HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Baccarat

Hostel | 39, rue d'Angleterre, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

82.1% Overall Rating

370 out of 437 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Good location, near the train station and maybe 15 minutes walk from the old town and beach. Staff was very friendly and helpfull, you could see that they care about their customers and I think this reflected also to…"

Read all Hostel Baccarat reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Antares Hostel
32.02 USD

Hostel 83.4% 488 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
41.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
37.51 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Altair hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 66.4% 518 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
27.47 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1105 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
34.70 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 31 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
30.81 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
52.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

370 out of 437 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Baccarat'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 322 of 350 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicole copestake

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 nicole would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely wonderful, when we arrived they had overbooked our rooms so they upgraded us to one of their hotel private rooms instead. the rooms were very clean with a nice bathroom and balcony to dry our clothes out on. There was a good social atmosphere every night with the hostel hosting little events such as spaghetti night and one night they gave free bubbly to everyone befor heading out to the town. The receptionist was very helpful in telling us which beaches to visit and how to get there. the wifi was also very fast.

Disliked: nicole left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The food

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013

Liked: Nil.

Disliked: This is a HOTEL which transformed several hotel rooms into bunk bedded hostel dorms. Didn't feel the sense of staying in a hostel cuz there isn't really a place for people to gather and talk to each other (though there is a chill-out-room which is small and I believe was turned from a cafe).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siriporn Dachasilaruk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Siriporn would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: Siriporn left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Lara Merrington

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

03 July 2013 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, good common areas, internet

Disliked: Small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Evening activities, good location, nice people

Disliked: Bathroom got a little dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Kuprenkova

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! The best i've ever seen. Very clean, good location and amazing atmosphere. The stuff was very helpful, specially Romain :) First night we wanted to go out but there was a great party in the hostel, so we stayed there, dancing and drinking (the owner serves unlimited free drinks). Actually we drank more than we had paid for staying there :) Hopefully, the hostel wouldn't become a bankrupt after the visit of Russian girls! Thus we spent all our nights in the hostel and i don't regret about it. Much better place than a 4-star hotel we had stayed before. Comfortable beds, nice people. Would recommend to everybody!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rowan Boddington

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2013 Rowan would recommend this property

Liked: The Management were so friendly, spoke English and couldn't do enough to help, the facilities were excellent and the "Captain" threw Champagne parties every other night, win win in my books.

Disliked: Rowan left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station, grocery store, and laudrymat.

Disliked: It was a hassle to have to leave the room key with reception every time you leave the hostel. The room was dark and there was very little hot water. Most showers were luke warm at best. The hostel is located close to the train station but further away from actually attractions. We found it too cold to sleep without the heat on most notes as we were only provided with a sheet and a very thin duvet (which looked dirty). When we first arrived, the cleaning staff was in our room using the washroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a friendly laid back atmosphere. Lots of options to socilaise for a younger crowd,( free champagne party, pasta night - bargain at 2 euros for spagetti and glass of wine! It was still sufficiently peaceful for myself and my husband's break, and in such a central location was ideal (3 mins from Nice station which was ideal for our 20 minute commute to the Grand Prix in Monaco, surrounded by restaurants, Cafe's, town centre for shopping.. and 10 mins walk from beach

Disliked: Only issue was the lack of net curtain in our room and the bedding didn't seem that fresh on arrival , we think due to the last inhabitant smoking! The shower on some mornings was not hot enough. But the room was pleasant enough, but a little pricey considering we didn't have a kettle or fridge and the accomodation was basic. Understandably we knew it would be pricey during Grand prix season and the money we saved from staying here made it worth it. We had to pay in cash which was a bit of a hassle and would have been easier by card.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John Greig

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff always happy to help. In an excellent location close to the train station which is what I was looking for. Very easy to find. Rooms are a good size and the personal bathroom is a nice bonus. Will be returning to Nice next year and will definately be staying here again.

Disliked: Would have liked to have been allocated a specific bad as it was unclear as to which beds were available when i got to the room. This was soon sorted when the other occupants returned.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 May 2013

Liked: NONE

Disliked: 脏乱差,热水只能持续几分钟,新买的一瓶水在房间不翼而飞,床单什么的就像垃圾堆捡回来的,极力避免。

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is near center

Disliked: it doesnt have wifi in rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grissell Medina

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Grissell would recommend this property

Liked: We were lucky and got a private room instead of the dorm that we had booked, it was small but cute with tv, twin beds and bathroom inside. Didn't see the dorm rooms but location was good, tiny elevator but good when you have luggage.

Disliked: The directions are not clear, you have to go left when you get out of Nice Ville train station, then, walk straight for two blocks (until Rue d'anglaterre). Cross the street and turn right on Rue d'Anglaterre (there's a chinese restaurant on the corner and it's one street before the tram). The hostel is about 100m down that street. Hope this helps!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tiffany Norte

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: The owner does a 2 euro all you can eat pasta and wine night about 3 or 4 times a week. It's a great deal, and an awesome way to meet other travelers

Disliked: The cleanliness was ok, but the place had a bit of a grunge feel to it

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Garth Turton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Garth would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to it all.. great wifi to each level

Disliked: Garth left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Leandro Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station, good bathroom in the room. Pasta dinner was a great way to bring guests together at a table, made all the difference for a solo backpacker such as myself. Free champagne nights were good too (even if the champagne wasn't). Funny how the common rooms in the back connect to a neighbouring hotel, you find an exit and whoops, it's another reception on another street.

Disliked: Had to go downstairs for wifi, and the desktops weren't so good. The dorm didn't have a good vibe, it was dark I guess, the windows were tricky to deal with and covered with towels as guests didn't have anywhere to dry them (bunkbeds were glued together).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Isabella Jureidini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 October 2012

Liked: The location was pretty good - only a 20 minute walk to the beach down a nice shopping street. The room had air conditioning and the bathroom was clean. We had the room to ourselves which was good, we would not have enjoyed our stay as much without it.

Disliked: There is basically no atmosphere. The rooms are cold and clinical and have only the pure basics. If you're coming in the summer and plan to spend most of your time outside then it's fine, just don't expect much. Also, the directions on how to get here are useless.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the train station.

Disliked: The kitchen closes too early (at 9:00pm).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chia-Hsun Chang

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Chia-Hsun would recommend this property

Liked: Close to rail station and city centre. The price is cheap. Have slef-owned locker.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Virén

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Best place in Nice! We had an awesome time here. We got upgraded to a private room with balcony, tv and a own bathroom for about the same price as the six beds dorm we booked at first! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the free champange one night was great! A really good place to meet people. And if you are looking for a place to go partying, go to Waynes. It is a bar with liveband playing every night, it is really crowded and so much fun!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 2 euro all you can eat pasta and wine was a big hit!!

Disliked: It was a bit confusing where everthing was within the building. A bit pricier that it needed to be, but it is Nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice and cozy courtyard, the kitchen we could use, the computers, the chillout rooms, the other guests...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Saga Fahlen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

21 September 2012

Liked: + Location

Disliked: - Too crowded - Noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very close the the train station and not far from the coast or the main stretch. The kitchen has everything you may need to make a meal. The beds were comfortable. Great hostel to meet fellow travelers. Nice is a great location for making base to check out Monaco, Cannes, and other locations on the French Riviera. Free champagne one night!

Disliked: More outlets in the rooms would serve well. Internet connection was touch and go, with not a lot of touching. Kitchen was fantastic on several levels, but if you try to make a meal anytime after 19:00 it is utter chaos, as everyone else is trying to do the same.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels