We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vertigo Vieux Port

Hostel | 38 rue Fort Notre Dame, Marseille, Côte d'Azur, France 13007

93.3% Overall Rating

299 out of 306 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2015)

sheila Gunnee thinks…

"The things I liked the owner had kept the heritage of the property indoors and paintings on on the wall.but the flooring is needing some works to modernisee and make it more accessible for people…"

Read all Vertigo Vieux Port reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marseille

Hello Marseille
19.02 USD

Hostel 85.3% 94 reviews
Adonis Hôtel Marseille Vieux Port
38.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.3% 22 reviews
Hotel Montgrand
27.69 USD

Hotel 79.8% 59 reviews
Hotel Carré Vieux Port Marseille
81.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 20 reviews
Hotel Belle-Vue
69.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.6% 5 reviews
Hostel Sylvabelle Marseille
20.14 USD

Hostel 68.7% 118 reviews
Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port
49.78 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Saint Louis
40.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.8% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

299 out of 306 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vertigo Vieux Port'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 217 of 300 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big common area and everyone was friendly

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large common room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2015

Liked: friendly host

Disliked: poor wifi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kit Yen Yim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2015 Kit Yen would recommend this property

Liked: The location, atmosphere, clean room, friendly people.

Disliked: Computers were helpless

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

sheila Gunnee

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2015

Liked: The things I liked the owner had kept the heritage of the property indoors and paintings on on the wall.but the flooring is needing some works to modernisee and make it more accessible for people with disabilities to circulate and walking on rough contride and woo wood remp which is not save at all also not steady.

Disliked: Yeah there is a mixed in the decor like red viny carpeting and the furnitures in the lobby and the kitchen are quite sabby,old and damaged.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff, and a nice common area to meet other travellers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vanessa Walsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the rooms! Lots of space, private (well, reserved to the room) bathrooms and showers, and an adorable log-cabin quality on the ceilings. Breakfast was included too, which was great! Staff were super friendly and the hostel had character.

Disliked: Was just a little uncomfortable with the location. I arrived at night and needed to ask for directions at a nearby McDonald's because I don't have data on my phone, and what's more, the hostel is a little ways away from the port, full of people. This is no fault of the hostel of course; it can't give me data on my phone, or change it's location without enormous inconvenience; that's just my only drawback to the experience. Otherwise, I had a great stay!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melinda Nall

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2015 Melinda would recommend this property

Liked: The American girl, August, I think is her name. She was so nice&helpful!

Disliked: Needs a fan for each room! It was so hot, I couldn't sleep!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Crockett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2015 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a fantastic location, very close to the vieux port and walking distance to most of Marseille's top attractions. The staff were extremely friendly and my room was very clean. Bathrooms were located in the rooms themselves, which was handy. It was easy to meet people at the common area.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing!

Disliked: Thin walls, you can hear the next room like if it was the same room!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erica thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2015 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the port, bars, shopping, bus to the beach and the beautiful Notre Dame de la grade.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chopsticks and bowls.

Disliked: People snoring too much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing! Couldn't have asked for a better spot. And such a good price too!

Disliked: The walls were very thin, to the point we thought people were in our room. But it didn't bother us too much. Except when someone's alarm went off.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florent Deraye

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 December 2014 Florent would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, with nice bars and restaurants just around the corner. Close to the Vieux Port and other places to visit. Staff is friendly, the room are clean and freshly renovated. Breakfast is simple but that's enough for the price we paid.

Disliked: Some rooms are just above a night club, which can cause some loud nights on week ends.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kylie Wray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: The port is beautiful

Disliked: I'd stay only a few days

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zeynep aytac

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 zeynep would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really good.staffs were friendly.the rooms and all around the hostel is very clean.

Disliked: the only problem is about the wi-fi which is not available at building b.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kara Handberg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Kara would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, air-conditioned room. Lockers provided. Bathroom and toilet separate. Wifi access in rooms.

Disliked: Kara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was comfortable and had a good atmosphere. The room that I stayed in had a cool layout with tons of space. It's close to a good area for restaurants, bars, and sight-seeing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Livia Satullo

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Livia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. The hostel is very nice, clean and the atmosphere excellent!

Disliked: There's nothing that I really disliked (maybe the towels were not very soft!)!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Jeuniewic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best places I have stayed. Staff were amazingly fun and helpful, the building was funky and clean, the rooms were large and breakfast was decent. Wifi worked well. Close to everything and metros.

Disliked: nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

larissa will

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Bread at Breakfast, big rooms

Disliked: Our bathroom smells realy bad!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Sanders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were large so you weren't on top of the other guests, the common area and kitchen allowed space for you too do your own thing and mingle with other guests. Breakfast was included and was quite expansive in options, and the was a cheap supermarket close by to get any other things that you require

Disliked: The directions on the website are vague for everything but driving from the airport. We caught a metro from the train station luckily with directions from the information booth at the station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel. The location is great, the facilities are in good condition and are clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and I liked the environment.

Disliked: There was nothing I didn't like.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was awesome! Central location, friendly staff, and modern-completely updated- yet with marseille style character. Fresh sheets, extremely clean and hot showers! If you're in Marseille definitely stay here! :D

Disliked: Nothing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kylie Towle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: plenty of power points next to the bed. Big rooms.

Disliked: There was no shelf to put your toiletries on in the shower, I bought a towel of theirs and was given the smallest towel to dry myself with.