HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Baccarat

Hostel | 39, rue d'Angleterre, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

83.7% Overall Rating

382 out of 449 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"Great value for money, good wifi and other facilities. Got upgrade to a private room as 8 bed dorm we booked was full"

Read all Hostel Baccarat reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Antares Hostel
23.50 USD

Hostel 83.4% 498 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
34.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
26.26 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Altair hostel
20.88 USD

Hostel 62.7% 523 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
24.95 USD

Hostel 83.9% 1113 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
28.89 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
51.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews
Hotel Comte de Nice
35.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.9% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

382 out of 449 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Baccarat'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 329 of 362 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, good wifi and other facilities. Got upgrade to a private room as 8 bed dorm we booked was full

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Phillip Boyack

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

19 August 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Staff made a point of being helpful, very easy to get to from the station

Disliked: Reception seemed very disorganised. The receptionist didn't know what room I was in, so she guessed based on how much I paid. Most of the people I spoke to had to be moved around because they'd overbooked rooms or put people in the wrong dorm or something, although that didn't happen to me. Also the directions on the hostelbookers aren't exact; it's down a side street. A lot of the atmosphere stemmed from how difficult the kitchen was to use.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Dahl

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff that work here are very friendly and helpful. The room that I stayed in was also very clean

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marco Orozco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Es muy grande, se conecta con otro hostal/hotel en la parte de atrás así que es muy fácil conocer personas, además tiene muchas áreas comunes muy cómodas, con mesas y sofás para todos.

Disliked: Es un edificio muy viejo y algo descuidado, en mi cuarto había una gotera que hizo un hoyo en el techo y el agua caía en una cubeta... así que sí le falta algo de restauración.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brett Loats

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station, has themed nights to get to know other guests.

Disliked: Need to check in before 8 or your bed might go. Apparently listed on page but not on confirmation email. Booked a month before arrival and only check email confirmations prior to check in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriel Mendible

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the spaghetti party and the free champagne. There's also a barcrawl

Disliked: Gabriel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, particularly its close proximity to the train station. We were upgraded on the second night to a private room instead of a six bed dorm which was a huge bonus!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near the train station and maybe 15 minutes walk from the old town and beach. Staff was very friendly and helpfull, you could see that they care about their customers and I think this reflected also to customers because the whole atmosphere was relaxed and friendly! Free WLAN was good to have and air conditioning in room was exelent!

Disliked: The WLAN was a bit slow and disconnecting every now and then.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EUNJEONG SHIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 EUNJEONG would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff,clean & comfortable spaces,nice budget!!! Everything was great!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the pasta nights, and the staff was actually very friendly and would let you leave your luggage with them if you arrived early.

Disliked: N/A

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

JoAnn M. Williams

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014

Liked: Convenient to train station, shopping and beach area.

Disliked: Building is old and needs upgrades to furnishings and bathroom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014

Liked: Location, friendly ans helpful staff

Disliked: I was staying in a 6 person mixed dorm room. The toilet of the room was not very clean and there was no lock on it's door?! Not very nice if you're staying with 5 strangers. And that was the only toilet available, no other toilets in the corridor on anything. The Wi-fi in the room was very bad, hardly working, very slow and at times no connection at all. The bed was too soft, and I mean way too soft - I kind of sank in it and couldn't sleep at all. I was supposed to stay for 5 nights, but left after one night. At least I got my money back, which was nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very accommodating, and great location

Disliked: Overall facilities, it is a little bit rundown and in need of renovation.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Tom Garrity

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014

Liked: The location & price...that's it

Disliked: When we showed up (no thanks to the poor directions) the receptionist told us that the 8 bed dorm we had booked was full. So what was the point in booking? He offered us either a 10 bed dorm for €5 less than we paid, or we could pay the difference for a 6 bed dorm. We chose the 10 bed. The room was extremely hot the AC didnt work and the rest of the room was disgustingly dirty. My bed had dried blood on the floor along with discarded used plasters. I stayed for 3 days, 2 nights and the floor and general room was never cleaned. To top it off me and my friend have been bitten by what looks like bed bugs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Only about a 10min walk from the old town and the beach

Disliked: Shower was small and the staff were friendly but not overly helpful

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Cohen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: I was able to meet and connect with tons of travelers!!!!! The spaghetti party is a great bonus :). The staff went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible!

Disliked: I wish it was a little closer to the beach... But you can't change that!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. It's very close to Nice Ville Station and there are lots of restaurant around.

Disliked: It's a long walk to the beach.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good location, staff prepared meals

Disliked: slow elevator

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to railway

Disliked: Close to railway also means a little rougher neighborhood, but not scary like other major cities. Proximity to sites not far walk but still out of the loop.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was fantastic! The kitchen and courtyard areas were full of people keen for a chat and a drink. The rooms were fine, had an ensuite bathroom. All pretty clean. Staff were super friendly.

Disliked: The location was great for the train (around the corner) but quite a walk to the old town and promenade (but can't be close to everything!). The cage under my bed was broken.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

HANNAH THOMSON

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 May 2014 HANNAH would recommend this property

Liked: Tv in the room and balcony

Disliked: HANNAH left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Arvind Jayashankar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Arvind would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean.

Disliked: A bit expensive for what we get, but it's Nice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, large secure lockable cages under the beds (you need a large padlock however - mine was too small). The first receptionist was lovely - really friendly, smiley, and helpful. The others were not as lovely, but still helpful enough.

Disliked: All of the following may well be because it was a quiet period for the hostel, being just after new years, however: - I was placed in a six bed dorm in the furthest location from the lobby, despite the hostel being very quiet (there were surely dorms closer to the lobby available. - The dorm room had a very strong body odour smell (more a reflection on the one other person staying in the dorm room than the hostel itself). - The kitchen, while relatively well stocked was haphazard with its cleaning products. On one day there was a washing up brush but no detergent, on the next the washing detergent was replenished, but there was no washing up brush! - The light switches in the stairwell are few and far between, and are of the automatic type which switches off after 10 seconds or so. This leads to a very dark journey up the stairs to the fifth floor if you don't want to take the lift!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived late on our check in day (around 10:45 PM), and the guy working behind the counter was very nice and accommodating. He upgraded our room for no extra cost. The room was very nice and had a large TV, and was very clean. The common room looks like it has recently been renovated, the wi-fi was pretty good quality, and there were lots of free computers for use. The location was also very close to shopping, restaurants, and a reasonable distance from the beach, etc.

Disliked: The only thing I could have complained about was the noise from water running through the pipes in the bathroom from upstairs. It was quite loud, but fine if you closed the bathroom door when you weren't using it.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels