HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Smith Nice

Hostel

20 Rue Droite, Nice, France

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 56%

Facilities 58%

Location 90%

Safety 65%

Staff 63%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 56%

Facilities 58%

Location 90%

Safety 65%

Staff 63%

Value 63%

Showing 1-10 of 66 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff and atmosphere. Kitchen is available

Disliked: We lived at a very small apartment and there was no wardrobe, but the hotel staff promiced to improve it for the nearest future

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was cheap, situated right in the old hotel historic part of nice. The staff was friendly and we even had a small kitchen

Disliked: For the price it was ok but the bunk beds are a bit hard and the top bed is too low to sit conveniently on the lower one (would be nice as the other seats are not too comfy).The kitchen had to be cleaned, but as said for the price very ok

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Location in perfect in the Center of the old town from nice and only a few minutes from the beach

Disliked: It's not really clean. The rooms ar not Close, so everyone can go into. The hostel is directly on the top of a bar so it's incredible loud and not easy to sleep.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great, and the bathroom conditions were also good

Disliked: It was a bit disorganized, we didn't even get a key for the room. We were two people and got separated; asked if it was possible to change one of us to the other room and they told us that was not possible because the hostel was full, however two beds were empty on one of the rooms during our stay. There was lots of noise coming from the street so it was difficult to sleep. We had two choices: Don't sleep leaving the windows open (due to noise) or close the windows and die of heat. The staff was not very friendly, except for one person that was actually very cool.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is excellent - - a two minute walk from the beach, and just in front of an enormous park with a castle inside.

Disliked: Hostel has no insulation from street noise. You could hear music and bar chatter well past 3 am. Even with earplugs, it was almost impossible to sleep at night. The kitchen is cramped and the "free breakfast" is toast and coffee you make yourself, if you can manage to elbow in past the staff, who lounge around scowling and were not at all helpful. I was given the wrong keys at check in and when i went back to the desk was given a set with no fob to open the outside door. This meant i couldn't stay out late or leave early if i hoped to get back in. You have to be very aggressive to get any service here, and even then the staff will treat you like garbage.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly girl in the reception desk.

Disliked: The worst hostel I ever stayed. There is no air con or fan at first. And the noise down on the street is really loud and there is even loud music playing downstairs all night long til around 00:00. There is no room key and the room is small and packed. The whole building is old and there is no elevator. I would never ever stay here.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was so close to the beach!

Disliked: There was no hot water in the kitchen, so the dishes weren't washed properly. Only common area to meet people was the kitchen and it wasn't very big. Also, when I went to checkout, there was no one at reception, so I just had to leave my keys.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I booked a private room for one night with hostel Smith. Checked in time wasn't what it stated in the hostel policy, delayed checked in for few hours. Get arranged different flat which is 5-10 mins way from the hostel itself. Noisy due to next to the main road, got RAT appear at night time, mosquitoes also.. no dustbin in the room and the person incharge simply open my room door to let other see the from while I still in the room. My friend body itchy maybe due to the bed bugs

Disliked: Cheap but won't come back anymore.the room looks horrible.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: The WiFi doesn't reach the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Reading reviews of this hostel prior to getting there did make me a bit cornered about my stay here. However upon our arrival at the hostel we met Frank the owner of the property. He was really hospitable, friendly and very knowledge about the area and nearby places to visit. He surely made our stay more welcoming. The location of the hostel is also very prime, close by to the beach, markets and night life. We stayed in a 8 bed dorm on the upstairs level and meet tons of cool young travelers as well. The newly renovated upstairs toilets and showers were great (powerful water pressure and hot water - is always a plus for me!). Overall I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to others who are looking for a place to stay that is budget friendly.

Disliked: Some of the negatives that I had previously read before staying here, I did encounter but to be honest they were NOT really big issues. The shower doors were glazed but still see through. However a quick fix to this when it came to shower time for me, was placing a towel over the door or a fitted bed sheet. There weren't enough outlets in the room that I was in, there were only three outlets for an eight bed dorm but everyone in the room we were in all managed to take turns (there are two more outlets outside in the hallway with a wall shelf underneath to place devices). I did ask Frank why they don't have extension cords in the rooms, he did notify me that it was as per fire safety policies which is understandable for guests safety. The hostel is located near a pub which in the evenings has live musicians who come and perform so it does get loud in the night. Though eventually you are able to tune it out and fall asleep. Frank also explained that given the location of the property (in the Old Town) the council does have regulations about keeping the originality of the properties in the area hence the fact that the windows cannot be changed to sound proof ones. Being a very picky eater, I am quite particular about my food choices. I was not a fan of the breakfast (coffee, tea, bread with a great selection of jams). Though there are lots of restaurants and cafe's just outside of the hostel to grab a bit to eat.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability