We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Antares Hostel

Hostel | 5, Avenue Thiers, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

87.0% Overall Rating

428 out of 520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2015)

Jake Treacy thinks…

"Awesome staff, super friendly. Ended up getting a free upgrade even though we had made the mistake of not booking enough time. Super good location, A+"

Read all Antares Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IF RESERVATION DATE IS CHANGED PLEASE CONTACT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BY TELEPHONE.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
28.61 USD

Hostel 84.9% 479 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
34.13 USD

Hostel 80.0% 18 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
22.64 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1128 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
29.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 34 reviews
Altair hostel
26.51 USD

Hostel 68.0% 537 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
27.62 USD

Hostel 70.2% 16 reviews
Hotel Boreal
43.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews
Altea Hostel
32.03 USD

Hostel 75.1% 364 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

428 out of 520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Antares Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 352 of 380 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to the train station

Disliked: The beds not be so hard

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

28 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people at the reception who help you whenever they can

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jake Treacy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 June 2015 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, super friendly. Ended up getting a free upgrade even though we had made the mistake of not booking enough time. Super good location, A+

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close locationto the train station; supermarket

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Addison

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

15 June 2015 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, amazing atmosphere, friendly staff, felt very respected as a guest

Disliked: Nothing!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff and the atmosphere was great. Especially for young people or people travelling alone looking for like minded travelers.

Disliked: Our room only had one functioning power outlet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, easy to meet other travelers, hostel offers free wine nights and cheap spaghetti nights

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

WingSze Choy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2015 WingSze would recommend this property

Liked: I have very good experience in staying in this hostel. That is very easy to get friend in the hostel as they have a free drinks event in the evening and also the kitchen is so big which gathering a lot of ppl stay in there. Just because I check in on midnight they still let me in, I feel very very great! But with this reason they don't tell me there have a kitchen and actually the kitchen is very hidden that not easy to spot it if you don't ask. But still good. My room is great the air conditional can change by yourself, that seen every great for me!

Disliked: Emmmmm when the day I check out I ask the staff to help me take care with my staff a few min when I need to go to bathroom, but I saw the staff is tryin to take a look of my sketch book which I feel really uncomfortable. But I guess he just feel curious so I didn't say so, when I pack up he come and say if anything missing that make me feel more bad, but anyway, I should not ask him to take care of my staff, so I didn't say any with that for complain. But the other staff is so helpful and nice so I take it as the personal problem.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ayaz KHATRI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2015 Ayaz would recommend this property

Liked: Just outside station, but I would prefer to have location between beach and station. Locker, locked cage benith beds.

Disliked: Small room. Not suitable for 4 person.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

28 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free coffee in the mornings, central location, friendly atmosphere, nice hostel

Disliked: we had to ask for them to clean the bath room. but it wasn't too dirty

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Hudson

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

26 May 2015 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: I just spent a fortnight at Antares Hostel, where I immediately felt safe and at home; particularly important when travelling alone. Having arrived, I was upgraded to a four-bed room for no extra cost (the place was already great value for money anyway). It's location opposite the train station (literally) is ideal for day-trips in the area. The rooms are clean, and the staff are exceptionally friendly and approachable. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nina left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Organised activities at night time. Bathrooms in each room.

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015

Liked: Very easy to find when arriving by train; very close to main road leading to the sea; nice common room areas

Disliked: The bedroom was very small for five people; the light fittings are in awful positions that would shine fully in someone's face in certain beds; instead of lockers, the rooms have lockable cages under the beds - but there are fewer cages than beds, you cannot access the cages if someone is sleeping in a bed above because you must lift the bed to pull the cages out, and the cages have a gap large enough to get a hand in, even when locked; the addition of a soap dispenser in the bathroom would promote better hygiene

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

04 May 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently close to the station and to a stop for the airport bus (although this is now further away than it was)- Nice mixture of hostelly atmosphere, with shared kitchen and lounge facilities, and lowish-budget hotel for couples wanting a double room.

Disliked: no breakfast. lack of clarity about facilities. wifi not reaching to the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb. Really practical to get to other cities as it is right in front of the train station.

Disliked: Cleanliness is not the best I have seen. Noticed long hair in bathroom floor and ragged towels more than once.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wai Ling Ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014 Wai Ling would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is super near to the train station (within walking distance). It's located in the town so it's very convenient and easy to walk around Nice. You may walk all the way to the beach through the main street. All in all, a very ideal location.

Disliked: There's no individual private locker in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SEUNGYEON LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2014 SEUNGYEON would recommend this property

Liked: kindness

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lihui Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2014 Lihui would recommend this property

Liked: Good value. For the price paid usually you won't expect to get a hairdryer in the room, towels and aircon (the aircon worked well which is a plus point!)!!Antares has it all, even a fridge in my 8 sharing female dorm. I was surprised that even though it is listed as 8 sharing but it turned up to be 6, no complains!

Disliked: The staff who worked at night wasn't really friendly. The Internet connection was horrible even in the reception, it is fine if I can't get it from my room but they need to improve the wifi signal! The computers in the common room are slow too

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location just near the train station. Very good staff and ambience. Centrally located with a supermarket and eating facilities. very close to the beach. It provides everything great place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location and we really liked the activities in the evening. Very friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I walked in this hostel, it looks like a good hotel, its atmosphere is very suit to packer, it has many place to talk to others, and it held party every day , you can drine free wine and know many different countries people

Disliked: It's noisy, so if you want to sleep early , it will really harass you

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

18 August 2014

Liked: Well! The receptioners are good with instructions but there's something saw in the site of areas like elevator is very dirty, our room have a dust under the bed, the frames and the lamp cover. The position of the bed is not good even though the type of deluxe is same like dormitory. I think you should consider the comments of the clients like me to do the best for the next time.

Disliked: Kindly to clean properly the room before the clients arrivals in each room. Kindly to clean the elevator and avoid disputing your workers in front of the clients.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: WiFi worked great, location spot on, free wine nights, and the main guy (Thierry I think) is fab, so friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Not much, cages were a bit annoying to pull out as I had a table jn the way, but nothing major

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, next to the main station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Mumby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Common room, cooking facilities, location, lots of fellow travellers, courtyard shared with another hostel

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels