We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Blue Planet Hostel

Hostel | 5 Rue Hector Malot, 12eme Arrondissement, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75012

51.2% Overall Rating

873 out of 1850 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/06/2015)

"Free breakfast! Very easy to get to metro. Staff was really friendly and helpful."

Read all Blue Planet Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT ACCEPT ARRIVALS AFTER 17h00 You must have an arrival time before 17.00hrs. If you arrive later your reservation will be subject to a fee, you will have to pay the normal price of 25euro on arrival and not the promotional price online Payment is to be in cash on arrival. Please note that we only accept group of less than 10 people- Arrival time for groups is 12h (noon) latest- Please Note: Age Restriction of 35 years of age. We do not accept stays longer than 4 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
33.72 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.2% 135 reviews
Bastille Apartments
26.98 USD

Apartment 88.6% 235 reviews
AIJ Paris
17.88 USD

Hostel 69.6% 362 reviews
Hotel Central Bastille
29.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.5% 47 reviews
Hotel des Arts
39.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 532 reviews
Hotel Richard
21.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 56.6% 316 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
50.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews
Hotel Rhétia
29.23 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 240 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
51.2%

Overall Rating

873 out of 1850 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Planet Hostel'

Atmosphere
45.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
37.6%
Cleanliness
40.0%
Staff
54.4%
Value
50.4%
Safety
55.2%
Refine your results Showing 1132 of 1556 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 45 | 46   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sevin Doruk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2015 Sevin would recommend this property

Liked: location!

Disliked: there is no internet! you need to pay for internet in France!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ben Worthington

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 August 2015

Liked: Easy access

Disliked: Too many rules and security cameras, it felt like staying in a prison. Not the cleanest either...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 August 2015

Liked: The friendliness of the staff

Disliked: The dirty bedshrets.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Darko Majcen

Alone

City break

14 August 2015

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Not clean and bed bags. Not a very nice breakfast.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2015

Liked: easy to get to metro

Disliked: Toilets were broken. Wifi was down. Residents were not allowed to be there for most of the day (I haven't stayed in a hostel like that since the 1990s!). Staff was unengaged and unhelpful. Glad I was only there one night.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ege bollu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Ege would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel.

Disliked: Rooms are smelly. there is only one shared restroom which is seperate from bathroom and shower for entire hall. Basically, cleanliness is so unfair for the money

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2015

Liked: I didn't like this hostel at all and I don't recommend it to travellers.

Disliked: It was the worst hostel I've ever seen. No hot water, no secure lockers, no wi-fi anywhere, the hostel is closed during the daytime and you must go out for several hours, the kitchen is closed in the evening and when I came at 22:00 after the trips I couldn't even have a cup of tea and eat a sandwich in the kitchen, and when I tried to do it, the worker almost kicked me out of that place, shouting at me with offensive words and then he put a chair into the door-space so that I couldn't enter. During the day, the kitchen is also closed for several hours. There are no cooking facilities - only a microwave, no kettle. On the day of my departure, I asked the receptionist to give me back my bag with documents which I put in the only available small safe. At first, he opened the safe and said he couldn't find it and that he didn't remember I had given this bag to him. He refused to let me look for it myself. After I said I would call the police, he immediately opened the safe and gave the bag to me. I was lucky because my passport was inside and I could have had serious problems. I can say that if you want to be treated as an animal for your money, risk your health using cold showers and worry about your property which you leave at the reception (because there are no safe lockers anywhere) - then choose this hostel. You will "enjoy" your stay in Paris and will never forget this bad dream.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast! Very easy to get to metro. Staff was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No free wifi. No lift access to the top floors. No lockers

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Poor showers tpilets. Smelly

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Number of beds in each room

Disliked: Staff, really unpolite. Cleanliness of the bathroom. No sink in the toilet.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location

Disliked: wasn't really clean, not too much hot water

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015

Liked: It's close to Gare de Lyon station.

Disliked: Everything. The staff was moody, room was dirty (my bed sheet had blood stains on it), bathroom has no sink or mirror, half of my shower was in the cold water, breakfast is some cheap breads out of vending machine, and they charge you for wifi (3€ per hour )

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alicia Noemi Infante

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 May 2015

Liked: realy nothing, only the location is good

Disliked: I am deffinitely not a person to which some dirt makes bad but in this case, it was too much even for me. Very, very dirty, in both the room and shared facilities. All is covered by old dirt not cleaned since weeks. On all floors,there is urin and toilet smell all the day. The bed linen was dirty, with old stains badly washed. I WAS IN A ROOM FOR 3, WITH TWO FOREIGN PEOPLE BUT WE ONLY HAD TO SHARE ONE KEY - so anyone of us coming late on the night had to wake up another ones in order to get in. THERE IS ONLY ONE ELECTRIC PLUG for 3 people in the room The room was on the 5th floor without lift - well, this is not the hostel°s fault. The personal is rude and unpleasant. They had confirmed me before on the phone that there was a lockable room for luggage and a safe-guard for valuable things, but it wasn´t. They only permitted me to let the luggage in front of the reception. They say the cleaning lady passes everyday, but apparently she only passes, but doesn´t clean anything....AVOID, AVOID, AVOID.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 May 2015

Liked: Close to the main train station

Disliked: Cleaness, the lock out from the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tres bien!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: the bathroom

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: everything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to access with the city metro.

Disliked: WiFi usage a bit expensive.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2015

Liked: The colours were fun and playful and it was close to gare de Lyon train station which was convenient for what I was staying there for (which was a connection between a train from Marseille and transit to Charles de Gaulle airport.)

Disliked: It wasn't particularly clean. Breakfast was included in the cost but no discount or earlbird option was available when I had to leave before the starting time (not to mention breakfast was deflated pastries out of a vending machine). There was only one key per room of at least 3 guests which made coming and going, even just to and from the toilet or shower inconvenient. They charged 3 euro for the WiFi. They had 5 floors plus the main wIth no elevator. Definitely a pain for bringing up luggage (I was in the room very furthest from the entrance) but that wasn't so bad, the worst was if you wanted to say leave your key for your roommate while youhad a shoulder you would have to go up and down 6 flights. It wasn't super clean and the staffwwasnt super friendly. It was the cheapest place I found in Paris on hostelbookers so perhaps you simply just get what you pay for, and for travel, it was in a convenient location.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2015

Liked: -price -no mold -do noot stay here longer than 2 night

Disliked: -most unhelpful staff ever (as if staying there anoys them actually) -didn't tell us about the "breakfast" or that we could rent a sheet to put between us & the blanket -"breakfast" comes from a machine, don't take a drink, invest your coins in the bread -cameras everywhere, at least 2 in every corner, made me feel so creepy -only 1 key per room, you have to get up at night, if someone comes at night -no sink at the toilet, you have to get back to your room or the "common room" to wash your hands -washrooms in bad state

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jiaqing Nie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2015 Jiaqing would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is from a vending machine,two pieces of bread+a coffee, convenient

Disliked: Not that easy to find, internet costs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: REALLY good location with nice people who stayed there. I like the people I met there and from the get go, staff were welcoming!

Disliked: No lifts.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dmytro Bagaiev

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 Dmytro would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice location and neighbourhood. Not the very central, but still very interesting to explore. Direct metro line to the center, just 10 minutes to Louvre. In general this hostel is nice cheap option for backpacker in such overloaded city. Breakfast is very small and simple, but still enough to start the day.

Disliked: Just one key per room, so if one of your room mates comes late, he has to knock the door and wake up someone to open it. Just one socket per room. Also very basic facilities if you care about it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bossayna ZAKI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 Bossayna would recommend this property

Liked: People were very friendly, very nice price for it's location, near GARE DE LYON and has access to METRO 1 which is a touristic line. Separated dorms for both sexes. Nice breakfast, fast and easy. Area is safe at night to wander. The reception was very kind to us, and very secure property.

Disliked: Nothing really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rakesh Gupta NICHANAMETLA RAMASUBBAIAH

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 October 2014 Rakesh Gupta would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and very well located.

Disliked: Wifi not provided, very few plug points.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels