We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Baccarat

Hostel | 39, rue d'Angleterre, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

87.4% Overall Rating

397 out of 465 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2015)

Gary Henhoeffer thinks…

"This place has a great atmosphere and excellent staff! The owner is amazing and routinely hands out free champagne and drinks. It is really important to him that you enjoy your stay and it shows.…"

Read all Hostel Baccarat reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Antares Hostel
19.49 USD

Hostel 84.6% 510 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
26.02 USD

Hostel 80.0% 18 reviews
Altair hostel
18.40 USD

Hostel 64.3% 531 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
21.77 USD

Hostel 84.8% 1126 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
23.13 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 34 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
26.13 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
42.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews
Hotel Comte de Nice
28.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.9% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

397 out of 465 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Baccarat'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 340 of 378 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Linville

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

20 July 2011 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I stayed at in Europe. They have a really good staff that is always helpful. The nights I was there we had a Champagne night that we drink a little for free. The outdoor courtyard area was amazing place to chill and the kitchen was outside too. My favorite person was a desk clerk named Lounis. He was funny and helped me find the places I want and by the end of my stay he was a new friend. He deserves a raise :)

Disliked: The street noise woke me up one day, but not unbearable.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011

Liked: The AC is probably the best part about this place.

Disliked: Go to this hostel if you came to Nice to party. They cram 12 people into a tiny dorm room, and it's very unlikely you will catch any sleep before 3am in the morning there. In the 4 nights I spent there, 2 of them were "entertained" by loud and drunk roommates who had gone out, 1 night because of the "all you can drink champagne night", and the last night they had their speaker system in the "chill room" turned to the max, making it like sleeping over a dance club (you feel the bass vibrations in your feet when you go to the bathroom). I'm no party pooper, but they clearly "design" the hostel experience so that you go back home after a few days of staying there and recuperate. So yeah, go here for partying and meeting like-minded people. Don't go if you are hoping to have a restful night to explore Nice and surrounding. Also, they need to take the internet out of their offer. It was occasionally up, but in the end I went to an Irish pub that had free Wifi in order to do email checking.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: It had a great environment for meeting people. The chill out room makes it almost impossible to not meet people if you try. And the hostel gives out free (albeit cheap) champagne to those mingling. There is a speaker system where anyone can plug in their iPods. It's just a fun atmosphere.

Disliked: The hostel gave almost everyone staying there a sore throat by the third night. Granted, going out and partying doesn't help, but the staff cranks the AC up making it very dry and cold at night, and it seemed somewhat dirty at times. No one got a cold or anything, but everyone was coughing or had lost their voice by the time we left, even those that weren't going out partying. The wifi/internet was out more often than it worked. So it was cool when it was available, but it often wasn't. The staff at the desk was very helpful, but the cleaning staff was rude. They would come in at 8 am telling people to check out (2 hours before check out time). And on our first morning there, they had mixed something up and were yelling at us to leave (while we were still half asleep), even though we had booked for 4 nights.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

William Humphreys

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: The atmosphere was pretty good

Disliked: DIrty, and we got bed bugs from here. DON'T STAY HERE WITHOUT A BED SHEET!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This hostel is more like a crummy hotel. I was forced to change rooms three times in two days. It is a terrible place to meet other travelers because there is no common area and there is not a friendly environment. It is was overpriced, and breakfast was not included. Wifi does not work whatsoever.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tatianna Hatzopoulos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Tatianna would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the staff member who checked me in put me in a 4 bed dorm instead of a 10 bed free of charge. I also liked the kitchen facility.

Disliked: The bathroom in the room was dirty when i first moved in and didnt get cleaned for the following 3 days of my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: SOOOOOOO CHILL!!! Cool courtyard, champagne nights every night I was there, met some really cool people. Great location, great atmosphere, it's like a party all the time.

Disliked: A little far from major attractions....15 minutes by walking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Winestone

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel! I wish I stayed for longer! The staff were lovely, good set up and great idea with the free champagne/ pasta parties. Good atmosphere, had an amazing time

Disliked: Nothing, good value for money

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My favorite hostel so far! The common area Has always got someone in there and the people I met were so friendly! Champagne night was great and the fact I was upgraded from a 10 bed to a 4 bed was a nice touch. Would defiantly stay here again.

Disliked: wifi was only available in certain spots.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Simpson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: this place was really cool. In a very close place to beach and train station.The owner/staff was very helpful. They could have charged more for how nice it was. I will deff stay here again when i go back

Disliked: the wifi was messed up when we were there, but there were computers to use in loby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Lazauskas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: - Everything was really good! Hangout area, staff, Rooms - Some nights they hosted 1euro dinner nights and the food was really good! - Met so many awesome people that i went travelling with again - Kitchen is really good

Disliked: -Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, very near the nice ville station. air conditioning available.

Disliked: there's no locker, but a lockable metal box. moreover, there is only one box for every 2 beds. wifi doesn't work, and we have to wait very long to use the computers downstairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Czernikiewicz

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: young atmosphere

Disliked: wifi was not working and very slow

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic time at Hostel Baccarat! It has a really fun atmosphere which made it so easy to meet people. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a fun and clean place in Nice. Price was right too.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Duval

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lots of amenities.

Disliked: The bathroom/shower situation was difficult at times because 12 of us shared one bathroom rather than the normal hostel style with several stalls and showers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SAPTARSHI BHATTACHARJEE

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 SAPTARSHI would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and the overall ambience was good for students. The hostel also has computers with free internet access. Also there is a chill-out room where you can relax. The location is very near to the main train station and local tram station is also nearby.

Disliked: Credit cards are not accepted here, so you have to carry cash. Although it is quite safe and secure, it would be better if personal lockers are available.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly staff, Located close to the train station so when I got lost in my hire car all I had to do was find some signs to the station

Disliked: Noisy during the night. Our room was just off the staircase and there were people up and down it all night. I think some way of limiting the noise at night is needed. It is full of young backpackers that want to drink and party and that is promoted. I will visit this place again though but ill bring some ear plugs. It is not he average Hostel and the party atmosphere in it actually adds to the experience. Don't let this put you off because as I say ill be back!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people

Disliked: Location was a bit far from the sights and the train station is not always the best location, but that's where most hostels are situated anyways.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Champagne parties, pasta dinners, great and helpful staff, nice property, met great people

Disliked: Closes from 3-6 for safety reasons so you have to get back early if you go out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Gallagher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, if you go to nice, go to this hostel, it was my second time there and had a great time.

Disliked: hmmmm....i guess sometimes the wifi wouldnt work, but only for about 10-min. cant think of anything else.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean, free internet

Disliked: Does not have lockers on the rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrew Friesen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station

Disliked: There was no breakfast and the internet was broken the entire time.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chong Zhi Kenneth Teow

Alone

Events / festivals

01 June 2011 Chong Zhi Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: very good locations

Disliked: no breakfast for the price

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kam Bong Cheung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Kam Bong would recommend this property

Liked: I know that is rare, but I got a free upgrade from a 6-bed dorm to a private double room.

Disliked: I was asked (at 9am) if I could return my room one and a half hours before the check out time (11am). That's was not a problem at all. But as I agreed to leave at 9.30am, a room keeper knocked on my door 10mins later. And before I answered the door, she had already entered the room with her key card (as I was changing clothes). And she even didn't apologise and just told me to leave soon. That was extremely RUDE and RIDICULOUS.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011

Liked: location air condition

Disliked: the beds were very bad the dorms are mixed no breakfast no internet (well, there are 4 computers in another building that are of course always occupied)


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels