We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Baccarat

Hostel | 39, rue d'Angleterre, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

86.7% Overall Rating

391 out of 459 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2014)

"The hostel was a great place to base yourself if you wanted to see Nice and the surrounding areas as its so close to the train station and a 15 minute walk to the beach and old town. The manager and staff were…"

Read all Hostel Baccarat reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Antares Hostel
27.83 USD

Hostel 83.7% 502 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
63.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
27.83 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Altair hostel
15.05 USD

Hostel 62.5% 525 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
25.30 USD

Hostel 85.7% 1119 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
14.23 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 33 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
29.10 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
49.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

391 out of 459 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Baccarat'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 335 of 372 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a great place to base yourself if you wanted to see Nice and the surrounding areas as its so close to the train station and a 15 minute walk to the beach and old town. The manager and staff were fantastic! So helpful and friendly! Its a great place to meet people with its chill out room, court yard and big kitchen..plus free champagne parties..would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are excellent.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mackenzie Oeftering

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2014 Mackenzie would recommend this property

Liked: So much fun!!!!! 3 euro spaghetti night or freEEEEE champagne night or whatever the heck else they do I'm bummed I only had 2 nights here I met heaps of great people the staff is so nice and helpful , it's literally a minute from the train station which is so nice, close to the beach and a bunch of clubs and bars. They have a nice chill out room and a hang out kind of game room too along with a really nice backyard area with seats and such. and clean rooms! Fully stoked and super spacious kitchen! And like two dining rooms.

Disliked: Mackenzie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dustin Richter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: very good Hostel! -air conditioning -refrigerator -kitchen -no cockroaches ; ) great athmosphere

Disliked: Dustin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Asher Goldman

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Asher would recommend this property

Liked: What an awesome place to stay! Really. I stayed in 16 hostels on my trip, and this was easily the best one. First night I was there, they had all you can eat pasta and 2 glasses of wine for 3 euros, and that really morphs into everyone getting wasted before going out to the bars. Second night, the bartender decided that the night was too quiet and just started giving out glasses of wine. Last night I was there, the pasta party got canceled (boo!), so the girl at the front desk invited me and a bunch of other kids to go out to dinner with her and her friends. Margo (Margaux?) is freaking awesome. Plus the location is awesome, right by the train station and half a block from the main street. Very highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed here for one night, but it was a great stay. The owner was very nice and gave us a free upgrade. Would definately recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, good wifi and other facilities. Got upgrade to a private room as 8 bed dorm we booked was full

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Phillip Boyack

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

19 August 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Staff made a point of being helpful, very easy to get to from the station

Disliked: Reception seemed very disorganised. The receptionist didn't know what room I was in, so she guessed based on how much I paid. Most of the people I spoke to had to be moved around because they'd overbooked rooms or put people in the wrong dorm or something, although that didn't happen to me. Also the directions on the hostelbookers aren't exact; it's down a side street. A lot of the atmosphere stemmed from how difficult the kitchen was to use.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Dahl

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff that work here are very friendly and helpful. The room that I stayed in was also very clean

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marco Orozco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Es muy grande, se conecta con otro hostal/hotel en la parte de atrás así que es muy fácil conocer personas, además tiene muchas áreas comunes muy cómodas, con mesas y sofás para todos.

Disliked: Es un edificio muy viejo y algo descuidado, en mi cuarto había una gotera que hizo un hoyo en el techo y el agua caía en una cubeta... así que sí le falta algo de restauración.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brett Loats

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station, has themed nights to get to know other guests.

Disliked: Need to check in before 8 or your bed might go. Apparently listed on page but not on confirmation email. Booked a month before arrival and only check email confirmations prior to check in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriel Mendible

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the spaghetti party and the free champagne. There's also a barcrawl

Disliked: Gabriel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, particularly its close proximity to the train station. We were upgraded on the second night to a private room instead of a six bed dorm which was a huge bonus!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near the train station and maybe 15 minutes walk from the old town and beach. Staff was very friendly and helpfull, you could see that they care about their customers and I think this reflected also to customers because the whole atmosphere was relaxed and friendly! Free WLAN was good to have and air conditioning in room was exelent!

Disliked: The WLAN was a bit slow and disconnecting every now and then.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EUNJEONG SHIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 EUNJEONG would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff,clean & comfortable spaces,nice budget!!! Everything was great!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the pasta nights, and the staff was actually very friendly and would let you leave your luggage with them if you arrived early.

Disliked: N/A

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

JoAnn M. Williams

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014

Liked: Convenient to train station, shopping and beach area.

Disliked: Building is old and needs upgrades to furnishings and bathroom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014

Liked: Location, friendly ans helpful staff

Disliked: I was staying in a 6 person mixed dorm room. The toilet of the room was not very clean and there was no lock on it's door?! Not very nice if you're staying with 5 strangers. And that was the only toilet available, no other toilets in the corridor on anything. The Wi-fi in the room was very bad, hardly working, very slow and at times no connection at all. The bed was too soft, and I mean way too soft - I kind of sank in it and couldn't sleep at all. I was supposed to stay for 5 nights, but left after one night. At least I got my money back, which was nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very accommodating, and great location

Disliked: Overall facilities, it is a little bit rundown and in need of renovation.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Tom Garrity

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014

Liked: The location & price...that's it

Disliked: When we showed up (no thanks to the poor directions) the receptionist told us that the 8 bed dorm we had booked was full. So what was the point in booking? He offered us either a 10 bed dorm for €5 less than we paid, or we could pay the difference for a 6 bed dorm. We chose the 10 bed. The room was extremely hot the AC didnt work and the rest of the room was disgustingly dirty. My bed had dried blood on the floor along with discarded used plasters. I stayed for 3 days, 2 nights and the floor and general room was never cleaned. To top it off me and my friend have been bitten by what looks like bed bugs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Only about a 10min walk from the old town and the beach

Disliked: Shower was small and the staff were friendly but not overly helpful

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Cohen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: I was able to meet and connect with tons of travelers!!!!! The spaghetti party is a great bonus :). The staff went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible!

Disliked: I wish it was a little closer to the beach... But you can't change that!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. It's very close to Nice Ville Station and there are lots of restaurant around.

Disliked: It's a long walk to the beach.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good location, staff prepared meals

Disliked: slow elevator

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to railway

Disliked: Close to railway also means a little rougher neighborhood, but not scary like other major cities. Proximity to sites not far walk but still out of the loop.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels