HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Barefoot Manta Island

Guesthouse

Yasawa Island, Yasawa Islands, Fiji

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 80%

Location 98%

Safety 81%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"

Important Information

Property Cancellation Policy:
60-30 days prior to arrival = 50%
0-30 days prior to Arrival = 100%

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 14:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Yasawa Islands?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 80%

Location 98%

Safety 81%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: There are 3 beaches, so you can always choose the beach where it's sunny and where it's less windy. The snorkeling trip to see the mantas is definitely the best about this resort! It's 55 FJD including gear. It's very exciting when they play the drums and shout "Mantarays!!!" and everyone runs to the boats to go and snorkel with the mantas. We saw 3 mantas and they were amazing. The bures (little huts = 4 bed dorms) are basic, but nice and very close to the beach. There are lots of hammocks and doughnuts for free use. You can rent kayaks and snorkeling gear. There is a dive shop that offers diving trips.

Disliked: The food! You pay a package price and it's compulsory to pay for the food. But what you get does not really correspond to the amount you paid. After swimming and snorkeling the amount of food you get is not really sufficient. And there is not a lot of variety in the dishes. You don't have a buffet (like in most other resorts) nor can you chose any dish, there is just one dish for everyone. If you are vegetarian or need a gluten-free meal, they try to give you something else, but nothing fancy.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a really nice island, the 4 bed dorms are in small cottages. It's close to the stream where the Mantas swim, so they go only out, when they spot some. Some other Islands offer the manta swim cheaper. For me it was one of the best experiences in fiji

Disliked: The showers only rinse, if you have long hair, it will take you ages to wash them

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway

Liked: We stayed in the ensuite 'Safari tents' which were wonderful, and loved our stay at Barefoot Island. Their 3 beaches are beautiful, the staff are fantastic and the snorkelling/diving is wonderful. The Dorm accommodation looked a lot more basic, and the general facilities were simple, but charming.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Location, beautiful beaches, fantastic staff

Disliked: Food was average, needs drinkable running water

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: Fijian staff are great so friendly and helpful

Disliked: Toilets and showers very basic would have liked to upgrade to private facilities but full

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was just an amazing holiday. Barefoot Resort is a small Resort in the Yasawa Islands. It´s cosy beautiful and offers great recreational activities from Snorkeling to Scuba Diving Fishing and so on. Staff there is just great!

Disliked: Nothing. Literally nothing. It was far more than I expected and I am looking forward to return there as soon as I can.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely location

Disliked: Food was average

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa

Liked: It was an amazing little island where we felt like we were noticed as guests! The beaches are stunning and we enjoyed snorkelling and having the opportunity to dive and take part in several activities such as coconut jewelry making, basket weaving, hermit crab races etc. The bures were simple but very comfortable. The sunset deck where we had dinner and drinks was a great touch and was well thought out. The snorkelling there is AMAZING! We did it every day we were there and found something new each time.

Disliked: It would be nice to have more bures with an ensuite option. Some other travellers mentioned other resorts in the Yasawas had nice long drops that had no smell and were very clean. The toilets here were flushable but when the water ran out everything just had to sit in the heat... The food was good, with some meals being delicious and some oily and very average. It would have been nice to have some small snack with afternoon tea as it was literally just tea and coffee at a particular time in the afternoon. It would seem more logical to have tea and coffee available all day rather than at 'afternoon tea time'. Maybe juice also as it gets SO hot there! The hireage of snorkelling equipment is just for 2 hours, not half a day as stated on the website. We were at Barefoot a few weeks after the cyclone had hit and it was great to see some of the workers making an effort to tidy the place up, however with the cyclone came lots of bits of plastic and sea junk, I was really disappointed to see this washed up on both beaches and ended up spending two mornings picking this up myself. I don't blame Barefoot for the rubbish of course, but I do think there should be more of an effort to maintain the beaches and wildlife. It was nice to be able to access the internet but it was only available in the main bure and was $5 FJD per half an hour - when I asked for 15 minutes I was charged $3 for 20...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Located on a beautiful island with stunning beaches and authentic fijian hutts as rooms so it makes it a very authentic place to spend time to.

Disliked: The tap water is not suitable for drinking but mineral water is for sale and not very cheap. Some resorts provide fresh drinkable water for free.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The three beaches are amazing.

Disliked: The food was attempted European - local/traditional food would have been much better.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability