We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Antares Hostel

Hostel | 5, Avenue Thiers, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

84.2% Overall Rating

409 out of 500 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"Excellent location just near the train station. Very good staff and ambience. Centrally located with a supermarket and eating facilities. very close to the beach. It provides everything great place"

Read all Antares Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.42

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IF RESERVATION DATE IS CHANGED PLEASE CONTACT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BY TELEPHONE.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
19.26 USD

Hostel 86.5% 454 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
25.69 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
29.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
19.27 USD

Hostel 85.8% 1116 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
24.08 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 31 reviews
Altair hostel
20.42 USD

Hostel 62.9% 524 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
28.26 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
50.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

409 out of 500 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Antares Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 334 of 360 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cindy Luong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely convenient to the train station.

Disliked: A little dark and gloomy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great courtyard, very close to train station, a kitchen, common room / bar.

Disliked: Dorm rooms were very small and cramped, bunk beds were also small. Bathroom smelled untidy. Staff was ornery.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice rooms (I stayed in a 6 person dorm), the morning staff reception person was really nice!

Disliked: I didn't have any issues with anything...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was pretty good and the location was great, about 15 min away from the city centre. We also got bumped up to a private room, when they couldn't find our reservation, which was great.

Disliked: The kitchen was a bit messy and the internet was kind of slow.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Chew Soon Kiat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: - Excellent location: A very short walk from the train station, and near the bus stop for the airport - Free internet: Computers were modern and fast - Room: Was generally clean and comfortable

Disliked: - Lift can be a bit noisy at night if you are living near the lift

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: common room, location

Disliked: lockout time

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, owner was extremely helpful in advising of neighbouring day trips and spots to go out - free internet was amazing too

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The concierge was incredibly friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Someone had left a plastic wrapper in the toilet when we arrived.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The vacinity to the train station was excellent, and many food places nearby along with a supermarket next door and laundromat round the corner.One day we came back to the hotel at 12ish as it was pouring rain outside and the lady at the desk just gave us croissants, jam, rolls, coffee and juice... just being nice, no charge!!Many computers for internet and 24 hour access.Room had a fridge but just outside the door.Although shower was small the shower was really good!!

Disliked: Rooms weren´t clean when we got there nor were they cleaed while we stayed there!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen, fridges, free computers with intenet, bar with tv, breakfast area nice, outdoor patio,very close to train station, and main shopping strip. it wasnt very busy so most people got dorm rooms to themselves.

Disliked: about a 15-20min walk to the beach, dorm said ensuite but the bathroom was actually down some very steep stairs, although it was designated specifically to our one dorm room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to rail station and central city.Lift double room with ensuite was great,clean and newly decorated/furnished,comfortable bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: gooood location!!1min walk from the main station.

Disliked: the wash room smelled really bad.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Oyuna Umuralieva

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

10 October 2010

Liked: good location.

Disliked: the staff was not friendly, rooms that face the main street are too noisy, impossible to sleep. on the balcony you can find used drugs products.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the staff are amazing and the free champagne night was fantastic

Disliked: couldnt fault them on anything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet was awesome, had good chillout areas for people to meet and the kitchen was reasonably good. Probably should have lockers in the rooms but im never too worried. Reallly good showers, nice old man at reception was very helpful so yeah im happy and i´d recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing really im not fussy so nothing to complain about

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the train station, useful if you plan to use Nice as a base for exploring the Cote d'Azur. Dorm room and ensuite bathroom were old, but clean. Overall -- good place to stay if you just need a bed to sleep in -- but if you're looking for more character and people to meet, look elsewhere.

Disliked: The hostel seemed to cater to to bus tour groups, which means less variety of people to meet. Very hard to find someone at reception, you usually have to wait a few minutes. The receptionist when I checked into the hotel was very rude. I arrived at 10am to check in, he just said to leave my bag and come back after 12. I went back at 3pm, he had no idea who I was (bad since I left my bags with him, he would have no idea if someone just walked away with my things). He couldn't find my reservation, and he was quite aggressive saying i didn't have a reservation. When I showed him my booking he gave me a room, my room was half empty so I dont even know why he was fussing about me not having a reservation (considering he should actually be apologetic since they lost my reservation!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luisana Loaiza

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

29 August 2010 Luisana would recommend this property

Liked: I really like that the staff were really freindly, kind and helpfullness, and alsothe spaghety party was a really good idea to meet people and to eat good for cheap..if i willocmeto nice again i willgo to antares hotel

Disliked: Luisana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and kitchen facilities were great. Lots of fridge space per room. Nice big outdoor area with tables where you can meet other travellers.

Disliked: The area is a bit shady but very convenient for train, supermarket, laundry etc. Can get VERY rowdy at night. not for light sleepers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kaitlin Wiegman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good spaghetti and free booze!

Disliked: They did not have our reservation and I had to show them my confirmation email.....he was quite rude.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Milan Prica

Alone

City break

01 August 2010 Milan would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: I guess like in other hostel, people snore so you cannot do anything about that. Otherwise, when it comes to hostels, this one's OK.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and kitchen, aircon in rooms. Location was pretty good, and busabout drop off point so convenient for us.

Disliked: Lockers were pretty crappy - could easily get my whole arm into them and remove stuff when they were closed. Paid for 6 bed but got put into an 8 bed dorm. And no such thing as an ensuite - which we also paid for. Had to go down the attic like stairs to our bathroom, which anyone could use. Even if they weren't staying in our hotel as it was right beside the beer garden and kitchen area. The toilet was very small and pokey.. knees touched the wall in front of you. Not so cool. And privacy in the showers wasn't that great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lindy Brock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Lindy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent especially Ray Terry and Rom. The lift was broken and as we couldnt walk up 5 flights they put us in a hotel room at no extra cost. Great spaghetti night with wine for E1.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010

Liked: the breakfast was great

Disliked: The noise of the lift beeping all night long which kept us awake, aswell as the noise of the exposed water pipes in our bathroom whenever someone else flushed there toilet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good greeting at front desk. helpful Staff. Clean sheets. What more do you need.!?!

Disliked: Can't pay by card.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Friesen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Only here for one night so can't really say too much but seemed like a good place to meet other people and chill out.

Disliked: Internet wasn't working and staff didn't seem to worried about fixing it.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels