HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Village Boutique Hostel

Hostel | 20 Rue d'Orsel, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

86.3% Overall Rating

1373 out of 1521 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"Convenient location if Gare du Nord is your route in/out of Paris and it's walkable to the centre if you're happy to stroll, the streets arount Montmartre are quite pleasant. Easy to get chatting to other travelers."

Read all Village Boutique Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You can pay by cash or credit card (visa or mastercard) at your arrival. Please note that bookings over 10 people are subject to cancellation with no refund. Please contact groups dept for further information.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris-Location-Appartement
59.09 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre
26.19 USD

Hostel 80.5% 2673 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
39.39 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Vintage Boutique Hostel
31.45 USD

Hostel 80.8% 1812 reviews
Hotel Riviera
51.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 22 reviews
Woodstock Hostel
32.21 USD

Hostel 75.4% 920 reviews
Perfect Hotel and Hostel
26.26 USD

Hostel 79.4% 1184 reviews
Hotel Bervic
32.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.6% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

1373 out of 1521 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Village Boutique Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1008 of 1144 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 40 | 41   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Canila Andreea

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Canila would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the location (very close to the metro station and the Sacre Couer), the breakfast, which was also pretty good, the terrace with a small view over the Sacre Couer and the cleaniness.

Disliked: Some of the staff weren't quite friendly or helpful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alicia Beauchemin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2012 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to find. Nice place to live in Montmartre and the hotel is close to differents facilities : metro, café, restaurants, bar ... The staff are sympathic and it's a great place to stay for a small budget.

Disliked: Alicia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and the breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Nomarhas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and big rooms

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saga Wattar

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Saga would recommend this property

Liked: I had a private room with bathroom. The room was clean and fresh with AC and good shower. The staff was friendly and helped with everything, recervations, finding good restaurants and telling how to take the metro. Breakfast was also really good.

Disliked: Saga left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bom café da manhã

Disliked: A internet não era nada boa.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gianluca Medaglia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Gianluca would recommend this property

Liked: Location, perfect for monmartre.

Disliked: No place for luggage in room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kevin Mooney

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 November 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: My favourite thing about the property was that all the staff were very polite and easy going, they always greeted you when you arrived in the hostel and always helped you out with any questions you had. The room that I shared with my girlfriend, was nice and cosy and there was air conditioning provided which was a major plus because the visit was in November and I don't think the room had been occupied for a while, so the room was freezing, but after the first night it stayed warm for the rest of our 3 night stay. Once you reached the main part of Montemarte (about 200-300 metres from the hostel), the place was beautiful and ideal for daytime strolls (I'd advice against it at night time though) Also very close to Anvers metro stop. Free Wi-Fi was a great bonus (even though didn't really reach the 2nd floor or the terrace), the terrace was nice for cheap evening drinks from the supermarket a few doors down, there was 24 hour hot water and a cool map in the reception with relevant information for budget travellers.

Disliked: The immediate area wasn't the friendliest. Just after checking in, we were only out of the hostel for two minutes before people started trying to scam us. There could have been a better selection for breakfast, maybe fruit? Also, was a bit far from the city centre but besides that, there was very little to dislike.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kimberly Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012

Liked: Good location and fairly easy to find. Some staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

Disliked: The wifi was rubbish. I couldn't even use it in the lobby. Just annoying when wifi is advertised and we were trying to book our onward accommodation and it was almost impossible. Some staff pretty rude/disinterested. No bathmat and water went everywhere in our bathroom and room. No lockers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Barbara Petek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 November 2012 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: ATMOSPHERE

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natasha Hoffman-Frater

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 October 2012 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice stay here. It's a cosy and comfortable place with good facilities, comfy beds and a friendly atmosphere. Great location, clean, and excellent value for money for pricey Paris. Biggest pros compared to other hostels I've stayed at are: - locker storage in the reception - so valuables could be kept really safe - comfy beds - room had it's own shower room - quaint and well-decorated - friendly staff - the best free breakfast I've had hands down - fresh coffee and croissant...

Disliked: - the pretty dreadful trickle that came from the shower - the music in the reception, which was always blasting and detracted from it being a more sociable environment - the computer key boards

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lidiane oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 lidiane would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, breakfast was good and bed was comfy

Disliked: the staff was a bit rude, specially when i checked in

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rahul Nadkarni

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. the rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

Disliked: The bathroom in room 103 does not have any place to keep soaps, shampoos, etc whilst having a shower. It needs to be kept on the floor. Maybe a shelf needs to be put up so bathroom toiletries could be placed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact the hostel was located in Montmartre with a bunch of restaurants around , and being close to the Metro stop was great, too. Breakfast was included, and served hot coffe with hot milk, as well as croissants and white bread.

Disliked: The hostel was located in a street that did not appear to be safe or well lit at night, which I believe should be pointed out on the website esp for single female travellers. The hostel's staircase was old and windy, and each step had a different shape and form, and carrying luggage was a big problem, the elevator was tiny- at times i was concerned about the fall risk, esp when carryxing luggage. i had people offer me help, but it would have been nice of the manager would have offered some help too.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Leandro Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012

Liked: Nicely located. Decent breakfast.

Disliked: A bit expensive for what it was. Shower was really tight. Wifi only downstairs. No lockers in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are quite specious - Good location

Disliked: The Reception area is far too small - more than 5/6 people in the area at the same time is considerably overcrowded

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms

Disliked: Small rooms, no wardrobe, breakfast are very monotonous

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Pablo Delgado

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 October 2012 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a place that looks like dangerous and unsafe. I think is in the the worst neigbourhood of Paris. But may be it is only my appreciation.

Disliked: The neigbourhood.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Ridgway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the social areas allowed people to approach each other and make friends easily. The free breakfast was nice and saved some money throughout the day. Some of the staff were really friendly and I felt welcome most of the time. Having relaxed rules about drinking and no curfew meant that I felt at home with the other travellers. The ensuite bathroom was nice and privacy was respected.

Disliked: I thought some of the staff were disrespectful to me, especially when I first checked in and this almost gave me a bad impression of the hostel but luckily the other people made up for this.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terence Chow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Terence would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and simple, no hassle

Disliked: Location near Montmartre

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Noisy rooms (water boiler or something), even earplugs wasn't enough to sleep. No safety boxes in rooms. Very little water in shower - hard to get clean. Old, mouldy and unclean bathrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price were fabulous

Disliked: One of the staff members was unhelpful. The others were fabulous and welcoming.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William Burrows

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Stunning night time view of Sacre Coeur from our room window. Public areas were clean and tidy, staff were friendly. Beds/bathroom etc were also clean. Breakfast was a bit basic but also very good.

Disliked: We werent able to use the room we booked until 4pm, which was quite a pain as we took an overnight coach to get to Paris and were dirty and tired by the time we arrived, and then had to wait the whole day for a shower and a change of clothes. I understand the need to clean and prepare the room after the previous occupants have left, but having to wait that long seemed a bit excessive.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jessica Thomson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Social outsude sitting area Breakfast included

Disliked: Very basic kitchen No lockers in rooms Breakfast too early 7-9:30 Staff got pretty angry about slightly late checkout

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very nice, young and friendly staff, breakfast is good too; it is situated in a touristic area next to a metro station, easy to go everywhere. My room was clean and confortable, I felt at home there. WiFi has a good signal inside the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing. Maybe the web could be free and not paid.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels