We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vertigo Hostel

Hostel | 42 Rue des Petites Maries, Marseille, Côte d'Azur, France 13001

88.0% Overall Rating

202 out of 207 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2014)

Mackenzie Oeftering thinks…

"Super close to the train station, really nice common area, crazy friendly and fun staff, a bar in the hostel which makes it easy to socialize and a really nice backyard to it too! Fully stocked…"

Read all Vertigo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marseille

Hotel Victory
31.63 USD

Hotel 75.2% 32 reviews
Newhotel Saint Charles ex Newhotel Select
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.7% 44 reviews
Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Lutetia
48.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
35.85 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.9% 110 reviews
Hotel ARIANA
32.13 USD

Hotel 72.9% 21 reviews
London connection LDN
25.30 USD

Hostel 59.3% 386 reviews
Hotel Carré Vieux Port Marseille
76.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

202 out of 207 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vertigo Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 184 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station

Disliked: Not in the nicest area

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jiri Vyskocil

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2014 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, cleanliness, good service

Disliked: location of the hostel was not very comfortable, but for that money it was a good choise

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mackenzie Oeftering

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2014 Mackenzie would recommend this property

Liked: Super close to the train station, really nice common area, crazy friendly and fun staff, a bar in the hostel which makes it easy to socialize and a really nice backyard to it too! Fully stocked kitchen. Quite central too and the staff is always there to let you know the easiest way to get anywhere. Rooms are secure and super clean and the toilet is separate from the shower which is super nice

Disliked: Mackenzie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2014

Liked: The location it is only two minutes walk from the train station. The staff is extremely nice, friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The location is not very near the touristic places and the area near the train station doesn't look very safe. Also the building is kind of old and it doesn't have a lift and the breakfast and towels are not included.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Crystal Chen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

25 September 2014 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: bar is open until late

Disliked: not that much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cora Goldie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Cora would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice friendly atmosphere and very sociable, great bar prices and very clean and fresh looking facilities as well as being in a great location.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corinna Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Corinna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and welcoming and it's easy to meet people from all over the world. The hostel is very clean and has a small kitchen. The breakfast was incredible! If I visit Marseille another time, I definitely will pick this hostel!

Disliked: Corinna left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jose Antonio Ribeiro Vargas

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Jose Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, very available to solve our queries and anything we would ask them. Very nice people around to meet, with nice chats through our stay. Also the hostel is located right next to Marseille's train station, great for going to nearby cities.

Disliked: It was located in a gloomy region of the city, just by its looks, nothing major.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Oskirko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

10 August 2014 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: I like this hostel. Good atmosphere

Disliked: There is not lift

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

eungyeong kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 eungyeong would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train st.

Disliked: Kitchen is too small. no air conditioner so hot in the room before evening.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I particulary liked the courtyard between the two housing buildings. It is perfect for having a drink and talk to other backpackers. Also was the staff really friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdus Shuman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Abdus would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Good bar with very cheap drinks. Lots of leaflets and info about things in Marseilles. Clean. Chilled out and easy to meet other travellers. Near transport links.

Disliked: N/A.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff!! Very helpful!!! Great place to hangout after touring the city!! I arrived late at night and it was very easy to find!!

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Benjamin Mayr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, my room had an own bathroom, a small bar area is outside and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: Only one electrical hotplate, no "familiar atmosphere", everybody was just on his own, and the price is a little bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff (Stephane is one of the most wonderful persons I have met in all my travels) is amazing, the hostel is very clean, and the beds sleep amazing. I would recommend this hostel to everyone I meet.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful; also gave good dinner recommendations. The rooms were spacious and bright and it's definitely a plus to have the toilet and bathroom in the room. Very cute outside eating and hangout area. I also found it nice that guests were a real mix of people of different ages, backgrounds and cultures.

Disliked: I did find one tiny bug in the room. And the breakfast could have a little cheese or protein included with all the sweet stuff.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JUNG SEUNG SEO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway

30 June 2014 JUNG SEUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very nice staff

Disliked: No lockers, and limited premise security.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Opposite the main train station, clean and had a safe feel about it.

Disliked: No wifi in rooms, just common room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Heath Morrison

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 April 2014 Heath would recommend this property

Liked: - Excellent staff! Friendly, quirky, helpful, casual. - Convenient location when coming from the airport - Plenty of room to sit around, socialize, etc.

Disliked: - No lockers, and limited premise security - No/weak wifi in the rooms (at least the two rooms I stayed in)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andreas Irsch

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 April 2014 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice courtyard, friendly staff, delicious croissants

Disliked: In the night is the street a little bit scary, the beds in our room squeak

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Las Lynge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Las would recommend this property

Liked: I came in by train to St. Charles central station, so the location 200 meters from the station was great. Easy to find if you google a bit in advance. When I moved on via the airport, the shuttle left from St. Charles, so very convinient! The rooms and showers are spotless, and the staff is no less than wonderful. Wifi good. Bar good. I would recommend this place to anyone, even pickish travellers.

Disliked: Perhaps not your cheapest hostel, but you get what you pay for, right?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Liffourrena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the terrace at the back! The girls that work there were really nice and friendly as well, and the computers are available for all to use.

Disliked: The kitchen could be bigger maybe? Also it could be cheaper.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool, relaxed atmosphere. the out door area

Disliked: the uses of keys, not key cards. Expensive breakfast

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bien situé juste en bas de la gare Saint-Charles et à l'entrée du quartier "maghrebin" du Centre ville. L'espace bien aménagée avec beaucoup de caractère.

Disliked: Quelques crochets aux murs dans la chambre seraient la bienvenue pour accrocher son blouson.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Rachapong Chirarattananon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014

Liked: none

Disliked: Room smelled of paint. Wayyyy too over-pricedm with nothing positive for the extra cost. I happened to be staying at 2 hostels in Marseille because I decided to extend my stay after my first hostel was already fully booked. My first hostel was the very similarly named one in Vieux Port. That hostel was 6 Euro cheaper, still very easy to access, and had hotel-quality rooms. If this hostel is priced at 10 or maybe 12 Euro then it would be competable with the one in Vieux Port.