HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nadi hostels

Reviews of Bamboo Beach

Hostel | 33 Newtown Beach, Wailoaloa, Nadi, Fiji 679

83.3% Overall Rating

114 out of 124 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

OLIVER MAY thinks…

"Awesome atmosphere, great way to get to know some locals around the free kava circle every night."

Read all Bamboo Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.08
  • Towel USD 1.08

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nadi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nadi

Horizon Beach Backpackers
9.74 USD

Hostel 80.9% 92 reviews
Smugglers Cove Backpackers
9.74 USD

Hostel 78.1% 230 reviews
Aquarius On The Beach
20.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 51 reviews
Wailoaloa Beach Resort Fiji
8.12 USD

Hotel 4 star 80.2% 44 reviews
Nadi Bay Resort
20.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 44 reviews
Stoney Creek Resort
24.35 USD

Hostel 89.1% 51 reviews
Grand Melanesian Hotel
24.35 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Kennedy
8.12 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

114 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bamboo Beach'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 119 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLIVER MAY

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 OLIVER would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere, great way to get to know some locals around the free kava circle every night.

Disliked: OLIVER left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and Entertainment, The food was also great. Plus there was airport pick up which was handy.

Disliked: The location,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was comfortable and clean. Free transfer from and to the airport and free upgrade of the room.

Disliked: They didn't have some of the dishes they offer in the menu.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sharon Fitzpatrick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 sharon would recommend this property

Liked: A really friendly atmosphere every one of the staff were so lovely and helpful. The hostel was right on the beach which was fantastic. The hostel felt very safe and I was so happy that I left my bag downstairs over night by accident and it was exactly where I had Ieft it the next morning which I was so grateful for.

Disliked: The kitchen is outside and not very clean. Not many pots and pans to cook with there was only one. The restaurant at the hostel is very cheap though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kate Jodvalkis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2014

Liked: Its cheap and is easy to book tours with.

Disliked: The advertised free wifi is a lie.......you get a 1 hour free trial and then have to pay an outrageous price to use wifi thereafter. There was also no hot water in the shower

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a twin room for the same price as a dorm at Smugglers. Much better atmosphere than some of the bigger hostels on the same road.

Disliked: No aircon

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Langton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed in both private and dorms. Both really nice, clean and no bugs! The staff are so nice! They can help with everything, especially yasawa island tours.

Disliked: wifi isn't free, only for 30 minutes. you can go to the cafe across the road and get free though! the food is quite rubbish but there other hotels that are good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people working there and guests are really cool! Everyone's really nice over there.

Disliked: The 16 bed room's bathroom was not very clean, but it wasn't too gross either. It'd be nice if they could keep it a bit cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it closeto the airport... and also the customer services is very excellent... and I like the way they serve the customer and also to their traditional way in there like drinking Kava...

Disliked: nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredible, such a good place to meet people, kick back with free kava every night and cheaper drinks than some of the surrounding hostels. Would really recommend, although the showers aren't the cleanest and they're cold... but great value for money. The beach isn't crystal clear in these areas but there are loads of trips out to islands and round the mainland from here so you can get to those places.

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CHEAP BUT NOT VERY CLEAN.

Disliked: THE TRIP BAMBOO PROVID IS NOT GOOD.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mathew Ladley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2013 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful place

Disliked: We didn't even get a key for our room as they'd apparently lost it (they did provide small lockers for valuables though)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kate Merchant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Staff

Disliked: Locations, small pool, no bar

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great, the food is awesome and the vibe of the place is really fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paul Troeger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, easy check-in, nice cultural shows at night, next to the beach, bus stop in front of bamboo

Disliked: free wifi didnt work, anyone could come in 12 bed dorm, only one shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mandy Hummel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Mandy would recommend this property

Liked: The Bamboo is a great clean hostel. The staff are super friendly and helpful. You can get very good cheap meals and you will find every day fresh flowers on your bed. The evenings are Kava-time with great guitarmusik. They have good traveltips and I can also recommend the north of Fiji. Go there it`s just incredible! I would recommend Bamboo for everyone who want to enjoy a simply, lovely and cozy place with a good atmosphere. Das Bamboo ist ein tolles sauberes Hostel. Die Mitarbeiter sind super freundlich und hilfsbereit. Täglich gibt es sehr gute günstige Mahlzeiten und frische Blumen aufs Bett :-) Abends gibt’s immer eine gemütliche Kava-Runde mit toller Gitarrenmusik. Sollte man noch Hilfe mit der Reiseplanung brauchen ist man hier ebenfalls gut aufgehoben. Ich kann jedem nur empfehlen in den Norden von Fiji zu gehen…einfach unbeschreiblich dort! Ich würde das Bamboo auf jeden Fall jedem weiter empfehlen der ein einfaches, schönes und gemütliches Hostel mit super Atmosphäre sucht.

Disliked: nothing :-P

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The People are nice, the hostel is clean and good, the food is average price and tasty. I would recommend it and would go back there. To reach the city you can take the local bus for 1.15 F$, only this is an experience.

Disliked: They dry to push the people a bit to hard to do the North Island Combo! And they never really say what the plan is, you are a bit clueless. All of us didn't really know that we must go first 3 h with the bus and then 22 h with the ferry to reach Tavenui and that we must pay this alone, the most people thought it is incl., but no you must pay it extra with are still 180 F$ more return.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and had lots of activities going

Disliked: Away from town

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like that atmosphere and staffs were really friendly. And we had a nice service.

Disliked: The location was a very closs to beach however nothing special around the hostel. you need to take a bus to go to town.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The authentic Fijian atmosphere with a jam session and kava tea.

Disliked: The beds are rubbish and the rooms are small.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael spells

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manoj Gopalakrishnan

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

11 March 2013 Manoj would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best backpackers in NADI.. i would recommend everyone to go there.. They have airport pick up service.. the staff over there are just amazing (RICO and SAMU.. you guys rock!!!)...Really friendly and always entertaining!!.. The fire show by the guys was just amazing!!.. Very helpful when it comes to booking activities and excursions!!

Disliked: Manoj left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chay Kerbel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

06 March 2013 Chay would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! It was my home away from home! The staff became my family! I will DEFINITELY be back and I cannot wait! I was supposed to leave a week ago and missed my flight just to spend more time here. Bamboo is BY FAR the BEST hostel I have ever been to and I have been traveling for 10 months now! Love this place! <3

Disliked: Nothing! I enjoyed every single minute here!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: could do with a facelift. No hot water or pool and wifi is ridiculously slow

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kevin bowen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff. Really friendly and include you in cool local stuff like a nightly kava ceremony and creating arts and crafts. Thanks heaps to Simon (staff) for organising a trip out to Ambula to go swimming in the river and rock jumping. Lots of fun which I definitely recommend. Simons a really cool bloke who did an awesome job as being our tour guide for the day, which was much appreciated.

Disliked: Some of the mattress on the beds are pretty thin, but for the ridiculously cheap price of the hostel you can't really complain unless you've never been away from the comfort of mummy and daddy's place.


See all Nadi hostels