We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Altair hostel

Hostel | 10 Rue de Suisse, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

68.7% Overall Rating

308 out of 538 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2015)

gianni mazzalo thinks…

"First thing I liked about this hostel was the price, Unbeatable in Nice. Then the situation is ideal, between the train station and the beach. The staff very nice and helpful and intersting people…"

Read all Altair hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.10
  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

After having made your booking on Hostelbookers you will have to send us your 3 digit code on the back of your credit card in order to secure your booking ,thank you Reception’s opening time: 8 am to 11 pm The hostel do not have staff at the reception the whole day, so let us know on the booking at what time your planned to arrive; and if you missed a train or something happened, let us know by email or by phone? Cancellation policy: You must give us 48 hours notice to cancel or change a booking and only by email. It's 48 hours before check in time (12.30pm). The hostel reserves the right to refuse booking if your credit card is expired at your arrival."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hostel Baccarat
32.81 USD

Hostel 84.2% 480 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
35.01 USD

Hostel 80.0% 18 reviews
Antares Hostel
32.81 USD

Hostel 87.0% 520 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
27.44 USD

Hostel 70.2% 16 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
22.50 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1128 reviews
Hotel Boreal
42.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
28.81 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 34 reviews
Hotel Little Palace Nice
32.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.7%

Overall Rating

308 out of 538 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Altair hostel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
71.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 360 of 465 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Joanna Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2015

Liked: Really? Please read my comments. I didn't like this property.

Disliked: The bed squeaks, the shower drain doesn't work, they only take cash, you squander 3 euros for a measly breakfast, and staff treats you like they hate you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gianni mazzalo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 July 2015 gianni would recommend this property

Liked: First thing I liked about this hostel was the price, Unbeatable in Nice. Then the situation is ideal, between the train station and the beach. The staff very nice and helpful and intersting people met there. I'll be back here for sure.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

evelyne chabert

Alone

City break

19 July 2015 evelyne would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the air-conditioned rooms because it was so hot in Nice and I think I made an excellent deal coming here compared to the prices in other places. I also liked the people working there, very kind and helpful.

Disliked: evelyne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katie jackson

Alone

City break

18 July 2015 katie would recommend this property

Liked: I firstly booked at Altair Hostel for the price, unbeatable in Nice. Then I was surprised by the rooms, air-conditioning, lockers, a plug at each bed and brand new bathrooms. They could put the prices higher that it would'nt be shocking, it's really a good deal.

Disliked: katie left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2015

Liked: It was clean enough I suppose

Disliked: Noise from inside and outside the hostel. Way too hot at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Dina Alme

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 June 2015

Liked: I liked that the straff was friendly. They were unproffesionale, but nice. The location was good, right next to the beach, shops and trainstation.

Disliked: My friends and I stayed in a three bedroom dorm, we did not have any view or airconditioning. The window was right next to someone else's bathroom, so the room smelled like urin most of the time. The kitchen was really dirty, and missed alot of cups and glaces. When we wanted to check out we had to do that the night before. We were catching a eight o'clock train, and had to leave the hostel at 7 am, so they took our key away the night before, so we had to sleep with an unlocked door.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located right next to a large church and not far from the train station. Everything was clean. The private Bathrooms were nice, quite while we were there.

Disliked: They did not have our reservation and it took over 30 minutes for them to finally give us our room. The kitchen only has hot plates not an actual stove. I have a lot of gear and the hostel is on the second floor, the elevator described is not available until you get to the second floor.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2015

Liked: The location was really good.

Disliked: Wasn't clean, didn't have many utensils, the locks didn't unlock/lock consistently, pillows are miniature, beds rocked and are very small, rooms are way to small for 6 people and the Windows didn't block out the noise from the street below.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Hanna Rybachuk

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2014 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly personnel

Disliked: 1) the beds were not stable enough, so I woke up every time someone downstairs moved around. 2) the toilets were not tidy and you couldnt even wash your hads there.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dustin Richter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: average Hostel! -kitchen -no cockroaches ; ) great athmosphere

Disliked: - no air conditioning - not much space - no key for bathroom

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: the staff is very unprofessional

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ANDREW SNETHURST

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014 ANDREW would recommend this property

Liked: I thought this hostel was very good for the price in Nice. The property is described well on hostelbookers. Very basic to be honest.

Disliked: JUst that theres not ,uch going on. but for a cheap night over it is perfect. Staff were cool

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Eleanor Strong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Maybe a little dirty, not much atmosphere but it will do!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Small kitchen, didn't accept credit card.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

24 July 2014

Liked: Staff were nice and helpful

Disliked: Private bathroom in the room was very small- no toilet in room. Only 2 toilets in the hallways for the whole hostel

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: This hostel has a great location! About 5 minutes from the beach and right beside Notre Dame cathedral - which makes it easy to find since there are lots of signs for Notre Dame.

Disliked: Although the location was great, the hostel itself was dirty, the rooms and the hallways were cramped and the lights often turned off. The kitchen and bathroom could use a good cleaning. However if all you need is a bed to sleep on while you spend the rest of your day out in the city, it did the job.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rebecca Barlow

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014

Liked: We all atched the football final together. Was a fun atmosphere!

Disliked: The entrance smelt like pee, tea towel and kitchen were filthy. The hole place is very small so very compact with 70 guests and only 1 fridge, tiny kitchen and small common room. Also, the wifi only works in the hall by reception and in rooms 12 and 13.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly staff

Disliked: Slightly sketchy area but not far from main town

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Derrick Kitching

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

10 June 2014 Derrick would recommend this property

Liked: There was a great Turkish gambling ring in the parking lot by the hostel. You can sit on the balcony, have some wine and watch them go at it.

Disliked: One toilette per gender

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dinesh Saini

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Dinesh would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: bathroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nurul Irfani Baharudin Ali

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Nurul Irfani would recommend this property

Liked: Its easy to find and probably the more cheapest hostel here.

Disliked: I don't like the fact that when we need to leave our passport or pay 30 euro for the key deposit. It is really hard when we need to check out early in the morning to catch flight, we need to have the passport n surrender the key at night before because the receptionist is open at 8am. So we end up sleeping with no locked for the door. the door cannot be locked from inside if u don't have the key. thank god nothing happen at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faizan Ahmad

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Faizan would recommend this property

Liked: the place is pretty well located just along the tramway and close to vieux nice.

Disliked: reception opens up late.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katia Garcia

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

02 March 2014

Liked: The bar

Disliked: The lobby persons

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and professional staff!!

Disliked: All goog with while staying in!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Baris Mandal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Baris would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very near to the train station. It has a great location on the main street of Nice. Staff was really, really helpful. We tried to book a train in the morning but they were all full. So we had to wait until 6pm and it was raining like hell outside. So the employee at the reception allowed us to stay in the hostel and even we ate in the kitchen. We cannot thank enough for that.

Disliked: The 6 person dorm was a little bit small for 6 persons.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels