HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant

Hostel | 45 route de la Frasse, Chamonix, France 74400

79.2% Overall Rating

303 out of 365 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

"Very nice old-style climber's guesthouse with a perfect personnel. Calm place, friendly visitors, good cooks. 10 minutes on foot from the center of Chamonix (cable-way stations, train stations, alpine equipment shops…"

Read all Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.64
  • Breakfast USD 8.57
  • Linen USD 7.25

Important Information

The Hostel cancellation policy is 7 days prior to arrival. We will pre-authorise the first night on your card after booking. If card is not valid we will request new card details - failure to provide new card details may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chamonix?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chamonix

Villa Montblanc
19.24 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
AWA La Source Chamonix
39.94 USD

Hostel 82.3% 5 reviews
AWA Chamonix Chalet Hideaway
51.69 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Astoria
56.01 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
AWA Hotel Louvre
118.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper
41.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 64 reviews
AWA Chamonix Chalet Pele
62.02 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 12 reviews
Le Vagabond
37.14 USD

Hostel 71.8% 69 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

303 out of 365 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 279 of 303 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was basic, but really nice place to stay. The Chamonix bus stop was virtually on the doorstep. The owners did their best to keep noise after 10 pm to a minimum.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marco Trevisan

25 March 2010 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Marco left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was well positioned and a great place to meet people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

James Griffiths

15 March 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: Was a pretty cheap and reasonable hostel. I just needed somewhere to shower and crash after a days snowboarding and this place hit the spot. Convenient location and great price, will definately stay again and recommend to others.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly hostel in good location would recomend to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Gunnarsen

10 March 2010 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location and yet near transportation and city life.

Disliked: Lars left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tamas Kovacs

03 March 2010 Tamas would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money (chamonix is very expensive in general), room/bed/shower/toilet clean, can't complain. we were only sleeping there, so can't say anything about facilities (haven't used the kitchen for example), or how fun place it was. one thing i didn't like was that there was a door which was open 0-24, and we couldn't lock the dorm room either, so we left everything in the car (there were two lockers in a 6 bed dorm). it's a nice area so i guess nobody would come in from the street and rob you, but i found it a bit weird. in general it's a good hostel.

Disliked: Tamas left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Benjamin Dawes

02 March 2010 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly easy going atmosphere, common area to have a beer and meet people.

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good hostel that my needs of a sjort ski trip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheerful & efficient, good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great atmosphere, good value for money and wasnt far from chamonix town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Étienne Léger

09 February 2010 Étienne would recommend this property

Liked: Fridge not so clean, but eh...Everything else great!

Disliked: Étienne left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and a really cheap option for going skiing on a budget. Walking into town is 10 minutes or a bus which you can pick up 1 minute away. Met some great people and had lot of fun here so is def. worth a stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere. Very warm and cosy. Could meet up with others while ciiking.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren O'Brien

05 February 2010 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good location, 4 bed dorm a bit cramped and no internet facilities

Disliked: Darren left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money. cooking and communal fridge facilities. an easy 15-20 minute walk to the centre of town (pass a nice bar, swimming pool and climbing wall on the way). stayed in a 20 bed dorm. was half full at most. no bedding provided except pillow and fleece type sheet. i took a sleeping bag liner which was perfect. no locker but i left stuff in the dorm in a locked case and it felt safe enough. most people left stuff lying around without a problem. the staff can lock away small valuables. i didnt try the food (5euros for breakfast and 12 for dinner) and so dont know what it's like. free wifi access in certain areas like the reception room. i would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Holiday was for some practice only, so cheap and cheerful was required and the Volant met the requirement fine. They happily upgraded me to a 4 bed room at no extra cost. Must have taken sympathy on the old fellow. I did have an expectation of how hostels are run, so no real surprises.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Dave Blackney

30 January 2010 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: hey all I really needed in chamonix was a bed. I was so nackered every arvo after snowboarding and cross country skiing that I basically crawled into bed and collapsed until the next day so a mattress was all I needed. If I wanted a bit more than that I probably would of been disappointed. Lacked atmosphere with no common room and the kitchen wasn't to appealing, a microwave woulda been handy. I'd recommend it for a bed at short notice but for the backpacker experience you should go somewhere else. Cheers dave

Disliked: Dave left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very good place to stay - I met very nice people, people who work in the hostel do their best. I definetely would like to return there. The only minus - 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Chamonix, but it's not a big problem. The bus stop is 3 min from the hostel. So I really enjoyed everything. Thanks a lot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good feel and atmosphere. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlene Hendricks

19 January 2010 Charlene would recommend this property

Liked: It was definitely a place to meet people! The kitchen facilites were good too and this definitely helped as the food in chamonix is expensive so cooking in the kitchen was great. Wish they had a microwave though. We had a 4-bed dorm which was very confortable room except that my bed creaked a lot. Ample toilets on each floor and value for money. A little further away from the train station but you get to take in the sights while walking around.

Disliked: Charlene left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

marcus derencius

01 January 2010 marcus would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice place, I could sleep very well. there were some families with kids. you need to walk a little to get into city centre.

Disliked: marcus left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Kenny

30 December 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky place but would recommend booking a smaller room if 18 person dorms are a little too big for your liking...

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.