We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Baccarat

Hostel | 39, rue d'Angleterre, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

86.5% Overall Rating

387 out of 454 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Asher Goldman thinks…

"What an awesome place to stay! Really. I stayed in 16 hostels on my trip, and this was easily the best one. First night I was there, they had all you can eat pasta and 2 glasses of wine for 3 euros,…"

Read all Hostel Baccarat reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Antares Hostel
20.58 USD

Hostel 84.2% 500 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
31.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
25.89 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Altair hostel
20.58 USD

Hostel 62.9% 524 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
19.42 USD

Hostel 85.8% 1116 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
24.27 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 31 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
28.48 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
50.49 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

387 out of 454 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Baccarat'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 332 of 367 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Garth Turton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Garth would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to it all.. great wifi to each level

Disliked: Garth left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Leandro Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station, good bathroom in the room. Pasta dinner was a great way to bring guests together at a table, made all the difference for a solo backpacker such as myself. Free champagne nights were good too (even if the champagne wasn't). Funny how the common rooms in the back connect to a neighbouring hotel, you find an exit and whoops, it's another reception on another street.

Disliked: Had to go downstairs for wifi, and the desktops weren't so good. The dorm didn't have a good vibe, it was dark I guess, the windows were tricky to deal with and covered with towels as guests didn't have anywhere to dry them (bunkbeds were glued together).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Isabella Jureidini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 October 2012

Liked: The location was pretty good - only a 20 minute walk to the beach down a nice shopping street. The room had air conditioning and the bathroom was clean. We had the room to ourselves which was good, we would not have enjoyed our stay as much without it.

Disliked: There is basically no atmosphere. The rooms are cold and clinical and have only the pure basics. If you're coming in the summer and plan to spend most of your time outside then it's fine, just don't expect much. Also, the directions on how to get here are useless.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the train station.

Disliked: The kitchen closes too early (at 9:00pm).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chia-Hsun Chang

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Chia-Hsun would recommend this property

Liked: Close to rail station and city centre. The price is cheap. Have slef-owned locker.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Virén

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Best place in Nice! We had an awesome time here. We got upgraded to a private room with balcony, tv and a own bathroom for about the same price as the six beds dorm we booked at first! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the free champange one night was great! A really good place to meet people. And if you are looking for a place to go partying, go to Waynes. It is a bar with liveband playing every night, it is really crowded and so much fun!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 2 euro all you can eat pasta and wine was a big hit!!

Disliked: It was a bit confusing where everthing was within the building. A bit pricier that it needed to be, but it is Nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice and cozy courtyard, the kitchen we could use, the computers, the chillout rooms, the other guests...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Saga Fahlen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

21 September 2012

Liked: + Location

Disliked: - Too crowded - Noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very close the the train station and not far from the coast or the main stretch. The kitchen has everything you may need to make a meal. The beds were comfortable. Great hostel to meet fellow travelers. Nice is a great location for making base to check out Monaco, Cannes, and other locations on the French Riviera. Free champagne one night!

Disliked: More outlets in the rooms would serve well. Internet connection was touch and go, with not a lot of touching. Kitchen was fantastic on several levels, but if you try to make a meal anytime after 19:00 it is utter chaos, as everyone else is trying to do the same.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I'll be honest if you're looking to stay in Nice it's going to be expensive, which is why Baccarat was perfect for me and my friend on our interrailing trip looking for a one night stop to get us from Italy on our way through towards Spain. It's cheap with a lively atmosphere being on one of the main roads with plenty of bars all around and even one inside the hostel itself! It's also a very short walk from the train station which is what you want with big bags. There are also plenty of PC's with Internet access downstairs.

Disliked: The location comes with a compromise, it's noisy so bring your earplugs. Roommates crawling in at the middle of the night turning lights on didn't help matters either but this is a bit of a party hostel and can be expected. Staff at check in we're a bit awkward only having a hostelworld list to hand and took a while to sort us out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great party atmosphere, close to the station, near the main shops and 10 min walk from the beach. The owner of the place would pour free wine during the evenings which made every night a fun night. The kitchen was nice and there backyard court was a nice setting to have your meals. You can also walk up the stairs and cut through another hostel to reach the road near the station, really handy since the supermarket was right next to it.

Disliked: The rooms were quite small and was very dark, can get quite humid in there. Wifi is hit and miss, you need to fiddle around with the various connections to get a decent connection.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff and some brilliant pasta and champagne nights that make a cheap and tasty meal! Excellent location and so easy to get everywhere.

Disliked: Bathrooms were not in the best state and guests can often be loud and rowdy. A good party atmosphere though if that's what you're after. Wireless internet was also not terribly reliable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Cooper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were fine, with comfy beds (although make sure you turn the air con on in the daytime as Nice obviously gets pretty warm!). The cooking area has plenty of utensils you can use and two gas ovens. There is an area with about a dozen computers which are free to use. Although the best thing has to be the spaghetti evenings which seem to be done pretty frequently. A big thank you to the staff on that one, who cook and serve it for you! It's a great way to meet other people in the hostel, oh and you get loads of free wine too!!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012

Liked: I like the young female receptionist. I forgot her name. She seemed to be the only one there who was friendly and kind. the hostel has a lift, which is good for you if you have heavy luggage. you can use the wifi from your room. it's convenient

Disliked: the facility was not so good. it looked very old. i expected to pay less for a place like that. i also had some problems with the shower there. the water suddenly stopped running when i was showering. but when i switched to another shower room, the water ran normally. dont know what happend

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Rowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were AMAZING! they were so accommodating they even upgraded my friend and I from the 8 bed dorm to a private room for two with a balcony and flat screen..luxury we hadnt had in a while! The 8 bed dorm was great aswell air con worked brilliantly and had a private ensuit. Also the 2 euro pasta and champagne nite was the best nite i had in Nice...free champagne all nite dancing away in the hostel chill out room so much fun!!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, fun atmosphere and a good value. 2 euro pasta and wine nights as well as champagne nights are great!

Disliked: bathroom was a little dirty, but to be expected when travelling in a hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean facility quite atmosphere

Disliked: far from beach... had to ride tram all the time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beatiful hotel! good enviorement!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free champagne party

Disliked: lack of info

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: I booked five nights in 6 bed dorm but there is no vacancy bed. After staying 2 nights in 8 bed dorm, I could move to 6 bed dorm

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catalina Suarez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Catalina would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice how close it was to the station and to place Massena (20 minute walk or else two minutes on the metro). The staff were very friendly and flexible and they seemed to do as much as they could to please their customers. This along with the great hangout facilities made an impact on the atmosphere which was friendly. I felt very relaxed while there and compared to other hostels I met a lot of very nice travellers.

Disliked: I did not like the toilets in the place and you could tell that it was a 2 star hotel (bad stove, some doors would not close etc). Even though it was cleaned every day, the bedroom areas did not seem to look it! It was not aesthetically nice! But if you are staying for a few days this really does not matter!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, 2 euro pasta and wine dinner every 2nd night, 10 min walk from beach

Disliked: no common room with couches, only 1 key for a 6 bed dorm and it seems anyone could just ask for the key

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Pynenburg-Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 July 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, amazingly helpful staff, rooms nice and spacious, air conditioning!!! Every few days there is a pasta (2euros) or champagne party which is so great! Also a nice little garden with tables to have your meals at. Internet works well, easy access from train station, huge big locking things for your stuff, chill out room! So great that I booked extra nights!!!!

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, people, events and above all the social atmosphere

Disliked: beds could have been more comfortable; showers maybe cleaner


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels