We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hostel Baccarat

Hostel | 39, rue d'Angleterre, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

86.7% Overall Rating

391 out of 459 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2014)

"The hostel was a great place to base yourself if you wanted to see Nice and the surrounding areas as its so close to the train station and a 15 minute walk to the beach and old town. The manager and staff were…"

Read all Hostel Baccarat reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Antares Hostel
17.58 USD

Hostel 83.7% 502 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
20.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
20.24 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Altair hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 62.5% 525 reviews
Hotel Pastoral
16.45 USD

Hostel 86.3% 1118 reviews
Chez Brigitte Guesthouse
17.29 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 33 reviews
Hôtel Belle Meunière
24.04 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Boreal
49.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

391 out of 459 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Baccarat'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 335 of 372 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was fantastic! The kitchen and courtyard areas were full of people keen for a chat and a drink. The rooms were fine, had an ensuite bathroom. All pretty clean. Staff were super friendly.

Disliked: The location was great for the train (around the corner) but quite a walk to the old town and promenade (but can't be close to everything!). The cage under my bed was broken.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

HANNAH THOMSON

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 May 2014 HANNAH would recommend this property

Liked: Tv in the room and balcony

Disliked: HANNAH left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Arvind Jayashankar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Arvind would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean.

Disliked: A bit expensive for what we get, but it's Nice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, large secure lockable cages under the beds (you need a large padlock however - mine was too small). The first receptionist was lovely - really friendly, smiley, and helpful. The others were not as lovely, but still helpful enough.

Disliked: All of the following may well be because it was a quiet period for the hostel, being just after new years, however: - I was placed in a six bed dorm in the furthest location from the lobby, despite the hostel being very quiet (there were surely dorms closer to the lobby available. - The dorm room had a very strong body odour smell (more a reflection on the one other person staying in the dorm room than the hostel itself). - The kitchen, while relatively well stocked was haphazard with its cleaning products. On one day there was a washing up brush but no detergent, on the next the washing detergent was replenished, but there was no washing up brush! - The light switches in the stairwell are few and far between, and are of the automatic type which switches off after 10 seconds or so. This leads to a very dark journey up the stairs to the fifth floor if you don't want to take the lift!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived late on our check in day (around 10:45 PM), and the guy working behind the counter was very nice and accommodating. He upgraded our room for no extra cost. The room was very nice and had a large TV, and was very clean. The common room looks like it has recently been renovated, the wi-fi was pretty good quality, and there were lots of free computers for use. The location was also very close to shopping, restaurants, and a reasonable distance from the beach, etc.

Disliked: The only thing I could have complained about was the noise from water running through the pipes in the bathroom from upstairs. It was quite loud, but fine if you closed the bathroom door when you weren't using it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool interior in the room Very friendly and helpful staff Great location

Disliked: Still found 80 euro a night a bit pricey but that's more to do with Nice as being generally quite expensive

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free champagne night, 3 euro rose spaghetti and popcorn nights, meeting nice people

Disliked: Not a hell of a lot :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eddy Trang

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2013 Eddy would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very nice staff. Accommodating and friendly

Disliked: Eddy left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elder Santos Correia de Oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013 Elder would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice hostel with a good location and with a friendly staff!!! Good value for the money you pay!

Disliked: Elder left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omer Can Ozer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013 Omer Can would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location , very clean place. Very helpfull staff. I really enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything is perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alexander hart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Nothing really. I enjoyed my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Location, beautiful building, friendly staff

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicole copestake

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 nicole would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely wonderful, when we arrived they had overbooked our rooms so they upgraded us to one of their hotel private rooms instead. the rooms were very clean with a nice bathroom and balcony to dry our clothes out on. There was a good social atmosphere every night with the hostel hosting little events such as spaghetti night and one night they gave free bubbly to everyone befor heading out to the town. The receptionist was very helpful in telling us which beaches to visit and how to get there. the wifi was also very fast.

Disliked: nicole left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The food

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013

Liked: Nil.

Disliked: This is a HOTEL which transformed several hotel rooms into bunk bedded hostel dorms. Didn't feel the sense of staying in a hostel cuz there isn't really a place for people to gather and talk to each other (though there is a chill-out-room which is small and I believe was turned from a cafe).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siriporn Dachasilaruk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Siriporn would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: Siriporn left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Lara Merrington

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

03 July 2013 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, good common areas, internet

Disliked: Small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Evening activities, good location, nice people

Disliked: Bathroom got a little dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Kuprenkova

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! The best i've ever seen. Very clean, good location and amazing atmosphere. The stuff was very helpful, specially Romain :) First night we wanted to go out but there was a great party in the hostel, so we stayed there, dancing and drinking (the owner serves unlimited free drinks). Actually we drank more than we had paid for staying there :) Hopefully, the hostel wouldn't become a bankrupt after the visit of Russian girls! Thus we spent all our nights in the hostel and i don't regret about it. Much better place than a 4-star hotel we had stayed before. Comfortable beds, nice people. Would recommend to everybody!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rowan Boddington

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2013 Rowan would recommend this property

Liked: The Management were so friendly, spoke English and couldn't do enough to help, the facilities were excellent and the "Captain" threw Champagne parties every other night, win win in my books.

Disliked: Rowan left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station, grocery store, and laudrymat.

Disliked: It was a hassle to have to leave the room key with reception every time you leave the hostel. The room was dark and there was very little hot water. Most showers were luke warm at best. The hostel is located close to the train station but further away from actually attractions. We found it too cold to sleep without the heat on most notes as we were only provided with a sheet and a very thin duvet (which looked dirty). When we first arrived, the cleaning staff was in our room using the washroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a friendly laid back atmosphere. Lots of options to socilaise for a younger crowd,( free champagne party, pasta night - bargain at 2 euros for spagetti and glass of wine! It was still sufficiently peaceful for myself and my husband's break, and in such a central location was ideal (3 mins from Nice station which was ideal for our 20 minute commute to the Grand Prix in Monaco, surrounded by restaurants, Cafe's, town centre for shopping.. and 10 mins walk from beach

Disliked: Only issue was the lack of net curtain in our room and the bedding didn't seem that fresh on arrival , we think due to the last inhabitant smoking! The shower on some mornings was not hot enough. But the room was pleasant enough, but a little pricey considering we didn't have a kettle or fridge and the accomodation was basic. Understandably we knew it would be pricey during Grand prix season and the money we saved from staying here made it worth it. We had to pay in cash which was a bit of a hassle and would have been easier by card.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

John Greig

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff always happy to help. In an excellent location close to the train station which is what I was looking for. Very easy to find. Rooms are a good size and the personal bathroom is a nice bonus. Will be returning to Nice next year and will definately be staying here again.

Disliked: Would have liked to have been allocated a specific bad as it was unclear as to which beds were available when i got to the room. This was soon sorted when the other occupants returned.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 May 2013

Liked: NONE

Disliked: 脏乱差,热水只能持续几分钟,新买的一瓶水在房间不翼而飞,床单什么的就像垃圾堆捡回来的,极力避免。


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels