We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Antares Hostel

Hostel | 5, Avenue Thiers, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

84.2% Overall Rating

416 out of 508 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/05/2015)

"Friendly helpful staff. Organised activities at night time. Bathrooms in each room."

Read all Antares Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IF RESERVATION DATE IS CHANGED PLEASE CONTACT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BY TELEPHONE.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
24.05 USD

Hostel 87.4% 465 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
26.25 USD

Hostel 80.0% 18 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
21.96 USD

Hostel 84.8% 1126 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
26.08 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 34 reviews
Altair hostel
18.56 USD

Hostel 64.3% 531 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
26.36 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
42.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews
Altea Hostel
20.76 USD

Hostel 79.0% 360 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

416 out of 508 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Antares Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 341 of 368 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wiggan Jade

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Wiggan would recommend this property

Liked: Spaghetti nights are a great way to get to know people. The rooms themselves are pleasant and clean, and the staff very helpful!

Disliked: Wiggan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Evans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: Antares hostel has a great location, a stones throw away from the train station and the busy town centre as well as a short walk from the beach and Promenade de Anglais. We booked an 8 bed dorm and arrived to a 6 which was a nice surprise. The room was clean and comfortable with a newly furnished bathroom and towels provided. The social aspect was really welcoming with a common room where big groups would gather in the evening before going out, also connected to a hostel behind meaning even more people to meet. The hostel offers a spaghetti and wine night for 3 euros which although we didn't go to we heard good recommendations for. Wifi in the room is a bonus, although can be slow especially when everyone in the room is using it.

Disliked: The only negatives to note would be sharing a room with 5 other females and only having 1 mirror in the bathroom can make getting ready more difficult/time consuming. There were also only 5 plug sockets between the 6 of us and these were all in one place in the room, leaving those in a couple of the beds further away at a disadvantage.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 有空调,电视

Disliked: 房间很小

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed is very comfy. They clean the room everyday. Value for money i guess thought its a bit expensive.

Disliked: Should put curtain on the bath tub. The floor got wet every time after shower. And would be good to cover the window in the toilet, i felt insecure every time i bath. Not sure people from other building can actually look into it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Menniti

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Antares Hostel was great! The location is ideal: right by the train station and in walking distance from the old town. The staff facilitate a social environment for travellers by hosting events such as apéritif meet-and-greets and pasta dinners. There is also a big common area for travellers to relax and talk. The kitchen facility was huge and fully equipped with everything you would need to cook a nice meal.

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hotel converted to Hostel in decadent nice centre.

Disliked: Staff is a bit unclear about the rules, and instead of imposing them they just make you feel unconfortable. For instance: instead of saying to people don't stay in the garden, they just put out the lights and start taking the chairs. They made a spaghetti night, but if you didn't want you couldn't use the kitchen and couldn't use the terrace. Also, my room didn't had blinds.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gaku Fujiyama

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Gaku would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't able to go, but it seems like the hostel organizes a dinner or some type of get together every night where all the guests can come together to chat and have a good time. The WiFi was fairly good and could be used anywhere in the building.

Disliked: Gaku left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe-Jayne Bennett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Chloe-Jayne would recommend this property

Liked: This place is fabulous! We arrived to a welcoming staff member and were told about the free spaghetti night at 7pm. Every night something is happening downstairs (free wine, nuts and chips!) and it is the best place to meet other young travellers. The rooms were clean and fridges are available in both the downstairs kitchen and on your floor. Kitchen facilities were brilliant including several microwaves, gas stoves, toasters etc. The location is right near Nice Ville train station and Old Town is a 10 minute walk from the hostel. I would recommend this hostel to any one. Best place I have stayed so far!

Disliked: The only issue we had was someone stealing my friends fruits from the bedroom. Lock your things in the locker space below the beds and it shouldn't be a problem. Bring a lock with you if you don't want to purchase any on arrival! :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pui Man Lam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Pui Man would recommend this property

Liked: Super convenient location n very nice staff Different theme activities every night for us to make new friends The kitchen is really big

Disliked: Pui Man left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to the main train station and the tram and bus stops

Disliked: the rooms are a very disturbing light blue. there is NO ventilation in the dorm whatsoever. the bathroom is tiny, and there is only a light above the sink, none in the shower cubicle. the beds are so old they squeak and creak like crazy. the walls have no insulation, you hear everything from the rooms next to you, from inside the bathroom, even from the vents in the walls that bring you noise from the other floors!! the Kitchen is not clean, and definitely not comfortable. and I hate to say this but one of the guys on the reception, although middle aged, saw that I was a lone female traveler, and asked me out. THAT makes you uncomfortable, Even though he was nice and of a good nature, this was a bit weird.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Lowe

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 May 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant staff, very close to the station, perfect for Monaco Grand Prix weekend!

Disliked: The doors are locked from 3am. Admittedly not a problem for everyone, but when we got back at 5 we were a bit stuck... Entry with key card should be possible at all times.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Encalada

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, clean , big kitchen, in front of the train station

Disliked: Nothing really

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

stephanie Beaulieu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2014 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff girl called aurélia pretty nice and friendly, she made us feel welcomed. I liked the private twin room we booked. Overall pretty good and would recommend.

Disliked: I disliked the kitchen and lounging area as people eat in the lounge area and its smelled bad there. Kitchen could have been a bit cleaner and organized. We also got our cherries stolen by someone there, so watch your food! Aside from those two things, its great.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014

Liked: On the third day we book a private which was much better than the basement dorm room that smelt of mold

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 April 2014

Liked: I liked the terrace outside near the kitchen. I also liked the location

Disliked: I disliked the rooms and the cleanliness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jodie walters

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

21 April 2014 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so friendly and very helpful. The location is great- right by the main Nice train station and by the tram which goes straight down to the beach and old town.

Disliked: We moved rooms from a 8 person to a 3 as it wasn't the nicest room but the three bed was great. Would recommend staying in a smaller room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, I wish they had offered breakfast more often, but this hostel surpassed my expectations. I would totally go back. The location was perfect.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faith Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 February 2014 Faith would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time at a hostel so I was quite nervous but I must say I was very impressed! The staff couldn't be more helpful and nice. We were greeted and told to sit down and have coffee free of charge while they sorted out rooms as there was 12 of us. Our rooms were nice and clean and also warm. We then had free wine and nibbles for 1 hour that night for free and then we also had free breakfast the next morning! I'm going back to Nice again soon so I will be definatly staying there.

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say about this place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fang Tzu Lun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Fang would recommend this property

Liked: close to the station!

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Noe Gomez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Noe would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly and they treated us nicely for New Year's. Also very conveniently located, right in front of the train station.

Disliked: A bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price quality ratio was good. I've really had a great time there. I recommend it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hiu Tung Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Hiu Tung would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station, really clean showers. Grocery store is right next door and only 10 min walk from boardwalk and the beach.

Disliked: A couple stains on towels and sheets. Guy at front desk super unhelpful and hates his job. Didn't provide us with any information so don't bother asking him for things.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Kozlovskaia

Alone

City break

18 October 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in front of the train station. Free storage for your luggage. Free wifi and also they have computer room for you to use for free. Rooms are clean and stuff is nice and helpful.

Disliked: I liked everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shared facilities are fantastic - the kitchen common room and courtyard make travelling so much more economical, comfortable and most of all social

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels