We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chalet les Frenes

Guesthouse | 637 Route de Vers le Nant, Chamonix, France 74400

85.9% Overall Rating

90 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2013)

"The owners Phil and Michelle were really welcoming and helpful. Chalet is in a really peaceful area just outside Chamonix with fantastic views out of the bedroom window. Great breakfast! Would definitely come stay here…"

Read all Chalet les Frenes reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chamonix?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chamonix

Chalet Tissieres
37.86 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
AWA Chamonix Hotel Christal
41.15 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mountain Highs Chamonix
25.89 USD

Hostel 94.5% 14 reviews
Le Vagabond
27.65 USD

Hostel 67.8% 73 reviews
AWA Chamonix Chalet Pele
60.92 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 12 reviews
AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper
38.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 67 reviews
Astoria
53.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
AWA Hotel Louvre
116.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

90 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chalet les Frenes'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 70 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners Phil and Michelle were really welcoming and helpful. Chalet is in a really peaceful area just outside Chamonix with fantastic views out of the bedroom window. Great breakfast! Would definitely come stay here again! Amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price and last moment availability

Disliked: The host's absence of home-warm welcoming, which one would expect at a chalet of this kind

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hosts, great hot tub, great value fro money.

Disliked: 3km from town and cabs are pricey if you miss the bus (which is free).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012

Liked: Homely vibe

Disliked: Location, infrequent public transport, very little around, no kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you can ride a bike to chamonix free, it is very good for us, the owner of the Chalet is very friendly and helpful

Disliked: no

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chalet les Frenes was situated in a beautiful setting, our balcony overlooking the mountains. The free use of bicycles was great, good way to get into the City Centre and exploring the area. Liked the fact breakfast was offered, good start to the day.

Disliked: Ideal if you have your own vehicle, bit far from Chamonix city centre, but the bicycles were great to get there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacques Roon

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2012 Jacques would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, beautiful view and friendly and helpfull staff! At a very good rate. What's not to like?

Disliked: Jacques left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Carrick

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like we were staying at a family friends country home! Very accomodating owners who were extremely helpful and hospitable! Location wise, it is very relaxing and quiet (great to get good rest after a long day) - therefore, it's not very close to town in case we missed the last bus/train from a night out... We were eyeing off the spa, although it was not in operation at the time of our stay which was unfortunate (seeing as it was one major selling point of our booking) - However, we felt do comfortable and relaxed that we extended our stay! The owners were extremely helpful and it was a delight meeting them - great place to stay all year round!!!

Disliked: Spa was not operating at the time of our stay and location after bus/train hours...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - room, privacy

Disliked: - a little bit remote place

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helene Petschko

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 February 2012 Helene would recommend this property

Liked: Uncomplicated short term booking possible.nice breakfast at a large table where you meet other guests,very nice private double room,off the track of a busy city,Phil was very helpful-we got snowshoes to rent for free and good advice on where to go best.

Disliked: The public transportation system is good but the stops are difficult to find,especially in winter;)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the 'homeliness' and that I had a bedroom and bathroom to myself (mainly as it was off-season). The breakie was great. Also that it was in a quiet location out of the centre of Chamonix. Yes it was a bit out of town, but I was well aware of that and liked it.

Disliked: That there was no communal area/lounge to sit in after a long day of hiking (or skiing in the winter).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very freindly

Disliked: The place is not super cleaned

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natalie Hindle

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The hot tub! Clean, spacious rooms with storage Breakfast - warm from the oven pain au chocolat's Relaxed atmosphere - the owner is very friendly and laid back

Disliked: You have to rely on bus's to get in and out of Chamonix, bus's aren't too regular with the last bus leaving Chamonix at 11.30pm, and it's 30 Euro for a taxi

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice host; clean and comfy place

Disliked: Without a car you have to rely on chamonix's not so frequent bus services to get to the centre or slopes. The buses Are fine, but they don't come as often as you'd like!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristoffer Pind Levison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2011 Kristoffer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hosts + nice room. I was very satisfied with my stay.

Disliked: Quite far from Chamonix Center.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Hogan

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: extremely helpful staff, very homely feel.

Disliked: distance from chamonix, because we were staying there out of season public transport wasn't regular.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free bike~ good!

Disliked: If they could improve their breakfast, it will be better.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

catherine drolet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010

Liked: ...

Disliked: Everything It shoudn't be described as located in Chamonix

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is very good.The landlord are good and informative and the hospitality was good.We felt as if we are staying in our house.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2010

Liked: clean

Disliked: no one avail for check in, hot tub exists but owner never offered or explained use no kitchen facilities for official use room not made up unsecure

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alisha Rosen

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

19 July 2010 Alisha would recommend this property

Liked: They let us borrow bikes for free to get into town. Without that, we wouldn't have had nearly as good a time as we did. Also, there is a big friendly dog, Pepper, and the neighbors have a very friendly little cat. The owner and his girlfriend both speak English as a first language, and are happy to help you out with anything reasonable.

Disliked: It was far from town, but the bikes took care of that.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010

Liked: There was a very nice view to the mountains.

Disliked: The rooms we had in ground floor was very damp and full of bugs. Even in beds. No towels. Rooms with no keys.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eric Kloosterman

17 May 2010 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, relaxed and carefree atmosphere and good to have some English speaking hosts

Disliked: Eric left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location in a meadow overlooking snow capped peaks. Comfortable, warm, nicely furnished rooms. Hot tub available. Friendly helpful english speaking owner makes fresh bread for your breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.