HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Smith

Hostel | 20 Rue Droite, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06300

62.4% Overall Rating

167 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2014)

Ekaterina Kovrova thinks…

"Located in the very heart of Nice. Very cheap! Atmosphere is of an old hostel- place to meet people, talk, share and get involved. you feel free there and so does everyone else. Our private…"

Read all Hostel Smith reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Victoria House Hostel
33.13 USD

Hostel 92.3% 176 reviews
Hotel de Kent
61.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.4% 13 reviews
Hotel Helvetique
36.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.0% 273 reviews
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
24.85 USD

Hostel 87.3% 428 reviews
Hotel Lafayette
50.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 6 reviews
Hotel De Verdun
27.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 102 reviews
Hotel Nice Riviera
77.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Résidence Ajoupa Baie des Anges
41.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.4%

Overall Rating

167 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Smith'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
62.4%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 168 of 224 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Kovrova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the very heart of Nice. Very cheap! Atmosphere is of an old hostel- place to meet people, talk, share and get involved. you feel free there and so does everyone else. Our private appertment and was a bit away from the hostel's common space - so we felt as owning a flat in old and beatiful city-centre with fine cafees and authentic shops for locals..(flea-market was also at hand=). We also got a kitchen - beyond expectation). So it was real 'being citizen' experience, thanks to the hostel!

Disliked: If you are accustomed to real hotels - clean, comfortable, run by professionals, it takes some time to forget about squeaking beds, some mess around and staff being quite relaxed. But after- the best memories)

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marcin Gerus

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2014

Liked: There was nothing to like. We were sick living this place and that never happen before.

Disliked: Puddle of water in the middle of the room, leaking ceiling, dust and dirty walls, wet bed, not enough blankets, puddle of water in the toilet. We couldn't close the shower unless the bathroom door stay poem. Unfriendly staff. Nobody really care when I came to complained. There were dirty, rusty dishes and amenities in the room. No breakfast, no place in the kitchen, sby smoking there but anyway it was too dirty to eat there. No wifi in the rooms, two sad looking laptops in the reception. Please, please don't go there and this place should be shut down from health and safety reasons.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

10 March 2014

Liked: location/price

Disliked: I booked 4 beds dormitory and I was given an 8 one all is old and outdated

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2013

Liked: The decor was quite nice.

Disliked: I felt completely unsafe the whole time I was there. Don't stay here if you can help it, especially if you are a woman.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi reception in located in a different house

Disliked: breakfast room very small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: Location was excellent and the reception staff were very nice

Disliked: Everything apart from the location. It was really grubby, grubby bedding, broken TV, saw a mouse in one room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

anna szeszko

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 October 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff with good advice, cool atmosphere, great location

Disliked: anna left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got our own room with a private bathroom and kitchen. Right in old town. Had pots, plates, some cups and cutlery to use. Provided free breakfast. Free dish washing detergent.

Disliked: Arrived to check in and got sent to another building. For our stay for 2 people we were given 1 small rubbish bag and 1 small toilet roll which we needed more of both. Bathroom smelled really bad when we arrived I think it was the pipes in the there. Our new location was right by tram tracks and busy road so noisy. Had to wash dishes before using as they were dirty and only had 1 mug, no butter knives.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013

Liked: The people staying here were great and I encountered a really friendly staff member on arrival. The location is really good. You can walk from the train station, no need for the tram as they recomended. I had a pack and was fine walking.

Disliked: Unclean. They overbooked and were disorganised. I arrived to be told that they had overbooked the dormroom I was meant to be in so I had to stay in a larger room yet still pay the same price. They had no clean bedding for purchase. There were also two groups who had madebookings and were turned away because they had no space for them due to overbooking once again. There were two guys who slept on the kitchen floor because it was so over booked. The other issue is their bathroom. There is one bathroom for the 14 bed mixed dorm with three showers however there is no room to change your clothes so unless you want to be naked in front of everyone and get dressed outside of your shower cubicle your clothes will get wet. Plus the screens are clear. I am quiet comfortable with my body, however as a female showering with a bathroom of boys brushing their teeth, showering and using the toilet I felt highly uncomfortable.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

STEPHANIE KA YING LAI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 STEPHANIE KA YING would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly staff, relatively cheap.

Disliked: very noisy at night (it's above a bar), everything: bath, pillow, bedsheets...are very old.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Organisation and facilities.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wifi

Disliked: Would love a fridge in the private double room and perhaps fly screens on the window

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Madi Curby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013

Liked: Best location only 2 mins to the beach and centrally located

Disliked: On our 2nd day toilet light didnt even work and we had to shower and use the bathroom in the dark. There was construction right outside our window that woke us up at like 5am every morning, only 1 key between 3 girls got frustrating as well. The girl staff were lovely but on our 3rd night there was a male staff who was very rude. Overall the only good thing we found was te location

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ladislav Schwartz

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Very messy, noisy, broken bed, breakfast from 9:30.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stay here for the location and company! Right near the beach, full of fellow young travellers looking to have fun. Good place to put your head at night

Disliked: Bathrooms and breakfast were lacking, but for a short stay and at this price, its all relative.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. I guess they offered breakfast but we didn't have any.

Disliked: The staff wasn't very friendly (besides the woman working). We felt uncomfortable speaking to the staff who seemed bored. The sheets that were given smelled dirty. They were remodeling the top floor, but there was only one bathroom for everyone and two showers. The bathroom was downstairs btw. The rooms were stuffy and they were noisy. There's water in the front that caused one of us to fall as well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irene Tang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Terrific staff that went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable! Amazing location - in the old town and 5 mins to the beach!

Disliked: Bathroom facilities need to be upgraded

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

irina crivat

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty, smells bad, not enough light

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013

Liked: Clean kitchen. Close to the city center (but that's also a dislike, because people partying late make lots of noise).

Disliked: Bathrooms/showers were dirty (they said they were renovating for new ones though).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is excellent

Disliked: The hostel is not pictured as advertised, rooms, dorms, reception , entrance are all incorrectly advertised with false pictures, the ablutions are substandard and filthy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabel Aguiar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

16 June 2013 Izabel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is PERFECT for anyone staying in Nice. The location is sublime, with the main old town plaza just a block away and even a wonderful shop down stairs. This hostel has so much character-even the bed sheets are quirky and interesting. I will never stay anywhere else in nice unless I nicer there, because this hostel is that perfect. If you do not stay here, you will be very disappointed.

Disliked: Nothing!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lammunier Lima dos Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Lammunier would recommend this property

Liked: If you don't travel with laptop, they have 2 or 3, and are free of use! They help you to make your plan of visit... Is in the heart of the old town.

Disliked: The first impression is that everything is very old, and will be a bad experience... But no, is really ok. (But, yes, it's really old).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had a separate studio with bathroom and small kitchenette with fridge. we had our own keys and could come and leave whenever we want. location was perfect - right in the old town and very close to busses and train station. friendly guy on the reception gave us many good advices on trips.

Disliked: beds were very uncomfortable. cooker in our room didn't really work. uncomfortable chairs and table. I think they have only 1 hairdryer for the whole hostel, so you should be fast and lucky to borrow it. breakfast consists of bread and jam, and it is never enough for everybody.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was in a great location, a 5 minute walk from the restaurants/ hill that overlooks the city, and a 10 minute walk from the beach!! The staff was really nice and helpful.

Disliked: There were only two bathrooms for about 20 beds and one of them only had cold water in the shower. The toilet paper always ran out (you could go downstairs to the staff to ask for more). The breakfast that they included was only bread and jam and milk (but that ran out too). On the weekend, the noise level outside sometimes got a little out of hand but within the hostel, the rooms were quiet for the most part.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels