HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Antares Hostel

Hostel | 5, Avenue Thiers, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

86.6% Overall Rating

372 out of 458 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2014)

"Everything, I wish they had offered breakfast more often, but this hostel surpassed my expectations. I would totally go back. The location was perfect."

Read all Antares Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IF RESERVATION DATE IS CHANGED PLEASE CONTACT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BY TELEPHONE.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
22.09 USD

Hostel 85.3% 416 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
30.37 USD

Hostel 80.9% 13 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.6% 514 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
27.61 USD

Hostel 83.3% 1094 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
26.09 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 29 reviews
Altair hostel
23.33 USD

Hostel 73.3% 503 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
30.37 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel les Orangers
26.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 62.5% 155 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

372 out of 458 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Antares Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 319 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, I wish they had offered breakfast more often, but this hostel surpassed my expectations. I would totally go back. The location was perfect.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faith Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 February 2014 Faith would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time at a hostel so I was quite nervous but I must say I was very impressed! The staff couldn't be more helpful and nice. We were greeted and told to sit down and have coffee free of charge while they sorted out rooms as there was 12 of us. Our rooms were nice and clean and also warm. We then had free wine and nibbles for 1 hour that night for free and then we also had free breakfast the next morning! I'm going back to Nice again soon so I will be definatly staying there.

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say about this place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fang Tzu Lun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Fang would recommend this property

Liked: close to the station!

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Noe Gomez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Noe would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly and they treated us nicely for New Year's. Also very conveniently located, right in front of the train station.

Disliked: A bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price quality ratio was good. I've really had a great time there. I recommend it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hiu Tung Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Hiu Tung would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station, really clean showers. Grocery store is right next door and only 10 min walk from boardwalk and the beach.

Disliked: A couple stains on towels and sheets. Guy at front desk super unhelpful and hates his job. Didn't provide us with any information so don't bother asking him for things.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Kozlovskaia

Alone

City break

18 October 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in front of the train station. Free storage for your luggage. Free wifi and also they have computer room for you to use for free. Rooms are clean and stuff is nice and helpful.

Disliked: I liked everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shared facilities are fantastic - the kitchen common room and courtyard make travelling so much more economical, comfortable and most of all social

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dori A

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2013 Dori would recommend this property

Liked: The service was very good each time. The staff is really friendly and hospitable. They speak both French and English and ready to help you with any information. The rooms are clean, with air conditioner. The hostel is very well located, close to the railway station, bus and tram stops. There is a locker room where you can leave and pick up your luggage any time. There are also cage lockers in the rooms, you'd need a lock with a big hook. The touristic spots are reachable within walking distances. Convenience stores are just next door as well as pharmacies. I have felt very safe walking in the street around even late in the night. It is a very good choice.

Disliked: Dori left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Opposite train station is useful for trips. Spaghetti dinner! Courtyard next to kitchen. Free wine and nibbles! The air con worked well. The lockers are cages under the beds so bring a lock.

Disliked: The dorms are quite cramped, and many have no windows. Spotlights in all the main areas make the place rather hot. You have to pay a tourist tax when you get there of about 1E per day: no big deal. The breakfast was a bit pricey.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the location being directly across the street from train station. Staff were excellent and friendly, even to English-speaking guests. Very accommodating.

Disliked: Kitchen/common area is dated, hostel guests leave a mess. Bed cover had some hair on it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarra Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Sarra would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, great kitchen, always clean, lockers in the room, great staff!

Disliked: In our room just outside the back door, the freezer was all frozen and couldn't close the door and we couldn't keep our stuff cold. Other than that all good!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the train station, I didn't think it was dodgy at all. Nice & clean room with effective air conditioning. Helpful staff and good atmosphere, would be good for a group of friends or a longer stay too! I think I could've made friends easily with other guests because of the terrace, but we stayed just one night. The curfew is a bit funny (it's 3 am), I'm not used to curfews but since we went to bed early anyway it didn't matter. Good experience, you get what you pay for. :) I recommend, especially if you're coming/going by train. PS. Take the tram to beach/Old town/harbour, it's convenient.

Disliked: Room was pretty small but it's basic in France and the price is okay. We asked for a double but got a double+extra bed, we didn't mind but it made the room even smaller.. maybe because we're a gay couple they thought there was a mistake and gave us a different room.. Well, no problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: if you wanna see more of cote d'azur than just nice, this is a great place to stay because it's just opposite the train station. (20 min. to monaco, around 30 to cannes...). it's like a mix of hostel/hotel, we stayed in double room but there are also dorms - mostly young people there who meet in the common area downstairs. if you travel alone you will surely find backpacking company.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Right next to the shopping centers and a close walk to the beach. Very happy we chose to come here.

Disliked: Wifi was spotty, but at least it was there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main station, next to a mini Monoprix, close to a lot of cheap restaurants and the main boulevard going through the tourist drag of Nice. Fairly dependable wifi for a hostel, and a great computer bay.

Disliked: it was a magnet for 20-year-old English kids looking to get sloppy drunk and throwing up by 10pm. Classy times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Reid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really good, the hostel hostel a spaghetti night with all you could eat spaghetti and wine for only 3EURO! It was a nice hostel and it didn't take very long to get to the beach. Also the air conditioning was amazing!

Disliked: Shannon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel organises champagne nights and spaghetti nights, which are a great opportunity to meet people and get some cheap food!

Disliked: It's a bit of a party hostel and some of the other guests were a bit noisy late in the evening, so if you like going to bed early then it might not be the place for you!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly helpful staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Air-conditioning. No hassles.

Disliked: No negatives.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aleksandar Djordjevic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel organised one pasta night with wine. That was cool

Disliked: Cleaning and hygiene could b improved

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful, the room was clean. THE BED WAS COMFORTABLE!! The hotel is just in front of the main train station, and a 10 minute walk to the main square and 15 minute walk to the beach! I would recommend Antares hotel for anyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - close to the station and only about 15 minutes' walk from the beach. Supermarket right next door. Staff friendly and most speak good English - normally someone at reception all day between 6am and 3am. Good kitchen facilities. Free internet. Bed linen and towels included. Clean. Nice patio / garden area for hanging out. Communal activities in the evenings which helps you meet other guests. Our room was a good size.

Disliked: Only tiny tiny complaints would be: my friend and I only got one key to share, no curtain on window (so sunlight came in in morning), no way of turning off AC (was a bit chilly on a couple nights), and no hand soap in bathroom (but we bought some for 60 centimes down at the market). But those were only tiny tiny issues.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleena Imran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Aleena would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and so close to the station! the rooms are ideal, with services like WiFi and hot water, towels, sheets and everything that one might need :D

Disliked: Aleena left no negative feedback.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels