We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Red Emperor Bar&Hostel

Hostel | Aia 10, Tallinn, Estonia 10123

93.1% Overall Rating

201 out of 206 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2015)

Brodie Quinn thinks…

"Quiet dorm rooms, good wifi, good showers, well-equipped kitchen, and helpful staff."

Read all Red Emperor Bar&Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

MO Hostel
11.18 USD

Hostel 88.2% 7 reviews
Oldhouse Hostel
10.06 USD

Hostel 81.1% 303 reviews
Tallinn Backpackers
13.42 USD

Hostel 89.1% 310 reviews
16€ Hostel
11.18 USD

Hostel 76.8% 142 reviews
Olevi Residence
31.73 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 37 reviews
The Sleeeping Maris
9.18 USD

Apartment 66.2% 76 reviews
Viru Backpackers
16.77 USD

Hostel 92.9% 111 reviews
Kohver
11.18 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

201 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red Emperor Bar&Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 201 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Laker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2015 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant. Great staff, super cheap drinks and an awesome kitchen.

Disliked: No power point next to bed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brodie Quinn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2015 Brodie would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet dorm rooms, good wifi, good showers, well-equipped kitchen, and helpful staff.

Disliked: Lounge and social areas are really small and cramped

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Richard Whiteside

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2015 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a fun and social hostel were it is easy to meet people and you can easily feel comfortable. It is clean and also feels safe. I would recommend it highly and is topped off by the brillant friendly staff especially Lucy Ann and Matt who helped make the expereience rememberable

Disliked: The door system to get in.but I think this is probably the best way to keep a seperation between bar and hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was that you had to walk through the common room to use the showers and the washrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comments

Disliked: No comments

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, lovely surroundings (right in the old town), very clean. Very close to all main attractions and only a short taxi drive away from the port and airport. Great kitchen area and really cheap beer. Saku pints sold at the hostel reception for 2 Euros. Great stuff! Good chats with hostel staff who were cheerful, amiable and personable. Would definitely stay there again if I go back to Tallinn. Good bar area with pool tables.

Disliked: I went in mid summer, very hot at night so had to leave window open which spilt noise into the room from street. The surrounding area can be extremely noisy late at night. Hostel manager had a habit of starting up heavy metal playlist every morning on Spotiffy in hostel main area. I like rock / metal music but not all the time and certainly not 8:30 in the morning. Skate punk and Megadeth is an evening thing for me. More chilled music would have made the stay really relaxing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent van Roon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2015 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of the best I've encountered. It has a great communal atmosphere, in large part because of the staff that is always in a great mood and ready for a chat. Really, the staff is great. Absolutely wonderful. Lucyann, who just started working there during my stay and was joking left and right, mingling with the guests; Marlene, who I could not even catch in a bad mood in the middle of the night; and of course Agata, whose joyful attitude and kindness were always apparent. Wow, the atmosphere in this place. Really, if you enjoy meeting new people you should probably just stop reading this review and book your stay at this hostel. Of course it doesn't hurt that it's also centrally located, very clean and really well-priced. I have rarely had this much trouble saying goodbye to a hostel at the end of my stay, so to all the lovely staff: It's not goodbye, it's only 'see ya later'.

Disliked: The sheer awesomeness of this hostel makes it hard to say goodbye.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hi, In case you are looking for a noisy hostel it is the place for you. If you look for tidy quiet and clean hostel, find yourself something else, The owner and staff re helpful. They put me in a room of 6 instead of the 4 i ordered... is it a reliable act???

Disliked: Too noisy, not very clean, you book a dormitory room of 4 , but they give you 6......

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, super clean, super helpful and fun staff from all over the world, location perfect and definitely attached to the best bar in Tallinn! Would recommend!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDRIY ZYMENKO

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 ANDRIY would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, especially the excellent cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing disliked

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pretty much perfect for me(old town. the port, the city center, etc.) I did not try at all, but looked like a fine place to meet new people and chill out together. The information given from the reception was quite useful.

Disliked: Bothered me to ring a bell at the bar to enter during the daytime. I was not sure if they clean the floor of the room on a daily basis. No locker in my room.(other rooms seemed to have inside)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jenny Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay here!! Staff was super friendly, bathrooms were clean and I never had to wait for a toilet and shower. The common room was comfy and the kitchen was really well equipped. 1 euro beers during happy hour, people are easy to talk to, organized tours and activities like karaoke night!! There's a bar attached but far enough away so noise isn't a problem. Right across the street from a supermarket and super close to everything in old town.

Disliked: Beds are a bit rickety, especially when you're on the bottom bunk and the person above is climbing up and down. Not quite enough lockers to accommodate all guests, so you might have to go without. Doors lock with key but people in your room may not lock it after they go out so you can never be sure if your room is locked when you're not there. But overall I loved my stay here!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Horeis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very nicely located close to the old town and the port opposite of a supermarket. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was clean and equipped with a sufficient number of toilets and showers. Nice common room to hang out. In the hostel itself and in the bar you can have some drinks at cheap prices.

Disliked: Unfortunately no lockers in the room. Everything else was fine and we had a good time in Tallinn!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the other great reviews are spot-on. Awesome value for money, great location, helpful staff, clean, etc.

Disliked: On first approach the entry door is not hugely apparent.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mohammad Shahnon Salleh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2015 Mohammad Shahnon would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were really friendly and totally helpful. Love the shower as well; clean and hot water. The communal kitchen was as well well equip.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosie baxendale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2015 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: clean, spacious dorms, lockers, great kitchen and the staff are very helpful! good location and a really cool place! definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in :)

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The entrance is a bit unclear haha :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful and helpful staff.

Disliked: One of those bicycle chairs were a bit loose, please fix that :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff! Good location, close to the bus station & there's a supermarket across the street. & it's attached to a bar with a smoking room! Perfect.

Disliked: When there is an event in the bar it is LOUD, beyond the help of earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Mathieson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 May 2015 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed at hundreds of hostels in my time as a tour guide, red emperor is among the best that I've stayed at. They have everything sorted and will go out of their way to help you! The staff become more mates than anything. Craig, luke, matt, Jamie and Julia were all particularly great. It was so good, I'm coming back. Good kitchen, bar, common area and great feel. Awesome work guys!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. Get around this hostel!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaylee Dumble

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2015 Kaylee would recommend this property

Liked: Could not say a bad thing about this hostel! Staff are awesome and super welcoming. Atmosphere is epic. Awesome to party or chill. Best of both worlds. The hostel was easily cleaned by the staff at least 12 times a day! Delicious homely meals cooked by Julia...great way to mingle with everyone- costing only 2-3 euro! Thanks so much for an incredible stay Red Emperor.

Disliked: Not a thing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Bar so close to the Hostel - Shops close around - Amazing showers

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Neil Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not my type of hostel not a very good social atmosphere and too many punk rockers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Guy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities and excellent location for wandering the old town or the rest of Tallinn.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

byron gemell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2015 byron would recommend this property

Liked: This place is super fun. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. After a day or two you feel like a part of their party family! Especially if you have a beard. Good clean dorms and common room and cheap priced beer at reception. What else could you want. Oh and they are attached to a bar aswell so its not far to walk back to your room.

Disliked: I had to leave eventually