walk around at night without something bad happening.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 May 2012

Liked: Location at the bohemian suburb of Monmartre and the Basilica of the Sacré Cœur.

Disliked: Price, breakfast and room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Francesca Arnott

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: The area was close to two different metro lines which makes it easy to get around and we walked to it from the train station on arrival in Paris. Had wifi, a small kitchen which was better than none and the free breakfast was pretty good, coffee, hot chocolate, croissant, rolls and cereal.

Disliked: Our shared bathroom was not very clean there was mold and weird fungus growing in the corner and it didnt seem to get any cleaner in the week that we stayed. Also the cleaner threw out a whole lot of stuff sitting on the bench in our room including my fold down umbrella, a small amount of change and papers other people had sitting on there which i thought was very weird.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marco Batista

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and was served with air conditioner and hair dryer in the bathroom. this was a private room located in the 4 floor which was the last floor in the building with a nice view to the cathedral

Disliked: I only did not like the breakfast. I got there at 9am they closed at 9:30am and i asked for more orange juice they didnt had more. also ok paris is crossaint everywhere, but plain? dam when ask for cheese or ham, there wasnt any. the property is good just the breakfast there is no point in eating it there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RASHID ASLANLI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 RASHID would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel. Quite and safe. Close to Sacré-Coeur. Love the staff

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good, although Monmarter is not very safe to travel alone, this hostel is quite and safe

Disliked: one of the staff is very bad,he ruined my impression for paris

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: love the staff!!! very friendly!! near to train station & sacre cour..

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Montmartre; clean and comfortable...

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit small; limited lockers available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sadie Freeman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Sadie would recommend this property

Liked: Had an absolutely wonderful time here. The staff were lovely, I met some really amazing people, the room was great, breakfast was pretty standard but still really good. The WiFi was a godsend and the kitchen was always clean. Really handy storage lockers were available to use to keep your valuables.

Disliked: It's very hard to find anything negative to say- The location was great but I suppose at night I wouldn't want to be walking alone. Aside from that, everything was superb.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: overall condition

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed this hostel. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. Croissants were yummy! I liked that I was able to walk to the Sacré-Coeur and I had a view of it from my window. I enjoyed the proximity to the metro. It's definitely not in the main tourist area but as long as you have a metro ticket it's really easy to get there and I never waited more than two minutes for a train.

Disliked: We used the walking directions provided and got lost so we ended up having to take a taxi. The shower was pretty gross because the drain wasn't working but it would have been okay if it weren't for that. Also would have liked if the wifi worked in my room and not just the common area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Benjamin Hull

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of this hostel is pretty chill and inviting, both in the decor and the demeanor of the people within. Being located a stones' throw away from Sacre Coeur probabl helps in that department. The 8-person room was plenty spacious for all our stuff, and the in-suite toilet/shower was good enough. The free breakfast was a pretty good spread (in terms of hostel breakfasts) and the wifi was cheap and easy to access in a secured manner.

Disliked: The shower head in our bathroom did not have a wall mount - outside of that I was very happy with my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yifang Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Yifang would recommend this property

Liked: i love all of this hotel....

Disliked: Yifang left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was quite good, close to metro and night-life. Room was quiet. Please do NOT pick the three bed room unless you are sharing with people you know VERY well....

Disliked: I stayed in the 3 bed room. It was really small space for each person compared to other rooms with more beds. there was barely room for all three people to be in the room together, with absolutely no space for all the luggage and back packs. The room should have been just for two max!!! The shower was hopeless!! The water was barely warm all the time, and it was push button with really short time span!!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Travis Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, services provided without charge

Disliked: Tried to book an extra night and they jacked the rate up.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was a good starter; the postion of the hostel is good: not much noise of traffic, next door is a supermarket, just a few minute walk to the metro, closed to main stations, the quartier montmartre is beautiful; the staff is very friendly; cleanliness is good -especially if you know what it means to share a room; it´s a good place to meet people and hang up with them; the price-qualitiy ratio for paris is the best; all in all a relaxed charm. like to go again to this hostel and recommend it my friends

Disliked: the push-button-shower, some beds havn´t been that comfortable, there should be more lockers

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El staff es muy amigable, te ayudan en lo que necesitas y tenian gente que hablara en Español. El hoste, es muy limpio y tiene una sala comun que es linda. El desayuno es muy bueno

Disliked: La ubiacion es un poco lejos, pero uno se da mania y se acostumbra a usar los subtes y las combinaciones.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love the location, my room oberlooked Sacre Couer and location near metro. Montmartre is antistic village. Unique in its own way. Tiny lift, narrow spiral stairways, tiny lobby, pantry. . . But felt at homr. Had a great time chatting and sharing music interest with the very helpful and adorable receptionist Pablo :)

Disliked: Would be good if can provide laundry service, hairdryer. But generally great.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was incredible, really close to Gare du Nord and with an amazing view of Sacré Coeur (literally a stones throw away). Easy to find. The staff were mostly really friendly and helpful and the hostel is really clean. Free breakfast always a bonus. The hostel's also close to a supermarket if you want food.

Disliked: The facilities were okay except the shower wasn't great. It was a push-button. Also, when I asked to have the hair dryer seen to (it wasn't working), the man at reception insisted it was and didn't have it fixed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012

Liked: Breakfast was ok. The location was good and easy to find. I liked the communal kitchen and seating area.

Disliked: The beds were really uncomfortable. The bathroom wasn't very clean and the shower was pretty much useless. It was literally a dribble of luke warm water!


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels