We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Baccarat

Hostel | 39, rue d'Angleterre, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

87.4% Overall Rating

397 out of 465 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2015)

Gary Henhoeffer thinks…

"This place has a great atmosphere and excellent staff! The owner is amazing and routinely hands out free champagne and drinks. It is really important to him that you enjoy your stay and it shows.…"

Read all Hostel Baccarat reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Antares Hostel
19.91 USD

Hostel 84.2% 508 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
26.58 USD

Hostel 80.0% 18 reviews
Altair hostel
23.25 USD

Hostel 64.3% 531 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
22.24 USD

Hostel 85.5% 1125 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
26.42 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 34 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
26.69 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
43.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews
Hotel Comte de Nice
29.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.9% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

397 out of 465 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Baccarat'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 340 of 378 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rowan Boddington

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2013 Rowan would recommend this property

Liked: The Management were so friendly, spoke English and couldn't do enough to help, the facilities were excellent and the "Captain" threw Champagne parties every other night, win win in my books.

Disliked: Rowan left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station, grocery store, and laudrymat.

Disliked: It was a hassle to have to leave the room key with reception every time you leave the hostel. The room was dark and there was very little hot water. Most showers were luke warm at best. The hostel is located close to the train station but further away from actually attractions. We found it too cold to sleep without the heat on most notes as we were only provided with a sheet and a very thin duvet (which looked dirty). When we first arrived, the cleaning staff was in our room using the washroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a friendly laid back atmosphere. Lots of options to socilaise for a younger crowd,( free champagne party, pasta night - bargain at 2 euros for spagetti and glass of wine! It was still sufficiently peaceful for myself and my husband's break, and in such a central location was ideal (3 mins from Nice station which was ideal for our 20 minute commute to the Grand Prix in Monaco, surrounded by restaurants, Cafe's, town centre for shopping.. and 10 mins walk from beach

Disliked: Only issue was the lack of net curtain in our room and the bedding didn't seem that fresh on arrival , we think due to the last inhabitant smoking! The shower on some mornings was not hot enough. But the room was pleasant enough, but a little pricey considering we didn't have a kettle or fridge and the accomodation was basic. Understandably we knew it would be pricey during Grand prix season and the money we saved from staying here made it worth it. We had to pay in cash which was a bit of a hassle and would have been easier by card.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John Greig

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff always happy to help. In an excellent location close to the train station which is what I was looking for. Very easy to find. Rooms are a good size and the personal bathroom is a nice bonus. Will be returning to Nice next year and will definately be staying here again.

Disliked: Would have liked to have been allocated a specific bad as it was unclear as to which beds were available when i got to the room. This was soon sorted when the other occupants returned.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 May 2013

Liked: NONE

Disliked: 脏乱差,热水只能持续几分钟,新买的一瓶水在房间不翼而飞,床单什么的就像垃圾堆捡回来的,极力避免。

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is near center

Disliked: it doesnt have wifi in rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grissell Medina

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Grissell would recommend this property

Liked: We were lucky and got a private room instead of the dorm that we had booked, it was small but cute with tv, twin beds and bathroom inside. Didn't see the dorm rooms but location was good, tiny elevator but good when you have luggage.

Disliked: The directions are not clear, you have to go left when you get out of Nice Ville train station, then, walk straight for two blocks (until Rue d'anglaterre). Cross the street and turn right on Rue d'Anglaterre (there's a chinese restaurant on the corner and it's one street before the tram). The hostel is about 100m down that street. Hope this helps!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tiffany Norte

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: The owner does a 2 euro all you can eat pasta and wine night about 3 or 4 times a week. It's a great deal, and an awesome way to meet other travelers

Disliked: The cleanliness was ok, but the place had a bit of a grunge feel to it

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Garth Turton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Garth would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to it all.. great wifi to each level

Disliked: Garth left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Leandro Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station, good bathroom in the room. Pasta dinner was a great way to bring guests together at a table, made all the difference for a solo backpacker such as myself. Free champagne nights were good too (even if the champagne wasn't). Funny how the common rooms in the back connect to a neighbouring hotel, you find an exit and whoops, it's another reception on another street.

Disliked: Had to go downstairs for wifi, and the desktops weren't so good. The dorm didn't have a good vibe, it was dark I guess, the windows were tricky to deal with and covered with towels as guests didn't have anywhere to dry them (bunkbeds were glued together).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Isabella Jureidini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 October 2012

Liked: The location was pretty good - only a 20 minute walk to the beach down a nice shopping street. The room had air conditioning and the bathroom was clean. We had the room to ourselves which was good, we would not have enjoyed our stay as much without it.

Disliked: There is basically no atmosphere. The rooms are cold and clinical and have only the pure basics. If you're coming in the summer and plan to spend most of your time outside then it's fine, just don't expect much. Also, the directions on how to get here are useless.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the train station.

Disliked: The kitchen closes too early (at 9:00pm).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chia-Hsun Chang

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Chia-Hsun would recommend this property

Liked: Close to rail station and city centre. The price is cheap. Have slef-owned locker.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Virén

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Best place in Nice! We had an awesome time here. We got upgraded to a private room with balcony, tv and a own bathroom for about the same price as the six beds dorm we booked at first! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the free champange one night was great! A really good place to meet people. And if you are looking for a place to go partying, go to Waynes. It is a bar with liveband playing every night, it is really crowded and so much fun!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 2 euro all you can eat pasta and wine was a big hit!!

Disliked: It was a bit confusing where everthing was within the building. A bit pricier that it needed to be, but it is Nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice and cozy courtyard, the kitchen we could use, the computers, the chillout rooms, the other guests...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Saga Fahlen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

21 September 2012

Liked: + Location

Disliked: - Too crowded - Noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very close the the train station and not far from the coast or the main stretch. The kitchen has everything you may need to make a meal. The beds were comfortable. Great hostel to meet fellow travelers. Nice is a great location for making base to check out Monaco, Cannes, and other locations on the French Riviera. Free champagne one night!

Disliked: More outlets in the rooms would serve well. Internet connection was touch and go, with not a lot of touching. Kitchen was fantastic on several levels, but if you try to make a meal anytime after 19:00 it is utter chaos, as everyone else is trying to do the same.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I'll be honest if you're looking to stay in Nice it's going to be expensive, which is why Baccarat was perfect for me and my friend on our interrailing trip looking for a one night stop to get us from Italy on our way through towards Spain. It's cheap with a lively atmosphere being on one of the main roads with plenty of bars all around and even one inside the hostel itself! It's also a very short walk from the train station which is what you want with big bags. There are also plenty of PC's with Internet access downstairs.

Disliked: The location comes with a compromise, it's noisy so bring your earplugs. Roommates crawling in at the middle of the night turning lights on didn't help matters either but this is a bit of a party hostel and can be expected. Staff at check in we're a bit awkward only having a hostelworld list to hand and took a while to sort us out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great party atmosphere, close to the station, near the main shops and 10 min walk from the beach. The owner of the place would pour free wine during the evenings which made every night a fun night. The kitchen was nice and there backyard court was a nice setting to have your meals. You can also walk up the stairs and cut through another hostel to reach the road near the station, really handy since the supermarket was right next to it.

Disliked: The rooms were quite small and was very dark, can get quite humid in there. Wifi is hit and miss, you need to fiddle around with the various connections to get a decent connection.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff and some brilliant pasta and champagne nights that make a cheap and tasty meal! Excellent location and so easy to get everywhere.

Disliked: Bathrooms were not in the best state and guests can often be loud and rowdy. A good party atmosphere though if that's what you're after. Wireless internet was also not terribly reliable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Cooper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were fine, with comfy beds (although make sure you turn the air con on in the daytime as Nice obviously gets pretty warm!). The cooking area has plenty of utensils you can use and two gas ovens. There is an area with about a dozen computers which are free to use. Although the best thing has to be the spaghetti evenings which seem to be done pretty frequently. A big thank you to the staff on that one, who cook and serve it for you! It's a great way to meet other people in the hostel, oh and you get loads of free wine too!!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012

Liked: I like the young female receptionist. I forgot her name. She seemed to be the only one there who was friendly and kind. the hostel has a lift, which is good for you if you have heavy luggage. you can use the wifi from your room. it's convenient

Disliked: the facility was not so good. it looked very old. i expected to pay less for a place like that. i also had some problems with the shower there. the water suddenly stopped running when i was showering. but when i switched to another shower room, the water ran normally. dont know what happend

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Rowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were AMAZING! they were so accommodating they even upgraded my friend and I from the 8 bed dorm to a private room for two with a balcony and flat screen..luxury we hadnt had in a while! The 8 bed dorm was great aswell air con worked brilliantly and had a private ensuit. Also the 2 euro pasta and champagne nite was the best nite i had in Nice...free champagne all nite dancing away in the hostel chill out room so much fun!!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, fun atmosphere and a good value. 2 euro pasta and wine nights as well as champagne nights are great!

Disliked: bathroom was a little dirty, but to be expected when travelling in a hostel.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels