We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vertigo Hostel

Hostel | 42 Rue des Petites Maries, Marseille, Côte d'Azur, France 13001

84.0% Overall Rating

209 out of 217 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2015)

Ayaz KHATRI thinks…

"Excellent location, 3 mins from station. 15 mins walk from old port. Very friendly staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Cheap and tasty food around."

Read all Vertigo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.59
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marseille

Hotel Victory
27.95 USD

Hotel 77.3% 35 reviews
Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port
44.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Lutetia
39.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
40.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.8% 111 reviews
Hotel ARIANA
27.95 USD

Hotel 74.0% 24 reviews
Hotel Carré Vieux Port Marseille
47.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 20 reviews
Hotel Azur
32.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.3% 82 reviews
Hotel Belle-Vue
64.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

209 out of 217 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vertigo Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 194 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

YESEUL PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 August 2015 YESEUL would recommend this property

Liked: D

Disliked: E

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015

Liked: Very little.

Disliked: Poor location, extremely rude staff.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

jiajia li

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2015

Liked: it is near the train station, but scared of atmosphere near the accommodation

Disliked: scared of atmosphere of the location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ayaz KHATRI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2015 Ayaz would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, 3 mins from station. 15 mins walk from old port. Very friendly staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Cheap and tasty food around.

Disliked: Little bit noisy till mid night coz of other ppl talking loud in bar in the hostel.but one can manage.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2015

Liked: It is very close to the train station. The wifi worked well and the four person room had a nice big bathroom.

Disliked: It's in a very seedy part of town so I felt very unsafe and would not walk outside alone. Major downside was no lockers and you have to put your stuff in a luggage room. They have no way of knowing whose stuff is whose so when I got my bag out, I could have taken someone else's too just for fun. I don't like that idea. The rooms definitely have room in them to install lockers. Breakfast is a rip off for just bread or cereal at 5 euros. I walked down the street and got a coffee and a delicious pain au chocolat at a bakery for 2 euros. Long story short, it wasn't the worst as I was only staying overnight to catch a train. If this is the same for you, it will be fine. I wouldn't stay for longer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I lreally enjoyed my stay at Vertigo in Marseille. The are seems a bit rough, but it's a two minute walk to the main train station, it's close to the Old Port, and all the cool/fun spots in the city center. The staff was super friendly and helpful, and the hostel was very clean. I would definetely stay there again if I'm in Marseille :)

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, well equipped

Disliked: staff kind of unhelpful, while hiding behind a polite facade

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERIN SPIDEN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 ERIN would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, open space

Disliked: ERIN left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station

Disliked: Not in the nicest area

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jiri Vyskocil

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2014 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, cleanliness, good service

Disliked: location of the hostel was not very comfortable, but for that money it was a good choise

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mackenzie Oeftering

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2014 Mackenzie would recommend this property

Liked: Super close to the train station, really nice common area, crazy friendly and fun staff, a bar in the hostel which makes it easy to socialize and a really nice backyard to it too! Fully stocked kitchen. Quite central too and the staff is always there to let you know the easiest way to get anywhere. Rooms are secure and super clean and the toilet is separate from the shower which is super nice

Disliked: Mackenzie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2014

Liked: The location it is only two minutes walk from the train station. The staff is extremely nice, friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The location is not very near the touristic places and the area near the train station doesn't look very safe. Also the building is kind of old and it doesn't have a lift and the breakfast and towels are not included.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Crystal Chen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

25 September 2014 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: bar is open until late

Disliked: not that much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cora Goldie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Cora would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice friendly atmosphere and very sociable, great bar prices and very clean and fresh looking facilities as well as being in a great location.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corinna Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Corinna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and welcoming and it's easy to meet people from all over the world. The hostel is very clean and has a small kitchen. The breakfast was incredible! If I visit Marseille another time, I definitely will pick this hostel!

Disliked: Corinna left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jose Antonio Ribeiro Vargas

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Jose Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, very available to solve our queries and anything we would ask them. Very nice people around to meet, with nice chats through our stay. Also the hostel is located right next to Marseille's train station, great for going to nearby cities.

Disliked: It was located in a gloomy region of the city, just by its looks, nothing major.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Oskirko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

10 August 2014 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: I like this hostel. Good atmosphere

Disliked: There is not lift

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

eungyeong kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 eungyeong would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train st.

Disliked: Kitchen is too small. no air conditioner so hot in the room before evening.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I particulary liked the courtyard between the two housing buildings. It is perfect for having a drink and talk to other backpackers. Also was the staff really friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdus Shuman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Abdus would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Good bar with very cheap drinks. Lots of leaflets and info about things in Marseilles. Clean. Chilled out and easy to meet other travellers. Near transport links.

Disliked: N/A.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff!! Very helpful!!! Great place to hangout after touring the city!! I arrived late at night and it was very easy to find!!

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Benjamin Mayr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, my room had an own bathroom, a small bar area is outside and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: Only one electrical hotplate, no "familiar atmosphere", everybody was just on his own, and the price is a little bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff (Stephane is one of the most wonderful persons I have met in all my travels) is amazing, the hostel is very clean, and the beds sleep amazing. I would recommend this hostel to everyone I meet.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful; also gave good dinner recommendations. The rooms were spacious and bright and it's definitely a plus to have the toilet and bathroom in the room. Very cute outside eating and hangout area. I also found it nice that guests were a real mix of people of different ages, backgrounds and cultures.

Disliked: I did find one tiny bug in the room. And the breakfast could have a little cheese or protein included with all the sweet stuff.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JUNG SEUNG SEO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway

30 June 2014 JUNG SEUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very nice staff

Disliked: No lockers, and limited premise security.