HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barefoot Lodge

Guesthouse | Naviti, Drawaqa Island, Yasawa Islands, Fiji .

87.3% Overall Rating

27 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2013)

"We stayed in the ensuite 'Safari tents' which were wonderful, and loved our stay at Barefoot Island. Their 3 beaches are beautiful, the staff are fantastic and the snorkelling/diving is wonderful. The Dorm accommodation…"

Read all Barefoot Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Property Cancellation Policy: 60-30 days prior to arrival = 50% 0-30 days prior to Arrival = 100%

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Yasawa Islands?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Yasawa Islands

Naqalia Lodge
32.10 USD

Guesthouse 72.0% 5 reviews
Bay of Plenty Lodge
34.78 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 10 reviews
Safe Landing Resort
58.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.6% 3 reviews
Coralview Island Resort
17.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.5% 11 reviews
Mantaray Island Resort
21.94 USD

Hotel 5 star 85.7% 7 reviews
Wayalailai Eco Haven Resort
64.21 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

27 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barefoot Lodge'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 27 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the ensuite 'Safari tents' which were wonderful, and loved our stay at Barefoot Island. Their 3 beaches are beautiful, the staff are fantastic and the snorkelling/diving is wonderful. The Dorm accommodation looked a lot more basic, and the general facilities were simple, but charming.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pille Arike

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

23 May 2013 Pille would recommend this property

Liked: Location, beautiful beaches, fantastic staff

Disliked: Food was average, needs drinkable running water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just an amazing holiday. Barefoot Resort is a small Resort in the Yasawa Islands. It´s cosy beautiful and offers great recreational activities from Snorkeling to Scuba Diving Fishing and so on. Staff there is just great!

Disliked: Nothing. Literally nothing. It was far more than I expected and I am looking forward to return there as soon as I can.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fijian staff are great so friendly and helpful

Disliked: Toilets and showers very basic would have liked to upgrade to private facilities but full

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Raniero Da prat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Raniero would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location

Disliked: Food was average

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing little island where we felt like we were noticed as guests! The beaches are stunning and we enjoyed snorkelling and having the opportunity to dive and take part in several activities such as coconut jewelry making, basket weaving, hermit crab races etc. The bures were simple but very comfortable. The sunset deck where we had dinner and drinks was a great touch and was well thought out. The snorkelling there is AMAZING! We did it every day we were there and found something new each time.

Disliked: It would be nice to have more bures with an ensuite option. Some other travellers mentioned other resorts in the Yasawas had nice long drops that had no smell and were very clean. The toilets here were flushable but when the water ran out everything just had to sit in the heat... The food was good, with some meals being delicious and some oily and very average. It would have been nice to have some small snack with afternoon tea as it was literally just tea and coffee at a particular time in the afternoon. It would seem more logical to have tea and coffee available all day rather than at 'afternoon tea time'. Maybe juice also as it gets SO hot there! The hireage of snorkelling equipment is just for 2 hours, not half a day as stated on the website. We were at Barefoot a few weeks after the cyclone had hit and it was great to see some of the workers making an effort to tidy the place up, however with the cyclone came lots of bits of plastic and sea junk, I was really disappointed to see this washed up on both beaches and ended up spending two mornings picking this up myself. I don't blame Barefoot for the rubbish of course, but I do think there should be more of an effort to maintain the beaches and wildlife. It was nice to be able to access the internet but it was only available in the main bure and was $5 FJD per half an hour - when I asked for 15 minutes I was charged $3 for 20...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anne Boura

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

02 January 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Located on a beautiful island with stunning beaches and authentic fijian hutts as rooms so it makes it a very authentic place to spend time to.

Disliked: The tap water is not suitable for drinking but mineral water is for sale and not very cheap. Some resorts provide fresh drinkable water for free.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The three beaches are amazing.

Disliked: The food was attempted European - local/traditional food would have been much better.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean and Allan Rogers

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2012 Jean and Allan would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and atmosphere is great. The three beaches within two minutes walk of each other. The sheltered seats scattered around. The dining outside under the trees.

Disliked: The mosquitoes -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kat Luper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Kat would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great. The island has a sunrise beach and a sunset beach. Very nicely set up for a "backpacker's" resort. Lots of activities.

Disliked: Cold salt water showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cathy thomas

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 cathy would recommend this property

Liked: on a low budget you got it all. Good clean, fun, and natural. All meals were included, and yummy. plenty of things to do, plenty of space to get away from it all, great people, the fijians were fabulous. All staff tried to meet any requests (reasonable) made. Fantastic snorkling and manta ray swimming.

Disliked: i would have liked a few deck chairs to lounge on when not swimming, dining or hanging out at the bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Olivier Boraz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2012 Olivier would recommend this property

Liked: Except from the shared bathroom that could be better, everything was just so perfect in this hostel : the staff is extremely nice and totally available to their guests, the location is just some piece of paradise. I snorkelled twice whith the mantas and that was just a thing to remember. An unforgettable visit on an island that I highly recmmend !

Disliked: The shared bathroom need to be rethought and the fresh water should be free.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Lane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Get to swim with the Manta Rays right off the Island, truely a once in a lifetime experience! A real tropical island lifestyle and a fantastic honey pot for adventurous travellers from all parts of the globe.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really nice and peaceful, with 3 beaches and clear water and Mantaray swim :)

Disliked: just showers and toilets need to be shared

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEPHEN HOLTON

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 STEPHEN would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best places we have stayed Jay could not be more helpfull. superb location great coral

Disliked: nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2011

Liked: snorkelling

Disliked: Mika the manager was very unhelpful, our booking had been lost & they were not expecting our stay so were unprepared, although we were told this was not the first time. We had to wait for an hour and a half on another island after the boat failed to pick us up from the ferry service. The staff just leave you to your own devices unlike most resorts in teh yasawas where the staff are only too happy to inform you if all the activities. We cut our stay short as the weather turned and we had done everything on offer in the first 2 days, not a place for young people, go to the other resorts if you want to have fun. The island would only suit if you want to be left completely alone & enjoy very basic accomodation & food.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what we wanted. It is remote and very basic. A complete island getaway and you feel completely removed from civilisation. Great staff. I loved waking up to the sun rising over the sea from my bure on the beach.

Disliked: No plug socket in the bure.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beaches were the best we had in Fiji (out of 3 islands). There are three beaches you can walk to within less than 5 minutes so there is plenty of choice (or if it is windy on one side you just go to the other). Kayaking, snorkelling, fishing trips are all free. Most of the staff are very friendly, especially Bio. The accomodation is basic but it has clean sheets, a fan, light and mosquito net. Also there is power 24 hours a day. (this is a very back to basics island so I would not recommend if you are scared of the dark or not very good at entertaining yourself. Take lots of books in case it is cloudy in Fiji!)

Disliked: This is a very back to basics island. Toilets/shower blocks are outside away from your bure so you have to walk in the dark at night. Make sure you take a torch! This island is primarily for the use of Captain Cook cruises who stop there during a 3/4 day trip. You do get invited on most excursions they do during the day but you can feel a little second best to those on the trip. On the days that the boat is not there, we felt the facilities were not looked after as well as they could have been and the food on offer was not as varied. We thought it would have been good if they picked up more loose debris from the sand also such as fallen coconut leaves etc.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rustic, the real Fiji! It was no frills but atmosphere & friendliness was really genuine. The location is second to none.

Disliked: Kitchen could be kept cleaner

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katherine Clay

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Also you get all you can eat coconuts. The food is generally good and filling. There is also good snorkelling off the reef and a good vibe when there are many people. The bures are simple but clean and comfy.

Disliked: Please read this if you are planning to stay at Barefoot lodge. We've noticed a lot of people who booked on hostelbookers aren't getting picked up from the Yasawa flyer. It didn't just happen to us. We were stuck waiting on Manta Ray island for 2 hours while they tried to make contact with Barefoot lodge. I don't think they check their hostelbookers bookings, so make sure if you stay here confirm with them before you leave Nadi. Also you should know that this place is set up to cater for captain cook cruises, so when the people from the cruise turn up expect to feel treated a bit like a second class citizen... If you want to do things like visit the villages you'll have to pay extra. Having said this they don't charge for snorkelling or spear fishing like manta ray. It was a nice place to stay but very frustrating with the boat situation. Also the manager seems a bit strange. And there is nothing to read/no book exchange so if the weather turns bad there's nothing to do but sit in your hut.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Anglin

22 June 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This was my highlight of my trip to Fiji. The staff were incredible! At one point, me and my partner had the entire island to ourselves! It was beautiful, simple, and a complete delight.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere.Genuine staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Wynne

21 October 2009 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: we had the best time loved every minute and didn't want to leavethanks for the best timekel and mick

Disliked: Kelly left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: Three (!) beautiful beaches with corals and heaps of fish, palm trees everywhere, very clear water. Lots of things to do (snorkeling, basket weaving, coconut husking, swimming with manta rays, fishing, hiking, kayaking, many hammocks) - staff goes to great lengths to show everything and keep you happy. All activities included, no extra costs. Swimming with the manta rays is so amazing (and closer to Barefoot Lodge than to the Mantaray Resort)!!! Authentic Fijian style location - so rather basic bures and facilities. Very good meals (buffet, so always enough, always fresh fruits, variety in type of dish). Decent prices for drinks. Very friendly staff. It is not a party location but for relaxing or getting to know the Fijian way of life. We loved it!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Mattingley

18 February 2009 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Peace and quiet, friendly staff, being one with nature

Disliked: Roger left no negative feedback.