HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nadi hostels

Reviews of Stoney Creek Resort

Hostel | Sabeto, Nadi, Fiji .

89.1% Overall Rating

48 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

Dorian Martinka thinks…

"We were in Fiji to enjoy the mountains after having plenty of snorkeling and water sports in Tonga. Stoney Creek is off the beaten track and offers spedid views of the mountains. The entry patio was…"

Read all Stoney Creek Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.13
  • Luggage Room USD 1.08

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

If guests wish to check out without staying the full duration of the pre-confirmed booking, you are advised that the property will have no alternative but to charge full accommodation as booked. Stoney Creek Resort is a small boutique mountain getaway and it is sure that accommodation will be available during checkin.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nadi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nadi

Wailoaloa Beach Resort Fiji
8.13 USD

Hotel 4 star 80.2% 44 reviews
Travellers Beach Resort
6.50 USD

Hostel 77.3% 144 reviews
Hans Travel Inn
15.17 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Surf and Dive The Rendezvous
11.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Beach Escape Villas
10.84 USD

Hostel 71.0% 127 reviews
Nadi Downtown Hotel
5.42 USD

Hostel 63.1% 73 reviews
Nadi Bay Resort
20.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 44 reviews
Hotel Kennedy
8.13 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

48 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stoney Creek Resort'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014

Liked: The pool was nice, and it was interesting to see the mountains.

Disliked: The staff weren't that helpful...never assisted with bags, gave extremely poor directions that involved us walking 3 miles in sweltering heat. There weren't enough activities to keep us occupied, which for a resort in the middle of nowhere is kind of a must. They didn't accept credit cards, which is very inconvenient. When we arrived at 7pm we were told the chef had left for the day. They were out of bottled water for the duration of our stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorian Martinka

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 July 2013 Dorian would recommend this property

Liked: We were in Fiji to enjoy the mountains after having plenty of snorkeling and water sports in Tonga. Stoney Creek is off the beaten track and offers spedid views of the mountains. The entry patio was a spendid place to relax, read or enjoy the refreshing pool. The staff was really friendly and accomodating. We ate all our meals there, it isn't too convenient to go elsewhere, and my vegetarian diet was accomodated. The meals were very reasonably priced. Gary and Michele, the owners, are continuously upgrading the resort. Gary is constructing a very inspired miniature golf course that should be done near the end of the year. They are both fascinatiing to talk with.

Disliked: Probably the only minus is that the dirt road that runs below the property is very well used and it's not particularly fun to walk along as large trucks come by and stir up dust. I had planned to mountain bike, but didn't partly becuase I wasn't sure the roads would be too great for that. The valley below the resort is undergoing a lot of development includeing a large teacher's college for Seventh Day Adventists. The construction is a bit loud. But the prooperty itself is lovely and, as other reviews may have mentioned, quirky, but in a positve way.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2012

Liked: Loved all the cats and dogs, not so much stepping in their mess outside our door at night. We had two meals during our stay, lunch and dinner. We had expected breakfast in the morning before our early flight out as it was supposed to be included but when we left our room no one was to be found so we ate later at the airport. We arrived from the coral coast around 2:00 and asked if we could have lunch. Michelle asked what we wanted to eat, no menu. We said we didn't really know what they had and so she offered ham and cheese sandwiches with fries for about $10 each, not bad. For dinner they put out a chalkboard menu with 4 or so options all for around $19. We orderd the chicken curry to share as we had had a late lunch. It was delicious!!! Served with a tomato chutney and mini samosas, the presentation was beautiful and the portion size was great. We shared a deluxe private suite. There was a queen size bed as well as a twin. The room was clean, spacious and well appointed. We were each given a large bottle of water on arrival and there was a mini fridge and coffee maker in the room. The bathroom had a double sink, a big roomy shower, separate toilet and Stoney creek provided towels, shampoo, conditioner and body wash. .

Disliked: No screens on the bedroom windows and bugs were plentiful, to compensate for this there was netting around the beds and the staff often came around with mosquito coils. Not an eleven minute drive from the airport. It took closer to 20. I had originally tried to book a dorm room for our stay but it said there was no availability for two people in a dorm for the night we were there. When we arrived we quickly realized we were two of only three guests staying at the "resort". The grounds were abit of a disaster. It seems they are trying some renovations but nothing that has been started will ever be finished. There were things everywhere! Just stuff! Random renos all over the grounds, much of the space appeared to not have been used for at least a year, the guest book had not been signed since October of 2011 and there were cobwebs throughout the bar and indoor public areas. There were large holes in many spots on the deck where people's feet appear to have pushed through. Thay had dozens of mismatched patio furniture, much of it in ill repair. Overall the property had a very eerie almost creepy vibe. When we first got there michelle yelled at us from behind the bar, not a very warm welcome and certainly not the Fijian hospitality we had experienced at the last place we had stayed. She seemed a little annoyed when we asked to eat and was very rude to her staff who were extremely sweet. The bar was out of white wine!?!?!!! We had an early fight out and had previously emailed with Michelle to ensure that booking a taxi would not be a problem. After dinner I asked her if she had already arranged for our taxi. She replied that she would not arrange our transportation until after we had settled our bill for our stay. Fine. Rude but fine. When I brought her my credit card she told me they only accept cash, as it was our final night we only had enough cash on us for the taxi back to the airport She told us we would have to give the money to the taxi driver in the morning. The machine at the airport charges $9 per transaction plus costs incurred by our own bank branch. This piece of info would have been useful ahead of time, maybe in one of the emails. Overall I would not recommend Stoney Creek to other travelers. It looks like it possibly was once a nice place to stay but has gone way downhill.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olan O'Mahony

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

31 December 2011 Olan would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting and the owners and staff were so friendly. We arrived late in the night after travelling all day and they gave us complimentary drinks and made us food even though it was well past the dinner time. Our room was gorgeous, really clean and spacious and great value for money. Facilities were great too, big screen and pool, tables tennis etc. Loved our stay here!

Disliked: Olan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is clean, relaxing and the owners are lovely! We stayed in a gorgeous private bure for 2 nights after spending two weeks island hopping and it was the perfect way to end our trip - especially with a visit to the hot springs nearby. Great food on offer too.

Disliked: Its a bit out of the way from the hustle and bustle of Nadi bay, but thats not necessarily a bad thing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, beautiful scenery

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming little hostel set in a beautiful location in the foothills above Nandi. We were made very welcome, the room and facilities were excellent, and the food was delicious. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff!

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyone who was there, made my last week of travelling special, i felt welcomed and could relax. They had the best food, I had for a long time.

Disliked: going to the toilet in the dark...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners. It's their home that they've opened up to random travelers & you feel like a real 'guest' The food was great! There's plenty of touristy information and guidebooks about fiji which was great for me. I showed up without any plans so was able to organise the rest of my Fiji holiday

Disliked: Transportation to and from Nadi was difficult at best, at least for me. There are buses apparently but I only saw one while waiting at the bus stop in Nadi for 2 hrs and it stopped half way @ the airport, kicked me off and went back into Nadi. I stuck to cabs.. they were relatively cheap. Wifi would've been nice, just to be able to book and plan the rest of my trip

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christin Koch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2011 Christin would recommend this property

Liked: This place is an amazing alternation to the beach. The owner Michelle is the most helpful person and set me up with my entire trip and also invited me to see her family. The place itself is great to relax, read books, enjoy the nature, swim in the pool, have stunning views, eat very yummi food, chat with the friendly staff and much more. A must stay.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Pilley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: Stoney Creek is a beautiful resort owned by a lovely lady and is situated up in the mountains. Although there is a short dirt track which you need to drive via to get to the resort it is incredibly worth it. The accommodation is stunning, the views incredible and there are loads of activities to do. We spent our final 2 nights in Fiji here before we flew out of the country and it was a perfect setting to relax and chill in after the commotions of the islands! We compared our stay to a fun youth club for travellers what with the pool table, ping pong table, endless board games and cute dogs and cats running around! There is also a local trek to the waterfall which is meant to be fab. We look forward to revisiting the resort some time in the future!

Disliked: Location means there is no internet but hat's not a problem!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely scenery, pleasant atmosphere, great food

Disliked: Dorms are very noisy and it's a bit far to the loo in the middle of the night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Measures

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Truly stunning location, beautiful property, bags of character, perfect quiet retreat to relax (in the pool?) and plan your next move (or get ready for your flight out of Nadi!). Amazing staff, anf Michelle is like a mother to all. This is by far the best hostel I have stayed in so far.

Disliked: The difficulty of leaving (I have already extended my stay!!)...!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Michelle was a lovely hostess and she did everything she could to make our stay a wonderful one. When we arrived we were the only guest so she upgraded us from a dorm to a double which was great. The Pool was nice to have as it got very hot there in the day. Breakfast was great with cereals, toast, fruit, tea, coffee etc.

Disliked: The property, although being out in the mountains which added to the relaxation of the holiday, i did find it slightly out of the way and access to it by public transport was sporadic. It always seemed a hassle to get taxi drivers to charge us the correct fee to get to the hostel and this put a downer on it for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Hodgson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: I'm always a bit wary of writeups that offer nothing but praise for the resort - but in the case of the Stoney Creek Resort, I have nothing but praise for Gary and Michelle's paradise up in the hills above Nadi. Arriving on site is a little disconcerting, as it resembles a building site, but make your way past the concrete mixers and scaffolding and you'll find a welcoming pool and beautiful landscaped gardens. I had actually booked into a dorm room, but quickly found myself upgraded, first to their Love Shack double rooms and then to a double bure with en suite facilities, fridge and coffeemaker. Although I never did find out where to get coffee from. The outlook is beautiful, with superb views of the Sabeto mountains. I was there for Diwali, and watched the fireworks show across Nadi.This charming couple are developing the resort continually (hence the concrete mixers) and will soon have even more rooms available. Apparently Gary gets his ideas for the resort while flying short haul planes out of Nadi. Their collection of rescue dogs are both welcoming and friendly, and the cats seem happy to just laze in the sun. As should you… many travellers arrive for two nights and stay for six (or more). Just watch out for frogs underfoot - it can wreck your evening if you squish one! The food is homecooked and really good, the beer is cheap, and the owners go out of their way to help you get the best out of your stay (when I booked I immediately got pages of information on how to get here, how to get the cheapest taxi deals, what to bring and so on) and will cheerfully book you on into your next destination. The staff followed me around with mosquito coils, and Michelle even sliced some aloe vera for the bites.Only fly in the ointment is the lack of airconditioning - but that seems a small price to pay for wonderful surroundings and personal attention second to none.

Disliked: I have nothing but praise for the place - it's a bit quiet, which is no bad thing, but as soon as word really gets out.....

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very friendly staff

Disliked: As there weren't too many other guests I stayed at one building alone, was quite scary at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The food was amazing , so were the rooms. Always spotlessly clean and tidy! The hostel is more like a hotel than a hostel - we didn't want to leave!

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked about this hostel at all ! The location isn't brilliant if you are looking to get around the mainland as you have to rely on local transport... but fantastic if you just want to relax and enjoy the surroundings in the peaceful mountains!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Clare Meyerhoff

With my spouse / partner

26 August 2010 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners and the dogs!

Disliked: The bumpy road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Best of the Best; so you can stay in a hostel with all the boorish people - who make things up about themselves to sound "interesting" - you know the ones I mean and the "party animals" who sit there all night with one beer or you can stay here - a beautiful resort at the foot of the Sabeto Mountains - its on the major (cheap) bus routes to everywhere so you are well connected.The place is great; rooms, facilities, pool, restaurant, bar etc etc and its run by 2 of the nicest people in the Southern ( or for that matter any other) Hemisphere - Gary and Michelle - and the home cooked meals in the evening are amazing - dont miss them. You'll meet interesting people and get to chat over dinner until the early hours - oh and the drinks are cheap also.Fantastic - DO NOT PASS THIS UP!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Malone

With my spouse / partner

24 July 2010 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful couple who run the resort. amazing scenery around the resort

Disliked: Relaxing atmosphere

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice, quiet and relaxing spot with friendly staff and even friendlier animals!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Arts

07 May 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: It's up in the mountains and a quiet place so if you want to party hard don't if you want beautiful surroundings and a good walkabout opportunity go go go.Hot spring waterfalls and garden of the sleeping giant are all close by

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Tews

05 May 2010 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: If I had a problem Michelle was helping immediately. Great staff and a just great place to stay!

Disliked: Linda left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was very quiet and a great place to unwind away from all the tourist hype

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Nadi hostels