We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Red Emperor Hostel

Hostel | Aia 10, Tallinn, Estonia 10123

94.5% Overall Rating

193 out of 198 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

"Great hostel, super clean, super helpful and fun staff from all over the world, location perfect and definitely attached to the best bar in Tallinn! Would recommend!"

Read all Red Emperor Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

MO Hostel
11.11 USD

Hostel 88.2% 7 reviews
Oldhouse Hostel
14.44 USD

Hostel 81.3% 302 reviews
Tallinn Backpackers
13.33 USD

Hostel 89.1% 310 reviews
16€ Hostel
11.11 USD

Hostel 76.8% 142 reviews
Olevi Residence
55.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 37 reviews
Gotthard Residents
47.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Sleeeping Maris
9.12 USD

Apartment 67.3% 73 reviews
Viru Backpackers
17.77 USD

Hostel 92.1% 110 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.5%

Overall Rating

193 out of 198 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red Emperor Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 169 of 193 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, super clean, super helpful and fun staff from all over the world, location perfect and definitely attached to the best bar in Tallinn! Would recommend!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDRIY ZYMENKO

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 ANDRIY would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, especially the excellent cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing disliked

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pretty much perfect for me(old town. the port, the city center, etc.) I did not try at all, but looked like a fine place to meet new people and chill out together. The information given from the reception was quite useful.

Disliked: Bothered me to ring a bell at the bar to enter during the daytime. I was not sure if they clean the floor of the room on a daily basis. No locker in my room.(other rooms seemed to have inside)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jenny Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay here!! Staff was super friendly, bathrooms were clean and I never had to wait for a toilet and shower. The common room was comfy and the kitchen was really well equipped. 1 euro beers during happy hour, people are easy to talk to, organized tours and activities like karaoke night!! There's a bar attached but far enough away so noise isn't a problem. Right across the street from a supermarket and super close to everything in old town.

Disliked: Beds are a bit rickety, especially when you're on the bottom bunk and the person above is climbing up and down. Not quite enough lockers to accommodate all guests, so you might have to go without. Doors lock with key but people in your room may not lock it after they go out so you can never be sure if your room is locked when you're not there. But overall I loved my stay here!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Horeis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very nicely located close to the old town and the port opposite of a supermarket. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was clean and equipped with a sufficient number of toilets and showers. Nice common room to hang out. In the hostel itself and in the bar you can have some drinks at cheap prices.

Disliked: Unfortunately no lockers in the room. Everything else was fine and we had a good time in Tallinn!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the other great reviews are spot-on. Awesome value for money, great location, helpful staff, clean, etc.

Disliked: On first approach the entry door is not hugely apparent.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mohammad Shahnon Salleh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2015 Mohammad Shahnon would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were really friendly and totally helpful. Love the shower as well; clean and hot water. The communal kitchen was as well well equip.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosie baxendale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2015 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: clean, spacious dorms, lockers, great kitchen and the staff are very helpful! good location and a really cool place! definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in :)

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The entrance is a bit unclear haha :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful and helpful staff.

Disliked: One of those bicycle chairs were a bit loose, please fix that :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff! Good location, close to the bus station & there's a supermarket across the street. & it's attached to a bar with a smoking room! Perfect.

Disliked: When there is an event in the bar it is LOUD, beyond the help of earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Mathieson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 May 2015 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed at hundreds of hostels in my time as a tour guide, red emperor is among the best that I've stayed at. They have everything sorted and will go out of their way to help you! The staff become more mates than anything. Craig, luke, matt, Jamie and Julia were all particularly great. It was so good, I'm coming back. Good kitchen, bar, common area and great feel. Awesome work guys!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. Get around this hostel!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaylee Dumble

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2015 Kaylee would recommend this property

Liked: Could not say a bad thing about this hostel! Staff are awesome and super welcoming. Atmosphere is epic. Awesome to party or chill. Best of both worlds. The hostel was easily cleaned by the staff at least 12 times a day! Delicious homely meals cooked by Julia...great way to mingle with everyone- costing only 2-3 euro! Thanks so much for an incredible stay Red Emperor.

Disliked: Not a thing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Bar so close to the Hostel - Shops close around - Amazing showers

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Neil Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not my type of hostel not a very good social atmosphere and too many punk rockers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Guy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities and excellent location for wandering the old town or the rest of Tallinn.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

byron gemell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2015 byron would recommend this property

Liked: This place is super fun. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. After a day or two you feel like a part of their party family! Especially if you have a beard. Good clean dorms and common room and cheap priced beer at reception. What else could you want. Oh and they are attached to a bar aswell so its not far to walk back to your room.

Disliked: I had to leave eventually

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julius Edler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Julius would recommend this property

Liked: +++The beards of the (male part) staff +++The bar, which is not only a travelers hot spot ++ no extra cost for anything (towels, locker, linen) +++Surprisingly clean, they seem to clean efverything multiple times daily +++ The overall athmosphere +++ You can actually get good sleep here, even though it's considered a party hostel

Disliked: -The smoking room (of the bar) is ugly and uncomfortable -A bit complicated to get in and out (you have to ring a bell)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, good hangout area to meet people

Disliked: Entrance a little annoying after hours but it's nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All round great. Supemarket next door, sports bar downstairs, cool late night bar in the same complex too. room was a decent size, good showers - basically couldn't fault the place. And the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrianna Michna

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Adrianna would recommend this property

Liked: Great place for all the travelers who are looking for a great atmosphere :D The hostel is busy and loud but in a positive way :D If you want to meet great people from the around the world - choose this place :D

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Great location inside the old town and close to supermarket. The communal area is good as you can easily meet up some people

Disliked: None

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, decently comfortable beds, clean bathrooms/showers. Very helpful and friendly staff. Cheap beer at their bar if you don't care about what you're drinking. Staff handled a really gross situation involving a very drunk person in our room quite well, had everything cleaned, beds replaced in an hour and even refunded our money for the night the next day. Owner was really professional and friendly.

Disliked: It can be a bit loud late at night. Definitely a party hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bianca Picinali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Very accommodating! I arrived really early in the morning and they let me in, encouraging me to make myself at home before I checked in later on that day. Upon check in they had heaps of useful suggestions on places to see that were acquired to my taste and what I was looking for during my stay e.g."quirky and characteristic". I left early morning too and they woke me up and arranged a taxi and were more than helpful! Very very accommodating place, always happy to help out and everyone is fantastic!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

csont rossz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 csont would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -