We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Antares Hostel

Hostel | 5, Avenue Thiers, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

83.7% Overall Rating

411 out of 502 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/09/2014)

Lihui Tan thinks…

"Good value. For the price paid usually you won't expect to get a hairdryer in the room, towels and aircon (the aircon worked well which is a plus point!)!!Antares has it all, even a fridge in my 8…"

Read all Antares Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IF RESERVATION DATE IS CHANGED PLEASE CONTACT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BY TELEPHONE.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
28.97 USD

Hostel 86.7% 459 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
27.83 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
63.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
25.30 USD

Hostel 85.7% 1119 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
14.23 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 33 reviews
Altair hostel
15.05 USD

Hostel 62.5% 525 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
29.10 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
49.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

411 out of 502 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Antares Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 336 of 362 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the train station, I didn't think it was dodgy at all. Nice & clean room with effective air conditioning. Helpful staff and good atmosphere, would be good for a group of friends or a longer stay too! I think I could've made friends easily with other guests because of the terrace, but we stayed just one night. The curfew is a bit funny (it's 3 am), I'm not used to curfews but since we went to bed early anyway it didn't matter. Good experience, you get what you pay for. :) I recommend, especially if you're coming/going by train. PS. Take the tram to beach/Old town/harbour, it's convenient.

Disliked: Room was pretty small but it's basic in France and the price is okay. We asked for a double but got a double+extra bed, we didn't mind but it made the room even smaller.. maybe because we're a gay couple they thought there was a mistake and gave us a different room.. Well, no problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: if you wanna see more of cote d'azur than just nice, this is a great place to stay because it's just opposite the train station. (20 min. to monaco, around 30 to cannes...). it's like a mix of hostel/hotel, we stayed in double room but there are also dorms - mostly young people there who meet in the common area downstairs. if you travel alone you will surely find backpacking company.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Right next to the shopping centers and a close walk to the beach. Very happy we chose to come here.

Disliked: Wifi was spotty, but at least it was there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main station, next to a mini Monoprix, close to a lot of cheap restaurants and the main boulevard going through the tourist drag of Nice. Fairly dependable wifi for a hostel, and a great computer bay.

Disliked: it was a magnet for 20-year-old English kids looking to get sloppy drunk and throwing up by 10pm. Classy times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Reid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really good, the hostel hostel a spaghetti night with all you could eat spaghetti and wine for only 3EURO! It was a nice hostel and it didn't take very long to get to the beach. Also the air conditioning was amazing!

Disliked: Shannon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel organises champagne nights and spaghetti nights, which are a great opportunity to meet people and get some cheap food!

Disliked: It's a bit of a party hostel and some of the other guests were a bit noisy late in the evening, so if you like going to bed early then it might not be the place for you!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly helpful staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Air-conditioning. No hassles.

Disliked: No negatives.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aleksandar Djordjevic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel organised one pasta night with wine. That was cool

Disliked: Cleaning and hygiene could b improved

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful, the room was clean. THE BED WAS COMFORTABLE!! The hotel is just in front of the main train station, and a 10 minute walk to the main square and 15 minute walk to the beach! I would recommend Antares hotel for anyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - close to the station and only about 15 minutes' walk from the beach. Supermarket right next door. Staff friendly and most speak good English - normally someone at reception all day between 6am and 3am. Good kitchen facilities. Free internet. Bed linen and towels included. Clean. Nice patio / garden area for hanging out. Communal activities in the evenings which helps you meet other guests. Our room was a good size.

Disliked: Only tiny tiny complaints would be: my friend and I only got one key to share, no curtain on window (so sunlight came in in morning), no way of turning off AC (was a bit chilly on a couple nights), and no hand soap in bathroom (but we bought some for 60 centimes down at the market). But those were only tiny tiny issues.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleena Imran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Aleena would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and so close to the station! the rooms are ideal, with services like WiFi and hot water, towels, sheets and everything that one might need :D

Disliked: Aleena left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación es excelente, a 2 pasos de la estación de trenes y de los principales servicios y playa. En mi caso, la habitación compartida de mujeres con baño privado, muy cómoda, tengo la sensacion de que no aseaban el baño todos los días (pero eso da un poco lo mismo si solo hay mujeres, no ensuciamos mucho jaja). Cocina disponible, wifi en todo el edificio, computadores.

Disliked: Los demás huéspedes, el hostal no tiene nada que ver. Soy joven y no me molesta la presencia de grupos grandes, pero los portazos, los gritos, cantos a cualquier hora del día o noche, no es agradable, realmente los gringos y australianos se creen dueños del mundo. Un sediento, después de su fiesta, me sacó el agua del refrigerador aunque después tuvo la educación de devolver otra nueva. En fin, la mala educación de las personas no tiene por que empañar el buen servicio del hostal. Solo lo cuento para que estén preparados.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything is not bad

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonia Couto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Sonia would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom is big and spatious

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013

Liked: Clean Air-conditioned Free towels - very useful Very close to SNCF station and tramway. Close also to other facilities, such as Monop supermarket next door, and Tourist Information Centre Friendly staff with a good grasp of English

Disliked: Very ropey interior - not updated for years and lots of bodged repairs Not enough plug sockets, not much good if you have a smartphone Lockers are weird - they're roll-out cages underneath the beds. Not very user-friendly

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Larry Kraus

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Larry would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good wifi, big room where you can hang out and stuff

Disliked: Very small elevator and guy of the reception could not answer all my questions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elfassi oshra

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 June 2013 elfassi would recommend this property

Liked: the garden and the kitchen

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaana Plane

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Jaana would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great kitchen and common areas. Clean showers.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and meeting soapy people.

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff.

Disliked: small rooms, a bit claustrophobic, heater/AC was not working as it got really cold

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

10 May 2013

Liked: Good kitchen and you are pretty much left to your own devices -courtyard area was a good social area!

Disliked: Rooms weren't cleaned,shower overflowed within a minute of water running-the key to our door stopped working and the staff were not very helpful with anything,nor was there any sense of urgency to get things fixed.we stayed at many other hostels around France and found this one to be run very differently to the rest. And there was no mention of the rose nights !

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Courtney Wedel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: not a bad hostel, cool because it is clearly an old hotel and has many new qualities to it.

Disliked: BUT WATCH OUT one plug in for a 6 share! kitchen was nice enough, but lacking pots and pans.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within this city, it is one of the cheaper place to stay. And despite the low cost, its quality is very good and clean. The location is 1 minute walk from the station. Not the place for those who want party&nightlife, but GREAT for those who like to utilize train to move/travel around other towns of Cote d'azur. One of the staff during the day was super friendly and kind as well.

Disliked: Not enough electricity plugs in the room to recharge our iphone/camera batteries/laptop computer considering #beds in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so friendly! Nicole gave us a map and showed us where the locals go and then went out with us that evening to show us around. We also had to take a later train than we had planned and they were nice enough to let us hang out in the kitchen while we waited. Definitely would come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BOUKHOBZA GERARD

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2013 BOUKHOBZA would recommend this property

Liked: the hospitality , the cleanliness , and the price

Disliked: nothing


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels