We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Red Emperor Hostel

Hostel | Aia 10, Tallinn, Estonia 10123

94.6% Overall Rating

177 out of 181 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2015)

David Guy thinks…

"Very friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities and excellent location for wandering the old town or the rest of Tallinn."

Read all Red Emperor Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

MO Hostel
8.71 USD

Hostel 88.2% 7 reviews
Oldhouse Hostel
7.62 USD

Hostel 79.5% 300 reviews
Tallinn Backpackers
11.98 USD

Hostel 89.5% 309 reviews
16€ Hostel
10.89 USD

Hostel 77.4% 141 reviews
Olevi Residence
29.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 36 reviews
Gotthard Residents
30.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Sleeeping Maris
8.94 USD

Apartment 68.8% 71 reviews
Viru Backpackers
14.15 USD

Hostel 90.3% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

177 out of 181 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red Emperor Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 176 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Guy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities and excellent location for wandering the old town or the rest of Tallinn.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

byron gemell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2015 byron would recommend this property

Liked: This place is super fun. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. After a day or two you feel like a part of their party family! Especially if you have a beard. Good clean dorms and common room and cheap priced beer at reception. What else could you want. Oh and they are attached to a bar aswell so its not far to walk back to your room.

Disliked: I had to leave eventually

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julius Edler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Julius would recommend this property

Liked: +++The beards of the (male part) staff +++The bar, which is not only a travelers hot spot ++ no extra cost for anything (towels, locker, linen) +++Surprisingly clean, they seem to clean efverything multiple times daily +++ The overall athmosphere +++ You can actually get good sleep here, even though it's considered a party hostel

Disliked: -The smoking room (of the bar) is ugly and uncomfortable -A bit complicated to get in and out (you have to ring a bell)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, good hangout area to meet people

Disliked: Entrance a little annoying after hours but it's nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All round great. Supemarket next door, sports bar downstairs, cool late night bar in the same complex too. room was a decent size, good showers - basically couldn't fault the place. And the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrianna Michna

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Adrianna would recommend this property

Liked: Great place for all the travelers who are looking for a great atmosphere :D The hostel is busy and loud but in a positive way :D If you want to meet great people from the around the world - choose this place :D

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Great location inside the old town and close to supermarket. The communal area is good as you can easily meet up some people

Disliked: None

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, decently comfortable beds, clean bathrooms/showers. Very helpful and friendly staff. Cheap beer at their bar if you don't care about what you're drinking. Staff handled a really gross situation involving a very drunk person in our room quite well, had everything cleaned, beds replaced in an hour and even refunded our money for the night the next day. Owner was really professional and friendly.

Disliked: It can be a bit loud late at night. Definitely a party hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bianca Picinali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Very accommodating! I arrived really early in the morning and they let me in, encouraging me to make myself at home before I checked in later on that day. Upon check in they had heaps of useful suggestions on places to see that were acquired to my taste and what I was looking for during my stay e.g."quirky and characteristic". I left early morning too and they woke me up and arranged a taxi and were more than helpful! Very very accommodating place, always happy to help out and everyone is fantastic!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

csont rossz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 csont would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zbigniew Lorenc

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 July 2014 Zbigniew would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Piotr W?odarek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and friendly. Well equipped kitchen. Atmosphere. Location.

Disliked: Some problems with WiFi connection. Could be very noisy in the room depending on where you have the window.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathorn Khajornprai

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 July 2014 Nathorn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and good location

Disliked: Nathorn left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Casey

Alone

City break

30 June 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap beer

Disliked: They had renovations going on throughout the duration of my stay; plus there were planned outages of the water supply for 7 hours per day which were not mentioned on the website and planned outages of the internet for several hours each day which were also not mentioned. I found it strange to have all the lockers in the main communal area rather than in the bedrooms - it made it annoying to keep having to go to and from the main area just to access your things.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Mooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Another Aussie managed hostel. That should say enough but just in case: an exemplary hostel. A few rough edges because this hostel was started from scratch, these give character. A real hostel, with a great team running it.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Hodson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and very good location few minutes to the old town and staff really helpful

Disliked: Nothing I can think of

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable and cosy. We had a great stay!

Disliked: The smell of the bar next door.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicole Tamsett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The bar, common room and kitchen. Kitchen fully equip. Lockers in common room near reception. Huge bar. Happy hour drinks. Comfy beds Lots of room in the showers to hang things in the cubicle. Staff friendly

Disliked: Only 3 powerpoints for 8 beds. One small mirror. Alot of showers but the men and women shower in the same room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Westphal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent hostel, great place to meet and hang out with other people. Kitchen was well-equipped and really clean. Lots of showers.

Disliked: We had paid extra for a private which turned out to be situated right in the common area. We were kept up a lot of the night and then woken up again during the early morning because there were people talking, yelling, and laughing just outside our door, which is what a common room is for, but it's a horrible place for sleeping quarters if you expect to get to bed before 2:00 am. We had people try to get into our room at least 5 times while we were inside (who knows how many times while we were gone) and one case of someone barging right in while we slept. If you go to Red Emperor Hostel I would recommend NOT getting the room called "Treehouse".

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Schieder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, close proximity to all major sights, probably the cleanest hostel I have ever staid in, good selection of games available

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach all rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Cheap alcohol. Activities.

Disliked: Facilities a bit dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mayuran Jegatheeswaran

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 May 2014 Mayuran would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Facilities weren't great but good enough.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catriona Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Catriona would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and easy to find. Nice communal space.

Disliked: Despite the best efforts of the staff to make this an up-and-coming 'party hostel', people didn't mingle much, wasn't great socialising for a solo traveller like myself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Clean beds, nice showers.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmorsphere, comfy beds and very clean! Staff know everything about the city and make you feel welcome, I had an awesome time. The bar is cheap and has stuff going on every night, highly reccommended.

Disliked: Nothing