We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Antares Hostel

Hostel | 5, Avenue Thiers, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

88.5% Overall Rating

431 out of 523 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2015)

Jake Treacy thinks…

"Awesome staff, super friendly. Ended up getting a free upgrade even though we had made the mistake of not booking enough time. Super good location, A+"

Read all Antares Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IF RESERVATION DATE IS CHANGED PLEASE CONTACT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BY TELEPHONE.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
32.73 USD

Hostel 84.2% 480 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
36.02 USD

Hostel 80.0% 18 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
22.44 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1128 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
28.74 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 34 reviews
Altair hostel
26.28 USD

Hostel 70.4% 539 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
27.37 USD

Hostel 70.2% 16 reviews
Hotel Boreal
42.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews
Altea Hostel
33.94 USD

Hostel 75.1% 364 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

431 out of 523 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Antares Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 354 of 383 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

stephanie Beaulieu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2014 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff girl called aurélia pretty nice and friendly, she made us feel welcomed. I liked the private twin room we booked. Overall pretty good and would recommend.

Disliked: I disliked the kitchen and lounging area as people eat in the lounge area and its smelled bad there. Kitchen could have been a bit cleaner and organized. We also got our cherries stolen by someone there, so watch your food! Aside from those two things, its great.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014

Liked: On the third day we book a private which was much better than the basement dorm room that smelt of mold

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 April 2014

Liked: I liked the terrace outside near the kitchen. I also liked the location

Disliked: I disliked the rooms and the cleanliness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jodie walters

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

21 April 2014 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so friendly and very helpful. The location is great- right by the main Nice train station and by the tram which goes straight down to the beach and old town.

Disliked: We moved rooms from a 8 person to a 3 as it wasn't the nicest room but the three bed was great. Would recommend staying in a smaller room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, I wish they had offered breakfast more often, but this hostel surpassed my expectations. I would totally go back. The location was perfect.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faith Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 February 2014 Faith would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time at a hostel so I was quite nervous but I must say I was very impressed! The staff couldn't be more helpful and nice. We were greeted and told to sit down and have coffee free of charge while they sorted out rooms as there was 12 of us. Our rooms were nice and clean and also warm. We then had free wine and nibbles for 1 hour that night for free and then we also had free breakfast the next morning! I'm going back to Nice again soon so I will be definatly staying there.

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say about this place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fang Tzu Lun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Fang would recommend this property

Liked: close to the station!

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Noe Gomez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Noe would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly and they treated us nicely for New Year's. Also very conveniently located, right in front of the train station.

Disliked: A bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price quality ratio was good. I've really had a great time there. I recommend it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hiu Tung Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Hiu Tung would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station, really clean showers. Grocery store is right next door and only 10 min walk from boardwalk and the beach.

Disliked: A couple stains on towels and sheets. Guy at front desk super unhelpful and hates his job. Didn't provide us with any information so don't bother asking him for things.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Kozlovskaia

Alone

City break

18 October 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in front of the train station. Free storage for your luggage. Free wifi and also they have computer room for you to use for free. Rooms are clean and stuff is nice and helpful.

Disliked: I liked everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shared facilities are fantastic - the kitchen common room and courtyard make travelling so much more economical, comfortable and most of all social

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dori A

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2013 Dori would recommend this property

Liked: The service was very good each time. The staff is really friendly and hospitable. They speak both French and English and ready to help you with any information. The rooms are clean, with air conditioner. The hostel is very well located, close to the railway station, bus and tram stops. There is a locker room where you can leave and pick up your luggage any time. There are also cage lockers in the rooms, you'd need a lock with a big hook. The touristic spots are reachable within walking distances. Convenience stores are just next door as well as pharmacies. I have felt very safe walking in the street around even late in the night. It is a very good choice.

Disliked: Dori left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Opposite train station is useful for trips. Spaghetti dinner! Courtyard next to kitchen. Free wine and nibbles! The air con worked well. The lockers are cages under the beds so bring a lock.

Disliked: The dorms are quite cramped, and many have no windows. Spotlights in all the main areas make the place rather hot. You have to pay a tourist tax when you get there of about 1E per day: no big deal. The breakfast was a bit pricey.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the location being directly across the street from train station. Staff were excellent and friendly, even to English-speaking guests. Very accommodating.

Disliked: Kitchen/common area is dated, hostel guests leave a mess. Bed cover had some hair on it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarra Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Sarra would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, great kitchen, always clean, lockers in the room, great staff!

Disliked: In our room just outside the back door, the freezer was all frozen and couldn't close the door and we couldn't keep our stuff cold. Other than that all good!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the train station, I didn't think it was dodgy at all. Nice & clean room with effective air conditioning. Helpful staff and good atmosphere, would be good for a group of friends or a longer stay too! I think I could've made friends easily with other guests because of the terrace, but we stayed just one night. The curfew is a bit funny (it's 3 am), I'm not used to curfews but since we went to bed early anyway it didn't matter. Good experience, you get what you pay for. :) I recommend, especially if you're coming/going by train. PS. Take the tram to beach/Old town/harbour, it's convenient.

Disliked: Room was pretty small but it's basic in France and the price is okay. We asked for a double but got a double+extra bed, we didn't mind but it made the room even smaller.. maybe because we're a gay couple they thought there was a mistake and gave us a different room.. Well, no problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: if you wanna see more of cote d'azur than just nice, this is a great place to stay because it's just opposite the train station. (20 min. to monaco, around 30 to cannes...). it's like a mix of hostel/hotel, we stayed in double room but there are also dorms - mostly young people there who meet in the common area downstairs. if you travel alone you will surely find backpacking company.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Right next to the shopping centers and a close walk to the beach. Very happy we chose to come here.

Disliked: Wifi was spotty, but at least it was there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main station, next to a mini Monoprix, close to a lot of cheap restaurants and the main boulevard going through the tourist drag of Nice. Fairly dependable wifi for a hostel, and a great computer bay.

Disliked: it was a magnet for 20-year-old English kids looking to get sloppy drunk and throwing up by 10pm. Classy times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Reid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really good, the hostel hostel a spaghetti night with all you could eat spaghetti and wine for only 3EURO! It was a nice hostel and it didn't take very long to get to the beach. Also the air conditioning was amazing!

Disliked: Shannon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel organises champagne nights and spaghetti nights, which are a great opportunity to meet people and get some cheap food!

Disliked: It's a bit of a party hostel and some of the other guests were a bit noisy late in the evening, so if you like going to bed early then it might not be the place for you!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly helpful staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Air-conditioning. No hassles.

Disliked: No negatives.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels