HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Smith Nice Hostel

20 Rue Droite, Nice, France

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 58%

Location 88%

Safety 66%

Staff 64%

Value 64%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 58%

Location 88%

Safety 66%

Staff 64%

Value 64%

Showing 1-10 of 57 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Staffs, location, price

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff and atmosphere. Kitchen is available

Disliked: We lived at a very small apartment and there was no wardrobe, but the hotel staff promiced to improve it for the nearest future

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was cheap, situated right in the old hotel historic part of nice. The staff was friendly and we even had a small kitchen

Disliked: For the price it was ok but the bunk beds are a bit hard and the top bed is too low to sit conveniently on the lower one (would be nice as the other seats are not too comfy).The kitchen had to be cleaned, but as said for the price very ok

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Location in perfect in the Center of the old town from nice and only a few minutes from the beach

Disliked: It's not really clean. The rooms ar not Close, so everyone can go into. The hostel is directly on the top of a bar so it's incredible loud and not easy to sleep.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great, and the bathroom conditions were also good

Disliked: It was a bit disorganized, we didn't even get a key for the room. We were two people and got separated; asked if it was possible to change one of us to the other room and they told us that was not possible because the hostel was full, however two beds were empty on one of the rooms during our stay. There was lots of noise coming from the street so it was difficult to sleep. We had two choices: Don't sleep leaving the windows open (due to noise) or close the windows and die of heat. The staff was not very friendly, except for one person that was actually very cool.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is excellent - - a two minute walk from the beach, and just in front of an enormous park with a castle inside.

Disliked: Hostel has no insulation from street noise. You could hear music and bar chatter well past 3 am. Even with earplugs, it was almost impossible to sleep at night. The kitchen is cramped and the "free breakfast" is toast and coffee you make yourself, if you can manage to elbow in past the staff, who lounge around scowling and were not at all helpful. I was given the wrong keys at check in and when i went back to the desk was given a set with no fob to open the outside door. This meant i couldn't stay out late or leave early if i hoped to get back in. You have to be very aggressive to get any service here, and even then the staff will treat you like garbage.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly girl in the reception desk.

Disliked: The worst hostel I ever stayed. There is no air con or fan at first. And the noise down on the street is really loud and there is even loud music playing downstairs all night long til around 00:00. There is no room key and the room is small and packed. The whole building is old and there is no elevator. I would never ever stay here.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was so close to the beach!

Disliked: There was no hot water in the kitchen, so the dishes weren't washed properly. Only common area to meet people was the kitchen and it wasn't very big. Also, when I went to checkout, there was no one at reception, so I just had to leave my keys.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I booked a private room for one night with hostel Smith. Checked in time wasn't what it stated in the hostel policy, delayed checked in for few hours. Get arranged different flat which is 5-10 mins way from the hostel itself. Noisy due to next to the main road, got RAT appear at night time, mosquitoes also.. no dustbin in the room and the person incharge simply open my room door to let other see the from while I still in the room. My friend body itchy maybe due to the bed bugs

Disliked: Cheap but won't come back anymore.the room looks horrible.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: The WiFi doesn't reach the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability