HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Antares Hostel

Hostel | 5, Avenue Thiers, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

86.6% Overall Rating

372 out of 458 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2014)

"Everything, I wish they had offered breakfast more often, but this hostel surpassed my expectations. I would totally go back. The location was perfect."

Read all Antares Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IF RESERVATION DATE IS CHANGED PLEASE CONTACT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BY TELEPHONE.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
22.13 USD

Hostel 85.3% 416 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
30.43 USD

Hostel 80.9% 13 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
27.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.6% 514 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
27.67 USD

Hostel 84.3% 1093 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
26.14 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 29 reviews
Altair hostel
23.38 USD

Hostel 74.4% 502 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
30.43 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel les Orangers
26.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 62.5% 155 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

372 out of 458 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Antares Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 319 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación es excelente, a 2 pasos de la estación de trenes y de los principales servicios y playa. En mi caso, la habitación compartida de mujeres con baño privado, muy cómoda, tengo la sensacion de que no aseaban el baño todos los días (pero eso da un poco lo mismo si solo hay mujeres, no ensuciamos mucho jaja). Cocina disponible, wifi en todo el edificio, computadores.

Disliked: Los demás huéspedes, el hostal no tiene nada que ver. Soy joven y no me molesta la presencia de grupos grandes, pero los portazos, los gritos, cantos a cualquier hora del día o noche, no es agradable, realmente los gringos y australianos se creen dueños del mundo. Un sediento, después de su fiesta, me sacó el agua del refrigerador aunque después tuvo la educación de devolver otra nueva. En fin, la mala educación de las personas no tiene por que empañar el buen servicio del hostal. Solo lo cuento para que estén preparados.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything is not bad

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonia Couto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Sonia would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom is big and spatious

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013

Liked: Clean Air-conditioned Free towels - very useful Very close to SNCF station and tramway. Close also to other facilities, such as Monop supermarket next door, and Tourist Information Centre Friendly staff with a good grasp of English

Disliked: Very ropey interior - not updated for years and lots of bodged repairs Not enough plug sockets, not much good if you have a smartphone Lockers are weird - they're roll-out cages underneath the beds. Not very user-friendly

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Larry Kraus

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Larry would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good wifi, big room where you can hang out and stuff

Disliked: Very small elevator and guy of the reception could not answer all my questions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elfassi oshra

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 June 2013 elfassi would recommend this property

Liked: the garden and the kitchen

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaana Plane

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Jaana would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great kitchen and common areas. Clean showers.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and meeting soapy people.

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff.

Disliked: small rooms, a bit claustrophobic, heater/AC was not working as it got really cold

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

10 May 2013

Liked: Good kitchen and you are pretty much left to your own devices -courtyard area was a good social area!

Disliked: Rooms weren't cleaned,shower overflowed within a minute of water running-the key to our door stopped working and the staff were not very helpful with anything,nor was there any sense of urgency to get things fixed.we stayed at many other hostels around France and found this one to be run very differently to the rest. And there was no mention of the rose nights !

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Courtney Wedel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: not a bad hostel, cool because it is clearly an old hotel and has many new qualities to it.

Disliked: BUT WATCH OUT one plug in for a 6 share! kitchen was nice enough, but lacking pots and pans.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within this city, it is one of the cheaper place to stay. And despite the low cost, its quality is very good and clean. The location is 1 minute walk from the station. Not the place for those who want party&nightlife, but GREAT for those who like to utilize train to move/travel around other towns of Cote d'azur. One of the staff during the day was super friendly and kind as well.

Disliked: Not enough electricity plugs in the room to recharge our iphone/camera batteries/laptop computer considering #beds in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so friendly! Nicole gave us a map and showed us where the locals go and then went out with us that evening to show us around. We also had to take a later train than we had planned and they were nice enough to let us hang out in the kitchen while we waited. Definitely would come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BOUKHOBZA GERARD

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2013 BOUKHOBZA would recommend this property

Liked: the hospitality , the cleanliness , and the price

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great acess, clean room

Disliked: nothnig

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nishant Katoch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Nishant would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good internet

Disliked: We took a 6 bedroom dormitory and it was quite cramped. The toilet also was very small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Organized 2 euro spaghetti, sangria, and popcorn night was a great way to meet people, and that's probably the best thing about this hostel. Also very close to the train station to go anywhere on Cote d' Azul or Monaco

Disliked: Pretty crowded, very little security (our room key went missing and was never found), and I've been in rain storms with more pressure than their showers (just rinse off in the beach showers).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

01 September 2012

Liked: Near the train station. Air conditioning is good.

Disliked: What is the purpose of finding a hostel? To sleep! How can I sleep without a blanket while the air conditioning is on? I asked them to provide me one, and they said : we don't have one because it is summer! Really bad service and I dont like that hostel at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carla Esteves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the train station and 10min by walk of the beach, very nice

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Man Him Ip

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Man Him would recommend this property

Liked: - very close to train station, easy to find , next to city center and outdoor - market very clean, with a decent ensuite - lockers in the room, very safe - have lift and fridge - staff very friendly and helpful, such as lending us the phone

Disliked: no, excellent

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really close to the train station which was nice because we took a lot of day trips. The staff is really helpful. The rooms were comfortable and the shower had good pressure.

Disliked: The secure storage in the rooms is just a crate that locks under the bed. My lock wasn't big enough to fit so I didn't feel like my stuff was very protected.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, location was just perfect, nice beds

Disliked: Shower worked but could be way better, there should be lockers and a better management of room keys

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, near the train station

Disliked: sometimes the staff is not there when I need help

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the train station which was so handy as we were travelling into Monaco every day. Friendly staff, free luggage storage, supermarket next door for supplies, excellent kitchen facilities, free internet, outside eating area, great hot showers and quiet at night. Very pleased that I stayed here.

Disliked: Only fault I will mention the ensuite bathroom in the 6-bed dorm is incredibly small, not enough room to get dried and dressed without falling over yourself!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: bathroom


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels