We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Blue Planet Hostel

Hostel | 5 Rue Hector Malot, 12eme Arrondissement, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75012

63.7% Overall Rating

854 out of 1801 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2015)

"REALLY good location with nice people who stayed there. I like the people I met there and from the get go, staff were welcoming!"

Read all Blue Planet Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT ACCEPT ARRIVALS AFTER 17h00 You must have an arrival time before 17.00hrs. If you arrive later your reservation will be subject to a fee, you will have to pay the normal price of 25euro on arrival and not the promotional price online Payment is to be in cash on arrival. Please note that we only accept group of less than 10 people- Arrival time for groups is 12h (noon) latest- Please Note: Age Restriction of 35 years of age. We do not accept stays longer than 4 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
32.84 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.9% 133 reviews
Bastille Apartments
24.08 USD

Apartment 88.8% 225 reviews
AIJ Paris
17.42 USD

Hostel 77.6% 291 reviews
Hotel Central Bastille
32.84 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.9% 41 reviews
Hotel des Arts
38.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.0% 531 reviews
Hotel Richard
30.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 56.6% 316 reviews
Hotel Belfort
32.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 828 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
49.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.7%

Overall Rating

854 out of 1801 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Planet Hostel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
59.2%
Value
71.2%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 1113 of 1507 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 44 | 45   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2015

Liked: -price -no mold -do noot stay here longer than 2 night

Disliked: -most unhelpful staff ever (as if staying there anoys them actually) -didn't tell us about the "breakfast" or that we could rent a sheet to put between us & the blanket -"breakfast" comes from a machine, don't take a drink, invest your coins in the bread -cameras everywhere, at least 2 in every corner, made me feel so creepy -only 1 key per room, you have to get up at night, if someone comes at night -no sink at the toilet, you have to get back to your room or the "common room" to wash your hands -washrooms in bad state

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jiaqing Nie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2015 Jiaqing would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is from a vending machine,two pieces of bread+a coffee, convenient

Disliked: Not that easy to find, internet costs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: REALLY good location with nice people who stayed there. I like the people I met there and from the get go, staff were welcoming!

Disliked: No lifts.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dmytro Bagaiev

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 Dmytro would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice location and neighbourhood. Not the very central, but still very interesting to explore. Direct metro line to the center, just 10 minutes to Louvre. In general this hostel is nice cheap option for backpacker in such overloaded city. Breakfast is very small and simple, but still enough to start the day.

Disliked: Just one key per room, so if one of your room mates comes late, he has to knock the door and wake up someone to open it. Just one socket per room. Also very basic facilities if you care about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bossayna ZAKI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 Bossayna would recommend this property

Liked: People were very friendly, very nice price for it's location, near GARE DE LYON and has access to METRO 1 which is a touristic line. Separated dorms for both sexes. Nice breakfast, fast and easy. Area is safe at night to wander. The reception was very kind to us, and very secure property.

Disliked: Nothing really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rakesh Gupta NICHANAMETLA RAMASUBBAIAH

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 October 2014 Rakesh Gupta would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and very well located.

Disliked: Wifi not provided, very few plug points.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central located. very nearby Gare du Lyon. and main Paris metroline.

Disliked: the showerroom was to small.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2014

Liked: close to the metro.

Disliked: Bad facilities and attitude, especially the manager. Besides, four people share one plug, and the wifi is 3 euro per hour. The surroundings is noisy at late night and in the early morning. It's one of the worst hostel I have ever lived.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near train station

Disliked: dangerous at night to stay outside, wifi needs pay, one toilet per floor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, very near to the metro and RER station.

Disliked: The check in time is different from the website, which is actually 3.30pm and not 3.00pm.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

KITAWAKI NAOKO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 KITAWAKI would recommend this property

Liked: リヨン駅から近い。 時間に余裕があれば、ノートルダム大聖堂まで川沿いを歩いて行ける。 スタッフは良い意味でも悪い意味でも、正にフランス的。 周りは意外にも静かです。目の前にノボテルホテルがある。

Disliked: 部屋のシャワーは使えないので、各階のシャワーを使用。 お湯がでるまで、数分かかり、しばらくするとまた冷たくなるの繰り返し。 ベッドのシーツはなく、ちょっと痒くなったので、ダニがいるかも?

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 August 2014

Liked: près de la gare

Disliked: wifi n'était pas gratuit la douche n'était pas propre la chambre était sombre il y a qu'une clé pour une chambre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zummo flavio

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 zummo would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, the people and the staff are friendly and helpful,the rooms are clean, and the ambiance is so cool. Breakfast is already good whith three coins per person but if you ask in the reception they give you morre. The location is perferct very close to the station and the bus station for the airport. The hostel is so secure, is controlled by camera 24 hours. I had a very nice stay.

Disliked: Nothing all is ok

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Natalie Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014

Liked: It was cheap on hostel bookers, but if you book there, it is almost 10€ more.

Disliked: The unhelpful staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

neri silvia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 neri would recommend this property

Liked: Otimo soggiorno in questo ostello,l'ambiente é molto gradevole, il personale è molto gentile, le camere sono molto pulite. Non ho capito tanto le critiche negative al riguardo. La colazione va bene,danno tre gettoni per i distributori ma se ne possono avere di più. inoltre é ottimamente posizionato,ed molto sicuro grazie alle telecamere di vigilanza.

Disliked: Niente al riguardo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

saidi malika

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 saidi would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel tres confortable, paisible, tres bien situé . L emplacement est formidable pres de la gare de Lyon. Avant de reserver j ai lu des commentaires qui n ont rien à voir avec ce que j ai effectivement constaté.Rien à dire par rapport à la propreté tout est clean, le staff est très accueillant, le déjeuner est à partir de distributeur de boissons chaudes et de viennoiseries, on a droit à trois jetons mais on peut en avoir plus si on demande à la reception( dans mon cas il a été très gentil, me proposant le petit déjeuner dès le premier matin étant arrivée tot.) Je ne comprend pas les critiques à propos d une seul clef par chambre, je pense que c'est une question de sécuritée ainsi tout le monde est bien controlé avant de monter,imaginez on perd la clef et quiconque pourrait monter de toute manière la réception est ouverte 24h sur 24. Je donne un avis très positif sur mon séjour dans cet hostel.

Disliked: Rien de special, c'est bien et on est a Paris

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YULIA POLETAEVA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 YULIA would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: --

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

VESNA BUKOVEC

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It can be cleaner. For breakfast you get 3 coins and you can choose coffee or croissant from machine. Are you serious?

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joshua Gibson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014

Liked: Don't go here unless you have to stay here. But if you have to stay here it's not so bad.

Disliked: Better than sleeping face down in the Sahara On par with a night in an south London squat. Worse than most other hostels

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014

Liked: Rien

Disliked: Le personnel est extrêmement antipathique. Ils font preuve d'une grande condescendance vis-à-vis de la clientèle. Ils n'ont fait aucun effort pour nous accommoder et nous ont ouvertement exprimé leur mépris.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location close to Gare de Lyon. Safe neighborhood.

Disliked: The guests have to get their passports registered. The lounge room is not cosy enough. Unvailable until 3 PM.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hector Morales Vazquez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014

Liked: Maybe location

Disliked: Everything, no bathrooms and it has the worst staff ever

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014

Liked: Hodor

Disliked: They sold our room before we got there

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014

Liked: It is convenient to go to all tourist attractions, many restaurants nearby the hostel. It is close to Bastille and Gare de Lyon.

Disliked: THE STAFF ARE HORRIBLE: 1. they all have straight faces (was never expecting a big smile tho) 2. the power outlet was not working in our room (there is only one outlet for 4 people, no extension cord), a girl asked the staff and the staff said it was out of order, they couldn't do anything about it, so I went to the lobby to charge my laptop, the staff said I cannot stay in the lobby after mid-night as it is the rule of the hostel. I insisted to stay because I couldn't charge my laptop in my room. The staff started yelling at me and removed my charger. He finally turned on the power supply, so it means that he LIED to my roommate before, they actually TURNED OFF THE POWER SUPPLY ON PURPOSE. 3. I heard from my roommate that a girl was 3 euros short when she checked in, a staff told her to get her luggage and leave the hostel. WEIRD RULES 1. you cannot check in after 5pm 2. you are required to leave the hostel from 11am to 3pm everyday

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 June 2014

Liked: The location was nice.

Disliked: no attempt at security.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels