HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Antares Hostel

Hostel | 5, Avenue Thiers, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

81.9% Overall Rating

395 out of 485 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

"Friendly staff Good atmosphere Nice building, clean and well maintained Spacious rooms with well sized private bathrooms Socially welcoming- organised dinner nights etc"

Read all Antares Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IF RESERVATION DATE IS CHANGED PLEASE CONTACT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BY TELEPHONE.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
32.09 USD

Hostel 81.5% 436 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
40.28 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
40.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
27.53 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1105 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
34.78 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 31 reviews
Altair hostel
32.09 USD

Hostel 66.4% 518 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
30.88 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel les Orangers
25.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 62.5% 155 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

395 out of 485 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Antares Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 320 of 346 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet was awesome, had good chillout areas for people to meet and the kitchen was reasonably good. Probably should have lockers in the rooms but im never too worried. Reallly good showers, nice old man at reception was very helpful so yeah im happy and i´d recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing really im not fussy so nothing to complain about

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the train station, useful if you plan to use Nice as a base for exploring the Cote d'Azur. Dorm room and ensuite bathroom were old, but clean. Overall -- good place to stay if you just need a bed to sleep in -- but if you're looking for more character and people to meet, look elsewhere.

Disliked: The hostel seemed to cater to to bus tour groups, which means less variety of people to meet. Very hard to find someone at reception, you usually have to wait a few minutes. The receptionist when I checked into the hotel was very rude. I arrived at 10am to check in, he just said to leave my bag and come back after 12. I went back at 3pm, he had no idea who I was (bad since I left my bags with him, he would have no idea if someone just walked away with my things). He couldn't find my reservation, and he was quite aggressive saying i didn't have a reservation. When I showed him my booking he gave me a room, my room was half empty so I dont even know why he was fussing about me not having a reservation (considering he should actually be apologetic since they lost my reservation!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luisana Loaiza

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

29 August 2010 Luisana would recommend this property

Liked: I really like that the staff were really freindly, kind and helpfullness, and alsothe spaghety party was a really good idea to meet people and to eat good for cheap..if i willocmeto nice again i willgo to antares hotel

Disliked: Luisana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and kitchen facilities were great. Lots of fridge space per room. Nice big outdoor area with tables where you can meet other travellers.

Disliked: The area is a bit shady but very convenient for train, supermarket, laundry etc. Can get VERY rowdy at night. not for light sleepers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kaitlin Wiegman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good spaghetti and free booze!

Disliked: They did not have our reservation and I had to show them my confirmation email.....he was quite rude.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Milan Prica

Alone

City break

01 August 2010 Milan would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: I guess like in other hostel, people snore so you cannot do anything about that. Otherwise, when it comes to hostels, this one's OK.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and kitchen, aircon in rooms. Location was pretty good, and busabout drop off point so convenient for us.

Disliked: Lockers were pretty crappy - could easily get my whole arm into them and remove stuff when they were closed. Paid for 6 bed but got put into an 8 bed dorm. And no such thing as an ensuite - which we also paid for. Had to go down the attic like stairs to our bathroom, which anyone could use. Even if they weren't staying in our hotel as it was right beside the beer garden and kitchen area. The toilet was very small and pokey.. knees touched the wall in front of you. Not so cool. And privacy in the showers wasn't that great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lindy Brock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Lindy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent especially Ray Terry and Rom. The lift was broken and as we couldnt walk up 5 flights they put us in a hotel room at no extra cost. Great spaghetti night with wine for E1.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010

Liked: the breakfast was great

Disliked: The noise of the lift beeping all night long which kept us awake, aswell as the noise of the exposed water pipes in our bathroom whenever someone else flushed there toilet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good greeting at front desk. helpful Staff. Clean sheets. What more do you need.!?!

Disliked: Can't pay by card.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Friesen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Only here for one night so can't really say too much but seemed like a good place to meet other people and chill out.

Disliked: Internet wasn't working and staff didn't seem to worried about fixing it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A sociable atmosphere and a good place to meet other travellers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: staff, atmoshpher, no young people, elevator gets stuck reguarly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 June 2010

Liked: Positives: very convenient location near the train station and main shopping area, about 15 minutes walking to the beach. free wi-fi and about 6 desktop computers free for guests to use.

Disliked: i would not recommend this hostel. they did not have my reservation, and implied this was a problem with all reservations made through hostelbookers. the air-conditioning was not working in the dorm and the room was too hot to sleep. the room is too small, so there is no where for people to put their bags. there are only 3 lockers in a room of 6 beds, and no lock was provided. the towel provided was only a hand towel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was SO friendly. Location is across the street from the train station, incredibly easy to find, and still close to everything else in Nice.Free WINE! Spaghetti Party for only 1 euro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at the front desk is very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is large enough

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophia berg

19 June 2010 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful. It was nice to have a kitchen.

Disliked: Sophia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tim Bass

12 June 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the party night. Great place to stay.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the loft like dorms, free internet, neat place to sit outside and eat or cook if you needed to

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

patricio Marshall

27 May 2010 patricio would recommend this property

Liked: its near the train station

Disliked: patricio left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Asha George

23 May 2010 Asha would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT PLACE I GOT A BIT UNLUCKY WITH THE PEOPLE I WAS ROOMED WITH BUT OTHERWISE, IT WAS A GREAT PLACE

Disliked: Asha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Arquati

19 May 2010 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff really helpful.

Disliked: Francesca left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was literally a couple of blocks away from Nice's main train station which made it extremely convenient to travel to other cities, such as Cannes and Monaco. It is also very easy to catch the bus to the airport from around that area, which saved me a lot of time and hassle.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels