We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Baccarat

Hostel | 39, rue d'Angleterre, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

89.1% Overall Rating

390 out of 457 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2014)

Mackenzie Oeftering thinks…

"So much fun!!!!! 3 euro spaghetti night or freEEEEE champagne night or whatever the heck else they do I'm bummed I only had 2 nights here I met heaps of great people the staff is so nice and helpful…"

Read all Hostel Baccarat reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Antares Hostel
17.58 USD

Hostel 83.8% 501 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
24.04 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Altair hostel
18.85 USD

Hostel 62.5% 525 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
16.45 USD

Hostel 86.2% 1117 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 86.5% 32 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
24.04 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
49.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

390 out of 457 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Baccarat'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 334 of 370 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sophia Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is great, it is huge, perfect location because its right near the train station so you can go to cannes or monte carlo easy and yet walk to the beach in nice. the staff were friendly. this place could be easily confused with a hotel aswell especially from its outside it looks like a hotel,.

Disliked: the wifi doesnt work unless you go into the other hotel and in the patio there is no lighting but they have computers that you can use so its all good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Apolito Silveira

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was VERY friendly. The room was clean and cozy. The building is beautiful and we liked so much staying there..

Disliked: The breakfast is not included in the price and it's a little expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Dreckman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice and clean place with a helpful staff and free internet access (multiple computers available to use) It was also very close to the Nice Ville Train station

Disliked: It was the most expensive hostel I stayed in during my Europe travels

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011

Liked: The location is really good as its 100m away from train station and like a 5min walk to the main square in Nice. Also the lady at reception was really nice and helpful too. If you are getting this hostel nice and cheap than go for it, but I paid pretty good money there and it was not worth it.

Disliked: My room had a bad odour about it. everytime you walked in there it would hit you. There was mould throughout the shower, not too much but there wasn't a tile where you couldn't see evidence of mould. My bedside lamp flickered when it was turned on. there are no laundry services available there and the worst thing is to access the wifi you had to sit out in the courtyard to get signal.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has a air conditioner in the room.

Disliked: wifi is not working. you have to go garden to use a wifi. it's annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cohen rebecca

Alone

City break

22 August 2011 Cohen would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place !

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen for free usage

Disliked: The poor internet connection was just annoying. There was a roach and one mouse in our dorm.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access from Nice train station.

Disliked: Very unreliable wifi. Was told to go outside and log into the next door neighbours!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and kindness staff

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jolene Davidson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Jolene would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Great social atmosphere. Helpful & friendly staff.

Disliked: Unreliable wifi access.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 August 2011

Liked: The location is quite good - not far from train station, short walk to main street and promenade.

Disliked: I could not fit my legs around the toilet to sit on it properly due to a wall being in the way and a waste pipe protruding from the floor. The shower was blocked and took too long to drain. The first member of staff was a young girl and she was very helpful but there was also quite an ignorant unfriendly chap there who worked nights mostly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's near from station, and it's good place for sightseeing.

Disliked: i think it's a bit expensive for one night...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carmen Doran

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2011 Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: Too noisy people in the room, not the hostel's fault, but did spoil the stay somewhat

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly atmosphere, the people who lived there were pretty easy to come in contact with. Also the location was wonderful, close to the station and easy to find. Although it's not really opposite of the station as they describe, it's still not a long walk.

Disliked: When we arrived, quite late, but still, there was a big party going on and the place were a bit in chaos. We got booked seperatly twice in full rooms before we found free bunks and the party people were pretty loud up until late. Would appreciate it if they sent the party elsewhere (a club?) so people would be able to sleep. The other nights were quiet and we changed beds in the morning so we all got in the same room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Katherine Curnow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Dan and the lady at the reception were very nice and accommodating. I was bumped up into a private room for no extra cost and I needed to extend my stay and even though it was really busy they let me stay an extra night. When I moved into the dorm room for my second night I found the bathroom ensuite and the room itself immaculately clean! They have free champagne nights on the weekends which was a really good chance to meet the other people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: They didn't offer any activities other than drinking - there were no flyers or anything informing the guests of what was available in Nice, none on show anyway.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lucas Ward

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Close to both the main train station and the main road leading into the beach.

Disliked: One bathroom for 8 people and only 1 key for the dorm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tyler OSullivan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the activities run most evenings such as the free champagne party and pasta party - really helped people get to know each other! There was also always someone to chat to in the court yard and just a really friendly atmosphere helped by the very friendly staff. Its in a great location mere moments from the train station and i found the rooms to be clean and adequate.

Disliked: of course its a little expensive but this is the case with any hostel in Nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacob Kostrzewski

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: The location is wonderful, 5 minutes from the train station by foot and about 20 minutes by foot from Old Town (Vieille Nice) and the beach. Rooms are good, beds and pillows are comfortable. The common room and outdoor hang-out area offer good places to meet new people. I had an amazing time, definitely one of the best hostel experiences. Met many wonderful people. Good parties, staff was fun. Occasional free champagne nights were a fun, albeit crowded experience. Overall I'd definitely recommend Hostel Baccarat!

Disliked: Cleaning services wake you up at 9am every morning and ask if you're leaving. This is extremely annoying if you're planning on sleeping in. No breakfast included, which was disappointing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adi motil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 adi would recommend this property

Liked: everything!!!! the staff are amazing! the location is very good, they have free wine and champagne parties, i was in a private room so i don't know how the doorms look like but my room was really good!! again the staff are sooo amazing!. free internet and wifi, amazing value for money! would go there again as soon as i can!!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Linville

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

20 July 2011 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I stayed at in Europe. They have a really good staff that is always helpful. The nights I was there we had a Champagne night that we drink a little for free. The outdoor courtyard area was amazing place to chill and the kitchen was outside too. My favorite person was a desk clerk named Lounis. He was funny and helped me find the places I want and by the end of my stay he was a new friend. He deserves a raise :)

Disliked: The street noise woke me up one day, but not unbearable.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011

Liked: The AC is probably the best part about this place.

Disliked: Go to this hostel if you came to Nice to party. They cram 12 people into a tiny dorm room, and it's very unlikely you will catch any sleep before 3am in the morning there. In the 4 nights I spent there, 2 of them were "entertained" by loud and drunk roommates who had gone out, 1 night because of the "all you can drink champagne night", and the last night they had their speaker system in the "chill room" turned to the max, making it like sleeping over a dance club (you feel the bass vibrations in your feet when you go to the bathroom). I'm no party pooper, but they clearly "design" the hostel experience so that you go back home after a few days of staying there and recuperate. So yeah, go here for partying and meeting like-minded people. Don't go if you are hoping to have a restful night to explore Nice and surrounding. Also, they need to take the internet out of their offer. It was occasionally up, but in the end I went to an Irish pub that had free Wifi in order to do email checking.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: It had a great environment for meeting people. The chill out room makes it almost impossible to not meet people if you try. And the hostel gives out free (albeit cheap) champagne to those mingling. There is a speaker system where anyone can plug in their iPods. It's just a fun atmosphere.

Disliked: The hostel gave almost everyone staying there a sore throat by the third night. Granted, going out and partying doesn't help, but the staff cranks the AC up making it very dry and cold at night, and it seemed somewhat dirty at times. No one got a cold or anything, but everyone was coughing or had lost their voice by the time we left, even those that weren't going out partying. The wifi/internet was out more often than it worked. So it was cool when it was available, but it often wasn't. The staff at the desk was very helpful, but the cleaning staff was rude. They would come in at 8 am telling people to check out (2 hours before check out time). And on our first morning there, they had mixed something up and were yelling at us to leave (while we were still half asleep), even though we had booked for 4 nights.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

William Humphreys

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: The atmosphere was pretty good

Disliked: DIrty, and we got bed bugs from here. DON'T STAY HERE WITHOUT A BED SHEET!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This hostel is more like a crummy hotel. I was forced to change rooms three times in two days. It is a terrible place to meet other travelers because there is no common area and there is not a friendly environment. It is was overpriced, and breakfast was not included. Wifi does not work whatsoever.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tatianna Hatzopoulos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Tatianna would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the staff member who checked me in put me in a 4 bed dorm instead of a 10 bed free of charge. I also liked the kitchen facility.

Disliked: The bathroom in the room was dirty when i first moved in and didnt get cleaned for the following 3 days of my stay.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels