HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Village Boutique Hostel

Hostel | 20 Rue d'Orsel, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75018

87.3% Overall Rating

1361 out of 1508 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Alex Gibbs thinks…

"The food and staff were great! There was really good information available to get to different tourist sites in the city."

Read all Village Boutique Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You can pay by cash or credit card (visa or mastercard) at your arrival. Please note that bookings over 10 people are subject to cancellation with no refund. Please contact groups dept for further information.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris-Location-Appartement
60.59 USD

Apartment 76.7% 14 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre
30.90 USD

Hostel 77.4% 2657 reviews
Hotel Montmartre Clignancourt
38.71 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Vintage Boutique Hostel
40.33 USD

Hostel 82.6% 1797 reviews
Hotel Riviera
46.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 22 reviews
Woodstock Hostel
42.22 USD

Hostel 79.4% 915 reviews
Perfect Hotel and Hostel
40.39 USD

Hostel 80.6% 1169 reviews
Hotel Bervic
36.35 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.0% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

1361 out of 1508 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Village Boutique Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 996 of 1132 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the kitchen and the fact that we had a bathroom between 3 people, with shower and everything. It was almost like a hotel it was so nice and peaceful. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The best was the day after check out baggage storage which let me explore all of Sunday without my life on my back. The wifi was shotty in the mornings but fast enough to Skype in the evenings!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, great staff and good value for money. The hostel was clean and had a good atmosphere, staff were happy to assist. Would recommend and stay again!

Disliked: Was allocated a room in a separate building, adjoining the main hostel which as a little weird - meant having to buzz in and out, and felt a little distant from the main building (albeit about 20 steps away), with no wifi access etc. However the room itself was extremely clean, recently redecorated and spacious with en-suite and a table and chairs. Wifi was poor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel. Very clean, convenient, considerate and everything was quite new (mattresses, sheets, shower). We had a 4 person room, luckily located on the first floor which has a beautiful terrace with chairs and a view of sacre couer. The location is known for having a few strange characters around but it is mainly full of tourists which means, naturally, there will be random pick pockets but nothing too dangerous as long as you're aware. Other than that, the location has a supermarket, souvenir shops, galleries and amazing views. Everyone staying was very kind. To be honest, I would happily stay here for my honeymoon!

Disliked: It's all good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staff was nice (Chris, Julian and the breakfast lady were simply the best). The room was ok. Nice atmosphere and location.

Disliked: Limited breakfast. One of the girls of the reception was somehow unfriendly and blunt. A bit expensive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

gizem ÖZCAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013

Liked: good staff and good rooms

Disliked: poor wi fi and breakfast is really poor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Reeves

Alone

City break

06 January 2013 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, excellent security and prefect location. You can see the Sacre Couer from the balcony and the Montmartre bars are only a short walk away. Jump on the Nearby Metro and the is a direct route to Notre Dame. The whole building had lots of character and has excellent facilities. The four-person bedrooms have a shower and lavatory. The is a large kitchen to prepare your own meals. I did stay In a hotel for the previous two nights, but I wish I had stayed at the Village Hostel for my entire holiday now!

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kotchapol Yoosooksawat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Kotchapol would recommend this property

Liked: - Close to Metro - Coffee for free the whole day - free bed sheet - free breakfast

Disliked: - WiFi is TOO SLOW

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, peaceful hostel, friendly staff-everything a traveller can wish for.

Disliked: the elevator was pretty small.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Babic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 December 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Cute and Parisian building. Free breakfast was amazing with Camembert, goats cheese and blue cheese on offer. Very helpful staff. Free lockers were helpful

Disliked: Wifi only available on ground floor and even then it is temperamental at best. Walls were paper thin in room. Shower was the worst I've ever used, I had to press against the wall for any water to touch me at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonably sized rooms, was clean, and beds were comfortable. Staff was also friendly and there was a good atmosphere.

Disliked: Toilets/showers weren't great. Location was average, and could be a bit difficult to find.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012

Liked: Nothing, only close to underground and market

Disliked: The worst experience of my life. Small room, no lockers in the room, no internet in the room, and in the reception is slow, bathroom smells bad, breakfast doesn't have many things... Security? Noooo... Somebody stole my money in the room and the hostel only said: "Sorry, but this is a hostel." Terrible

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast, good sized room, comfortable bed

Disliked: The bathroom was located through a courtyard.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good enviroment, good bedroons and bathroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Canila Andreea

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Canila would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the location (very close to the metro station and the Sacre Couer), the breakfast, which was also pretty good, the terrace with a small view over the Sacre Couer and the cleaniness.

Disliked: Some of the staff weren't quite friendly or helpful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alicia Beauchemin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2012 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to find. Nice place to live in Montmartre and the hotel is close to differents facilities : metro, café, restaurants, bar ... The staff are sympathic and it's a great place to stay for a small budget.

Disliked: Alicia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and the breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Nomarhas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and big rooms

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saga Wattar

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Saga would recommend this property

Liked: I had a private room with bathroom. The room was clean and fresh with AC and good shower. The staff was friendly and helped with everything, recervations, finding good restaurants and telling how to take the metro. Breakfast was also really good.

Disliked: Saga left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bom café da manhã

Disliked: A internet não era nada boa.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gianluca Medaglia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Gianluca would recommend this property

Liked: Location, perfect for monmartre.

Disliked: No place for luggage in room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kevin Mooney

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 November 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: My favourite thing about the property was that all the staff were very polite and easy going, they always greeted you when you arrived in the hostel and always helped you out with any questions you had. The room that I shared with my girlfriend, was nice and cosy and there was air conditioning provided which was a major plus because the visit was in November and I don't think the room had been occupied for a while, so the room was freezing, but after the first night it stayed warm for the rest of our 3 night stay. Once you reached the main part of Montemarte (about 200-300 metres from the hostel), the place was beautiful and ideal for daytime strolls (I'd advice against it at night time though) Also very close to Anvers metro stop. Free Wi-Fi was a great bonus (even though didn't really reach the 2nd floor or the terrace), the terrace was nice for cheap evening drinks from the supermarket a few doors down, there was 24 hour hot water and a cool map in the reception with relevant information for budget travellers.

Disliked: The immediate area wasn't the friendliest. Just after checking in, we were only out of the hostel for two minutes before people started trying to scam us. There could have been a better selection for breakfast, maybe fruit? Also, was a bit far from the city centre but besides that, there was very little to dislike.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kimberly Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012

Liked: Good location and fairly easy to find. Some staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

Disliked: The wifi was rubbish. I couldn't even use it in the lobby. Just annoying when wifi is advertised and we were trying to book our onward accommodation and it was almost impossible. Some staff pretty rude/disinterested. No bathmat and water went everywhere in our bathroom and room. No lockers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Barbara Petek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 November 2012 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: ATMOSPHERE

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natasha Hoffman-Frater

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 October 2012 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice stay here. It's a cosy and comfortable place with good facilities, comfy beds and a friendly atmosphere. Great location, clean, and excellent value for money for pricey Paris. Biggest pros compared to other hostels I've stayed at are: - locker storage in the reception - so valuables could be kept really safe - comfy beds - room had it's own shower room - quaint and well-decorated - friendly staff - the best free breakfast I've had hands down - fresh coffee and croissant...

Disliked: - the pretty dreadful trickle that came from the shower - the music in the reception, which was always blasting and detracted from it being a more sociable environment - the computer key boards

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lidiane oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 lidiane would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, breakfast was good and bed was comfy

Disliked: the staff was a bit rude, specially when i checked in


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels