HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Vertigo Centre Marseille Hostel

42 rue de petites maries, Marseille, France

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 83%

Location 82%

Safety 78%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.07USD
  • Towel 1.21USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 83%

Location 82%

Safety 78%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Convenient location if you are travelling by train as it is only a 2 min walk to the train station.

Disliked: No soap in the bathroom. No lockers in the room so make sure you take a lock for your bag.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: D

Disliked: E

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very little.

Disliked: Poor location, extremely rude staff.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location, 3 mins from station. 15 mins walk from old port. Very friendly staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Cheap and tasty food around.

Disliked: Little bit noisy till mid night coz of other ppl talking loud in bar in the hostel.but one can manage.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it is near the train station, but scared of atmosphere near the accommodation

Disliked: scared of atmosphere of the location

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is very close to the train station. The wifi worked well and the four person room had a nice big bathroom.

Disliked: It's in a very seedy part of town so I felt very unsafe and would not walk outside alone. Major downside was no lockers and you have to put your stuff in a luggage room. They have no way of knowing whose stuff is whose so when I got my bag out, I could have taken someone else's too just for fun. I don't like that idea. The rooms definitely have room in them to install lockers. Breakfast is a rip off for just bread or cereal at 5 euros. I walked down the street and got a coffee and a delicious pain au chocolat at a bakery for 2 euros. Long story short, it wasn't the worst as I was only staying overnight to catch a train. If this is the same for you, it will be fine. I wouldn't stay for longer.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I lreally enjoyed my stay at Vertigo in Marseille. The are seems a bit rough, but it's a two minute walk to the main train station, it's close to the Old Port, and all the cool/fun spots in the city center. The staff was super friendly and helpful, and the hostel was very clean. I would definetely stay there again if I'm in Marseille :)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice atmosphere, well equipped

Disliked: staff kind of unhelpful, while hiding behind a polite facade

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere, open space

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly staff, cleanliness, good service

Disliked: location of the hostel was not very comfortable, but for that money it was a good choise

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability