HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Blue Planet Hostel

Hostel | 5 Rue Hector Malot, 12eme Arrondissement, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75012

59.2% Overall Rating

830 out of 1765 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Joshua Gibson thinks…

"Don't go here unless you have to stay here. But if you have to stay here it's not so bad."

Read all Blue Planet Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT ACCEPT ARRIVALS AFTER 17h00 ARRIVALS AFTER THIS TIME WILL NOT BE ABLE TO CHECK IN AND THEIR BOOKING IS THEREFORE CANCELLED. Payment is to be in cash on arrival. Please note that we only accept group of less than 10 people- Arrival time for groups is 12h (noon) latest- Please Note: Age Restriction of 35 years of age. We do not accept stays longer than 4 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
47.02 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.8% 131 reviews
Bastille Apartments
32.24 USD

Apartment 88.8% 222 reviews
AIJ Paris
24.44 USD

Hostel 62.4% 215 reviews
Hotel Central Bastille
42.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.6% 34 reviews
Hotel des Arts
42.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.5% 527 reviews
Hotel Richard
26.87 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.6% 308 reviews
Hotel Belfort
40.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 827 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
80.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
57.5%

Overall Rating

829 out of 1764 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Planet Hostel'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
54.4%
Value
59.2%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 1097 of 1471 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 43 | 44   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YULIA POLETAEVA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 YULIA would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: --

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

VESNA BUKOVEC

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It can be cleaner. For breakfast you get 3 coins and you can choose coffee or croissant from machine. Are you serious?

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joshua Gibson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014

Liked: Don't go here unless you have to stay here. But if you have to stay here it's not so bad.

Disliked: Better than sleeping face down in the Sahara On par with a night in an south London squat. Worse than most other hostels

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014

Liked: Rien

Disliked: Le personnel est extrêmement antipathique. Ils font preuve d'une grande condescendance vis-à-vis de la clientèle. Ils n'ont fait aucun effort pour nous accommoder et nous ont ouvertement exprimé leur mépris.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location close to Gare de Lyon. Safe neighborhood.

Disliked: The guests have to get their passports registered. The lounge room is not cosy enough. Unvailable until 3 PM.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hector Morales Vazquez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014

Liked: Maybe location

Disliked: Everything, no bathrooms and it has the worst staff ever

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014

Liked: Hodor

Disliked: They sold our room before we got there

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014

Liked: It is convenient to go to all tourist attractions, many restaurants nearby the hostel. It is close to Bastille and Gare de Lyon.

Disliked: THE STAFF ARE HORRIBLE: 1. they all have straight faces (was never expecting a big smile tho) 2. the power outlet was not working in our room (there is only one outlet for 4 people, no extension cord), a girl asked the staff and the staff said it was out of order, they couldn't do anything about it, so I went to the lobby to charge my laptop, the staff said I cannot stay in the lobby after mid-night as it is the rule of the hostel. I insisted to stay because I couldn't charge my laptop in my room. The staff started yelling at me and removed my charger. He finally turned on the power supply, so it means that he LIED to my roommate before, they actually TURNED OFF THE POWER SUPPLY ON PURPOSE. 3. I heard from my roommate that a girl was 3 euros short when she checked in, a staff told her to get her luggage and leave the hostel. WEIRD RULES 1. you cannot check in after 5pm 2. you are required to leave the hostel from 11am to 3pm everyday

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 June 2014

Liked: The location was nice.

Disliked: no attempt at security.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

alejandra Naomi Sandoval Gutierrez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 alejandra Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: my roomates !!

Disliked: they lié about the breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Isaac Parra

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014

Liked: This a hostel! I was not expecting too much. The rooms are OK, when what you need is just take a rest and meet Paris. There are some things they can do better but the price tells everything.

Disliked: 1. The smells in the halls!.. God! is awful! 2. One bed room... three persons... Paris... cameras... cellphones... ONLY ONE POWER SOCKET!... Hey, that´s not funny. 3. I know, it´s a hostel, but, the bathrooms could be a little bit cleaner.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's just very cheap

Disliked: sheets not included; only one key per room (even though it's a shared dormitory); poor breakfast (and at restrictive hours even though it just comes from a machine), ...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rebecca Crandall

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014

Liked: Cheap. That's it.

Disliked: There were not any lockers. Anything can be stolen. It's 2014 get free wifi. You can't say breakfast is included when all it is are coins to get a pastry out of a machine. THE KEYS. They did not work most of the time so we were woken up by random roommate knocking to get it in every night. Do not stay here!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pannate Chaisin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2014 Pannate would recommend this property

Liked: I book this hostel cos price is fine . The staff is helpful for advice direction I sent mail for direction the staff quick response and easy to catch up the right way. Thenfore I decide to book more night here.

Disliked: The key . 1 room have only 1key it should have each person cos will not bother when they back late.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Khayyomjon Qodirov

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014

Liked: To be honest I liked nothing about this hostel. It was as bad as Hell!

Disliked: There are many things that we didn't like. First of all reception, I think at least reception should be nice and kind but the way they acted to us was like we are their enemies but not costumers. They all were mean and doesn't willing to help you when you need help. No internet connection ( I mean wifi). If you want to use wifi you pay 5 euro for 15 minutes. When you check in they don't give you bed sheet, the bed doesn't have bed sheets a all and when you ask for bed sheet tell you, you have to bring your own bed sheet. If I bring my own bed sheet while I am traveling than I will sleep outside. Why would I pay 40 euro than?! The whole building has only one bathroom, it's really small and everyone use that tiny bathroom. Imagine how dirty is it!?

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: --

Disliked: --

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly and speak good English.

Disliked: The bed smell strainge. Breakfast was not really good. The dont have wifi.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

SABUHI YUSIFOV

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014

Liked: Nothing. Only location is good

Disliked: No kitchen. Not friendly staff. Too cramped.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: You have to leave between 11;00 and 3:30 for cleaning

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anjali Narayan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Anjali would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the main tourist destinations and eslily accessible by metro . It was cheaper as compared to other hostels in the area .

Disliked: The washrooms are common for the floor. the rooms do not have a personal bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Klara Sundlöf

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2014

Liked: Centrally located and cheap (compared to other hostels in Paris). Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: It feels very cheap. There are many floors and no elevators. You don't have a bathroom in your room, but only one per floor. And once in the bathroom, there is no sink/faucet. You have to go back to your room to wash your hands! No wifi, only internet acces through their own old stationary computers, which had to be paid for. The breakfast consisted of coffee from a machine and pain au chocolat from a machine (Not freshly baked- not very good). I rented sheets- but I only got 1 to cover the mattress, and nothing for the cover... There are no lockers. You have to trust your room mates or be able to lock your suitcase. There was only one outlet in the room, and it was over one of the beds. So I could never , for example, charge my phone, when my room mate allocated in that bed was there.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, give breakfast even it is only bread and coffe

Disliked: No wifi, no safety locker, only 1 key per room on shared room so you will disturb or disturbed by your roommate. Breakfast using machine so have to line.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Atilemile

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location, and it was clean and secure. It wasn't very expensive to stay, but it still included free breakfast and there was a shower in the room.

Disliked: There was no kitchen, but there was a microwave.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014

Liked: close to station

Disliked: luggage room is not safe totaly

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Lack of clean sheets and clean bed. It was not clear that we would be staying with other people in our ro


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels