HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Sylvabelle Marseille

Hostel | 63 rue sylvabelle, Marseille, Côte d'Azur, France 13006

71.9% Overall Rating

66 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Gaku Fujiyama thinks…

"clean rooms, clean beds. Each guest had their own lockers so that made it feel very safe."

Read all Hostel Sylvabelle Marseille reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after you have made a booking on www.hostelbookers.com the property will do a pre-authorisation on your bank card. This is just a 'pre autorisation' and not a debit. If your creditcard is not valid we will require an alternative card. Failure to contact us with an alternative card may result in your booking being cancelled. If your creditcard is not valid we will require an alternative card. Failure to contact us with an alternative card may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marseille

Kyriad Paradis
36.61 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Adonis Hôtel Marseille Vieux Port
45.67 USD

Hotel 88.3% 22 reviews
Hotel Montgrand
32.24 USD

Hotel 78.7% 56 reviews
Hello Marseille
8.06 USD

Hostel 91.8% 83 reviews
Hôtel Première Classe Marseille
33.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 89 reviews
Vertigo Vieux Port
37.61 USD

Hostel 89.6% 279 reviews
Hotel***Carré Vieux Port Marseille
82.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 20 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
39.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.2% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.9%

Overall Rating

66 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Sylvabelle Marseille'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
70.4%
Value
72.0%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 70 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gaku Fujiyama

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Gaku would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, clean beds. Each guest had their own lockers so that made it feel very safe.

Disliked: Gaku left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014

Liked: It is convenient.

Disliked: It is not clean. They demanded my credit card info despite the fact that I had reserved the room from hostelbooker web site and prepaid for the room.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Peter Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014

Liked: The location is good for the old port and easy to find

Disliked: Its really a 16 bed room with no doors, I could see seven people as I laid on my bed and hear another 8 people, as no door in between. Can't blame staff for lack of English but you wont get a lot of help. Not really a hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel! Very clean, comfortable, close to everything, had great staff, big free lockers and a nice common room with tables, couches, a TV (they have fifa on all the time), a fridge and microwave. I would definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: The only thing that made this hostel not quite perfect was that it didn't have a kitchen. However it had a fridge and microwave so you could definitely make do. I would love to stay here again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seamus Power

Alone

City break

15 June 2014 Seamus would recommend this property

Liked: Good Service nice people

Disliked: Seamus left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mdzomba Julius Baya

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 May 2014 Mdzomba would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the guests were friendly.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike. Maybe the placement.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Raghav Kulkarni

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 May 2014 Raghav would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable price.

Disliked: Quite crowded.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Howard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2014

Liked: nothing, rude staff, incompetent people making bookings

Disliked: they double booked my room, told me I had no booking, took my money and refused to give it back. don't waste your time staying there

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sorin K

Alone

Business / conference

06 September 2013

Liked: no comments

Disliked: no comments

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nadezda Yadrikhinskaya

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Nadezda would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: It's so noisily and smelly air. The bathroom's floor always is wet.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013

Liked: Location was ok.

Disliked: The dorms are effectively all one big room, as there are no doors and the walls do not reach the roof so you can hear everything. Staff were not helpful, wifi wasn't working for me.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shannon Reid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were really nicely presented and clean, the wifi was good and the staff were helpful. It was in a pretty good area and with in walking distance from most major sites.

Disliked: There is no key for the hostel area, you need to ring a buzzer to get into the hotel but they don't ask for any identification. Maybe a code or something to get in would be a good idea!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were reasonably comfortable. Location at walkable distance from the train station and from the port.

Disliked: There's no door for the individual bedrooms, which means that as my room was by the door to exit, every single person coming into the hostel's dorm could see me sleep and possibly take my stuff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013

Liked: It was close to the old port

Disliked: It was quite cramped There are signs for the guests saying no smoking inside yet the staff smoke in the common area. They claim it to be a youth hostel in the downstairs area but they let anyone stay there, I had someone my father's age in the bed above me who snored so loudly it shook the bed all night long.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ka Wan Cheung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Ka Wan would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated

Disliked: We have to give back our keys to the reception each time before we leave. I don't understand this custom. And when we ask for our keys, the staff never doubt us. It is easy to get things stolen!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mariana Cassemiro

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2013 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Localização.

Disliked: Regulamentação de horario. Dps da meia noite vc não pode mais entrar. Isso impede de conhecer a noite de Marseille. O café da manhã, que custa 4 euros, não é muito bom. Tem apenas um pão , um croissant pra cada um, leite, café, suco e é tudo. Vc paga uma taxa de 0,75 cents por noite que fica hospedado além do preço que é apresentado no site.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gerdenis Grickevicius

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Gerdenis would recommend this property

Liked: cheap for it's location, all you need is there clean and in your disposition, it's a good place to spend a night.

Disliked: Allthough in hostelbookers it's said that they have 24h reception, as I arrived in the hostel I saw the reception working hours, something until 22h, but they worked also as I arrived, about 23h30. In the morning you can not use the kitchen, because it's breakfast time, and the breakfast is rather expensive to buy there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Short walk to the port

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, but it is not much more than a place to sleep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hongjie Chen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Hongjie would recommend this property

Liked: They upgraded our room for free, the location is highly convenient, and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: Internet disconnected every 10 seconds or so

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012

Liked: It was a cute place to say. The rooms are cleaned daily and had a fairly good atmosphere.

Disliked: NO SECURITY! There were not locks or keys to get into the "dorm". Anyone could walk into the dorm and steal your stuff if your not there. There are cabinets with keys for it to be more "secure". They also charge your credit card for a "preauthorization" AND get charge an extra .75 Euros... ADD IT TO THE WEBSITE!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stacey Everton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm was lovely, very spacious and the bathroom had enough room for all the girls in the dorm! pelnty of mirrors and very clean! A light and a plug point at each bed which was brilliant!

Disliked: The security! anyone off the street could work into the room or come through the windows which opened wide onto the street. the dorm was right by the front door and the reception on first floor so no safety at all for your things!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well decorated, very clean, quiet,great location, good price. Love that women dorm is separate!

Disliked: No room for suitcase

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012

Liked: Only thing that I liked is the location, because it's close to the town center.

Disliked: The stuff was awfull, the guy at the reception did not know anything (with very poor English), he almost did not gave us the room we booked, because he did not see it on the list. The rooms are terrible - the room for 4 people is a room for 2, with one additional bed, and one bed that came out of the dresser! And the guy from the reception did not know that this bed was even there! When I asked him for a pillow (because that "dresser" bed did not have one), he said that the hotel is out of pillows. Our bathroom was right next to the reception so we could hear them all the time (because the walls are very thin), even when they were printing something. There is no air conditioning, so when we opened the window and the door to let the air in, guys from the reception were always closing them, so we had to be in that hot and stuffy place. The security is pretty bad, everyone can come in without anyone noticing. And at the end, when we wanted to pay, the guy said to us that we need to have exact amount of money, because he did not have any money to give us the change. I really would not recommend this place to anyone, and I don't know how this place has 1 star from the Ministry of Tourism in France.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city centre and a metro station

Disliked: The door of our private bathroom could not be closed properly, and the walls are very thin so the hostel is very noisy.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Kraiwut Jansriphibul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Safety