HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Sylvabelle Marseille

Hostel | 63 rue sylvabelle, Marseille, Côte d'Azur, France 13006

70.2% Overall Rating

60 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2013)

Shannon Reid thinks…

"The rooms were really nicely presented and clean, the wifi was good and the staff were helpful. It was in a pretty good area and with in walking distance from most major sites."

Read all Hostel Sylvabelle Marseille reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after you have made a booking on www.hostelbookers.com the property will do a pre-authorisation on your bank card. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorisation will then be removed from your card within a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marseille

Kyriad Paradis
44.61 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel du Palais
62.25 USD

Hotel 88.3% 22 reviews
Hotel Montgrand
30.43 USD

Hotel 78.6% 54 reviews
Hello Marseille
34.58 USD

Hostel 90.7% 79 reviews
Hôtel Première Classe Marseille
34.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.2% 87 reviews
Vertigo Vieux Port
32.51 USD

Hostel 87.1% 273 reviews
Hotel***Carré Vieux Port Marseille
85.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 20 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
49.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.9% 108 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.2%

Overall Rating

60 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Sylvabelle Marseille'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
72.0%
Value
69.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 63 of 93 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Howard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2014

Liked: nothing, rude staff, incompetent people making bookings

Disliked: they double booked my room, told me I had no booking, took my money and refused to give it back. don't waste your time staying there

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sorin K

Alone

Business / conference

06 September 2013

Liked: no comments

Disliked: no comments

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nadezda Yadrikhinskaya

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Nadezda would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: It's so noisily and smelly air. The bathroom's floor always is wet.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013

Liked: Location was ok.

Disliked: The dorms are effectively all one big room, as there are no doors and the walls do not reach the roof so you can hear everything. Staff were not helpful, wifi wasn't working for me.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shannon Reid

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were really nicely presented and clean, the wifi was good and the staff were helpful. It was in a pretty good area and with in walking distance from most major sites.

Disliked: There is no key for the hostel area, you need to ring a buzzer to get into the hotel but they don't ask for any identification. Maybe a code or something to get in would be a good idea!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were reasonably comfortable. Location at walkable distance from the train station and from the port.

Disliked: There's no door for the individual bedrooms, which means that as my room was by the door to exit, every single person coming into the hostel's dorm could see me sleep and possibly take my stuff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013

Liked: It was close to the old port

Disliked: It was quite cramped There are signs for the guests saying no smoking inside yet the staff smoke in the common area. They claim it to be a youth hostel in the downstairs area but they let anyone stay there, I had someone my father's age in the bed above me who snored so loudly it shook the bed all night long.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ka Wan Cheung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Ka Wan would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated

Disliked: We have to give back our keys to the reception each time before we leave. I don't understand this custom. And when we ask for our keys, the staff never doubt us. It is easy to get things stolen!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mariana Cassemiro

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2013 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Localização.

Disliked: Regulamentação de horario. Dps da meia noite vc não pode mais entrar. Isso impede de conhecer a noite de Marseille. O café da manhã, que custa 4 euros, não é muito bom. Tem apenas um pão , um croissant pra cada um, leite, café, suco e é tudo. Vc paga uma taxa de 0,75 cents por noite que fica hospedado além do preço que é apresentado no site.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gerdenis Grickevicius

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Gerdenis would recommend this property

Liked: cheap for it's location, all you need is there clean and in your disposition, it's a good place to spend a night.

Disliked: Allthough in hostelbookers it's said that they have 24h reception, as I arrived in the hostel I saw the reception working hours, something until 22h, but they worked also as I arrived, about 23h30. In the morning you can not use the kitchen, because it's breakfast time, and the breakfast is rather expensive to buy there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Short walk to the port

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, but it is not much more than a place to sleep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hongjie Chen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Hongjie would recommend this property

Liked: They upgraded our room for free, the location is highly convenient, and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: Internet disconnected every 10 seconds or so

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012

Liked: It was a cute place to say. The rooms are cleaned daily and had a fairly good atmosphere.

Disliked: NO SECURITY! There were not locks or keys to get into the "dorm". Anyone could walk into the dorm and steal your stuff if your not there. There are cabinets with keys for it to be more "secure". They also charge your credit card for a "preauthorization" AND get charge an extra .75 Euros... ADD IT TO THE WEBSITE!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stacey Everton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm was lovely, very spacious and the bathroom had enough room for all the girls in the dorm! pelnty of mirrors and very clean! A light and a plug point at each bed which was brilliant!

Disliked: The security! anyone off the street could work into the room or come through the windows which opened wide onto the street. the dorm was right by the front door and the reception on first floor so no safety at all for your things!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well decorated, very clean, quiet,great location, good price. Love that women dorm is separate!

Disliked: No room for suitcase

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012

Liked: Only thing that I liked is the location, because it's close to the town center.

Disliked: The stuff was awfull, the guy at the reception did not know anything (with very poor English), he almost did not gave us the room we booked, because he did not see it on the list. The rooms are terrible - the room for 4 people is a room for 2, with one additional bed, and one bed that came out of the dresser! And the guy from the reception did not know that this bed was even there! When I asked him for a pillow (because that "dresser" bed did not have one), he said that the hotel is out of pillows. Our bathroom was right next to the reception so we could hear them all the time (because the walls are very thin), even when they were printing something. There is no air conditioning, so when we opened the window and the door to let the air in, guys from the reception were always closing them, so we had to be in that hot and stuffy place. The security is pretty bad, everyone can come in without anyone noticing. And at the end, when we wanted to pay, the guy said to us that we need to have exact amount of money, because he did not have any money to give us the change. I really would not recommend this place to anyone, and I don't know how this place has 1 star from the Ministry of Tourism in France.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city centre and a metro station

Disliked: The door of our private bathroom could not be closed properly, and the walls are very thin so the hostel is very noisy.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Kraiwut Jansriphibul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Safety

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012

Liked: You can see the owner had put a lot of effort into decorating the hostel, and the upstairs area was very nice, also location very good.

Disliked: Poor security which could be easily fixed.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ortega Ane

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 August 2012 Ortega would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very clean and the sleeping rooms and toilets news

Disliked: There's no keys to enter at the hostel, it's oppened during all the day

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brooke Sheldon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: nice location to the town square. walking distance but far enough to be quiet. nice room, personal bathroom. Staff were very helpful and kind.

Disliked: bathroom could have used a little more cleaning.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012

Liked: Big compliments to cleaning staff, they clean every day and bathrooms and sheets are perfectly clean. Other advantage is location, 10min walk from city center. Also, there is one laptop for guests to use so you can get all the info you need right there and you don't need to bother taking your laptop with you. There are lockers for everyone in room which is handier than having safe at the reception.

Disliked: Major dislike is safety. Reception is on the first floor and rooms are on the ground floor. There are no keys or cards so basically everyone goes in and out as they please unnoticed from the staff. Doors lock at 11, but if you come late many times doors will still be open or the staff will just let you in if you buzz. When the shift changes they don't know who is the guest and who isn't and you have no proof either. So what happened to me, i woke up with some guy lifting up my sheet looking for my wallet after he had already stolen from some other guests. Turned out he wasn't a guest at all, he let himself in at 5 am, got a shower and started looking through our stuff. The staff just let him in. While we went to reception to ask whose bed it is, he was gone, and the bed was, of course, supposed to be nobody's for that night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012

Liked: The location was extremely central and very close to everything.

Disliked: The problem with the hostel is that it's really insecure, they ran out of lockers the day I came and there is no lock on any of the doors. Basically, anyone could get in at any time. The windows opened directly on the streets and there wasn't anything between the window and the street either.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

CAGRI OZKAN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: location was good staffs werent so helpfull but it was ok

Disliked: dormitories were so crowded and we couldnt open the window because it noisy and staff told me that dont hang on any thing to window because i can be stolen

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Very unfriendly