HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hotel Pastoral

Hostel | 27 rue Assalit, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

83.2% Overall Rating

1004 out of 1095 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"Great location. Right next to the major shopping street in Nice but just off it so there is little noise, close to a tram stop and a short walk to the beach. Seems very safe and secure - get your own key and lockers…"

Read all Hotel Pastoral reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
30.36 USD

Hostel 80.9% 13 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
26.08 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 29 reviews
Antares Hostel
21.94 USD

Hostel 87.2% 459 reviews
Hostel Baccarat
22.08 USD

Hostel 84.2% 418 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
31.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Altair hostel
23.32 USD

Hostel 73.3% 503 reviews
Altea Hostel
27.60 USD

Hostel 77.1% 329 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
30.36 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

1004 out of 1095 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Pastoral'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 796 of 865 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014

Liked: Great location. Right next to the major shopping street in Nice but just off it so there is little noise, close to a tram stop and a short walk to the beach. Seems very safe and secure - get your own key and lockers in your room, friendly, helpful staff, outdoor terrace is great for hanging out, good sized room, sink and large mirror in own room.

Disliked: Shower in your own room but toilet is shared (only 2 for the whole floor!) and the shower smelt like sewage at times. Have to sign up and log in to use the wifi and you have to let an ad run or you get disconnected. And even then you only get a 2hr session. Quite a pain in the neck. Beds make a racket. You can barely breathe without waking someone up. Linen and towels do the job but are old and tired and could do with replacing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the layout and interior of the hostel.

Disliked: Maybe the bathroom was a little stinky? Could have been my imagination- I had a great stay

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly stuff, Chose to train station

Disliked: Quality of beds is a little poor as they are not that solid.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was very clean and that you had a private bathroom in the sleeping room. There was also a kitchen (but not so good equipped) and secure lockers. All in all a nice comfortable hostel.

Disliked: The day room or rather kitchen wasn´t that big and there were just a few sitting possibilities so that it was narrow especially at the breakfast...but the breakfast was good!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, modern and well-heated. Nice kitchen facilities and free breakfast. Secure too - there are free lockers in the rooms. Also, the people at the desk had a hairdryer when I asked for one!

Disliked: Breakfast, though free, was fairly lackluster!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that I felt safe even though it is more of a hostel.

Disliked: The staff could have been a bit more engaged and helpful. Oh, and the elevator is tiny.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the train station. The staff was nice.

Disliked: small, crowded rooms. Kitchen area is shared with the family who owns the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very nice and clean. A great value! The staff was nice and helpful.

Disliked: The location was pretty good, a little bit of a sketchy area but close to the train station. Also, the breakfast was a little limited but it was free, so I can't really complain.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

JAVID KHAN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 JAVID would recommend this property

Liked: manager was good guy.

Disliked: not really

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013

Liked: For this area the value was pretty good, although I switched to another hostel after the second night there (had booked two nights only to see) and for the same price it was so much better. The terrace is nice although they lock at ten or eleven each night. The location was good.

Disliked: The kitchen was super small and completely unequipped. Nothing provided except extremely basic utensils, not even salt, and only one person could possible cook at a time. Also the room was quite unclean and the sheets looked dirty. My first night I was put in a room with five guys in it, which was slightly awkward, with a mixed dorm I would usually expect to be put in a dorm with one other girl (and next day I met two girls who had two free bunks in there room...).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pierluigi Sonsini

Alone

City break

08 October 2013 Pierluigi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. The location is nice, right next to the main train station. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: The Internet connection wasn't that good, on and off, just not reliable. If you really need to be online though, you can always go to the near by Mall "Nice étoile" and enjoy their free, powerful, wifi. They have showers in the rooms, and toilets on the floor. I would have preferred the opposite.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Neil Luscombe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great very close to train station for day trips to Cannes, Antibes and Monaco. Staff were very friendly and helpful, And I liked how they called me by my name. Very pleasant stay.

Disliked: Sheets were not the cleanest.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013

Liked: Breakfast is included and is good! You only have to pay coffee

Disliked: The room and the shower are not very clean. They need to change the toilet brushes (very bad presentation) It is quiet noisy outside. No great signs, it is easy to get confused if you are entering in a house or in a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Depatie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: PEOPLE WERE Great, and the showers were better then my showers at home! SO AMAZING!!! ITs super close to train station and the main street RUE DE FRANCE!!

Disliked: wifi was in and out

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, just 5 min to train station, 10 min to city centre and 15 min to the beach. Nice atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff and free breakfast. Common place for guests.

Disliked: I find it a bit expensive for a hostel standard (small room and bathroom)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Jantz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, close to station. Rooms good size, had small lockers with keys for storing valuables. Staff was nice. Secure, with code entry to building and two keys to get in.

Disliked: Check out is a little early at 10am. Not close to beach, but that's the tradeoff for being near station. Overall an excellent hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very easy to find and very close to the train station.

Disliked: There was not someone at reception 24 hours a day, and you had to return your key to someone to get your deposit. We had to wait for the office to open to leave and it made us late.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katrina Woodbridge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: Location- only 15 minute walk to beach and very close to main train station and shops. Staff are very helpful and cool terrace area.

Disliked: We paid for 4 bed dorm but was put in a 6 bed dorm (we decided not to say anything), no air conditioning in a room when advertised with a/c, bathroom wreaked of pee and it felt like the floor in our room hadn't been vacuumed or mopped in weeks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hassan Hamka

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Hassan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great staff and location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jake Graham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: I have been traveling through Europe for over a month now and this has been my favourite hostel so far. Not the fanciest or biggest party hostel you will ever find but a great atmosphere and the people make it what it is. Even though I only stayed for two nights, I really felt like a part of the community almost instantly despite traveling alone.

Disliked: There honestly wasn't anything I can think of which was in control of the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Viktor Alenius

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 July 2013 Viktor would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant temperature in the rooms, nice terasse, well equipped kitchen.

Disliked: Too few toilets.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean. Also the free breakfast was a nice thing to have.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ROSS AHYA

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 ROSS would recommend this property

Liked: * Good location, close to rail (city is small, so actual location doesn't matter all that much * Good value * Has a great hostel feel, with lots of young travelers. * Clean enough, spacious enough, private enough

Disliked: * I didn't actively dislike anything about the property. Maybe the elevator is a bit small, but it's a hostel, not the Four Seasons.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Wen Wei Ea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Andy Wen Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient and good location. Staff was friendly, and get to meet lots of people!

Disliked: nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Maja Staerke

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel was really nice. I was made welcome from the first day and it was really nice that they seemed to remember the names of all people staying there. The rooms were also nice and the beds comfortable. I stayed in a room with a bathroom and that was also cleaned every day and looked very presentable. The location is great. Just a few min. walk from the trainstation and you just have to walk around the corner and along the main shopping street to get to the beach within 10min. There are also 3 supermarkets close by (one on the way to the beach, which is handy) It was also a quiet place and not one for parties, which I really liked as I got good night sleeps. They have a communial area in the kitchen and the outside terrace and everything is kept very clean there. I would defenetely go there again and could only recommend it.

Disliked: As the hostel is open all night I had late arrivals on 2 occasions which woke me up when they arrived very late /early morning. I would have preferred, if after midnight no more new arrivals would be allowed in occupied rooms, in order to give people a chance to sleep.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels