HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Village Boutique Hostel

Hostel | 20 Rue d'Orsel, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

87.3% Overall Rating

1361 out of 1508 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Alex Gibbs thinks…

"The food and staff were great! There was really good information available to get to different tourist sites in the city."

Read all Village Boutique Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You can pay by cash or credit card (visa or mastercard) at your arrival. Please note that bookings over 10 people are subject to cancellation with no refund. Please contact groups dept for further information.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris-Location-Appartement
60.29 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre
30.75 USD

Hostel 77.5% 2659 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
38.52 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Vintage Boutique Hostel
37.45 USD

Hostel 83.9% 1802 reviews
Hotel Riviera
59.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 22 reviews
Woodstock Hostel
42.02 USD

Hostel 78.4% 916 reviews
Perfect Hotel and Hostel
37.51 USD

Hostel 79.9% 1171 reviews
Hotel Bervic
33.49 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.6% 227 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

1361 out of 1508 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Village Boutique Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 996 of 1132 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Basel shwaiki

Alone

City break

03 July 2012 Basel would recommend this property

Liked: The Atmosphere and the nice rooms, the nice staff

Disliked: The location outside busy area with crowding and dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerardo Gomez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Gerardo would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great atmosphere right from the beginning. Very friendly staff and a large area to relax and meet other travellers.

Disliked: The entrance to some rooms is off of the street so after checking out you have to go back to the street, walk around the corners, and then get buzzed into the area where your room is. The separate area doesn't have Wifi.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Overall staff was great; however on particular employee was very rude to my wife when she was asking some very simple questions about the facilities at the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and excellent bedrooms and bathroom facilities. Has a bar and free breakfast which is great and is close (by walking or the Metro) to all the popular Parisian sights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chee Wai Phoon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Chee Wai would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to sacre couer and the authentic montmartre that makes it convenient

Disliked: Nil

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gutes Frühstück für ein Hostel

Disliked: Am 2. Hochbett hat eine Leiter gefehlt, wir warten jetzt noch darauf.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphäre

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how close it was to the metro station and the Sacre Coeur, that it had free linens, and that there was a safe place to store my luggage. I also felt that some of the staff were very helpful and friendly. My roommates at the hostel were great as well.

Disliked: I disliked the price, but I understand that it's Paris. I disliked that some of the staff were less than friendly. They weren't exactly unfriendly, but some of them weren't necessarily trying to be welcoming either. Also, I HATED the lockout period. After getting off a plane at 7:30 AM, the last thing I wanted to do was sit in that awful lobby until 4 when they finally let me into the room. Furthermore, I saw very little if any evidence of the room having been cleaned, which is disappointing since that's what is supposed to happen during the lockout period. They also advertise wireless internet, but it's very spotty up in the rooms, especially since I was on the 4th floor. Once I finally got to my room I didn't mind it so much, but I can not stress enough how stupid I find the lock out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Larissa Calheiros

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Ana Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great! Staff is really helpfull, the location is really nice! It has the metro really near and the Moulin Rouge, Sacre Coeur... Bathrooms are really clean, free wifi and breakfast!

Disliked: Ana Larissa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanja Lumme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Tanja would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is great, really help full and easy to come along with! And breakfast was good, specially the proper coffee they served.

Disliked: Tanja left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Franziska Geiger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 May 2012 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, cute hostel, nice stuff, nice rooms, nice hostel

Disliked: very expensivce, but I guess Paris is very expensive

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

FERNANDA ANDRADE

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 May 2012 FERNANDA would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the location is pretty good(because the metro). But I think I should not like to walk around there alone...

Disliked: The bathroom was very small and the shower is terrible... my room was too hot all time...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natalja Eberhardt

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Natalja would recommend this property

Liked: the location in montemare is just 5 min to metro station. u have a great look at the sacre coer from the hostel terrace

Disliked: it was very hot, the aircondition didn't work properly and one day no one had power in their rooms, except the lights were working. breakfast was nice, but every day the same.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the ability to only have four girls to room. I liked how safe my luggage was with their system (best of any hostel I have stayed in). It was nice that breakfast was included.

Disliked: The bathroom could use a little updating. The wifi is really only available in the main lounge.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012

Liked: Rooms and bathrooms quite spacious. Close proximity to various shops, metro, and Sacre Coeur.

Disliked: Was unaware that I when I checked in that I would be allocated in a separate building away from the main property. Although it was just 'round the corner, It didn't help that I wasn't given specific info (i.e. unit # of the building) at first, so spent a bit of time trying to find it. That was alright, but what was annoying was that I was given a key which I was not allowed to bring outside of the hostel - I had to give the key to reception each time I got out, then pick it up on my way back. While this was not the hostel's fault, the couple which stayed in my room came back at 4am in the morning, spoke loudly, shuffled through their things, and made all sorts of noise as if I wasn't there. Thought I would at least get a bit more sleep after they went to bed, but they woke up at 6:30am and made a commotion once again - making my stay at the hostel an awful experience overall. Once again, just to reiterate, it wasn't the hostel's fault for poor guest behaviour. However, I think it would of helped if I was allocated in the main building, where excessive noise will not be tolerated by others and easier for the staff to pick up so as to warn noisy guests to quiet down or get out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iara Peres Rodrigues

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Iara would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a good hostel and it has a nice atmosphere. The receptionists are kind and helpful. The breakfast is deilicious and you can use the kitchen to prepare something to eat.

Disliked: I didn't like the way the shower works. You have to turn the faucet on every 20 seconds because it turns of automatically.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice place, very clean and you can meet very nice people there. They have a good breakfast. Its close to sacre coeur in the heart of montmartre. You have a 24-hour-reception and they have a luggage room, which is very practical! The Personal is very friendly and open-minded!

Disliked: the flush does not work very well. But that wasnt such a big problem for us!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicole Seccafien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The building was pretty cool looking inside. The people were friendly, both staff and travelers. It was near a sight many see when coming to Paris. The rooms were excellent because they had a toilet in the room and only 4 beds. Having wifi and breakfast included was excellent.

Disliked: I didn't really like the location because it was kind of sketchy. I got harassed at the metro station a lot and I couldn't really walk around at night without something bad happening.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 May 2012

Liked: Location at the bohemian suburb of Monmartre and the Basilica of the Sacré Cœur.

Disliked: Price, breakfast and room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Francesca Arnott

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: The area was close to two different metro lines which makes it easy to get around and we walked to it from the train station on arrival in Paris. Had wifi, a small kitchen which was better than none and the free breakfast was pretty good, coffee, hot chocolate, croissant, rolls and cereal.

Disliked: Our shared bathroom was not very clean there was mold and weird fungus growing in the corner and it didnt seem to get any cleaner in the week that we stayed. Also the cleaner threw out a whole lot of stuff sitting on the bench in our room including my fold down umbrella, a small amount of change and papers other people had sitting on there which i thought was very weird.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marco Batista

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and was served with air conditioner and hair dryer in the bathroom. this was a private room located in the 4 floor which was the last floor in the building with a nice view to the cathedral

Disliked: I only did not like the breakfast. I got there at 9am they closed at 9:30am and i asked for more orange juice they didnt had more. also ok paris is crossaint everywhere, but plain? dam when ask for cheese or ham, there wasnt any. the property is good just the breakfast there is no point in eating it there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RASHID ASLANLI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 RASHID would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel. Quite and safe. Close to Sacré-Coeur. Love the staff

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good, although Monmarter is not very safe to travel alone, this hostel is quite and safe

Disliked: one of the staff is very bad,he ruined my impression for paris

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: love the staff!!! very friendly!! near to train station & sacre cour..

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Montmartre; clean and comfortable...

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit small; limited lockers available.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels