HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Red Emperor Hostel

Hostel | Aia 10, Tallinn, Estonia 10123

91.2% Overall Rating

164 out of 168 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

Thomas Mooney thinks…

"Another Aussie managed hostel. That should say enough but just in case: an exemplary hostel. A few rough edges because this hostel was started from scratch, these give character. A real hostel,…"

Read all Red Emperor Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.04

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

MO Hostel
13.50 USD

Hostel 88.2% 7 reviews
Oldhouse Hostel
14.85 USD

Hostel 83.2% 295 reviews
Tallinn Backpackers
18.90 USD

Hostel 90.3% 308 reviews
Schlössle Hotel
256.44 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
16€ Hostel
14.85 USD

Hostel 79.5% 138 reviews
Olevi Residence
46.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 36 reviews
Gotthard Residents
46.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Sleeeping Maris
10.95 USD

Apartment 71.7% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

164 out of 168 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red Emperor Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 164 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

csont rossz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 csont would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zbigniew Lorenc

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 July 2014 Zbigniew would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Piotr W?odarek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and friendly. Well equipped kitchen. Atmosphere. Location.

Disliked: Some problems with WiFi connection. Could be very noisy in the room depending on where you have the window.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathorn Khajornprai

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 July 2014 Nathorn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and good location

Disliked: Nathorn left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Casey

Alone

City break

30 June 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap beer

Disliked: They had renovations going on throughout the duration of my stay; plus there were planned outages of the water supply for 7 hours per day which were not mentioned on the website and planned outages of the internet for several hours each day which were also not mentioned. I found it strange to have all the lockers in the main communal area rather than in the bedrooms - it made it annoying to keep having to go to and from the main area just to access your things.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Mooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Another Aussie managed hostel. That should say enough but just in case: an exemplary hostel. A few rough edges because this hostel was started from scratch, these give character. A real hostel, with a great team running it.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Hodson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and very good location few minutes to the old town and staff really helpful

Disliked: Nothing I can think of

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable and cosy. We had a great stay!

Disliked: The smell of the bar next door.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicole Tamsett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The bar, common room and kitchen. Kitchen fully equip. Lockers in common room near reception. Huge bar. Happy hour drinks. Comfy beds Lots of room in the showers to hang things in the cubicle. Staff friendly

Disliked: Only 3 powerpoints for 8 beds. One small mirror. Alot of showers but the men and women shower in the same room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Westphal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent hostel, great place to meet and hang out with other people. Kitchen was well-equipped and really clean. Lots of showers.

Disliked: We had paid extra for a private which turned out to be situated right in the common area. We were kept up a lot of the night and then woken up again during the early morning because there were people talking, yelling, and laughing just outside our door, which is what a common room is for, but it's a horrible place for sleeping quarters if you expect to get to bed before 2:00 am. We had people try to get into our room at least 5 times while we were inside (who knows how many times while we were gone) and one case of someone barging right in while we slept. If you go to Red Emperor Hostel I would recommend NOT getting the room called "Treehouse".

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Schieder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, close proximity to all major sights, probably the cleanest hostel I have ever staid in, good selection of games available

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach all rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Cheap alcohol. Activities.

Disliked: Facilities a bit dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mayuran Jegatheeswaran

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 May 2014 Mayuran would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Facilities weren't great but good enough.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catriona Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Catriona would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and easy to find. Nice communal space.

Disliked: Despite the best efforts of the staff to make this an up-and-coming 'party hostel', people didn't mingle much, wasn't great socialising for a solo traveller like myself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Clean beds, nice showers.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmorsphere, comfy beds and very clean! Staff know everything about the city and make you feel welcome, I had an awesome time. The bar is cheap and has stuff going on every night, highly reccommended.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere with the other guests and the staff.

Disliked: It was still on construction

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen McAdam

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 April 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff that go above and beyond for you, great hostel bar that was actually one of the more happening local places, good chill out area

Disliked: We were unlucky to have a few knobs in the hostel while we were there, too be picky have lamp/reading lights in all rooms would be good

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Kenneth Osborne

Alone

City break

04 April 2014 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: they shut early and my room was noisy and smelly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredric Barratt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Fredric would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, made you right at home. Always seemed happy to help out. Relaxed atmosphere, perfect location. Recommend it to all.

Disliked: Tallinn didn't give me an excuse to stay longer!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nishant Singh

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Nishant would recommend this property

Liked: The location,which was very near to the port. Club,shops,restaurant,market all nearby. Friendly behaviour of d staff and helpful attitude in guiding us to places to visit.

Disliked: Not much that really concerns,but wifi was only accessible at d hall and was not accessible in rooms.check in time was at 2pm which was annoying as our cruise landed in early morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed for the night but it all seemed great to me I would recomend it to other people if they are staying shortly it's a good bargain. Clean Bathrooms, nice staff the beds were a bit hard but again I only paid 7 euros for one night and it was great for sleeping because it was not noisy at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: Poor ventilation in rooms. Windows can't be opened. Extremely noisy because of the public bar which is next to the rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and you regularly see staff cleaning the toilets, the beds were comfy and we had asked for own 4 bed dorm and got given an 8 bed so very spacious. The location was perfect within a stones throw of the old city and supermarket over the road.

Disliked: We were rather annoyed to be woken at 4.30 in the morning by a large group who were shouting and screaming in the next room to us, we asked them to quieten down but they were very rude. The hostel staff also asked them but they ignored them and carried on for hours. It is not the hostels fault but I think in these circumstances they need to have a policy in place that allows them to threaten to throw them out and that this is discussed at check in as this occasion did ruin our break. Also there are 7/8 showers but constantly there were at least 3/4 that were out of order, at one point we were left with only 2 showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toshiyuki Iida

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Toshiyuki would recommend this property

Liked: cheap,clean,good location,

Disliked: Toshiyuki left no negative feedback.