HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Baccarat

Hostel | 39, rue d'Angleterre, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

82.1% Overall Rating

370 out of 437 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Good location, near the train station and maybe 15 minutes walk from the old town and beach. Staff was very friendly and helpfull, you could see that they care about their customers and I think this reflected also to…"

Read all Hostel Baccarat reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Antares Hostel
40.04 USD

Hostel 83.7% 489 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
43.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
38.70 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Altair hostel
27.99 USD

Hostel 66.4% 518 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
27.45 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1105 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
34.68 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 31 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
30.80 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
52.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

370 out of 437 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Baccarat'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 322 of 350 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carmen Doran

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2011 Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: Too noisy people in the room, not the hostel's fault, but did spoil the stay somewhat

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly atmosphere, the people who lived there were pretty easy to come in contact with. Also the location was wonderful, close to the station and easy to find. Although it's not really opposite of the station as they describe, it's still not a long walk.

Disliked: When we arrived, quite late, but still, there was a big party going on and the place were a bit in chaos. We got booked seperatly twice in full rooms before we found free bunks and the party people were pretty loud up until late. Would appreciate it if they sent the party elsewhere (a club?) so people would be able to sleep. The other nights were quiet and we changed beds in the morning so we all got in the same room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Katherine Curnow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Dan and the lady at the reception were very nice and accommodating. I was bumped up into a private room for no extra cost and I needed to extend my stay and even though it was really busy they let me stay an extra night. When I moved into the dorm room for my second night I found the bathroom ensuite and the room itself immaculately clean! They have free champagne nights on the weekends which was a really good chance to meet the other people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: They didn't offer any activities other than drinking - there were no flyers or anything informing the guests of what was available in Nice, none on show anyway.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lucas Ward

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Close to both the main train station and the main road leading into the beach.

Disliked: One bathroom for 8 people and only 1 key for the dorm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tyler OSullivan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the activities run most evenings such as the free champagne party and pasta party - really helped people get to know each other! There was also always someone to chat to in the court yard and just a really friendly atmosphere helped by the very friendly staff. Its in a great location mere moments from the train station and i found the rooms to be clean and adequate.

Disliked: of course its a little expensive but this is the case with any hostel in Nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacob Kostrzewski

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: The location is wonderful, 5 minutes from the train station by foot and about 20 minutes by foot from Old Town (Vieille Nice) and the beach. Rooms are good, beds and pillows are comfortable. The common room and outdoor hang-out area offer good places to meet new people. I had an amazing time, definitely one of the best hostel experiences. Met many wonderful people. Good parties, staff was fun. Occasional free champagne nights were a fun, albeit crowded experience. Overall I'd definitely recommend Hostel Baccarat!

Disliked: Cleaning services wake you up at 9am every morning and ask if you're leaving. This is extremely annoying if you're planning on sleeping in. No breakfast included, which was disappointing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adi motil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 adi would recommend this property

Liked: everything!!!! the staff are amazing! the location is very good, they have free wine and champagne parties, i was in a private room so i don't know how the doorms look like but my room was really good!! again the staff are sooo amazing!. free internet and wifi, amazing value for money! would go there again as soon as i can!!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Linville

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

20 July 2011 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I stayed at in Europe. They have a really good staff that is always helpful. The nights I was there we had a Champagne night that we drink a little for free. The outdoor courtyard area was amazing place to chill and the kitchen was outside too. My favorite person was a desk clerk named Lounis. He was funny and helped me find the places I want and by the end of my stay he was a new friend. He deserves a raise :)

Disliked: The street noise woke me up one day, but not unbearable.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011

Liked: The AC is probably the best part about this place.

Disliked: Go to this hostel if you came to Nice to party. They cram 12 people into a tiny dorm room, and it's very unlikely you will catch any sleep before 3am in the morning there. In the 4 nights I spent there, 2 of them were "entertained" by loud and drunk roommates who had gone out, 1 night because of the "all you can drink champagne night", and the last night they had their speaker system in the "chill room" turned to the max, making it like sleeping over a dance club (you feel the bass vibrations in your feet when you go to the bathroom). I'm no party pooper, but they clearly "design" the hostel experience so that you go back home after a few days of staying there and recuperate. So yeah, go here for partying and meeting like-minded people. Don't go if you are hoping to have a restful night to explore Nice and surrounding. Also, they need to take the internet out of their offer. It was occasionally up, but in the end I went to an Irish pub that had free Wifi in order to do email checking.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: It had a great environment for meeting people. The chill out room makes it almost impossible to not meet people if you try. And the hostel gives out free (albeit cheap) champagne to those mingling. There is a speaker system where anyone can plug in their iPods. It's just a fun atmosphere.

Disliked: The hostel gave almost everyone staying there a sore throat by the third night. Granted, going out and partying doesn't help, but the staff cranks the AC up making it very dry and cold at night, and it seemed somewhat dirty at times. No one got a cold or anything, but everyone was coughing or had lost their voice by the time we left, even those that weren't going out partying. The wifi/internet was out more often than it worked. So it was cool when it was available, but it often wasn't. The staff at the desk was very helpful, but the cleaning staff was rude. They would come in at 8 am telling people to check out (2 hours before check out time). And on our first morning there, they had mixed something up and were yelling at us to leave (while we were still half asleep), even though we had booked for 4 nights.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

William Humphreys

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: The atmosphere was pretty good

Disliked: DIrty, and we got bed bugs from here. DON'T STAY HERE WITHOUT A BED SHEET!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This hostel is more like a crummy hotel. I was forced to change rooms three times in two days. It is a terrible place to meet other travelers because there is no common area and there is not a friendly environment. It is was overpriced, and breakfast was not included. Wifi does not work whatsoever.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tatianna Hatzopoulos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Tatianna would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the staff member who checked me in put me in a 4 bed dorm instead of a 10 bed free of charge. I also liked the kitchen facility.

Disliked: The bathroom in the room was dirty when i first moved in and didnt get cleaned for the following 3 days of my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: SOOOOOOO CHILL!!! Cool courtyard, champagne nights every night I was there, met some really cool people. Great location, great atmosphere, it's like a party all the time.

Disliked: A little far from major attractions....15 minutes by walking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Winestone

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel! I wish I stayed for longer! The staff were lovely, good set up and great idea with the free champagne/ pasta parties. Good atmosphere, had an amazing time

Disliked: Nothing, good value for money

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My favorite hostel so far! The common area Has always got someone in there and the people I met were so friendly! Champagne night was great and the fact I was upgraded from a 10 bed to a 4 bed was a nice touch. Would defiantly stay here again.

Disliked: wifi was only available in certain spots.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Simpson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: this place was really cool. In a very close place to beach and train station.The owner/staff was very helpful. They could have charged more for how nice it was. I will deff stay here again when i go back

Disliked: the wifi was messed up when we were there, but there were computers to use in loby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Lazauskas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: - Everything was really good! Hangout area, staff, Rooms - Some nights they hosted 1euro dinner nights and the food was really good! - Met so many awesome people that i went travelling with again - Kitchen is really good

Disliked: -Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, very near the nice ville station. air conditioning available.

Disliked: there's no locker, but a lockable metal box. moreover, there is only one box for every 2 beds. wifi doesn't work, and we have to wait very long to use the computers downstairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Czernikiewicz

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: young atmosphere

Disliked: wifi was not working and very slow

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic time at Hostel Baccarat! It has a really fun atmosphere which made it so easy to meet people. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a fun and clean place in Nice. Price was right too.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Duval

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lots of amenities.

Disliked: The bathroom/shower situation was difficult at times because 12 of us shared one bathroom rather than the normal hostel style with several stalls and showers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SAPTARSHI BHATTACHARJEE

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 SAPTARSHI would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and the overall ambience was good for students. The hostel also has computers with free internet access. Also there is a chill-out room where you can relax. The location is very near to the main train station and local tram station is also nearby.

Disliked: Credit cards are not accepted here, so you have to carry cash. Although it is quite safe and secure, it would be better if personal lockers are available.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly staff, Located close to the train station so when I got lost in my hire car all I had to do was find some signs to the station

Disliked: Noisy during the night. Our room was just off the staircase and there were people up and down it all night. I think some way of limiting the noise at night is needed. It is full of young backpackers that want to drink and party and that is promoted. I will visit this place again though but ill bring some ear plugs. It is not he average Hostel and the party atmosphere in it actually adds to the experience. Don't let this put you off because as I say ill be back!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people

Disliked: Location was a bit far from the sights and the train station is not always the best location, but that's where most hostels are situated anyways.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels