We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Smith

Hostel | 20 Rue Droite, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06300

65.7% Overall Rating

197 out of 282 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2015)

"The location is excellent - - a two minute walk from the beach, and just in front of an enormous park with a castle inside."

Read all Hostel Smith reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Victoria House Hostel
32.86 USD

Hostel 87.7% 196 reviews
Hotel Helvetique
47.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.7% 275 reviews
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
32.86 USD

Hostel 84.3% 480 reviews
Hotel Lafayette
47.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 6 reviews
Hotel Nice Riviera
81.60 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Paradis
38.28 USD

Hostel 83.4% 305 reviews
Hotel Boreal
42.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews
clair hotel
43.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.8% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

197 out of 282 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Smith'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
65.6%
Value
62.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 200 of 273 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2015

Liked: The location was great, and the bathroom conditions were also good

Disliked: It was a bit disorganized, we didn't even get a key for the room. We were two people and got separated; asked if it was possible to change one of us to the other room and they told us that was not possible because the hostel was full, however two beds were empty on one of the rooms during our stay. There was lots of noise coming from the street so it was difficult to sleep. We had two choices: Don't sleep leaving the windows open (due to noise) or close the windows and die of heat. The staff was not very friendly, except for one person that was actually very cool.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015

Liked: The location is excellent - - a two minute walk from the beach, and just in front of an enormous park with a castle inside.

Disliked: Hostel has no insulation from street noise. You could hear music and bar chatter well past 3 am. Even with earplugs, it was almost impossible to sleep at night. The kitchen is cramped and the "free breakfast" is toast and coffee you make yourself, if you can manage to elbow in past the staff, who lounge around scowling and were not at all helpful. I was given the wrong keys at check in and when i went back to the desk was given a set with no fob to open the outside door. This meant i couldn't stay out late or leave early if i hoped to get back in. You have to be very aggressive to get any service here, and even then the staff will treat you like garbage.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015

Liked: Friendly girl in the reception desk.

Disliked: The worst hostel I ever stayed. There is no air con or fan at first. And the noise down on the street is really loud and there is even loud music playing downstairs all night long til around 00:00. There is no room key and the room is small and packed. The whole building is old and there is no elevator. I would never ever stay here.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sarah Pratten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2015 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It was so close to the beach!

Disliked: There was no hot water in the kitchen, so the dishes weren't washed properly. Only common area to meet people was the kitchen and it wasn't very big. Also, when I went to checkout, there was no one at reception, so I just had to leave my keys.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2015

Liked: Nothing. It was horrible

Disliked: Very old and dirty.no securuity .the staff was rude it was horrible

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Laryea

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Reading reviews of this hostel prior to getting there did make me a bit cornered about my stay here. However upon our arrival at the hostel we met Frank the owner of the property. He was really hospitable, friendly and very knowledge about the area and nearby places to visit. He surely made our stay more welcoming. The location of the hostel is also very prime, close by to the beach, markets and night life. We stayed in a 8 bed dorm on the upstairs level and meet tons of cool young travelers as well. The newly renovated upstairs toilets and showers were great (powerful water pressure and hot water - is always a plus for me!). Overall I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to others who are looking for a place to stay that is budget friendly.

Disliked: Some of the negatives that I had previously read before staying here, I did encounter but to be honest they were NOT really big issues. The shower doors were glazed but still see through. However a quick fix to this when it came to shower time for me, was placing a towel over the door or a fitted bed sheet. There weren't enough outlets in the room that I was in, there were only three outlets for an eight bed dorm but everyone in the room we were in all managed to take turns (there are two more outlets outside in the hallway with a wall shelf underneath to place devices). I did ask Frank why they don't have extension cords in the rooms, he did notify me that it was as per fire safety policies which is understandable for guests safety. The hostel is located near a pub which in the evenings has live musicians who come and perform so it does get loud in the night. Though eventually you are able to tune it out and fall asleep. Frank also explained that given the location of the property (in the Old Town) the council does have regulations about keeping the originality of the properties in the area hence the fact that the windows cannot be changed to sound proof ones. Being a very picky eater, I am quite particular about my food choices. I was not a fan of the breakfast (coffee, tea, bread with a great selection of jams). Though there are lots of restaurants and cafe's just outside of the hostel to grab a bit to eat.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Chen Chyi Teoh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2015

Liked: I booked a private room for one night with hostel Smith. Checked in time wasn't what it stated in the hostel policy, delayed checked in for few hours. Get arranged different flat which is 5-10 mins way from the hostel itself. Noisy due to next to the main road, got RAT appear at night time, mosquitoes also.. no dustbin in the room and the person incharge simply open my room door to let other see the from while I still in the room. My friend body itchy maybe due to the bed bugs

Disliked: Cheap but won't come back anymore.the room looks horrible.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The WiFi doesn't reach the rooms

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2015

Liked: The location is great. The guy in reception was nice

Disliked: The bedroom is not correct clean

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Noisy ,dirty, shabby, smelly and dishonest

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: sheets not very clean, the room in a different building form reception, breakfast poor and not clean kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kerry Hargadon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2015 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room in a separate building from the main hostel. The location was great, building was nice and private, had its own bathroom and mini kitchenette.

Disliked: Cleanliness was not 100% and there were some minor issues with the room, eg. the bottom bunk of our bunk beds was broken and had a big dip in the middle.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Camilo Arrieta

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015

Liked: It's really easy to get there with the directions they give. Also it's in the old city so it's in perfect location

Disliked: It doesn't have outside sign so you don't know when you arrive till you see a little name at the door. Bathroom it's really clean and nice but it doesn't have where to put clothes while you're taking a bath. I pay for a room for 8 and they put me in a 12 room. The breakfast it's really late!!! From 9-11... For someone like me that likes to get early and make the day worth it's late.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015

Liked: Old town location is close to the promenade.

Disliked: The shower room has absolutely no privacy. Nowhere to change, the showers have translucent glass doors, and no separate male/female shower rooms. The bed I booked was "unavailable," so instead of the 4 bed female dorm I was expecting, I was put in an 8 bed mixed dorm. Security isn't very good. Actual rooms have no locks and the door to the hostel was often open. Lockers are provided, but very small. Kitchen/common area is TINY. And the walls are paper thin. With a bar outside, don't plan on sleeping much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine D'Arcy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2015 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious room, friendly helpful staff, good location, free tea and coffee!

Disliked: No towels available

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Lycka

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 January 2015 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room at the hostel, which was actually in a better location than the hostel itself. It was a great flat in a central area, and much bigger than we expected!

Disliked: The common room at the hostel is very small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gerardo Contreras

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014 Gerardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and close to everything.

Disliked: kitchen too small, noisy at nights.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this property only because it is very central in the old town and very easy to find. However, we stayed in a building a couple of streets away from the actual hostel as we had a private room. Therefore I cannot comment on the atmosphere of the hostel.

Disliked: Tho our "studio" had a kitchen it was ill equipped with crockery and cooking pots. No teatowel and no kettle provided. Also, we had bunk beds, none too stable, with very bad mattresses. There was a peculiar smell in the cupboard and in the fridge also. We did not feel it was value for money as it was more expensive than the 1 and 2 star hotels and apartments we had been using around France. We were there in August.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicole Scherer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The location Is great! You are directly in the old village of Nice and only 5minutes are needed to get to the sea and the beach. Also the little kittchen is enough and makes the stay more comfortable!

Disliked: The WiFi as described did not functioning at all. In the lounge it was no problem but since my room was in another building there was no acces.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014

Liked: The location in the old part of town was a bit of a redeeming feature.

Disliked: After being told that our accommodation wasn't actually where we had booked, we were taken to an apartment block where the member of staff couldn't actually open the door (the lock had been put on upside down). The shower was broken and I've eaten slices of bread thicker than the mattresses. I did see a lizard. That was cool.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The locarion was by far the best thing about this hostel and the staff very helpful

Disliked: The lack of facilities in the kitchen and the lack of air con in the bedrooms. I first stayed in the girls dorm (6 beds) and the bathroom was terrible. Then stayed in the mixed dorm (8 bed) and much better. Guests should me told to respect others when coming in late at night. More emphasis should be plaed on this when people check in. Drunk people chatting loudly outside dorms at 4am is not good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nicola Millar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, right in the heart of old town! Short walk to all other attractions, great restaurants and transport. The staff were helpful and had plenty of tips as to where to go! Stayed in the 6 bed dorm, the room was spacious, met some amazing people also!

Disliked: No laundry services and tiny private bathroom in the 6 bed dorm, not the cleanest but we didn't mind

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the old town. Having luggage storage service (though just put it in the lounge) Clean toilet and shower room.

Disliked: POOR shower room design. The glass door was half-transparent, at least you could tell which is which if somebody's inside. That was really embarrassing as the shower room was shared. Dirty Kitchen and old plates, so I washed everything before using. Located a very old building and without lift if you do mind.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hsiang Ching Tung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014

Liked: The staff is very friendly. Location is in the center that will be easy get anything.

Disliked: The bathroom is too small, it's hard to move. Room's WiFi doesn't work. And the bed is not so clean.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014

Liked: Proximity to beach and restaurants.

Disliked: No WIFI. It looked run down. Tiny bathroom. Lost is stairs and no elevators. We had to wake someone up to check out and get our deposit back after being told that there'd be someone there at 5am. We had to make our own beds. The hostel had a bad smell.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels