We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Baccarat

Hostel | 39, rue d'Angleterre, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

87.4% Overall Rating

397 out of 465 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2015)

Gary Henhoeffer thinks…

"This place has a great atmosphere and excellent staff! The owner is amazing and routinely hands out free champagne and drinks. It is really important to him that you enjoy your stay and it shows.…"

Read all Hostel Baccarat reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Antares Hostel
19.54 USD

Hostel 84.6% 510 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
26.09 USD

Hostel 80.0% 18 reviews
Altair hostel
18.45 USD

Hostel 64.3% 531 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
21.83 USD

Hostel 84.8% 1126 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
25.93 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 34 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
26.20 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
42.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews
Hotel Comte de Nice
28.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.9% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

397 out of 465 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Baccarat'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 340 of 378 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and organized parties - this hostel is a great place to meet other backpackers. The air conditioning in the rooms was also a bonus.

Disliked: It could have been more secure, with better places to store your luggage, but overall it was a great place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Gardiner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved my stay here. They had a few parties like champagne and spaghetti which was either free or a cost a euro, they did get a bit wild but a really nice area to meet people and hang out.

Disliked: Nilch

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near train station, nice outdoor area.

Disliked: Lockers are cages under the beds.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of students, backpackers and young people. Had free champagne on the first night at the chill out room.

Disliked: The reception people were not so kind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect! I strongly recommend it to you.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gina Bartocci

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: I thought that the bathrooms and kitchen were very clean. The beds were pretty comfy. We arrived really late at night so it was convenient that it was next to the train station.

Disliked: Ummm my pillow case was far from "fraiche." The internet wasn't working most of the time that I was there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quite place easy to find, close to rail and tram station friendly staff

Disliked: no credit card - I had to withdraw money to pay. selling breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAMES IZARD

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 JAMES would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff are very warm and welcoming, the location in terms of both the station and the centre is very conveniently situated, the room was in excellent shape...it goes without saying that I HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE.

Disliked: I fail to think of anything negative, on the whole everything was satisfactory!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located near the train station. The staff were very friendly

Disliked: Toilet/shower was not cleaned often. In room lockers were awkward to use because they were cages under the beds.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tara Clifford

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: clean and the staff were very good, in particular Barbara (Babs) at reception! Very friendly and informative about things to do in Nice. Best staffie there!! Love the aussies Tara and Mel

Disliked: no proper lockers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was traveling alone and reserved a 8 person hostel for 16 euro a night. When I got there to check in they put me in a private room for the same cost. Very friendly staff!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are safe and clean, great location, free wifi and all stuff are very friendly, helpful :)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

09 November 2010 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: Great common room, lovely staff that help with travel to cannes and monaco, free internet and good position

Disliked: one person lift - hard with lots of bags

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Steven Roennfeldt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010

Liked: Communal garden area shared with Hostel Antares. 1 euro spaghetti party - all you can eat with wine! Free champagne hour too!

Disliked: Would have preferred staying at Antares. Kitchen was too small for so many people.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has free wifi and internet computers to use free of charge. There is a guest kitchen and a chill out room to use too.

Disliked: Kitchen is only available from 8am to 8pm and the staff could be much more helpful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel for backpackers. great for socialising. nice common room and outdoor area. tons of aussies

Disliked: bedrooms were a small and would have felt a bit uncomfortable being so close if the other guests were not as friendly as they were.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to meet new people and make friends. Very close to the train station.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Martin Nygren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Good internet access, good place to meet people. Quite big dorms, with only one bathroom. Not very clean, and the first day someone clogged up the sink, and this wasn't fixed for the rest of my stay. 20 mins from the beach, but there are restaurants in the area. Very close to the train station. Internet access in the lobby.

Disliked: Staff not very friendly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air-conditioning, ensuite

Disliked: No pool table as promised

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2010

Liked: Close to beach

Disliked: Rude reception, very expensive to stay and no facilities, wifi didn't work, no lockers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was perfect for a one-night stay, and did us well because it was so close to the train station. We got upgraded to a private room from a dorm, which I guess was because they made a mistake with our booking, but is suited us just fine!

Disliked: We didn't feel that safe when walking from the hostel towards the sea front, so caught a tram home instead of walking back later at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janae Donnelly

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

19 August 2010 Janae would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - 2 mins from central stationAll staff were really friendly and helpfulLots of young people

Disliked: Nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really easy to meet people because of the social activities held at the hostel. Also, free internet was great.

Disliked: Could be updated and a bit cleaner for the price.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen bar

Disliked: mowl in the badroom, not clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catherine Mooney

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

12 August 2010 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first Hostel experience, and I loved it! Great kitchen and patio in the back, "chill out" room with free Champagne at 9pm, and a really wonderful staff. Free wifi too :) Also, the people I met were absolutely wonderful, I'd definitely stay here again!

Disliked: The bathroom ameneties were not super awesome, my towel had a little hole in it and you have to hold the shower head the whole time... but se la vi :)


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels