We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant

Hostel | 45 route de la Frasse, Chamonix, France 74400

80.1% Overall Rating

304 out of 366 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

"Very nice old-style climber's guesthouse with a perfect personnel. Calm place, friendly visitors, good cooks. 10 minutes on foot from the center of Chamonix (cable-way stations, train stations, alpine equipment shops…"

Read all Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Breakfast USD 8.22
  • Linen USD 6.96

Important Information

The Hostel cancellation policy is 7 days prior to arrival. We will pre-authorise the first night on your card after booking. If card is not valid we will request new card details - failure to provide new card details may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chamonix?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chamonix

AWA La Source Chamonix
38.34 USD

Hostel 82.3% 5 reviews
AWA Chamonix Chalet Hideaway
74.42 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Astoria
52.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
AWA Hotel Louvre
113.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper
29.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 68 reviews
AWA Chamonix Chalet Pele
56.23 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 11 reviews
Le Vagabond
47.15 USD

Hostel 67.8% 73 reviews
Chamonix Lodge
22.96 USD

Hostel 94.3% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

304 out of 366 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 280 of 304 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Kenny

30 December 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky place but would recommend booking a smaller room if 18 person dorms are a little too big for your liking...

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter gee

30 December 2009 peter would recommend this property

Liked: locality is good, helpfull staff, good price, kept clean, good place to go as a single traveler as good place to meet people.

Disliked: peter left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 December 2009

Liked: location was good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Moore

27 December 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The price for the room can't be beat. It's a little off the beaten track, but it's clean, and cheap. It's a very basic place, push button showers, basic beds, and not a lot of room. But for the price, it's worth all of that. One thing, don't bother with the 6 euro breakfast. It's cornflakes, bread, and coffee.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I met some great people at this hostel but it was mainly because we were all in the same situation, travelling alone, early in the winter season. The facilities were pretty basic, especially in the kitchen, and there wasn't really anywhere to lock away valuables. The only place we could get access to the wifi was in reception, which wasn't always convenient as there wasn't much seating for us all to use our laptops. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. I enjoyed my stay at the Chamoniard Volant because of the people I met and it served its purpose at the time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie Chew

15 December 2009 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: The Manager, Eric, was excellent. He picked me up from the other Auberge deJeunesse that I went in error. The staff was honest. He was supposed to put me in the hostel with 6 beds but instead he put me in 4 bed room and charged me the same ! It was in downtown and only l0 min walk!

Disliked: Annie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hotel, great landscape

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arun PETER MALAT

27 October 2009 Arun would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful. Loved the stay! Price is good. Recommended! Ten minutes walk from center that not a problem..

Disliked: Arun left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice chalet...feels like home.nice breakfast and not far from city center.if only the showers could have locks would be great.:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice cottage in teh mountains

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pascal De Weser

22 September 2009 Pascal would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value and nice staff who were very helpfull.

Disliked: Pascal left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Heng Kiat Pung

20 September 2009 Heng Kiat would recommend this property

Liked: It's consider good price in Chamionix. You should ask for the Travel pass from the person incharge. The toilet is abit smelly. And the kitchen is abit untidy. If u only come back for sleep, it's the place to stay!!

Disliked: Heng Kiat left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

greig craig

15 September 2009 greig would recommend this property

Liked: i called the hostel to let themknow we would be late arrivung, the guy at the hostel was very helpfull and gave me instructions on how to access after hours. on arrival at about 2am directions to our room were pinned on the wall and on the door. the rooms were and facilities were cleaned daily and staff were polite, friendly and helpfull.. for 13 pounds per night,......could'nt really askfor much more.

Disliked: greig left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Kaan Onel

09 September 2009 Oliver Kaan would recommend this property

Liked: Your basic good honest hostel. A short walk to Chamonix centre. Quite clean and very good value for the price. They do breakfast and food and packed lunches and etc but its typical Chamonix prices. I stayed in a four bed room and slept well. Most visitors are hikers, climbers paragliders etc. Kitchen is full of utensils to cook with' big pots and pans for large party cooking etc and there is a fridge and plenty of gas hobs...Recommended!

Disliked: Oliver Kaan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago De Silva

25 August 2009 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: The staff member who I spoke to when we were running late was very sweet, leaving signs on the door and throughout the hostel to lead us to our beds. The beds themselves, being the freestanding beds in the big dorm were not overly comfortable so I recommend booking a bunk specifically. Aside from that, it was a fairly no-frills hostel, with a kitchen, shared dining area and free Wifi (which was a little temperamental). They also have cooked meals as well as packed lunches on offer which seemed a little pricey so I did not try them. All in all, a good budget option to use as a base for activities in and around the valley.

Disliked: Santiago left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zach Silverzweig

17 August 2009

Liked: Older crowd, climbing focused (as are most in the area), largely European crowd. No locks at all anywhere, a little sketchy feeling but no problems for me on the trip.

Disliked: Zach left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean.Friendly atmosphere and staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Suzanne Borneman

09 August 2009 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: especially in Chamonix this is a perfect place! Nice staf!!!But, they can make more out of it.... a small bar or a place where you can buy something to drink during the evenings makes a place always more lively.And i would suggest them to make a chairs outside.... to sit comfortable in the nice weather!!But it is a really nice place! I had a good time!!!

Disliked: Suzanne left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anne Jackson

06 August 2009 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Demi pension was great value and good atmosphere in the dining room. Although it is a short walk from the centre it is in a quiet semi rural location with great view of Mt Blanc,

Disliked: Anne left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos Martin Cuevas

24 July 2009 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and familiar place, delightful stay, recommended!

Disliked: Carlos left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was VERY nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.