HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Antares Hostel

Hostel | 5, Avenue Thiers, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

87.2% Overall Rating

373 out of 459 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Jodie walters thinks…

"Staff were so friendly and very helpful. The location is great- right by the main Nice train station and by the tram which goes straight down to the beach and old town."

Read all Antares Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IF RESERVATION DATE IS CHANGED PLEASE CONTACT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BY TELEPHONE.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
22.08 USD

Hostel 84.2% 418 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
30.36 USD

Hostel 80.9% 13 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
31.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
23.46 USD

Hostel 83.2% 1095 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
26.08 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 29 reviews
Altair hostel
23.32 USD

Hostel 73.3% 503 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
30.36 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel les Orangers
26.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 62.5% 155 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

373 out of 459 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Antares Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 320 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The vacinity to the train station was excellent, and many food places nearby along with a supermarket next door and laundromat round the corner.One day we came back to the hotel at 12ish as it was pouring rain outside and the lady at the desk just gave us croissants, jam, rolls, coffee and juice... just being nice, no charge!!Many computers for internet and 24 hour access.Room had a fridge but just outside the door.Although shower was small the shower was really good!!

Disliked: Rooms weren´t clean when we got there nor were they cleaed while we stayed there!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen, fridges, free computers with intenet, bar with tv, breakfast area nice, outdoor patio,very close to train station, and main shopping strip. it wasnt very busy so most people got dorm rooms to themselves.

Disliked: about a 15-20min walk to the beach, dorm said ensuite but the bathroom was actually down some very steep stairs, although it was designated specifically to our one dorm room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to rail station and central city.Lift double room with ensuite was great,clean and newly decorated/furnished,comfortable bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: gooood location!!1min walk from the main station.

Disliked: the wash room smelled really bad.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Oyuna Umuralieva

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

10 October 2010

Liked: good location.

Disliked: the staff was not friendly, rooms that face the main street are too noisy, impossible to sleep. on the balcony you can find used drugs products.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the staff are amazing and the free champagne night was fantastic

Disliked: couldnt fault them on anything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet was awesome, had good chillout areas for people to meet and the kitchen was reasonably good. Probably should have lockers in the rooms but im never too worried. Reallly good showers, nice old man at reception was very helpful so yeah im happy and i´d recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing really im not fussy so nothing to complain about

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the train station, useful if you plan to use Nice as a base for exploring the Cote d'Azur. Dorm room and ensuite bathroom were old, but clean. Overall -- good place to stay if you just need a bed to sleep in -- but if you're looking for more character and people to meet, look elsewhere.

Disliked: The hostel seemed to cater to to bus tour groups, which means less variety of people to meet. Very hard to find someone at reception, you usually have to wait a few minutes. The receptionist when I checked into the hotel was very rude. I arrived at 10am to check in, he just said to leave my bag and come back after 12. I went back at 3pm, he had no idea who I was (bad since I left my bags with him, he would have no idea if someone just walked away with my things). He couldn't find my reservation, and he was quite aggressive saying i didn't have a reservation. When I showed him my booking he gave me a room, my room was half empty so I dont even know why he was fussing about me not having a reservation (considering he should actually be apologetic since they lost my reservation!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luisana Loaiza

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

29 August 2010 Luisana would recommend this property

Liked: I really like that the staff were really freindly, kind and helpfullness, and alsothe spaghety party was a really good idea to meet people and to eat good for cheap..if i willocmeto nice again i willgo to antares hotel

Disliked: Luisana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and kitchen facilities were great. Lots of fridge space per room. Nice big outdoor area with tables where you can meet other travellers.

Disliked: The area is a bit shady but very convenient for train, supermarket, laundry etc. Can get VERY rowdy at night. not for light sleepers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kaitlin Wiegman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good spaghetti and free booze!

Disliked: They did not have our reservation and I had to show them my confirmation email.....he was quite rude.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Milan Prica

Alone

City break

01 August 2010 Milan would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: I guess like in other hostel, people snore so you cannot do anything about that. Otherwise, when it comes to hostels, this one's OK.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and kitchen, aircon in rooms. Location was pretty good, and busabout drop off point so convenient for us.

Disliked: Lockers were pretty crappy - could easily get my whole arm into them and remove stuff when they were closed. Paid for 6 bed but got put into an 8 bed dorm. And no such thing as an ensuite - which we also paid for. Had to go down the attic like stairs to our bathroom, which anyone could use. Even if they weren't staying in our hotel as it was right beside the beer garden and kitchen area. The toilet was very small and pokey.. knees touched the wall in front of you. Not so cool. And privacy in the showers wasn't that great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lindy Brock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Lindy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent especially Ray Terry and Rom. The lift was broken and as we couldnt walk up 5 flights they put us in a hotel room at no extra cost. Great spaghetti night with wine for E1.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010

Liked: the breakfast was great

Disliked: The noise of the lift beeping all night long which kept us awake, aswell as the noise of the exposed water pipes in our bathroom whenever someone else flushed there toilet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good greeting at front desk. helpful Staff. Clean sheets. What more do you need.!?!

Disliked: Can't pay by card.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Friesen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Only here for one night so can't really say too much but seemed like a good place to meet other people and chill out.

Disliked: Internet wasn't working and staff didn't seem to worried about fixing it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A sociable atmosphere and a good place to meet other travellers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: staff, atmoshpher, no young people, elevator gets stuck reguarly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 June 2010

Liked: Positives: very convenient location near the train station and main shopping area, about 15 minutes walking to the beach. free wi-fi and about 6 desktop computers free for guests to use.

Disliked: i would not recommend this hostel. they did not have my reservation, and implied this was a problem with all reservations made through hostelbookers. the air-conditioning was not working in the dorm and the room was too hot to sleep. the room is too small, so there is no where for people to put their bags. there are only 3 lockers in a room of 6 beds, and no lock was provided. the towel provided was only a hand towel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was SO friendly. Location is across the street from the train station, incredibly easy to find, and still close to everything else in Nice.Free WINE! Spaghetti Party for only 1 euro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at the front desk is very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is large enough

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophia berg

19 June 2010 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful. It was nice to have a kitchen.

Disliked: Sophia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels