HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Morzine hostels

Reviews of Chalet D'Amo

Guesthouse | Moulin du Couard, 1080 Route de Morzine, La Cote D’Arbroz Morzine, France 74110

87.4% Overall Rating

20 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2013)

Holly Thomas thinks…

"The staff were very helpful, friendly and amazing! The value for money was brilliant and we really felt at home over our 4 night stay!"

Read all Chalet D'Amo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 88.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note- after making your booking via the website you need to contact the property directly with regards to full payment; if the property is not contacted within 1 day after making your booking the property is liable to cancel your booking and may resolve into you losing your booking and deposit the property will also need the CCV number to be sent to them after a booking is made

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Morzine?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

20 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chalet D'Amo'

Atmosphere
92.4%
Location
65.7%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
85.7%
Staff
98.1%
Value
93.3%
Safety
91.4%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2013 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, friendly and amazing! The value for money was brilliant and we really felt at home over our 4 night stay!

Disliked: Nothing!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and extremely friendly hosts .

Disliked: A little bit out of Morzine, but the Chalet owners offer a very welcomed transfer service in the morning and the afternoon.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eric Hall

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely Alpine Chalet - straight off the picture postcard

Disliked: It is on the edge of town, however, the hosts were happy to provide lifts to and from the chalet to town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Barnfather

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: There was a great friendly atmosphere at Chalet D'Amo. Nigel and Linda were wonderful hosts who went above and beyond what you'd expect them to. Nigel even washed my bike when I wasn't watching!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and despite the ambiguity of the location description, in the end it turned out to be near to a really cool Savoyard restaurant.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and spacious, but the welcome from the very friendly hosts was the best. Beer for a tired traveller, storage for my bike and made to feel at home! I stayed for the Passportes du Soleil and also cycled up past Lake Montriond which is nice. Good mix of relaxation back at the chalet and activity in the surrounding area.

Disliked: It's not in Morzine centre but for summer mountain biking it's on a descent back from Les Gets, in the winter the ski bus. 15 mins cycle to Morzine including uphill and freewheeling down the other side, had no trouble reaching Morzine for the event by bike, maybe a push if you have a heavy downhill rig.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Evans

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Character and rustic charm

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Catherine Godeseth

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, relaxed atmosphere, Nigel and Linda were very helpful. Fantastically flexible in dates and times, made our holiday possible, affordable and enjoyable as we couldn't come for a whole week. The B+B basis suited us perfectly and the beyond the call of duty taxi run from Linda was hugely appreciated.

Disliked: You could hear neighbouring room but we were fortunate until the last night. Other than that very peaceful location and Hostel supported a quiet after 11 policy so we were able to politely ask our neighbours to keep it down!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daren Quayle

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2011 Daren would recommend this property

Liked: After staying at this chalet I decided it was a must that I leave feedback regards this accommodation< where too start))? OK. Firstly I must thank Lynda and Nigel for there excellent hospitality they literally couldn’t of done anymore for me and my friend during our 3 night stay to make us feel at home. Let me explain the setup here, this is not a traditional hostel, its bed and breakfast (some with on suite) with an excellent homely large dining and sitting area with UK freesat. Whilst I enjoyed my stay with my friend, mixing with the other residents was enjoyable as the hosts nicely knit the atmosphere and love to join in and are willing to take the pace as hard or slow as you feel, and whilst I would recommend this place for couples or small groups, I feel this chalet really comes into its own league servicing large groups 6-13 people, as under these circumstances you could get the max enjoyment out of your surroundings at a cut price, buying your own beers letting the hosts cook for you (small fee) and enjoying there large living space, wood burner, British TV or selection of board games, go one further and take your Playstation with you, this is Apres Ski at its best and most importantly cheapest, be nice to the hosts and you’ll defo get it back (I never had too get the bus to the slopes!), how can anyone give such honest/genuine people a bad review, I’ll be booking again next year, ‘Don’t forgot to leave a tip’ Thanks Guys Daren and Zeb.

Disliked: 2.5 KM from town center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason King

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The host's will go a long way to make sure you have a great time, and will do anything to make your stay easier! Archie is amazing! Everything you need is there!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: felt like i was at home instantly! really freindly and welcoming, nothing was to much trouble for our host!! roaring fire and super cool dogs!! loved our stay here!!

Disliked: little bit out of town but it wasnt a problem to catch a bus! the walk home after a night out took about 25 mins and helped to sober us up!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Carstairs

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely chalet and had a great stay. We were well looked after and had great fun and some lovely home cooked meals. Easy to get into Morzine with a short bus ride or a 20 minute stroll. Would definitely go back.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Philine Schellhorn

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2011 Philine would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is really nice and the dogs are huge but lovely. We had an awesome New Year and enjoied the fireplace a lot.

Disliked: Its a good place for people who have a car, cause the bus connection is not as good and runs only three times a day

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rustic and unusual compared with other similar accomodation

Disliked: Other that it is at the bottom of a hill nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Drysdale

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and welcoming owners, great dogs to! Quiet location 30mins walk from centre of Morzine. Room was clean and tidy and perfect accommodation for the area/price at this time of year

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tobie abrey

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2010 tobie would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, great hosts, nice chilled atmosphere

Disliked: tobie left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: f

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 March 2009

Liked: It was fine for a short weekend skiing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Maarten van Leeuwen

02 March 2009 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness and hospitality

Disliked: Maarten left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Haunton

15 December 2008 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The owners, Linda and Nigel (and Archie the dog) were extremely hospitable, helpful and friendly. The cup of tea on arrival was very welcome! They really couldn't have done more to make us feel at home and introduce us to Morzine. Their knowledge of the local area is excellent and they helped us to efficiently arrange ski rental and airport transfers. Being able to stay for just a long weekend was great-lots of the other accommodation options in the area require a week long booking. Although the hostel is not in the centre of Morzine (5 minutes by car) the complimentary minibus service meant that this wasn't a problem. The room was warm, spacious, clean and comfortable with a good ensuite and pretty views. Morzine is a relaxed and friendly town which is brilliantly located in the centre of Portes du Soleil. This means easy access to a wide variety of ski resorts and runs. Avoriaz, for example, is very easily accessed by either a short (free) bus trip or via the Super Morzine gondola in the town centre. We very much hope to return in the near future.

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.


See all Morzine hostels