We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nadi hostels

Reviews of Smugglers Cove Backpackers

Hostel | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay Nadi, Fiji .

81.8% Overall Rating

222 out of 249 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/05/2015)

"Very friendly staff, will do anything for you. Great atmosphere. Amazing value for money!"

Read all Smugglers Cove Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation made within 7 days of arrival or later, a 100% forfeit of the total booking price will be charged. 'CANCELLATION POLICY" - Notice received before 1 Week prior to arrival no charge. Notice received after or within 1 week to arrival all night's accommodation booked will be charged, No show all accommodation booked will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nadi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nadi

Aquarius On The Beach
18.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 51 reviews
Horizon Beach Backpackers
5.64 USD

Hostel 81.7% 101 reviews
Bamboo Beach
7.04 USD

Hostel 83.1% 137 reviews
Wailoaloa Beach Resort Fiji
7.04 USD

Hotel 4 star 80.3% 49 reviews
Nadi Bay Resort
18.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 44 reviews
Grand Melanesian Hotel
21.13 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Nomads Skylodge
18.08 USD

Hostel 77.5% 55 reviews
Stoney Creek Resort
15.50 USD

Hostel 88.3% 53 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

222 out of 249 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smugglers Cove Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 173 of 192 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amado Castillo

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 May 2015 Amado would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff superb :)

Disliked: Amado left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Vardy

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great location about f$15 from airport and good boat charters to the surf

Disliked: I didn't stay long enough

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

01 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, will do anything for you. Great atmosphere. Amazing value for money!

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The airport transfer

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that I was picked up at the airport by very friendly staff

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't very clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: some staff nice, friendly and welcoming. Atmosphere is chilled, calm and relaxed. Free activities available thou when they happen is sometimes not when it states.

Disliked: Fiji time, more like it will get done when I feel like it. Some staff you get the sense their friendliness is fake. Beach could do with a tidy up!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We ended up getting a dorm to ourselves with a private bathroom. The room was nice and clean. The hostel is right on the beach and has a bar and restaurant. The evenings are nice to eat and drink. They had a fire show as well.

Disliked: Its a ways from town, for the one and only night we went out. We had to take a taxi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: environment and location

Disliked: did not have many free day activites and night special programmes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah-Jane Antell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Sarah-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff, knew your name, helped with bags and took you to your room. Free pick up from airport and free breakfast (even nz hostels can't manage this lol). Great shows at night. Loved our stay here, we have booked to stay there again on our return to the mainland after island hopping.

Disliked: Sarah-Jane left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Gatley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Property clean and modern.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Divic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how the hostel stored my gear for as long as I needed. They let me swim in the pool and use the facilities before I could check in. The cocktails were also awesome! Loved this place Very friendly

Disliked: Nothing really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, busy with other travellers and entrainment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all lovely, without exception.

Disliked: Breakfast was very poor. Choices were, a plate of warm watermelon and papaya, tainted and inedible as it had been sliced with a knife that had cut onions, a few pieces of bread for toasting, butter and marmalade, watered down orange drink, and cornflakes. Another thing we didn't appreciate was a man who put two coconut milk drinks on our table and told us he needed $5 from each of us to feed his family. We told him it was not something that we wanted but paid as we felt pressured. Consequently we ate the rest of our meals at a place nearby.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's not like a hostel, it is more like a resort. pool, spa, restaurant!

Disliked: no kitchen. so you can't prepare anything yourself. Have to buy everything from the restaurant.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers, breakfast

Disliked: Dry and smelly air in the dorm every morning. Hotel character of the place.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014

Liked: The bar and restaurant were good and it was located on the beach.

Disliked: Some of the staff seemed uninterested and were slow or didn't like you asking them for things at the reception.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with many additional facilities and activities provided for low cost. Extremely clean rooms and considerably more secure than nearby options.

Disliked: Vegetarian food options extremely limited and some services and activities which are listed are not actually available.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and easy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Wetdewich

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was fresh and friendly. Meeting new people and for the first stay in fiji to the last few days of my travels it was relaxing.

Disliked: Would appreciate to have a shuttle take us to and from the airport, more awareness of the activities, otherwise its pretty good.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014

Liked: A lot of backpackers

Disliked: Black beach

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyn Gabriel Monson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Lyn Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Room was well fitted out with tea-making/fridge facilities, quiet aircon, great shower. There's a good range of food, helpful tour desk and handy shop. The massage at the spa was professional and therapeutic. It was lively with lots of other travellers but not too noisy or frantic. Beach was clean and good for walking and fresh air.

Disliked: My Garden View room (317) was more like Carpark View hence a bit noisy with people coming and going late night and early morning.There's lots of other rooms though.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Beanie Watson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Beanie would recommend this property

Liked: Located next a few other hostels, but this one is more like a small hotel. Rooms are generous and lockers in the room are big enough for a day backpack and all your valuables. Very clean and soap/shampoo/hair dryer provided. Washing facilities ($14 for wash, dry, powder). Pool looks clean. Good (expensive) shop, diving centre, travel desk. You can leave bags in the luggage room while you go to the islands.

Disliked: Staff could be a bit unfriendly at times. Food is double the price (and not as good) as Bamboo Beach two down. Wifi is soooo expensive - $25 for 24 hours (free at Bamboo Beach, $8 for a day at Bamboo lodge).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the facility and good price.

Disliked: most of the staff didn't smiile or say thank you. we are the one saying thank you to them and even without 'your welcome' as courtesy. They are helpful but need to smile and have a bit of grace and courtesy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the beach, large room, really really helpful and friendly staff who will do whatever they can to help you-all with a huge smile on their face.

Disliked: Overall good value for money. It's a hostel not a hotel, so its pretty average on the inside. Only complaint was that the rubbish was overflowing on the day I checked in, but it was cleaned the next day.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kerry Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 January 2014 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: Free transfers from the plane and the ferry which made it a convenient to place to stay.

Disliked: Western style food was horrible - stick to the rice dishes or local dishes which were ok. Dont stay here for the beach which is not very nice but this place does serve its purpose as a place to stay on the mainland before and after going to the islands.


See all Nadi hostels