We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Smith

Hostel | 20 Rue Droite, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06300

70.2% Overall Rating

183 out of 256 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

"I would recommend this property only because it is very central in the old town and very easy to find. However, we stayed in a building a couple of streets away from the actual hostel as we had a private room. Therefore…"

Read all Hostel Smith reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Victoria House Hostel
5.14 USD

Hostel 88.8% 190 reviews
Hotel Helvetique
33.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 274 reviews
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
17.98 USD

Hostel 81.0% 463 reviews
Hotel Lafayette
54.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 6 reviews
Hotel Nice Riviera
95.70 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Résidence Ajoupa Baie des Anges
42.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.3% 3 reviews
Hostel Paradis
22.48 USD

Hostel 86.5% 296 reviews
Hotel Boreal
50.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.2%

Overall Rating

183 out of 256 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Smith'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
66.4%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 184 of 247 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gerardo Contreras

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014 Gerardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and close to everything.

Disliked: kitchen too small, noisy at nights.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this property only because it is very central in the old town and very easy to find. However, we stayed in a building a couple of streets away from the actual hostel as we had a private room. Therefore I cannot comment on the atmosphere of the hostel.

Disliked: Tho our "studio" had a kitchen it was ill equipped with crockery and cooking pots. No teatowel and no kettle provided. Also, we had bunk beds, none too stable, with very bad mattresses. There was a peculiar smell in the cupboard and in the fridge also. We did not feel it was value for money as it was more expensive than the 1 and 2 star hotels and apartments we had been using around France. We were there in August.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicole Scherer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The location Is great! You are directly in the old village of Nice and only 5minutes are needed to get to the sea and the beach. Also the little kittchen is enough and makes the stay more comfortable!

Disliked: The WiFi as described did not functioning at all. In the lounge it was no problem but since my room was in another building there was no acces.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014

Liked: The location in the old part of town was a bit of a redeeming feature.

Disliked: After being told that our accommodation wasn't actually where we had booked, we were taken to an apartment block where the member of staff couldn't actually open the door (the lock had been put on upside down). The shower was broken and I've eaten slices of bread thicker than the mattresses. I did see a lizard. That was cool.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The locarion was by far the best thing about this hostel and the staff very helpful

Disliked: The lack of facilities in the kitchen and the lack of air con in the bedrooms. I first stayed in the girls dorm (6 beds) and the bathroom was terrible. Then stayed in the mixed dorm (8 bed) and much better. Guests should me told to respect others when coming in late at night. More emphasis should be plaed on this when people check in. Drunk people chatting loudly outside dorms at 4am is not good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nicola Millar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, right in the heart of old town! Short walk to all other attractions, great restaurants and transport. The staff were helpful and had plenty of tips as to where to go! Stayed in the 6 bed dorm, the room was spacious, met some amazing people also!

Disliked: No laundry services and tiny private bathroom in the 6 bed dorm, not the cleanest but we didn't mind

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the old town. Having luggage storage service (though just put it in the lounge) Clean toilet and shower room.

Disliked: POOR shower room design. The glass door was half-transparent, at least you could tell which is which if somebody's inside. That was really embarrassing as the shower room was shared. Dirty Kitchen and old plates, so I washed everything before using. Located a very old building and without lift if you do mind.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hsiang Ching Tung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014

Liked: The staff is very friendly. Location is in the center that will be easy get anything.

Disliked: The bathroom is too small, it's hard to move. Room's WiFi doesn't work. And the bed is not so clean.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014

Liked: Proximity to beach and restaurants.

Disliked: No WIFI. It looked run down. Tiny bathroom. Lost is stairs and no elevators. We had to wake someone up to check out and get our deposit back after being told that there'd be someone there at 5am. We had to make our own beds. The hostel had a bad smell.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has an amazing location in the heart of the old town in Nice. The staff speaks very good English and they are very friendly and helpful. They know the area very well and are more than willing to give directions or tips on what to do and see. The rooms are small but nice with comfortable bunk beds. The toilett and showers are always clean and seem rather newly renovated.

Disliked: The staff seemed rather stressed when we were there during the high season. For example they forgot to give us sheets, which we had to ask for multiple times. The breakfast isn't much to have, some toast and marmalade, but it's still nice that it's included. Here are no fans or air con in the room so it gets rather hot during the night. The rooms are very small, so it's rather har do move around.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Wynne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Room was nice and big, very clean. Location was excellent, super close to plenty of great bars, places to eat, only a few minutes from the beach.

Disliked: The street outside was pretty noisy. I slept with ear plugs in and it didn't bother me too much, but I imagine this could be a concern for others.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Djoumana Alem

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 June 2014

Liked: cheap and efficient

Disliked: very small toilets in dorms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

casey chapman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 casey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so helpful, the man who runs it was so nice and always accommodating, we had an issue with another hostel we were supposed to stay at and Smith was fully booked but they found a way to help us and let us stay there which we were so thankful for. The location is amazing so central much better then any other place we looked at.

Disliked: No complaints whatsoever

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and the bed is clean and comfortable. There is a big kitchen that you can cook and chat with the other travellers in the hostel. The free breakfast was just toast and coffee but it is good enough for me.

Disliked: There is no lift and the shared bathroom for mixed dorm was unisex and it is kind of embarrassing as the shower curtain was just translucent.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paulius Satas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Paulius would recommend this property

Liked: The place it's located and the building itself! The owner of a place is a really nice and warm person, you feel being taken care of :).

Disliked: It's a an old building and it shows might bother some, especially if you're staying for longer, didn't bother me though, kinda liked it actually.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hana Husova

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Hana would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Hana left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Kovrova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the very heart of Nice. Very cheap! Atmosphere is of an old hostel- place to meet people, talk, share and get involved. you feel free there and so does everyone else. Our private appertment and was a bit away from the hostel's common space - so we felt as owning a flat in old and beatiful city-centre with fine cafees and authentic shops for locals..(flea-market was also at hand=). We also got a kitchen - beyond expectation). So it was real 'being citizen' experience, thanks to the hostel!

Disliked: If you are accustomed to real hotels - clean, comfortable, run by professionals, it takes some time to forget about squeaking beds, some mess around and staff being quite relaxed. But after- the best memories)

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marcin Gerus

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2014

Liked: There was nothing to like. We were sick living this place and that never happen before.

Disliked: Puddle of water in the middle of the room, leaking ceiling, dust and dirty walls, wet bed, not enough blankets, puddle of water in the toilet. We couldn't close the shower unless the bathroom door stay poem. Unfriendly staff. Nobody really care when I came to complained. There were dirty, rusty dishes and amenities in the room. No breakfast, no place in the kitchen, sby smoking there but anyway it was too dirty to eat there. No wifi in the rooms, two sad looking laptops in the reception. Please, please don't go there and this place should be shut down from health and safety reasons.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

10 March 2014

Liked: location/price

Disliked: I booked 4 beds dormitory and I was given an 8 one all is old and outdated

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2013

Liked: The decor was quite nice.

Disliked: I felt completely unsafe the whole time I was there. Don't stay here if you can help it, especially if you are a woman.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi reception in located in a different house

Disliked: breakfast room very small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: Location was excellent and the reception staff were very nice

Disliked: Everything apart from the location. It was really grubby, grubby bedding, broken TV, saw a mouse in one room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

anna szeszko

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 October 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff with good advice, cool atmosphere, great location

Disliked: anna left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got our own room with a private bathroom and kitchen. Right in old town. Had pots, plates, some cups and cutlery to use. Provided free breakfast. Free dish washing detergent.

Disliked: Arrived to check in and got sent to another building. For our stay for 2 people we were given 1 small rubbish bag and 1 small toilet roll which we needed more of both. Bathroom smelled really bad when we arrived I think it was the pipes in the there. Our new location was right by tram tracks and busy road so noisy. Had to wash dishes before using as they were dirty and only had 1 mug, no butter knives.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013

Liked: The people staying here were great and I encountered a really friendly staff member on arrival. The location is really good. You can walk from the train station, no need for the tram as they recomended. I had a pack and was fine walking.

Disliked: Unclean. They overbooked and were disorganised. I arrived to be told that they had overbooked the dormroom I was meant to be in so I had to stay in a larger room yet still pay the same price. They had no clean bedding for purchase. There were also two groups who had madebookings and were turned away because they had no space for them due to overbooking once again. There were two guys who slept on the kitchen floor because it was so over booked. The other issue is their bathroom. There is one bathroom for the 14 bed mixed dorm with three showers however there is no room to change your clothes so unless you want to be naked in front of everyone and get dressed outside of your shower cubicle your clothes will get wet. Plus the screens are clear. I am quiet comfortable with my body, however as a female showering with a bathroom of boys brushing their teeth, showering and using the toilet I felt highly uncomfortable.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels