HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Red Emperor Hostel

Hostel | Aia 10, Tallinn, Estonia 10123

90.1% Overall Rating

145 out of 149 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2014)

Stephen McAdam thinks…

"Awesome staff that go above and beyond for you, great hostel bar that was actually one of the more happening local places, good chill out area"

Read all Red Emperor Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.14

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

MO Hostel
13.81 USD

Hostel 84.6% 5 reviews
Oldhouse Hostel
9.67 USD

Hostel 84.6% 291 reviews
Tallinn Backpackers
13.81 USD

Hostel 92.5% 304 reviews
Schlössle Hotel
262.47 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
16€ Hostel
13.81 USD

Hostel 79.5% 134 reviews
Olevi Residence
48.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 36 reviews
Gotthard Residents
41.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Sleeeping Maris
10.51 USD

Apartment 73.5% 62 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

145 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red Emperor Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 144 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere with the other guests and the staff.

Disliked: It was still on construction

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen McAdam

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 April 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff that go above and beyond for you, great hostel bar that was actually one of the more happening local places, good chill out area

Disliked: We were unlucky to have a few knobs in the hostel while we were there, too be picky have lamp/reading lights in all rooms would be good

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Kenneth Osborne

Alone

City break

04 April 2014 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: they shut early and my room was noisy and smelly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredric Barratt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Fredric would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, made you right at home. Always seemed happy to help out. Relaxed atmosphere, perfect location. Recommend it to all.

Disliked: Tallinn didn't give me an excuse to stay longer!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nishant Singh

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Nishant would recommend this property

Liked: The location,which was very near to the port. Club,shops,restaurant,market all nearby. Friendly behaviour of d staff and helpful attitude in guiding us to places to visit.

Disliked: Not much that really concerns,but wifi was only accessible at d hall and was not accessible in rooms.check in time was at 2pm which was annoying as our cruise landed in early morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed for the night but it all seemed great to me I would recomend it to other people if they are staying shortly it's a good bargain. Clean Bathrooms, nice staff the beds were a bit hard but again I only paid 7 euros for one night and it was great for sleeping because it was not noisy at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: Poor ventilation in rooms. Windows can't be opened. Extremely noisy because of the public bar which is next to the rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and you regularly see staff cleaning the toilets, the beds were comfy and we had asked for own 4 bed dorm and got given an 8 bed so very spacious. The location was perfect within a stones throw of the old city and supermarket over the road.

Disliked: We were rather annoyed to be woken at 4.30 in the morning by a large group who were shouting and screaming in the next room to us, we asked them to quieten down but they were very rude. The hostel staff also asked them but they ignored them and carried on for hours. It is not the hostels fault but I think in these circumstances they need to have a policy in place that allows them to threaten to throw them out and that this is discussed at check in as this occasion did ruin our break. Also there are 7/8 showers but constantly there were at least 3/4 that were out of order, at one point we were left with only 2 showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toshiyuki Iida

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Toshiyuki would recommend this property

Liked: cheap,clean,good location,

Disliked: Toshiyuki left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charm, location, uniqueness, and a great cheap bar--what's not to like?

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pea nut

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 October 2013 pea would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, amazing facilities, amazing staff and awesome bar attached. Best time of my life.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elias Beyloune

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Elias would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel good location good for meeting people

Disliked: Elias left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, comfortable beds, friendly staff.

Disliked: No shutters on the window and the window can't be closed (broken), so it's quite noisy at night and bright early in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Troszczynski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: Just a perfect hostel! Great localization, great and helpfull staff, comfortable beds and very clean. There is also a nice pub, worth drinking a beer or ten beers ;-)

Disliked: Maciej left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Lovely staff - Nice spacious rooms - Best part was the bathrooms, amazing spacious cubicle showers and toilets

Disliked: - Was far too hot on the top bunk, me and my mate (also on a top bunk) only got about 2 hours sleep because of this. Really need a better fan or aircon. - The safety system seems a bit flawed. A pin code to the door might make more sense.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Holding

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I could not believe that Luke always said hello to me when I came in and always greeted me by name and that was after the first day there!! Also thanks to Diane who was really friendly and helpful. Facilities very clean and right in the town centre. Would highly recommend

Disliked: No dislikes

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Millington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for the old city. Good backpackers atmosphere, enhanced by in-house bar (noise not a problem). Staff willing to help and ensure security.

Disliked: A little rough around the edges. Bathroom facilities were a little temporary but generally clean. No lockers in room and ones provided in communal area too small. Drunk Americans coming into the room after being in the bar, turning lights on, chatting away loudly like its the middle of the day - not the hostels fault!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexe Dan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Alexe would recommend this property

Liked: close to old city, easy to find, place for travellers, nice host. Quite, kitchen, shower, I will come back!

Disliked: Alexe left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to chat and meet people in the common areas, clean, great location, staff were great!

Disliked: Bit warm in the common areas.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROBERT CLEMENT

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2013 ROBERT would recommend this property

Liked: The Red Emperor Hostel is centrally situated in Tallinn and with a major supermarket opposite it was ideal for travellers to prepare hot food. A bar was attached to the fostel and it was very suitable for travellers to make friends with people worldwise.

Disliked: ere was nothing to dislike about the property. Being aware that I was seeking accomodation in Tallinn, I successfully met some local residents in Wales, showed them the choice of Hostel Bookers and they recommended Red Emperor, and I am happy and appreciate their choice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Kohler Leite

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, cheap beer at the hostel bar, spacious and clean bathrooms, big private lockers in the common area, good recommendations for Tallin

Disliked: no individual illumination in the 10 bed dorm, just one very bright light, social area not very chilled out (no couches, etc.), main seating possibilities are wooden benches without back rests, 10 bed dorm was quite hot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We travelled to Tallinn for a stag party, had a great time made possible by Red Emperor. Good bar and clean hostel near to the old town in Tallinn.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: overall

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

virginia cartiel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 virginia would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is one of the best I have ever been to. just have what backpackers need. huge kitchen with lots of things, huge table to seat and talk to other travellers, nice and comfy beds.

Disliked: virginia left no negative feedback.