We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Altair hostel

Hostel | 10 Rue de Suisse, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

62.5% Overall Rating

299 out of 525 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

ANDREW SNETHURST thinks…

"I thought this hostel was very good for the price in Nice. The property is described well on hostelbookers. Very basic to be honest."

Read all Altair hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.27
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

After having made your booking on Hostelbookers you will have to send us your 3 digit code on the back of your credit card in order to secure your booking ,thank you Reception’s opening time: 8 am to 11 pm The hostel do not have staff at the reception the whole day, so let us know on the booking at what time your planned to arrive; and if you missed a train or something happened, let us know by email or by phone? Cancellation policy: You must give us 48 hours notice to cancel or change a booking and only by email. It's 48 hours before check in time (12.30pm). The hostel reserves the right to refuse booking if your credit card is expired at your arrival."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
27.83 USD

Hostel 86.7% 459 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
23.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
27.83 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Antares Hostel
27.83 USD

Hostel 83.7% 502 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
29.10 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
25.30 USD

Hostel 85.7% 1119 reviews
Hotel Boreal
49.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
14.23 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.5%

Overall Rating

299 out of 525 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Altair hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
52.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
62.4%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 352 of 452 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Hanna Rybachuk

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2014 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly personnel

Disliked: 1) the beds were not stable enough, so I woke up every time someone downstairs moved around. 2) the toilets were not tidy and you couldnt even wash your hads there.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dustin Richter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: average Hostel! -kitchen -no cockroaches ; ) great athmosphere

Disliked: - no air conditioning - not much space - no key for bathroom

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: the staff is very unprofessional

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ANDREW SNETHURST

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014 ANDREW would recommend this property

Liked: I thought this hostel was very good for the price in Nice. The property is described well on hostelbookers. Very basic to be honest.

Disliked: JUst that theres not ,uch going on. but for a cheap night over it is perfect. Staff were cool

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Eleanor Strong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Maybe a little dirty, not much atmosphere but it will do!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Small kitchen, didn't accept credit card.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

24 July 2014

Liked: Staff were nice and helpful

Disliked: Private bathroom in the room was very small- no toilet in room. Only 2 toilets in the hallways for the whole hostel

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: This hostel has a great location! About 5 minutes from the beach and right beside Notre Dame cathedral - which makes it easy to find since there are lots of signs for Notre Dame.

Disliked: Although the location was great, the hostel itself was dirty, the rooms and the hallways were cramped and the lights often turned off. The kitchen and bathroom could use a good cleaning. However if all you need is a bed to sleep on while you spend the rest of your day out in the city, it did the job.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rebecca Barlow

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014

Liked: We all atched the football final together. Was a fun atmosphere!

Disliked: The entrance smelt like pee, tea towel and kitchen were filthy. The hole place is very small so very compact with 70 guests and only 1 fridge, tiny kitchen and small common room. Also, the wifi only works in the hall by reception and in rooms 12 and 13.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly staff

Disliked: Slightly sketchy area but not far from main town

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Derrick Kitching

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

10 June 2014 Derrick would recommend this property

Liked: There was a great Turkish gambling ring in the parking lot by the hostel. You can sit on the balcony, have some wine and watch them go at it.

Disliked: One toilette per gender

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dinesh Saini

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Dinesh would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: bathroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nurul Irfani Baharudin Ali

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Nurul Irfani would recommend this property

Liked: Its easy to find and probably the more cheapest hostel here.

Disliked: I don't like the fact that when we need to leave our passport or pay 30 euro for the key deposit. It is really hard when we need to check out early in the morning to catch flight, we need to have the passport n surrender the key at night before because the receptionist is open at 8am. So we end up sleeping with no locked for the door. the door cannot be locked from inside if u don't have the key. thank god nothing happen at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faizan Ahmad

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Faizan would recommend this property

Liked: the place is pretty well located just along the tramway and close to vieux nice.

Disliked: reception opens up late.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katia Garcia

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

02 March 2014

Liked: The bar

Disliked: The lobby persons

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and professional staff!!

Disliked: All goog with while staying in!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Baris Mandal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Baris would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very near to the train station. It has a great location on the main street of Nice. Staff was really, really helpful. We tried to book a train in the morning but they were all full. So we had to wait until 6pm and it was raining like hell outside. So the employee at the reception allowed us to stay in the hostel and even we ate in the kitchen. We cannot thank enough for that.

Disliked: The 6 person dorm was a little bit small for 6 persons.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Darren Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Not the nicest area of Nice but it is cheap

Disliked: Loud drinkers on the street, plus roadworks outside at 7 am ( not the hostels fault but still horrible). The kitchen has one fork, no cups, spoons or anything really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, nice location near the notre-dame. Recomended.

Disliked: 48 hours to cancel if you need to change booking urgently it's quite a problem, but I do understand their reason.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station. Clean. Nice common rooms.

Disliked: Reception closed in the afternoon.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved the atmosphere of this place, met so many people and every night something was goin on! The staff were lovely and very helpful. Just off the main shopping street and about a 15min walk to the beach

Disliked: Bit expensive for what you get, the rooms are cramped and the place overall is a bit old but I at least had a shower and toilet in my dorm

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The other travelers were nice. working staff too.

Disliked: place looks kinda cheap. rooms are too small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bertino Ghezzo

Alone

City break

09 August 2013 Bertino would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, really good atmosphere in their common room where I had a good time with other guys I met there. The rooms are basic but I really appreciated the air conditionig specially at night. The location couldn't be better, near everything and the guys working there are awesome ready to help you whenever you need something. I'll be back here one of these days.

Disliked: I heard some guys complaining that they couldn't stay in the hostel after their check out. Personly I don't know many places where they let you hang around the place after checking out and especially fo the price you pay in this hostel; it's really a good deal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool hostel. Location is great. Right beside train station and a short walk to the beach. Staff are excellent, really friendly and helpful. All of the stipulated charges about top sheets, towels and left luggage were waived. The common room is really good. Lovely cold Perlenbacher for €2 a bottle out of the fridge and no problems if you want to bring your own drink to the common room. Place is very secure. Beds are fine. Staff will come in to turn on the air conditioning if you ask, or even if they think you might be too hot and aren't sure why you haven't asked about air con... Definitely recommend it as a place to stay in Nice

Disliked: The owner. The staff were working in spite of him. It was incredible. The owner simply got in the way of the workers when he was around. Tried to get involved in the day to day running of the business, but just created problems. We went to the train station, but our train was full so we returned to the hostel to leave off our bags until the evening train. Naturally the staff had no problem and waived the left luggage charge, but the owner arrived in time to rifle through the bookings from the previous night, even though both staff had vouched for us as having stayed there the previous night. Only after holding up proceedings unnecessarily for maybe 3 minutes were we allowed to leave, but not without him pointing to the sign on the desk that read 'luggage may be left at the hostel on check out'. The levels of pedantry were truly unbelievable. Made no odds to our stay, but was just very strange. Also a sign appears in a number of places all over the hostel. I took a picture of it it was so good. It reads, 'AFTER 10:30AM (CHECK OUT) MEANS PLEASE LEAVE THE HOSTEL. It's abundantly clear that this was the brainchild of the owner. Let the staff run the place so you can go off and buy more tattoos and vests

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kiara Ashenden-lake

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

07 August 2013 Kiara would recommend this property

Liked: Good common room for socializing and excellent location!

Disliked: Tiny hot rooms with no room to put your bags.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels