HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Sylvabelle Marseille Hostel

63 Rue Sylvabelle, Marseille, France

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 45%

Location 73%

Safety 61%

Staff 65%

Value 58%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free Internet Access
  • Parking

Important Information

Please note that after you have made a booking on www.hostelbookers.com the property will do a pre-authorisation on your bank card. This is just a 'pre autorisation' and not a debit. If your creditcard is not valid we will require an alternative card. Failure to contact us with an alternative card may result in your booking being cancelled.
If your creditcard is not valid we will require an alternative card. Failure to contact us with an alternative card may result in your booking being cancelled.

UEFA EURO 2016
During this period from 10th June until 9th July 2016
Non-refundable and non-exchangeable under any circumstances.
• Prepayment: The total price of the reservation will be charged on the day of booking.
• Cancellation: Please note that bookings during this period are non-refundable. If cancelled or modified, no refund will be paid.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 45%

Location 73%

Safety 61%

Staff 65%

Value 58%

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: location

Disliked: The hour i need to be home (not a kid anymore)


The property's response is

the dorms for 4 persons, are more like dorms for 30. There is walls between the rooms but, with open doors. So basically it is one huge room with some walls to seperate the beds.....you can still hear everything from a bed which is supposed to be in another room. Thereby you don't get a key to get it but you need to ring the bell. This would be fine for some people but then if you arrive after 1 am you can not get it anymore. So for alle the people who want to go out in the weekend. Do not go here!

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: leaving the property

Disliked: the staff were extremely rude and interrorgative. they had a real gang mentality in the way they acted and pretended to not speak or understand english in order to not answer our questions. they charged pour bank card and then proceeded to offer something completely different to what we had booked and paid for. we asked for our money back as we no longer felt safe in their company and they refused for over two hours until we spoke to the boss. they are rude and greedy. they blamed everybody else for their mistake. they refunded our money eventually and one week later we have checked our bank accounts and they have charged the same ammount. we have contacted both our bank amd our lawyer as this is atrocious business procedure not to mention highly illegal.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The sofa at the entry was pretty comfortable.

Disliked: 1. the service. The persons at the reception didnt seem to know exactly what they where doing. It tooks them about more than half an hour to let us check in. Apart from some of them didnt speak english at all which made every question or services pretty dificult. 2. the dormitory. They put an automatic light in the dormitory which always went on when somebody woke up so that always when somebody went to the restroom everyone inevitable wakes up. Besides the bathroom hasnt got a door which brings that everyone aditionally hears everything.3. the livingroom or the not-existence of it. There isnt a place to chill. Only one next to the reception which is private so that you can't use it. There also is a sofa at the entry but its a bit to small for all the hostelguests so that the people had to sit on the floor. 4. the furniture. It really doesn't makes you feel comfortable

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the lights in the room is automatic, as soon as it sense someone moves-it's on(even 2,4,6am) it's stupid! coz everyone has a light on top of each bed anyway!

Disliked: only one microwave, nothing else, no kitchen, they blocked the common area, no one could go in!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not clean, badly organised

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Sylvabelle is located very nice, close to vieux port, metro station, bus stations which was very virtual.

Disliked: Hotel Sylvabelle is very clairaudient so not quiet at all like it´s described, there was just hot water after request, the wifi just worked during the day and there was a disgusting smell coming out of the outlets but we eliminated it by letting the water flow for a while whereupon it was bearable.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Employees and the room was very bad noisy with basic service even lights.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This place is kind of nest of refugee

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The price; close to metro line.

Disliked: All of the "rooms" in my area were really just walled off spaces without doors; made it easy for light and noise to disturb you from other parts. Also extremely shabby bathrooms and walls; gross residues, very mediocre washing conditions. I've stayed at better hostels even for the "low" price.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location excellent, near the metro station, and not far away from the vieux port

Disliked: The staffs are extremely hostile and deliberately unhelpful! When I asked them why the Internet did not work ( which happens quite often in southern France, by the way ) , the response was that they didn't know, this was not their responsibility, and they even said "if you don't like here, you can just leave and find another hotel! This is intolerable!! It is understandable if there is a technical problem of the Internet, what is unacceptable is the attitude of the staff , arrogant and imperious. It is for this reason that I derecommend this property to all those who wish to have a nice holiday at marseille

Check Availability