We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Le Vagabond

Hostel | 365 Ave Ravannel Le Rouge, Chamonix, France 74400

67.8% Overall Rating

62 out of 73 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

Haydon Gray thinks…

"The rooms were very nice and the chairs outside to sit and watch the sun go down over the mountains. The included breakfast is very good. The bunks are very comfortable and the sheets freshly washed…"

Read all Le Vagabond reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.16
  • Linen USD 6.96
  • Towel USD 4.43

Important Information

Please note: any cancellation can only be made by email and not by phone The hostel reception closes at 21.30pm ALL card payments attract additional charge, TPE_frais @ 5.5% IMPORTANT :Winter 2014/15 Breakfast included in price from Fri 12/12/14 to Sat 27/12/14 Half board included in the price from Sat 27/12/14 to and including night of Sunday 04/01/15 From Monday 05/01/15 to and including the night of Saturday 04/04/15 half board included on Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights, breakfast only included Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights. With exception of days Mon 19/01/15 and Tues 20/01/15 HB included or otherwise privately arranged. Breakfast included in the price from Sunday 05/04/15 to and including the night of Saturday 18/04/15 Bed Linen is obligatory @ 5€50 per issued set, covering up to 7-nights continuous stay

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chamonix?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chamonix

AWA Chamonix Chalet Pele
56.23 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 11 reviews
Astoria
52.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Chamonix Lodge
22.96 USD

Hostel 94.3% 18 reviews
AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper
29.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 68 reviews
AWA Hotel Louvre
113.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
AWA Chamonix Chalet Hideaway
74.42 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
AWA La Source Chamonix
38.34 USD

Hostel 82.3% 5 reviews
Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant
20.24 USD

Hostel 80.1% 366 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

62 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Le Vagabond'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
64.0%
Value
65.6%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 70 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Haydon Gray

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2014 Haydon would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very nice and the chairs outside to sit and watch the sun go down over the mountains. The included breakfast is very good. The bunks are very comfortable and the sheets freshly washed and clean.

Disliked: The receptionist/supposed owner was very unprofessional and unreasonable with some guests in the morning. Doesn't seem to understand the 'hospitable' part of working in hospitality. No sinks to wash hands after using the toilet. You have to find a sink in one of the bedrooms to wash hands.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ioannis kalikas

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2014 ioannis would recommend this property

Liked: I like the friendly staff.The location and the people that i found there.The breakfast was very good and the enviroment was clean.I like that the showers also had hot water.THe toilet was clean. The wifi was open almost all day.The view was amazing from outside and the location was close from the center of the city.

Disliked: ioannis left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Evelyn Sedelies

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2014

Liked: Outdoor patio and views. Location.

Disliked: Extremely dirty. Hand basins/sinks are in the dorms only. There are no immediate hand washing facilities near the toilets and I heard/saw nobody wash their hands in my dorm. Hand sanitizes near the toilets would be handy. I was there for two days and the cleaning was superficial at best. Our hand basin remained filthy for two days. The stair wells are poorly lit making them dangerous. The bar area is ok, but can be noisy as the dorms are mostly above. No safe facilities. You can store your luggage in an outdoor shed but it was unlocked when I went to check it; so I didn't trust leaving anything there. Reception hours are very limited and inconvenient. Staff not particularly friendly; can seem put out by you.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff!

Disliked: No lockers and spywebs all over the kitchen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view, the terrase

Disliked: Wi-fi only during recepción hours

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal spirit

Disliked: No access in middle of day

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

David Bea Solana

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

26 May 2014

Liked: Las vistas del hotel.

Disliked: Todo demasiado viejo.o

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was helpful and friendly. The view from the room was amazing. There weren't many others at the hostel which made it nice.

Disliked: Kitchen stoves did not work. Internet only worked when the owner was there from 9am - 10am and then 4.30pm - 10.30pm. I would imagine on peak season the hostel being cramped

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location Easy to get to slopes Bar lovely atmosphere Nice VERY hot water (when it worked)

Disliked: Staff were not very friendly - when the heating and hot water weren't working they were rather defensive

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jonatan holmgren

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2014 jonatan would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy and felt like a home

Disliked: The checkin times

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, excellent Central location

Disliked: There was an extra 5% fee for paying by credit card

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2014

Liked: They have good pies available at the bar.

Disliked: - no heating overnight, it was like sleeping in a fridge - lack of wifi available before sleeping and when I wake up, turns off too soon and comes on too late

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Cato Klefsås

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to centre

Disliked: weird rules like no internet during day and night. Sometimes no heating

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ronen Tagger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013

Liked: location good

Disliked: no hot water, when the bar is closed they disconect the wifi.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013

Liked: The location is great. If you only need a bed and somewhat okay shower then you will be fine.

Disliked: There is no kitchen, internet is off most of the time, no hand soap, and because it is an older building it is loud and smelly. After being active all day it is impossible to get a good night's sleep. I was going to stay longer but ended up just camping out because it wasn't worth it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhouyu Han

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2013 Zhouyu would recommend this property

Liked: Luxury location, 5 min walk to the ski resort shuttle bus stop. 3 Euro/per cup of beer at happy hour from 16:30 -18:30, a good deal and option after a full day skiing. The water in the bathroom is very warm The staff is very friendly and helpful

Disliked: The check-in time only after 16:30

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Hassan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, very close to mountain.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Geoff Barnes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Geoff would recommend this property

Liked: Good position friendly staff

Disliked: No communal area open outside of bar times

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice environment.

Disliked: Need extra charge for linen and towels.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: there is nothing there, and the price was 4euros higher than the price online

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Renee Kusler

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2012 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Le Vagabond was in a good location, very close to the center of town. I was there during low season in November, so it was very quiet and the bar downstairs was not very busy. I imagine that during peak season it would be difficult to sleep with the noise, so if you stay there, you better like to hang out at the bar until late or have good earplugs! Even though the building is a bit old, it was clean, the showers were big and hot. Amazing views in all directions. Seemed safe and secure, though no lockers in rooms for things. Rooms have lotsa hooks to hang towels, coats, etc, which was nice. Also sink in the room was nice.

Disliked: You have to pay for sheets, but this is clearly stated on website, so I was expecting it. Reception is not open during most of the day. I arrived late morning, so they gave me the combination to a shed to put my suitcase in. I recommend this if you are arriving after 10am or before 4:30pm. Otherwise you will stand outside for hours with your bags! No directions on website and google messed me up a bit. Easiest way is to walk straight out of train station onto Ave Michel Croz, take third left on Pl. Balmat and follow that straight onto Rue du Dr. Paccard which is the main touristy street. Walk past all the shops and restuarants to the roundabout and continue straight onto Ave Ravanel la Rouge. (don't veer to the right). Le Vagabond is about two blocks down on the left.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, good staff and good vibe!

Disliked: 20 euro key deposit

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ken Arroyo Ohori

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2012 Ken would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice people, and an amazing view from the room

Disliked: Limited reception opening hours in the low season

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Thomas Koetz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 October 2012

Liked: Very cozy, clean and with a interesting bar on the inside.

Disliked: Me and my friends arrived in Chamonix at 11 AM, to find the hostel closed and empty, so we had to wait with all our luggage until 16 PM. There was no indication of these opening rules in the website or the mail sent by Hostelbookers. When we finally managed to get in, after being greeted by the staff, we were informed that we were supposed to pay the full fare of EUR 167,12, even though we had already paid the 10% deposit online ("Total price is EUR 167.12. 90% is paid directly to the property, 10% is paid to HostelBookers"). When we asked the reason for paying the 10% again, the staff of the hostel stated that Hostelbookers keeps the money as a Fee, and thus they are supposed to apply the whole fare again. This is unthinkable, since me and my friends ended up paying 10% extra for this stay. I don't have complaints about my stay, but because of this issue I won't be staying in this hostel anymore.