HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Altair hostel

Hostel | 10 Rue de Suisse, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

72.5% Overall Rating

288 out of 504 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/01/2014)

Baris Mandal thinks…

"The place is very near to the train station. It has a great location on the main street of Nice. Staff was really, really helpful. We tried to book a train in the morning but they were all full. So…"

Read all Altair hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

After having made your booking on Hostelbookers you will have to send us your 3 digit code on the back of your credit card in order to secure your booking ,thank you Reception’s opening time: 8 am to 11 pm The hostel do not have staff at the reception the whole day, so let us know on the booking at what time your planned to arrive; and if you missed a train or something happened, let us know by email or by phone? Cancellation policy: You must give us 48 hours notice to cancel or change a booking and only by email. It's 48 hours before check in time (12.30pm). The hostel reserves the right to refuse booking if your credit card is expired at your arrival."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
22.11 USD

Hostel 84.2% 418 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
30.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
30.41 USD

Hostel 80.9% 13 reviews
Antares Hostel
21.98 USD

Hostel 86.2% 461 reviews
Hotel les Orangers
26.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 62.5% 155 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
30.41 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
27.64 USD

Hostel 82.7% 1096 reviews
Hotel Boreal
53.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.5%

Overall Rating

288 out of 504 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Altair hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
71.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 342 of 433 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dinesh Saini

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Dinesh would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: bathroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nurul Irfani Baharudin Ali

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Nurul Irfani would recommend this property

Liked: Its easy to find and probably the more cheapest hostel here.

Disliked: I don't like the fact that when we need to leave our passport or pay 30 euro for the key deposit. It is really hard when we need to check out early in the morning to catch flight, we need to have the passport n surrender the key at night before because the receptionist is open at 8am. So we end up sleeping with no locked for the door. the door cannot be locked from inside if u don't have the key. thank god nothing happen at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faizan Ahmad

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Faizan would recommend this property

Liked: the place is pretty well located just along the tramway and close to vieux nice.

Disliked: reception opens up late.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katia Garcia

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

02 March 2014

Liked: The bar

Disliked: The lobby persons

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and professional staff!!

Disliked: All goog with while staying in!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Baris Mandal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Baris would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very near to the train station. It has a great location on the main street of Nice. Staff was really, really helpful. We tried to book a train in the morning but they were all full. So we had to wait until 6pm and it was raining like hell outside. So the employee at the reception allowed us to stay in the hostel and even we ate in the kitchen. We cannot thank enough for that.

Disliked: The 6 person dorm was a little bit small for 6 persons.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Darren Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Not the nicest area of Nice but it is cheap

Disliked: Loud drinkers on the street, plus roadworks outside at 7 am ( not the hostels fault but still horrible). The kitchen has one fork, no cups, spoons or anything really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, nice location near the notre-dame. Recomended.

Disliked: 48 hours to cancel if you need to change booking urgently it's quite a problem, but I do understand their reason.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station. Clean. Nice common rooms.

Disliked: Reception closed in the afternoon.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved the atmosphere of this place, met so many people and every night something was goin on! The staff were lovely and very helpful. Just off the main shopping street and about a 15min walk to the beach

Disliked: Bit expensive for what you get, the rooms are cramped and the place overall is a bit old but I at least had a shower and toilet in my dorm

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The other travelers were nice. working staff too.

Disliked: place looks kinda cheap. rooms are too small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bertino Ghezzo

Alone

City break

09 August 2013 Bertino would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, really good atmosphere in their common room where I had a good time with other guys I met there. The rooms are basic but I really appreciated the air conditionig specially at night. The location couldn't be better, near everything and the guys working there are awesome ready to help you whenever you need something. I'll be back here one of these days.

Disliked: I heard some guys complaining that they couldn't stay in the hostel after their check out. Personly I don't know many places where they let you hang around the place after checking out and especially fo the price you pay in this hostel; it's really a good deal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool hostel. Location is great. Right beside train station and a short walk to the beach. Staff are excellent, really friendly and helpful. All of the stipulated charges about top sheets, towels and left luggage were waived. The common room is really good. Lovely cold Perlenbacher for €2 a bottle out of the fridge and no problems if you want to bring your own drink to the common room. Place is very secure. Beds are fine. Staff will come in to turn on the air conditioning if you ask, or even if they think you might be too hot and aren't sure why you haven't asked about air con... Definitely recommend it as a place to stay in Nice

Disliked: The owner. The staff were working in spite of him. It was incredible. The owner simply got in the way of the workers when he was around. Tried to get involved in the day to day running of the business, but just created problems. We went to the train station, but our train was full so we returned to the hostel to leave off our bags until the evening train. Naturally the staff had no problem and waived the left luggage charge, but the owner arrived in time to rifle through the bookings from the previous night, even though both staff had vouched for us as having stayed there the previous night. Only after holding up proceedings unnecessarily for maybe 3 minutes were we allowed to leave, but not without him pointing to the sign on the desk that read 'luggage may be left at the hostel on check out'. The levels of pedantry were truly unbelievable. Made no odds to our stay, but was just very strange. Also a sign appears in a number of places all over the hostel. I took a picture of it it was so good. It reads, 'AFTER 10:30AM (CHECK OUT) MEANS PLEASE LEAVE THE HOSTEL. It's abundantly clear that this was the brainchild of the owner. Let the staff run the place so you can go off and buy more tattoos and vests

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kiara Ashenden-lake

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

07 August 2013 Kiara would recommend this property

Liked: Good common room for socializing and excellent location!

Disliked: Tiny hot rooms with no room to put your bags.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ademar Virgolino da Silva Netto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013

Liked: Locations is good and it has air conditioner.

Disliked: The build is to old, the rooms are too small. There are only TWO toilets (without tap) for everyone, so can you imagine how was hard to use in the morning? he said you can take a shower after check out, but you can't. Only one guy the staff was nice, the others are very rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephanie tomei

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 August 2013 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice place to stay in Nice; good location, clean rooms wonderful common room and a great staph.

Disliked: Some customers don't respect the basic rules on behaviour at that can sometimes create problems but that has nothing to do with the hostel

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Fabian Tönnies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station and the center.

Disliked: Unfriendly boss - the rest is really nice. They close the Kitchen at 22h.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Andrea Bratsberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: excellent located, friendly staff

Disliked: cold showers and the beds looked like they could collapse any second

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pascal soussane

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

02 August 2013 pascal would recommend this property

Liked: I was travelling with a frind and we were both surprised by this place. It' s absolutely fabulous; good location, the rooms have lockers are air conditioned with balconies giving you a view on the cathedral, the staff very nice and helpful and in the evening woh party time. We'll certainly come back here next time.

Disliked: Wiith a jacuzzi in the common room it would have been perfect. No I'm just kidding, it was really great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOEL CHASSIGNOL

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

02 August 2013 JOEL would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel value for money I've had; the lockers in the room were brand new, so was the air-conditioning which I really appreciated during the night when the temperature outside was extremely warm. One of the best locations also if you want to go to the beach by foot or go out and have fun in the old town. For myself I prefered staying at the hostel where you can have a great time in their common room that I found fantastic. I'll be back again guys, thank tou for your help and kindness.

Disliked: nothing, everything was perfect

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anne Westemeyer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, the rooms have balconies, location

Disliked: the shower was a little bit broken

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: Good Location, clean and nice room

Disliked: Problem with the shower and rude stuff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marie tchilian

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 July 2013 marie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so nice, the location is very good, the persons working there are very helpful and kind and we had a lot of fun there in the evening. I will definitely stay there again.

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

leah maclean

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: Horrible, Horrible owner. The most unfriendly person we have met on our 4 month journey across Europe

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessica O Driscoll

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

16 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The location was ideal, close to everything including the train station.

Disliked: Rooms where a bit small and the public toilet instead of your own onw in your own room.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels