We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant

Hostel | 45 route de la Frasse, Chamonix, France 74400

78.9% Overall Rating

323 out of 387 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2015)

Samuel Knight thinks…

"Great friendly atmosphere in a brilliant location close to town and near bus stops for getting up the mountains. It's a cool place to meet other skiers / snowboarders / adventurers and I made some…"

Read all Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.18
  • Breakfast USD 7.10
  • Linen USD 6.00

Important Information

The Hostel cancellation policy is 7 days prior to arrival. We will pre-authorise the first night on your card after booking. If card is not valid we will request new card details - failure to provide new card details may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chamonix?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chamonix

AWA Chamonix Chalet Hideaway
42.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
AWA Hotel Louvre
98.25 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper
32.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 68 reviews
AWA Chamonix Chalet Pele
48.17 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 11 reviews
Le Vagabond
20.59 USD

Hostel 71.8% 75 reviews
Chamonix Lodge
18.56 USD

Hostel 92.7% 23 reviews
Chalet Tissieres
27.29 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Chalet les Frenes
28.38 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 105 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

323 out of 387 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 296 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Benjamin Dawes

02 March 2010 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly easy going atmosphere, common area to have a beer and meet people.

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good hostel that my needs of a sjort ski trip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheerful & efficient, good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great atmosphere, good value for money and wasnt far from chamonix town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Étienne Léger

09 February 2010 Étienne would recommend this property

Liked: Fridge not so clean, but eh...Everything else great!

Disliked: Étienne left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and a really cheap option for going skiing on a budget. Walking into town is 10 minutes or a bus which you can pick up 1 minute away. Met some great people and had lot of fun here so is def. worth a stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere. Very warm and cosy. Could meet up with others while ciiking.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren O'Brien

05 February 2010 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good location, 4 bed dorm a bit cramped and no internet facilities

Disliked: Darren left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money. cooking and communal fridge facilities. an easy 15-20 minute walk to the centre of town (pass a nice bar, swimming pool and climbing wall on the way). stayed in a 20 bed dorm. was half full at most. no bedding provided except pillow and fleece type sheet. i took a sleeping bag liner which was perfect. no locker but i left stuff in the dorm in a locked case and it felt safe enough. most people left stuff lying around without a problem. the staff can lock away small valuables. i didnt try the food (5euros for breakfast and 12 for dinner) and so dont know what it's like. free wifi access in certain areas like the reception room. i would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Holiday was for some practice only, so cheap and cheerful was required and the Volant met the requirement fine. They happily upgraded me to a 4 bed room at no extra cost. Must have taken sympathy on the old fellow. I did have an expectation of how hostels are run, so no real surprises.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Dave Blackney

30 January 2010 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: hey all I really needed in chamonix was a bed. I was so nackered every arvo after snowboarding and cross country skiing that I basically crawled into bed and collapsed until the next day so a mattress was all I needed. If I wanted a bit more than that I probably would of been disappointed. Lacked atmosphere with no common room and the kitchen wasn't to appealing, a microwave woulda been handy. I'd recommend it for a bed at short notice but for the backpacker experience you should go somewhere else. Cheers dave

Disliked: Dave left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very good place to stay - I met very nice people, people who work in the hostel do their best. I definetely would like to return there. The only minus - 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Chamonix, but it's not a big problem. The bus stop is 3 min from the hostel. So I really enjoyed everything. Thanks a lot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good feel and atmosphere. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlene Hendricks

19 January 2010 Charlene would recommend this property

Liked: It was definitely a place to meet people! The kitchen facilites were good too and this definitely helped as the food in chamonix is expensive so cooking in the kitchen was great. Wish they had a microwave though. We had a 4-bed dorm which was very confortable room except that my bed creaked a lot. Ample toilets on each floor and value for money. A little further away from the train station but you get to take in the sights while walking around.

Disliked: Charlene left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

marcus derencius

01 January 2010 marcus would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice place, I could sleep very well. there were some families with kids. you need to walk a little to get into city centre.

Disliked: marcus left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Kenny

30 December 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky place but would recommend booking a smaller room if 18 person dorms are a little too big for your liking...

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter gee

30 December 2009 peter would recommend this property

Liked: locality is good, helpfull staff, good price, kept clean, good place to go as a single traveler as good place to meet people.

Disliked: peter left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 December 2009

Liked: location was good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Moore

27 December 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The price for the room can't be beat. It's a little off the beaten track, but it's clean, and cheap. It's a very basic place, push button showers, basic beds, and not a lot of room. But for the price, it's worth all of that. One thing, don't bother with the 6 euro breakfast. It's cornflakes, bread, and coffee.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I met some great people at this hostel but it was mainly because we were all in the same situation, travelling alone, early in the winter season. The facilities were pretty basic, especially in the kitchen, and there wasn't really anywhere to lock away valuables. The only place we could get access to the wifi was in reception, which wasn't always convenient as there wasn't much seating for us all to use our laptops. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. I enjoyed my stay at the Chamoniard Volant because of the people I met and it served its purpose at the time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie Chew

15 December 2009 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: The Manager, Eric, was excellent. He picked me up from the other Auberge deJeunesse that I went in error. The staff was honest. He was supposed to put me in the hostel with 6 beds but instead he put me in 4 bed room and charged me the same ! It was in downtown and only l0 min walk!

Disliked: Annie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hotel, great landscape

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arun PETER MALAT

27 October 2009 Arun would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful. Loved the stay! Price is good. Recommended! Ten minutes walk from center that not a problem..

Disliked: Arun left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice chalet...feels like home.nice breakfast and not far from city center.if only the showers could have locks would be great.:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.