We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Smith

Hostel | 20 Rue Droite, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06300

72.1% Overall Rating

189 out of 266 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2015)

Camilo Arrieta thinks…

"It's really easy to get there with the directions they give. Also it's in the old city so it's in perfect location"

Read all Hostel Smith reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Victoria House Hostel
18.48 USD

Hostel 87.7% 193 reviews
Hotel Helvetique
25.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 274 reviews
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
17.40 USD

Hostel 81.6% 470 reviews
Hotel Lafayette
29.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 6 reviews
Hotel Nice Riviera
81.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Résidence Ajoupa Baie des Anges
35.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.3% 3 reviews
Hostel Paradis
14.68 USD

Hostel 85.5% 299 reviews
Hotel Boreal
38.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

189 out of 266 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Smith'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 257 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Camilo Arrieta

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015

Liked: It's really easy to get there with the directions they give. Also it's in the old city so it's in perfect location

Disliked: It doesn't have outside sign so you don't know when you arrive till you see a little name at the door. Bathroom it's really clean and nice but it doesn't have where to put clothes while you're taking a bath. I pay for a room for 8 and they put me in a 12 room. The breakfast it's really late!!! From 9-11... For someone like me that likes to get early and make the day worth it's late.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015

Liked: Old town location is close to the promenade.

Disliked: The shower room has absolutely no privacy. Nowhere to change, the showers have translucent glass doors, and no separate male/female shower rooms. The bed I booked was "unavailable," so instead of the 4 bed female dorm I was expecting, I was put in an 8 bed mixed dorm. Security isn't very good. Actual rooms have no locks and the door to the hostel was often open. Lockers are provided, but very small. Kitchen/common area is TINY. And the walls are paper thin. With a bar outside, don't plan on sleeping much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine D'Arcy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2015 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious room, friendly helpful staff, good location, free tea and coffee!

Disliked: No towels available

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Lycka

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 January 2015 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room at the hostel, which was actually in a better location than the hostel itself. It was a great flat in a central area, and much bigger than we expected!

Disliked: The common room at the hostel is very small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gerardo Contreras

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014 Gerardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and close to everything.

Disliked: kitchen too small, noisy at nights.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this property only because it is very central in the old town and very easy to find. However, we stayed in a building a couple of streets away from the actual hostel as we had a private room. Therefore I cannot comment on the atmosphere of the hostel.

Disliked: Tho our "studio" had a kitchen it was ill equipped with crockery and cooking pots. No teatowel and no kettle provided. Also, we had bunk beds, none too stable, with very bad mattresses. There was a peculiar smell in the cupboard and in the fridge also. We did not feel it was value for money as it was more expensive than the 1 and 2 star hotels and apartments we had been using around France. We were there in August.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicole Scherer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The location Is great! You are directly in the old village of Nice and only 5minutes are needed to get to the sea and the beach. Also the little kittchen is enough and makes the stay more comfortable!

Disliked: The WiFi as described did not functioning at all. In the lounge it was no problem but since my room was in another building there was no acces.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014

Liked: The location in the old part of town was a bit of a redeeming feature.

Disliked: After being told that our accommodation wasn't actually where we had booked, we were taken to an apartment block where the member of staff couldn't actually open the door (the lock had been put on upside down). The shower was broken and I've eaten slices of bread thicker than the mattresses. I did see a lizard. That was cool.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The locarion was by far the best thing about this hostel and the staff very helpful

Disliked: The lack of facilities in the kitchen and the lack of air con in the bedrooms. I first stayed in the girls dorm (6 beds) and the bathroom was terrible. Then stayed in the mixed dorm (8 bed) and much better. Guests should me told to respect others when coming in late at night. More emphasis should be plaed on this when people check in. Drunk people chatting loudly outside dorms at 4am is not good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nicola Millar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, right in the heart of old town! Short walk to all other attractions, great restaurants and transport. The staff were helpful and had plenty of tips as to where to go! Stayed in the 6 bed dorm, the room was spacious, met some amazing people also!

Disliked: No laundry services and tiny private bathroom in the 6 bed dorm, not the cleanest but we didn't mind

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the old town. Having luggage storage service (though just put it in the lounge) Clean toilet and shower room.

Disliked: POOR shower room design. The glass door was half-transparent, at least you could tell which is which if somebody's inside. That was really embarrassing as the shower room was shared. Dirty Kitchen and old plates, so I washed everything before using. Located a very old building and without lift if you do mind.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hsiang Ching Tung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014

Liked: The staff is very friendly. Location is in the center that will be easy get anything.

Disliked: The bathroom is too small, it's hard to move. Room's WiFi doesn't work. And the bed is not so clean.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014

Liked: Proximity to beach and restaurants.

Disliked: No WIFI. It looked run down. Tiny bathroom. Lost is stairs and no elevators. We had to wake someone up to check out and get our deposit back after being told that there'd be someone there at 5am. We had to make our own beds. The hostel had a bad smell.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has an amazing location in the heart of the old town in Nice. The staff speaks very good English and they are very friendly and helpful. They know the area very well and are more than willing to give directions or tips on what to do and see. The rooms are small but nice with comfortable bunk beds. The toilett and showers are always clean and seem rather newly renovated.

Disliked: The staff seemed rather stressed when we were there during the high season. For example they forgot to give us sheets, which we had to ask for multiple times. The breakfast isn't much to have, some toast and marmalade, but it's still nice that it's included. Here are no fans or air con in the room so it gets rather hot during the night. The rooms are very small, so it's rather har do move around.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Wynne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Room was nice and big, very clean. Location was excellent, super close to plenty of great bars, places to eat, only a few minutes from the beach.

Disliked: The street outside was pretty noisy. I slept with ear plugs in and it didn't bother me too much, but I imagine this could be a concern for others.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Djoumana Alem

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 June 2014

Liked: cheap and efficient

Disliked: very small toilets in dorms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

casey chapman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 casey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so helpful, the man who runs it was so nice and always accommodating, we had an issue with another hostel we were supposed to stay at and Smith was fully booked but they found a way to help us and let us stay there which we were so thankful for. The location is amazing so central much better then any other place we looked at.

Disliked: No complaints whatsoever

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and the bed is clean and comfortable. There is a big kitchen that you can cook and chat with the other travellers in the hostel. The free breakfast was just toast and coffee but it is good enough for me.

Disliked: There is no lift and the shared bathroom for mixed dorm was unisex and it is kind of embarrassing as the shower curtain was just translucent.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paulius Satas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Paulius would recommend this property

Liked: The place it's located and the building itself! The owner of a place is a really nice and warm person, you feel being taken care of :).

Disliked: It's a an old building and it shows might bother some, especially if you're staying for longer, didn't bother me though, kinda liked it actually.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hana Husova

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Hana would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Hana left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Kovrova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the very heart of Nice. Very cheap! Atmosphere is of an old hostel- place to meet people, talk, share and get involved. you feel free there and so does everyone else. Our private appertment and was a bit away from the hostel's common space - so we felt as owning a flat in old and beatiful city-centre with fine cafees and authentic shops for locals..(flea-market was also at hand=). We also got a kitchen - beyond expectation). So it was real 'being citizen' experience, thanks to the hostel!

Disliked: If you are accustomed to real hotels - clean, comfortable, run by professionals, it takes some time to forget about squeaking beds, some mess around and staff being quite relaxed. But after- the best memories)

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marcin Gerus

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2014

Liked: There was nothing to like. We were sick living this place and that never happen before.

Disliked: Puddle of water in the middle of the room, leaking ceiling, dust and dirty walls, wet bed, not enough blankets, puddle of water in the toilet. We couldn't close the shower unless the bathroom door stay poem. Unfriendly staff. Nobody really care when I came to complained. There were dirty, rusty dishes and amenities in the room. No breakfast, no place in the kitchen, sby smoking there but anyway it was too dirty to eat there. No wifi in the rooms, two sad looking laptops in the reception. Please, please don't go there and this place should be shut down from health and safety reasons.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

10 March 2014

Liked: location/price

Disliked: I booked 4 beds dormitory and I was given an 8 one all is old and outdated

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2013

Liked: The decor was quite nice.

Disliked: I felt completely unsafe the whole time I was there. Don't stay here if you can help it, especially if you are a woman.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi reception in located in a different house

Disliked: breakfast room very small


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels