HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vertigo Vieux Port

Hostel | 38 rue Fort Notre Dame, Marseille, Côte d'Azur, France 13007

87.1% Overall Rating

268 out of 273 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/03/2014)

Jennifer Sanders thinks…

"The rooms were large so you weren't on top of the other guests, the common area and kitchen allowed space for you too do your own thing and mingle with other guests. Breakfast was included and was…"

Read all Vertigo Vieux Port reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marseille

Hello Marseille
34.51 USD

Hostel 90.7% 79 reviews
Hotel du Palais
51.77 USD

Hotel 88.3% 22 reviews
Hotel Montgrand
30.37 USD

Hotel 78.6% 54 reviews
Hotel***Carré Vieux Port Marseille
84.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 20 reviews
Hotel Belle-Vue
96.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.6% 5 reviews
Hostel Sylvabelle Marseille
24.85 USD

Hostel 70.2% 95 reviews
Kyriad Paradis
41.07 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port
96.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

268 out of 273 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vertigo Vieux Port'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 267 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Sanders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were large so you weren't on top of the other guests, the common area and kitchen allowed space for you too do your own thing and mingle with other guests. Breakfast was included and was quite expansive in options, and the was a cheap supermarket close by to get any other things that you require

Disliked: The directions on the website are vague for everything but driving from the airport. We caught a metro from the train station luckily with directions from the information booth at the station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel. The location is great, the facilities are in good condition and are clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and I liked the environment.

Disliked: There was nothing I didn't like.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was awesome! Central location, friendly staff, and modern-completely updated- yet with marseille style character. Fresh sheets, extremely clean and hot showers! If you're in Marseille definitely stay here! :D

Disliked: Nothing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kylie Towle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: plenty of power points next to the bed. Big rooms.

Disliked: There was no shelf to put your toiletries on in the shower, I bought a towel of theirs and was given the smallest towel to dry myself with.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice sized hostel with clean bathrooms and common rooms in a perfect location from the port.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff and excellent location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff very nice and international, the decoration is very artistic, good breakfast ;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the port, pubs, restaurants and city center. The room was very clean. The hostel was quiet and the beds comfortable, so I slept great during my stay. The breakfast was good, I loved the fresh baguettes!

Disliked: The bathroom should be cleaner! Quite expensive for a hostel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all of the above - excellent

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location,friendless of staff,Wi-fi,kitchen,and breakfast.

Disliked: None

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 September 2013

Liked: Premises

Disliked: A discotheque under the room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphère

Disliked: Too expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adam Jantz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Good location within easy walking distance of both harbor and Notre Dame. Clean, large rooms. Good internet.

Disliked: Check out is a little early, the common room transmits sound pretty well and can be a bit loud.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely atmosphere, friendly staff - very laid back. The bare brick walls were a nice surrounding and the location is great.

Disliked: I didn't make much effort to ask staff about things to do but this hostel is lacking, compared to others, activities or suggestions for travellers. Its easy enough to find them but I didn't discover what I hoped would be a cool nightlife in Marseille and reckon the hostel staff would be a great way in! Also lacking is the kitchen equipment - only one hob to cook on!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013

Liked: I found a bed bug on my pillow when I got up in the morning! I killed it and it was filled with blood. I wonder if it was mine and now I found plenty of bites on me. The itch is driving me crazy. It's a good hostel in a good location with extremely helpful and nice staff. i must say that their attitude is commendable but I think the cleanliness has to be improved. The kitchen looks really dirty with very basic utensils such as a portable stove. I decided not to cook here because I didn't want to risk getting a diarrhea.

Disliked: Bed bugs. Dirty kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room is clean, staff are very helpful and friendly. Location is not bad.

Disliked: Poor breakfast and weak WiFi. Also it was a bit hard for me to find a place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and facilities although lacking a bit in character.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel - one of the best I have ever stayed in. Rooms / toilets were good / clean, beds were made of wood (good), not those horrible metal bunk beds. Breakfast was very nice, staff were friendly, 24 hour reception (good).

Disliked: Nothing much really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Mathai

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 George would recommend this property

Liked: Vertigo is an awesome property. I would definitely come back and stay here, if I visit Marseille again. My wife and I stayed here. They rooms were very clean and tidy. So was the entire process, right from booking, to check in, check out. Nice lounge to sit in, huge one and a fast wifi was the icing on the cake. There were lockers in the room. Remember to carry your locks so that you can use this. Very friendly staff as well. Location wise, this is up an incline. So if you have heavy luggage, then be prepared for a small hike.

Disliked: Breakfast needs to be for a longer time. On the day we checked out, we could not have breaskfast, as they had not set it up by then.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful. The place is really big. The toilet being separated from the shower

Disliked: Breakfast could be better given the rates of the rooms...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Freeman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irene Tang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Modern facilities

Disliked: Irene left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zara Amdur

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Zara would recommend this property

Liked: Common areas spacious, easy to meet other people, clean good looking rooms.

Disliked: They were fully booked so I couldn't stay another night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael boroniec

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. Very neat place to stay!

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere, breakfast, good common areas. Fine rooms.

Disliked: Slightly hard to find.