We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Blue Planet Hostel

Hostel | 5 Rue Hector Malot, 12eme Arrondissement, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75012

65.5% Overall Rating

846 out of 1790 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

KITAWAKI NAOKO thinks…

"リヨン駅から近い。 時間に余裕があれば、ノートルダム大聖堂まで川沿いを歩いて行ける。 スタッフは良い意味でも悪い意味でも、正にフランス的。 周りは意外にも静かです。目の前にノボテルホテルがある。"

Read all Blue Planet Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT ACCEPT ARRIVALS AFTER 17h00 ARRIVALS AFTER THIS TIME WILL NOT BE ABLE TO CHECK IN AND THEIR BOOKING IS THEREFORE CANCELLED. Payment is to be in cash on arrival. Please note that we only accept group of less than 10 people- Arrival time for groups is 12h (noon) latest- Please Note: Age Restriction of 35 years of age. We do not accept stays longer than 4 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
44.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.8% 131 reviews
Bastille Apartments
30.36 USD

Apartment 86.4% 224 reviews
AIJ Paris
23.00 USD

Hostel 76.5% 252 reviews
Hotel Central Bastille
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 37 reviews
Hotel des Arts
47.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 529 reviews
Hotel Richard
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.5% 309 reviews
Hotel Belfort
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 827 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
75.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.5%

Overall Rating

846 out of 1790 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Planet Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
64.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 1108 of 1496 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 44 | 45   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rakesh Gupta NICHANAMETLA RAMASUBBAIAH

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 October 2014 Rakesh Gupta would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and very well located.

Disliked: Wifi not provided, very few plug points.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central located. very nearby Gare du Lyon. and main Paris metroline.

Disliked: the showerroom was to small.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2014

Liked: close to the metro.

Disliked: Bad facilities and attitude, especially the manager. Besides, four people share one plug, and the wifi is 3 euro per hour. The surroundings is noisy at late night and in the early morning. It's one of the worst hostel I have ever lived.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near train station

Disliked: dangerous at night to stay outside, wifi needs pay, one toilet per floor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, very near to the metro and RER station.

Disliked: The check in time is different from the website, which is actually 3.30pm and not 3.00pm.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

KITAWAKI NAOKO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 KITAWAKI would recommend this property

Liked: リヨン駅から近い。 時間に余裕があれば、ノートルダム大聖堂まで川沿いを歩いて行ける。 スタッフは良い意味でも悪い意味でも、正にフランス的。 周りは意外にも静かです。目の前にノボテルホテルがある。

Disliked: 部屋のシャワーは使えないので、各階のシャワーを使用。 お湯がでるまで、数分かかり、しばらくするとまた冷たくなるの繰り返し。 ベッドのシーツはなく、ちょっと痒くなったので、ダニがいるかも?

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 August 2014

Liked: près de la gare

Disliked: wifi n'était pas gratuit la douche n'était pas propre la chambre était sombre il y a qu'une clé pour une chambre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zummo flavio

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 zummo would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, the people and the staff are friendly and helpful,the rooms are clean, and the ambiance is so cool. Breakfast is already good whith three coins per person but if you ask in the reception they give you morre. The location is perferct very close to the station and the bus station for the airport. The hostel is so secure, is controlled by camera 24 hours. I had a very nice stay.

Disliked: Nothing all is ok

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Natalie Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014

Liked: It was cheap on hostel bookers, but if you book there, it is almost 10€ more.

Disliked: The unhelpful staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

neri silvia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 neri would recommend this property

Liked: Otimo soggiorno in questo ostello,l'ambiente é molto gradevole, il personale è molto gentile, le camere sono molto pulite. Non ho capito tanto le critiche negative al riguardo. La colazione va bene,danno tre gettoni per i distributori ma se ne possono avere di più. inoltre é ottimamente posizionato,ed molto sicuro grazie alle telecamere di vigilanza.

Disliked: Niente al riguardo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

saidi malika

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 saidi would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel tres confortable, paisible, tres bien situé . L emplacement est formidable pres de la gare de Lyon. Avant de reserver j ai lu des commentaires qui n ont rien à voir avec ce que j ai effectivement constaté.Rien à dire par rapport à la propreté tout est clean, le staff est très accueillant, le déjeuner est à partir de distributeur de boissons chaudes et de viennoiseries, on a droit à trois jetons mais on peut en avoir plus si on demande à la reception( dans mon cas il a été très gentil, me proposant le petit déjeuner dès le premier matin étant arrivée tot.) Je ne comprend pas les critiques à propos d une seul clef par chambre, je pense que c'est une question de sécuritée ainsi tout le monde est bien controlé avant de monter,imaginez on perd la clef et quiconque pourrait monter de toute manière la réception est ouverte 24h sur 24. Je donne un avis très positif sur mon séjour dans cet hostel.

Disliked: Rien de special, c'est bien et on est a Paris

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YULIA POLETAEVA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 YULIA would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: --

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

VESNA BUKOVEC

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It can be cleaner. For breakfast you get 3 coins and you can choose coffee or croissant from machine. Are you serious?

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joshua Gibson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014

Liked: Don't go here unless you have to stay here. But if you have to stay here it's not so bad.

Disliked: Better than sleeping face down in the Sahara On par with a night in an south London squat. Worse than most other hostels

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014

Liked: Rien

Disliked: Le personnel est extrêmement antipathique. Ils font preuve d'une grande condescendance vis-à-vis de la clientèle. Ils n'ont fait aucun effort pour nous accommoder et nous ont ouvertement exprimé leur mépris.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location close to Gare de Lyon. Safe neighborhood.

Disliked: The guests have to get their passports registered. The lounge room is not cosy enough. Unvailable until 3 PM.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hector Morales Vazquez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014

Liked: Maybe location

Disliked: Everything, no bathrooms and it has the worst staff ever

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014

Liked: Hodor

Disliked: They sold our room before we got there

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014

Liked: It is convenient to go to all tourist attractions, many restaurants nearby the hostel. It is close to Bastille and Gare de Lyon.

Disliked: THE STAFF ARE HORRIBLE: 1. they all have straight faces (was never expecting a big smile tho) 2. the power outlet was not working in our room (there is only one outlet for 4 people, no extension cord), a girl asked the staff and the staff said it was out of order, they couldn't do anything about it, so I went to the lobby to charge my laptop, the staff said I cannot stay in the lobby after mid-night as it is the rule of the hostel. I insisted to stay because I couldn't charge my laptop in my room. The staff started yelling at me and removed my charger. He finally turned on the power supply, so it means that he LIED to my roommate before, they actually TURNED OFF THE POWER SUPPLY ON PURPOSE. 3. I heard from my roommate that a girl was 3 euros short when she checked in, a staff told her to get her luggage and leave the hostel. WEIRD RULES 1. you cannot check in after 5pm 2. you are required to leave the hostel from 11am to 3pm everyday

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 June 2014

Liked: The location was nice.

Disliked: no attempt at security.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

alejandra Naomi Sandoval Gutierrez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 alejandra Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: my roomates !!

Disliked: they lié about the breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Isaac Parra

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014

Liked: This a hostel! I was not expecting too much. The rooms are OK, when what you need is just take a rest and meet Paris. There are some things they can do better but the price tells everything.

Disliked: 1. The smells in the halls!.. God! is awful! 2. One bed room... three persons... Paris... cameras... cellphones... ONLY ONE POWER SOCKET!... Hey, that´s not funny. 3. I know, it´s a hostel, but, the bathrooms could be a little bit cleaner.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's just very cheap

Disliked: sheets not included; only one key per room (even though it's a shared dormitory); poor breakfast (and at restrictive hours even though it just comes from a machine), ...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rebecca Crandall

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014

Liked: Cheap. That's it.

Disliked: There were not any lockers. Anything can be stolen. It's 2014 get free wifi. You can't say breakfast is included when all it is are coins to get a pastry out of a machine. THE KEYS. They did not work most of the time so we were woken up by random roommate knocking to get it in every night. Do not stay here!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pannate Chaisin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2014 Pannate would recommend this property

Liked: I book this hostel cos price is fine . The staff is helpful for advice direction I sent mail for direction the staff quick response and easy to catch up the right way. Thenfore I decide to book more night here.

Disliked: The key . 1 room have only 1key it should have each person cos will not bother when they back late.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels