HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Peace and Love Hostel

Hostel | 245 rue La Fayette, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

69.4% Overall Rating

657 out of 961 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2014)

"If you're looking for cheap accom,a 45 min walk from main attractions,and don't mind sleeping in tiny room with 13 other people and one bathroom,this place is good.metro just across the road,supermarket also.bar…"

Read all Peace and Love Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Peace and Love Hostel only admits guests from 18 - 35 years old. Important: We will only hold your reservation for 3 hours after your chosen arrival time, so please choose carefully! Please noteIf you do not arrive after 3 hours we will have to cancel your booking. If you are delayed for some reasons, you please contact us to let us know. If you cancel your reservation less than 24 hours before or if you no-show, we will charge you the first night. We accept cash only please!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hôtel de la Comète
45.61 USD

Hotel 78.7% 41 reviews
Hotel de Bellevue
46.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.3% 80 reviews
Hotel Altona
53.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.7% 230 reviews
BEAUTIFUL CITY HOSTEL
42.16 USD

Hostel 84.1% 7 reviews
Paris 19th Apartment
38.70 USD

Apartment 64.0% 17 reviews
St Christopher's Inn Canal
30.27 USD

Hostel 85.0% 2284 reviews
St Christopher's Gare du Nord
30.27 USD

Hostel 87.4% 246 reviews
La Vieille France
73.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

657 out of 961 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Peace and Love Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
71.2%
Value
68.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 596 of 689 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 23 | 24   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to all areas.

Disliked: Doors banging due to closing mechanism and little noise insulation (internal).

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014

Liked: The rooms were clean.

Disliked: It's very small and lacks common areas to hang out. The kitchen wasn't available for use but we still had to pay for it. There is very limited tourist information available for travellers. The staff and locals who frequent the bar are sleazy and annoying. Probably the worst hostel I've stayed in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking for cheap accom,a 45 min walk from main attractions,and don't mind sleeping in tiny room with 13 other people and one bathroom,this place is good.metro just across the road,supermarket also.bar downstairs to meet people.

Disliked: No basins in toilets,no common area apart from bar,wifi from 8am-7pm.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Cleanliness, the sheet were dirty and the staff couldn't help me to give me new sheet, staff not freindly...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -real good value for money

Disliked: -WIFI not available in rooms -WIFI only free (at the bar/entrance) between 8 am and 6 pm

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014

Liked: Sharing the experience with a friend made the poor quality of this place something to laugh about. Had I been alone I would not have enjoyed my stay here at all.

Disliked: Getting to my room felt like climing a lighthouse, no sinks to wash your hands in the toiltes, you had to get back to your room for this. The shower was in the room, which may see convenient but when sharing a mixed dorm, only clear glass to cover made things difficult. The wifi was only free between 8am and 6pm, outside those hours you had to pay for it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fair price, nice and simple to use and the bed was comfy

Disliked: Some members of staff were incredibly rude and unforthcoming and we were woken by other guests at arriving home at 5am in the morning

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were so helpful and so much fun that it felt like I knew them a long time. Everybody is willing to help and so nice. The guests too are always good people:) And the Bar Staff ( Milen and Ada) were so cool and Friendly.

Disliked: I couldn't find anything to dislike.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Josh Vickers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014

Liked: Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Fairly close to Gare du Nord train station. Cheaper than most Paris hostels.

Disliked: No communal area other than the bar. One key per room. Kitchen is functional, but not really anywhere to eat the food other than in the bar.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Ravarotto

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: The bed sheets and room in general, but also the common spaces were very clean. Everything looked quite new and in good conditions. The staff was super nice, multilingual and willing to help. The bar on the ground floor is very nice and you can have fun there without going far! I also think the zone is very nice and quite centred. Moreover it's not at all pricy! I highly recommend it!!!

Disliked: Nothing really...If I have to search for a bad point I would say the stairs, but it's not that bad ;)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was the place to use the wifi and I ended up meeting a few people there. The bartenders were very friendly. It was close to a few metro stops.

Disliked: Fellow guests kept stealing my (clearly marked) food in the kitchen, so beware. There is a weird key system where there's only one key per room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool bar downstairs and a good kitchen where we could prepare our meals

Disliked: They didn´t give us the beds we had booked, but since we stayed only one night, it was okay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked how there was a lot of young people, there was a good vibe and i felt very comfortable there, the staff were fantastic ad a pleasure to deal with

Disliked: that there was no smoking rooms available

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheep and near the metro station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

13 November 2013

Liked: it was quite cheap and didn't have bed bugs.

Disliked: i was groped one night after using the bathroom on the bottom level by a staff member. the showers/ basin and beds share the same cell like space. bar drinks are very expensive. internet does not work in rooms and does not work at all after 6pm.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013

Liked: Close to metro and to the city. Good price. Some of the staff are nice and helpful.

Disliked: The atmosphere was mediocre, rooms were very small and they didn't look very welcoming. Shower door drips water all over the floor and toilet is outside the room. Generally it is normal hostel but I wouldn't really recommend it. But for the money it is fine.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jeffrey Umotoy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013

Liked: Kitchen that you can use and a fridge where you can keep your food.

Disliked: The common room is bar, and therefore you cannot have a peaceful time after your day of walking around the city. The reception is also the bartender therefore it's hard to communicate. There is also this time when I used their locker and mistakenly put my combination wrong, the guy at the reception who's at the night shift rudely told me he couldn't do anything and ignored me. I needed to open it since I have all my important things in there, I tried once again and he told me I have to pay him 25 euros, defeated and tired I just went to bed. The next morning I talked to the people at the office downstairs and they helped me with no question.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is almost nothing to complain about. Before I went I read that there was only one key to the room and I was staying in the big one, for 14 people, and there were few who did not like it. But it was no problem at all. I loved the place

Disliked: Some of the beds were bent but it wasn't too bad

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, not so far, in front of metro station with 3 lines, good price, excellent atmosphere. I am definitely coming back there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Michelle Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Emma Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool! Had an amazing time! I sleep in a dorm of 14 beds but it was good! Fun, alive, young, very friendly staff! Would recommend 100%!!! The kitchen was cool everyone cooking together really good to meet new ppl, had no trouble with leaving my stuff in the room, there were small lockers in the kitchen for important stuff! Felt really safe and easygoing!

Disliked: Location- But it doesn't take long to hope on the metro and get to the centre in 10~ minuets!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro and other conveniences, good atmosphere and staff, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the best price you can get for a bed in Paris

Disliked: 3 beds in top of each other and really small rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very good value for money. It even had cheaper drinks than most of Paris. It had a central location, right next to a metro station and a good bakery. The barmaid who was on duty for the evenings we were there was lovely and helped create a good party atmosphere.

Disliked: The area seemed quite rough and we were warned (not by the owner) about wandering about after dark. We liked it anyway but lone females might want to be careful. The room was very small for 3 people (but good value for the price, and anyway you're going to spend all your time exploring Paris, right?) and contained a shower with no chance of privacy (not that we minded but some people might!) Also it's a very vertical building with loads of stairs (good exercise, but some people might not like it!) The hostel was very much aimed at Western English-speaking tourists which wasn't ideal for us but it was nice meeting other chilled tourists.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hunter Hill

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Hunter would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Peace and Love was good. As is standard with most places in Paris, the stairs are pretty tight (especially with backpacks.) Staff were helpful.

Disliked: Description stated the hostel had been freshly renovated. As we walked in, somebody was using a hand saw to hack at the drywall in the lobby-bar. There was dust everywhere. The work seemed to be done after a few days, but it certainly wasn't the freshly renovated look we were expecting.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels