HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Altair Nice Hostel

10 Rue de Suisse, Nice, France

Atmosphere 47%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 51%

Location 78%

Safety 64%

Staff 49%

Value 58%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

After having made your booking on Hostelbookers you will have to send us your 3 digit code on the back of your credit card in order to secure your booking ,thank you
Reception’s opening time: 8 am to 11 pm
The hostel do not have staff at the reception the whole day, so let us know on the booking at what time your planned to arrive; and if you missed a train or something happened, let us know by email or by phone?
Cancellation policy: You must give us 48 hours notice to cancel or change a booking and only by email. It's 48 hours before check in time (12.30pm). The hostel reserves the right to refuse booking if your credit card is expired at your arrival."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Atmosphere 47%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 51%

Location 78%

Safety 64%

Staff 49%

Value 58%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: .if there was ever a business that deserved to be closed for poor customer service. this is it

Disliked: due to aftershocks of an earthquake = traffic got delayed, and i was running late. contacted hostel by email, since they never, not once answered the phone. they said they would not wait for me, and would close at 11. and they would still charge me in full, since i didnt cancel at least 1 and a half days BEFORE i booked.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The location we were sent to was closer to the beach, restaurants and shops

Disliked: We were told our room was not in hostel altair but another building, a 25 minute walk away. The receptionist got his buddy to walk us there who was clearly annoyed he has to show us where to go. When we arrived at our location there was no address on the building and no evident association with hostel Altair. There was no one around and the man told us he lived next door. There was no lockers and essentially 6 beds shoved into a walk in closet. When we questioned the situation we were given no answers.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: I liked the location. Short to shopping and beach

Disliked: The man who worked there was the worst person I have met.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Location was decent,pretty much in the centre therefore quite noisy at night. It is cheap but for a reason..

Disliked: Within a minute of arriving we were (un)welcomed by the rudest receptionist i have ever come across. He demanded the money.and 30 euro deposit for the keys Our little shower room stunk of sewage. Everytime another inmate flushed the toilet or had a shower our little sink would spray water out, up to 2 feet high sometimes. Room was average other than this. Bed not.great but it is a cheap hostel so i expected it. However it was not the advertised double bed, just 2 singles. Wifi didnt work in the rooms.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Power sockets at every bed

Disliked: Internet did not work on my room, rooms are tiny and the hostel is too cramped. Kitchen is tiny and not well equipped. They close the kitchen and "common area " at 10 so you are basically forced to stay on your room after that where I had no internet connection. This hostel does not have character and seem to be just a money making machine rather than "value for money".

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: lockers, pretty secure - you need a fob to get into the building a code to get into the hostel and a key to get into your room, wifi in rooms, not even a five minute walk from the main train station, not too far of a walk to anywhere in Nice

Disliked: the deposit for the key & fob is outrageous (though you get it back), shower but no toilet in the room, "common area" was garbage

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Near the railway station

Disliked: Very cramped rooms. The common toilet is in a mess

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating


21 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: untrustworthy charge much more than advertised be aware

Disliked: dirty noisy exteremly bad services in fact non

Check Availability