HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vertigo Hostel

Hostel | 42 Rue des Petites Maries, Marseille, Côte d'Azur, France 13001

86.9% Overall Rating

193 out of 197 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

Jose Antonio Ribeiro Vargas thinks…

"Very friendly staff, very available to solve our queries and anything we would ask them. Very nice people around to meet, with nice chats through our stay. Also the hostel is located right next to…"

Read all Vertigo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.65
  • Towel USD 1.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marseille

Hotel Victory
33.24 USD

Hotel 75.2% 27 reviews
Newhotel Saint Charles ex Newhotel Select
56.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.7% 44 reviews
Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port
93.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Lutetia
50.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
42.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.2% 109 reviews
Hotel ARIANA
33.77 USD

Hotel 73.7% 19 reviews
London connection LDN
33.24 USD

Hostel 63.7% 384 reviews
Hotel***Carré Vieux Port Marseille
81.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

193 out of 197 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vertigo Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 144 of 175 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jose Antonio Ribeiro Vargas

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Jose Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, very available to solve our queries and anything we would ask them. Very nice people around to meet, with nice chats through our stay. Also the hostel is located right next to Marseille's train station, great for going to nearby cities.

Disliked: It was located in a gloomy region of the city, just by its looks, nothing major.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Oskirko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

10 August 2014 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: I like this hostel. Good atmosphere

Disliked: There is not lift

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

eungyeong kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 eungyeong would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train st.

Disliked: Kitchen is too small. no air conditioner so hot in the room before evening.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I particulary liked the courtyard between the two housing buildings. It is perfect for having a drink and talk to other backpackers. Also was the staff really friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdus Shuman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Abdus would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Good bar with very cheap drinks. Lots of leaflets and info about things in Marseilles. Clean. Chilled out and easy to meet other travellers. Near transport links.

Disliked: N/A.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff!! Very helpful!!! Great place to hangout after touring the city!! I arrived late at night and it was very easy to find!!

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Benjamin Mayr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, my room had an own bathroom, a small bar area is outside and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: Only one electrical hotplate, no "familiar atmosphere", everybody was just on his own, and the price is a little bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff (Stephane is one of the most wonderful persons I have met in all my travels) is amazing, the hostel is very clean, and the beds sleep amazing. I would recommend this hostel to everyone I meet.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful; also gave good dinner recommendations. The rooms were spacious and bright and it's definitely a plus to have the toilet and bathroom in the room. Very cute outside eating and hangout area. I also found it nice that guests were a real mix of people of different ages, backgrounds and cultures.

Disliked: I did find one tiny bug in the room. And the breakfast could have a little cheese or protein included with all the sweet stuff.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JUNG SEUNG SEO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway

30 June 2014 JUNG SEUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very nice staff

Disliked: No lockers, and limited premise security.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Opposite the main train station, clean and had a safe feel about it.

Disliked: No wifi in rooms, just common room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Heath Morrison

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 April 2014 Heath would recommend this property

Liked: - Excellent staff! Friendly, quirky, helpful, casual. - Convenient location when coming from the airport - Plenty of room to sit around, socialize, etc.

Disliked: - No lockers, and limited premise security - No/weak wifi in the rooms (at least the two rooms I stayed in)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andreas Irsch

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 April 2014 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice courtyard, friendly staff, delicious croissants

Disliked: In the night is the street a little bit scary, the beds in our room squeak

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Las Lynge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Las would recommend this property

Liked: I came in by train to St. Charles central station, so the location 200 meters from the station was great. Easy to find if you google a bit in advance. When I moved on via the airport, the shuttle left from St. Charles, so very convinient! The rooms and showers are spotless, and the staff is no less than wonderful. Wifi good. Bar good. I would recommend this place to anyone, even pickish travellers.

Disliked: Perhaps not your cheapest hostel, but you get what you pay for, right?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Liffourrena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the terrace at the back! The girls that work there were really nice and friendly as well, and the computers are available for all to use.

Disliked: The kitchen could be bigger maybe? Also it could be cheaper.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool, relaxed atmosphere. the out door area

Disliked: the uses of keys, not key cards. Expensive breakfast

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bien situé juste en bas de la gare Saint-Charles et à l'entrée du quartier "maghrebin" du Centre ville. L'espace bien aménagée avec beaucoup de caractère.

Disliked: Quelques crochets aux murs dans la chambre seraient la bienvenue pour accrocher son blouson.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Rachapong Chirarattananon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014

Liked: none

Disliked: Room smelled of paint. Wayyyy too over-pricedm with nothing positive for the extra cost. I happened to be staying at 2 hostels in Marseille because I decided to extend my stay after my first hostel was already fully booked. My first hostel was the very similarly named one in Vieux Port. That hostel was 6 Euro cheaper, still very easy to access, and had hotel-quality rooms. If this hostel is priced at 10 or maybe 12 Euro then it would be competable with the one in Vieux Port.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent in almost every respect. The place oozes character and is a really fun and comfortable environment in which to stay. Perfectly located and with extremely friendly and helpful staff I would not hesitate to recommend this hostel.

Disliked: One minor quibble - no lockers, however you can store laptops etc. in the safe behind the desk. This does mean you are left carrying passports and money around with you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the facilities for one thing. We felt like we were in a safe and friendly place and had no qualms leaving our property inside our room. The facilities were good, though with one hob, trying to cook around dinner time could prove challenging if you don't eat early.

Disliked: There wasn't really anything we disliked about the hostel. Possibly having to pay for breakfast? We would really have to nitpick to find anything wrong with the hostel. It is a nice place to stay, though being back and in your room before 10pm would be advised for safety and general courtesy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A big thank you to Adele and and Nina. They were so so helpful and polite always willing to help and give guidance about Marseille. I only wish my stay had been longer in marseille. Will definetely stay at vertigo again.

Disliked: Nothing,and I have stayed at several hostels over the years.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Eck

Alone

Events / festivals

23 October 2013 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very nice staff.

Disliked: Damien left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierluigi Sonsini

Alone

City break

22 October 2013 Pierluigi would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect! Near to the main train station, clean, helpful staff, cozy atmosphere, nice Freanch-buffet-breakfast for only a few Euros, and, the Internet wifi actually works (which is hard to find in a hostel!)

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of. I only stayed one night, though, if I had stayed longer, I might have found some flaws. :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Eyles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Small and clean with nice rooms and hang out spots.

Disliked: Not really a dislike, but possibly aircon in the rooms or even the communal living area would be nice. Makes a big difference to come back at end of a long hot day and be able to cool off and escape the heat.